Game Day JLT2 - Carlton vs Collingwood - Monday 11th March 2.10PM @ Morwell - Final Team Post #777

I loved Phillips game last Thursday, but have people forgotten 2017 already? Kreuzer was very unlucky to not be AA! He is our #1 ruckman easily, until TDK is ready! More than happy for Phillips to fill in whenever Kruz needs a rest though.
Have my doubts that we'll ever see 2017 Kruezer again but given that we have highly credentialled Andrew Russell hope I'm wrong .
Actually think it would be better they shared the senior ruck position around the 3 of our mature rucks this year .

Have my doubts that we'll ever see 2017 Kruezer again but given that we have highly credentialled Andrew Russell hope I'm wrong .
Actually think it would be better they shared the senior ruck position around the 3 of our mature rucks this year .
I’m feeling bullish on our off field recruiting. We finally have good people in the right positions. I feel like Kreuzer is in really good hands and that he can and will return to 2017 form. He has returned well from injury before and I think he’s in a much better position to do so again.

There's still a couple of years and maybe more in that group, but it falls off dramatically after Treloar, to me.
Collingwood fans may cite Adams & Sier also, but once their top-end mids disappear, it could get tricky.
They also have Varcoe - 31, Wells - 34 and Greenwood - 30 that will be coming off the books soon enough.

Back to the game. We'll be trying our best here as we'll have to tick-off our starting 22 for Richmond.
We also have 11 days to recover, so there shouldn't be too much holding back.

Collingwood do look to be too experienced for us and with grundy dominating the ruck, things for the mids may not be as easy as they were on Thursday.

As a supporter I’d expect or at the very least hope that Collingwood’s medium term plan would be to have Sier, Stephenson and JDG step into those roles that Sidebottom, Pendlebury and Beams will leave in time. They’ll be big shoes to fill, but I’m confident those three have the talent to give it a crack at least. It’s also definitely a year for us to strike though with the likes of Reid and Goldsack also amongst the group that’s likely rolling around for the last time.

This should be a ripping contest. Both clubs need to hit the ground running for differing reasons and some clean air from injuries will be a great benefit for 2019 so hopefully we can all get through unscathed ahead of round 1.

From a Collingwood perspective I’m really interested in how our defensive group handles your talls especially with early season matches v Richmond and WC for us. On the flip side I’m interested to see how Carlton negate our smalls in attack with all of Stephenson, Varcoe, Elliott and Thomas looking sharp last night. That’ll go a fair way to indicating what you guys can do in Rd 1 v Richmond’s smalls.

I never said Phillips was the better player, its clear Krezuer at his best is the superior player and has a higher ceiling. However his 2017 season people are referring to is now 2 years and about 6 injuries ago.

I think Phillips straightens us up more in terms of our structures and the way we play. He gives our midfield first use - and our midfield needs all the help it can get right now (still very young). Also reckon he's a better marking target as Kreuz still runs under it a fair bit.

Looking like you were the one who had no idea what i was saying but thats ok and i have no issue with that at all, Now seeing as you have not been around for too long around these parts maybe best if we both put each other on ignore and this way you wont need to see what i post and i wont need to reply to you wanting to shoot a shadow
Mate. Quit pulling the I've been here for ages. You're a horrid troll who gets shit wrong all the time, only the other day I saw you boasting about Richmond not having had a delisted first rounder in ages when you only just cut Ben lennon. Fmd.

Couldn't really care less what opposition posters have to say when amongst their own. We all get a giggle out of shitcanning other teams where we can - it's part of the emotional side of the game, and has its place amongst certain company.

But when someone comes to our board and engages in mature, constructive discussion about our list from an outside perspective, I think it adds plenty of value to the conversation. No need to get nasty and try to bait a response.

I've been to the Adelaide board a couple of times in the last few years - the response there is overwhelmingly (but not entirely) disgraceful. Let's not be like that, hey?

You do not need a ruckman who can play forward. You need a ruckman who can contribute around the field a bit and can win hitouts and a forward who can go into the ruck.

We have that forward with McKay. He's ideal for that role because he's handy in the ruck, is ruckman size and we have McGovern, Curnow and a few tall mids like Cripps.

I would say with the 666 rule and us potentially building a good midfield that a tap ruckman is important. I don't find much value in Kreuzer being a good clearance player as it will not be needed if we build a good midfield and his disposal/skills aren't as good in comparison to the followers so having him clear the ball isn't so ideal. He just has to win the taps and get around the ground well and contribute a little in general play which he can do.

