Joel Selwood Appreciation Thread

This thread has 37 pages of people complaining about how Joel is a flog, he dives, he ducks, he snipes.. why doesn't he get booed every time he gets the ball like another supposed "flog" 🤔

Curious

Do you not watch football? He gets booed pretty much every game.

Or are you trying to derail this and have it be about another flog who got booed ?

its a good comparison, Jones and Selwood are about as good as each other, excellent battlers

Tell you what sliding door moment, What if Jones got drafted by Geelong, and Joel Selwood by Melbourne ?

Reckon Jones would have 3 flags, and Selwood would had to endure Nathan Jones career.

Not much between them all things considered.

And Nathan Jones is not in anyone's top 50, I will give you the tip.
Selwood is much better than Jones. In fact Jones wouldn’t even be in the ballpark.
In his prime there were countless games Selwood dragged the Cats back into the game whereas Nathan Jones was nothing but a good battler who stood out in a very ordinary team. I doubt Jones would have been in the best 2 midfielders at any reasonable club.

Selwood is much better than Jones. In fact Jones wouldn’t even be in the ballpark.
In his prime there were countless games Selwood dragged the Cats back into the game whereas Nathan Jones was nothing but a good battler who stood out in a very ordinary team. I doubt Jones would have been in the best 2 midfielders at any reasonable club.

Jones and Selwood have both won 3 best and fairests

I can't stand Selwood.... can't ****ing stand him. Plays for frees, whinges and complains and displays poor sportsmanship.

But **** me give it a spell with the comparisons to Nathan Jones. Not even same solar system.

Selwood has been in the best handful of players at his peak. He constantly destroyed the Hawks when we were at our peak. If his team needed a lift it would be him more often than Danger or GAJ that provided it. Overall he isn't at that level but he's on the rung below.

Nathan Jones is more a comparison with Brad Sewell. Bloody good servicable club man who played plenty of footy and some really good footy amongst it but well off the stars of the game.

Selwood is still a flog though.

13-14 i would say

Averages 1 goal a game, 6 clearances, 6 tackles 25 disposals...... not bad for a "battler"

Its very good. 2013 was a great year for him.

2014 his 2 x BOG were against 10th placed Adelaide and 17th placed Melbourne. He got 2 votes in a game against Freo, but basically no votes against any of the other top 4 or 5 teams.

But Jordan Lewis had a number of very good years, and one great year. I dont think anyone would put him in the top 10 players of the last 20 years, and I dont think anyone would put him in the top 20. Maybe top 30.

Its very good. 2013 was a great year for him.

2014 his 2 x BOG were against 10th placed Adelaide and 17th placed Melbourne. He got 2 votes in a game against Freo, but basically no votes against any of the other top 4 or 5 teams.

But Jordan Lewis had a number of very good years, and one great year. I dont think anyone would put him in the top 10 players of the last 20 years, and I dont think anyone would put him in the top 20. Maybe top 30.
I am not gonna argue with much of that, I think it is fair to say though his first 5 years were elite for that age bracket, and then he had a few years in the top say 5/10 players (13/14).... I am not here to say he is the greatest of a generation or anything like that, but i think he deserves his due "appreciation" as the thread title suggests... many won't give it, and that is their right.

For sure. But I also think it is fair to say that he has tarnished his legacy both with his finals record as captain, but also the ducking and lowering knees and other free kick staging.

There was a 10 minute window in the Port Dogs game where every single tackle had a player staging/ducking/raising the arm/lowering the knees but thankfully the umpires only paid 1 of them. If they got stricter and pinged for HTB or just called Play on the players would quickly stop doing it.

Coaches would take 0.1=1 vs 0.0=0 if they could. And in a GF the players would too. Its the job of the AFL to stop these things happening, so it may be incredibly annoying to see how often it is rewarded, but its hardly the fault of the player. Doesnt mean we dont boo though...

If his team needed a lift it would be him

I think this is what nails Selwood's career.

He's never been the best player in the competition, but he was one of the best midfielders, and if not the best, one of the best leaders, for a very long time.

Very few players can be 'that guy' that always finds a way to lift when the team needs them. He's pretty well cooked now, but on a dirty night for Geelong was still the leading tackler on the ground, and had the third most clearances on the ground. An absolute warrior for his side.

Geelong supporters love him and so they should, took them on his back with Hawkins for quite a few years after Ablett and Scarlett etc left, but they also need to recognise that he’s behaved terribly on field for years as part of that persona and opposition fans don’t really respect him because of it.

Jones won 3, hodge won 2. 🤔

Gibbo won 2 B&F in Premiership years. Im sure those are worth 3 or 4 times a B&F when failing to make finals :)

In Hodge's defence I dont think anyone talks about his AA or B&F. Its 4xPremiership, 2xNorm Smith.

Like watching Fox Footy when Derm (5xPremiership) is at the table with Roo (5xAA). You can be 100% sure Roo would swap every single award he ever won (and he won a **** load) just to have (1xPremiership) next to his name.

Nice assessment. I get the dislike for him, I do. I don’t necessarily agree with it but I understand it. What I think gets lost a bit by both sides - who agree on maybe one thing and that he’s quite physically tough in the sense of not being afraid of the contest - is that he has been a quite skilful player for a lot of his career. At times, highlighted especially in the time that he’s had Dangerfield as his midfield offsider in 2016-18 when he was still well and truly elite, his skill in disposal has been as big a weapon as dangerfield’s physicality in finding it. Duncan is a slightly better user of it but selwood’s skills were elite. It was often overshadowed though by the amount of times he was the one at the bottom of a pile of bodies feeding it out to someone else.
I think a lot of players suffer from that sort of thing - I think Pendlebury is quite tough but it’s often overshadowed by his movement and classy kicking. Johnson used to be lauded for his freak skills by foot when he was actually very hard at it etc etc
Agree his skill underrated. Great shot at goal. Superb in his prime in the clinches, especially deft handballs that create some space for his teammate. Footskills over very good.
Also think he has genuine courage and doesn't shirk contests.
But a lot of the reason for his head bandages is trying to get free kicks. Call it what you will, he gets lower and tries to draw a free. Sometimes they look fair enough as he is focused on getting the ball. Sometimes it's all about the free. He's not Robinson Crusoe here.
But I find some of the grubby incidents in recent years have really put me off him. I don't understand ever going for someone's face, but i guess players have the odd brain fade. To have multiple incidents says something about a player's character. Leon Cameron calls it 'playing on the edge' in terms of Toby Greene. It's a garbage line and usually called out as such. I find it odd more media people don't talk about Selwood also having a blight on his record.

This thread has 37 pages of people complaining about how Joel is a flog, he dives, he ducks, he snipes.. why doesn't he get booed every time he