Our ruckmen are fine, our list is structured well for ruckmen with three senior rucks and a young one developing. Acquiring a ruckman is the lowest of priorities for us at the moment unless someone retires or can't stay fit.

You do not need a ruckman who can play forward. You need a ruckman who can contribute around the field a bit and can win hitouts and a forward who can go into the ruck.

We have that forward with McKay. He's ideal for that role because he's handy in the ruck, is ruckman size and we have McGovern, Curnow and a few tall mids like Cripps.

I would say with the 666 rule and us potentially building a good midfield that a tap ruckman is important. I don't find much value in Kreuzer being a good clearance player as it will not be needed if we build a good midfield and his disposal/skills aren't as good in comparison to the followers so having him clear the ball isn't so ideal. He just has to win the taps and get around the ground well and contribute a little in general play which he can do.

Our ruckmen are fine, our list is structured well for ruckmen with three senior rucks and a young one developing. Acquiring a ruckman is the lowest of priorities for us at the moment unless someone retires or can't stay fit.

Sounds right to me.

If he can tap, run and mark, that covers most of what we need. We should be able to surround him with quality ball users, so when he gets possession all he needs to be able to do is handball to a passing player or kick long down the line.

We play Fasolo because we already know what Fasolo is likely to bring. His history shows no propensity to run when the going gets tough.
I guess thats that then. Why did we get him? De-list!

* Sarcasm ^

Play him!!

He is a Proven goal kicker (Carlton need), opportunistic (Carlton need) , good mark (Carlton need) . And he will know what he has to do in order to get a game, howabout we do something radical like give him a shot.

* Sarcasm ^

Play him!!

He is a Proven goal kicker (Carlton need), opportunistic (Carlton need) , good mark (Carlton need) . And he will know what he has to do in order to get a game, howabout we do something radical like give him a shot.
I'm not sure how to interpret your post. Did you by chance infer my post as being critical of Fas?

Couldn't really care less what opposition posters have to say when amongst their own. We all get a giggle out of shitcanning other teams where we can - it's part of the emotional side of the game, and has its place amongst certain company.

But when someone comes to our board and engages in mature, constructive discussion about our list from an outside perspective, I think it adds plenty of value to the conversation. No need to get nasty and try to bait a response.

I've been to the Adelaide board a couple of times in the last few years - the response there is overwhelmingly (but not entirely) disgraceful. Let's not be like that, hey?
Yep.

No need to shoot down respectful discussion because someone supports another team.

Reply to the content of the post, not the individual poster.

* Sarcasm ^

Play him!!

Got it round the wrong way BJ - Opine was saying he's shown he's prepared to knuckle down under adversity.

Have to agree, he gave it a fair shake at Collingwood and left with their blessing when they brought in some younger players to fill that small forward role. Made a bit of a blunder during the preseason with us, but has been exceedingly professional with his recovery and conditioning since.

He'll get his chance. It may not be JLT2, or Round 1, but whenever it comes I'm sure he'll have a point to prove.

I'm not sure how to interpret your post. Did you by chance infer my post as being critical of Fas?
not exactly just you. I have read a lot of negativity about His recruitment and people not wanting him to play and that we should not of got him.

The guy can football.

I am bullish on him and think he can be a really dangerous player, and in tandem with what Cuningham has shown could make a very formidable pair.

Richmond win a premiership based on pressure forwards and all of a sudden it is the be all and end all.

Don't get me wrong it is important, but so is a guy who can turn nothing into something.

He knows he has to be a 2 way runner (at least i hope thats what he has been told) Lets not judge him based on a role he did at the land of one tooth.

We know his characteristics which made him a good footballer and i am hoping he can add a few strings to his bow and keep his spot.

Surely you are not suggesting that ruckmen should only be assessed purely by their ruck contests
I see that ignoring the problem has only made it worse... :confused:

None of Phillips, Lobbe or MK will be part of our next flag. We can not play 2 of the above in the same side as they are inept forward, so they are a waste of a bench rotation

The future is TDK and a ruckman we have yet to acquire
Williams. :(

Hey... TG has proven a sensible (and somehow, despite the feral team he supports, welcome!) contributor over time. Suggest you tone it down O-fella as the overall exchange is rather uncomfortable and over the top. You’re better than that!
They really aren't.

not exactly just you. I have read a lot of negativity about His recruitment and people not wanting him to play and that we should not of got him.

The guy can football.

I am bullish on him and think he can be a really dangerous player, and in tandem with what Cuningham has shown could make a very formidable pair.

Richmond win a premiership based on pressure forwards and all of a sudden it is the be all and end all.

Don't get me wrong it is important, but so is a guy who can turn nothing into something.

He knows he has to be a 2 way runner (at least i hope thats what he has been told) Lets not judge him based on a role he did at the land of one tooth.

We know his characteristics which made him a good footballer and i am hoping he can add a few strings to his bow and keep his spot.

There has clearly been a misunderstanding.
The message in my post was that Fas is a known, and valuable, quantity, That there is no question as to his resilience and especially as to his quality.

I have made a point of addressing negative comments relating to Fas, whenever I come across such comments.

I have already judged Fas as a valuable individual and as a valuable member of the Blues team.

Are you cool with this. ?

Yep.

No need to shoot down respectful discussion because someone supports another team.

Reply to the content of the post, not the individual poster.
Firstly it wasn't an isolated instance, I have seen him do the same thing on at least one other occasion with another poster.
Secondly, your comment, about playing the content rather than the man, equally applies to class of persons, not just singular. There is no need to use veiled remarks in the context that he did
Furthermore, I dare say that a poster going onto a another board and commenting that a class of posters, with a opposing view, can't see the forest from the trees would likely attract similar resistance.
Do we understand each other?

There has clearly been a misunderstanding.
The message in my post was that Fas is a known, and valuable, quantity, That there is no question as to his resilience and especially as to his quality.

I have made a point of addressing negative comments relating to Fas, whenever I come across such comments.

I have already judged Fas as a valuable individual and as a valuable member of the Blues team.

Are you cool with this. ?

I stand corrected.

As I have said numerous times in not the sharpest tool in the shed.

The point still stands though.

I think he is best 22, and I think this week we need to have our best available 22 on the park.

I wanna give them as much time as possible to play and gel together.

Lots of new faces

Newman
McG
Fas
Walsh
Setters
DC (to an extent)
Potentially Gibbons
Potentially Garlett

Thats a good 20-25 odd % of a team

Wanna see what our game plan and structors look like before round 1

The point still stands though.

I think he is best 22, and I think this week we need to have our best available 22 on the park.

I wanna give them as much time as possible to play and gel together.

Lots of new faces

Newman
McG
Fas
Walsh
Setters
DC (to an extent)
Potentially Gibbons
Potentially Garlett

Thats a good 20-25 odd % of a team

Wanna see what our game plan and structors look like before round 1
I agree

I'll be going Monday to watch, and hope we can put on another good show and get some experience into the new kids.

It's been a long time coming, but the recruitment department have finally made a good draft choice in picking Sam Walsh. The kid is going to be an absolute star :D:D:D

Bring on round 1

Firstly it wasn't an isolated instance, I have seen him do the same thing on at least one other occasion with another poster.
Secondly, your comment, about playing the content rather than the man, equally applies to class of persons, not just singular. There is no need to use veiled remarks in the context that he did
Furthermore, I dare say that a poster going onto a another board and commenting that a class of posters, with a opposing view, can't see the forest from the trees would likely attract similar resistance.
Do we understand each other?

Can't see the forest for the trees.

Focusing too much on individual parts and not seeing the bigger picture.

The Gun wasn't calling Carlton posters blind, Opine, he was saying that in the discussion about Kreuzer, Phillips and Lobbe needing to be replaced, perhaps we were overlooking the fact that we only need 7 games a season from each of them over the next couple of years, before we have a young TDK ready to play regular senior footy.

I can't help but think you've taken that expression the wrong way and let it colour your reading of the rest of the post.

I don't doubt that trying to get involved in list management discussion on an opposition board often results in resistance. I've seen it first hand, been subjected to it, and when all you want to do is talk footy it's really bloody irritating. Yeah, there are plenty of trolls, and people looking to get a rise. I don't see that here though, so I'm not sure why the hostility, it actually derails the conversation away from list talk into this sort of stuff.

Call out trolling posts if necessary, no issues there. But if a former troll has something reasonable to say, let's encourage that. It's healthy, and I for one like to hear what opposition fans think of our list as long as they're balanced and prepared to back up their statements.

Game Day JLT2 - Carlton vs Collingwood - Monday 11th March 2.10PM @ Morwell - Final Team Post #777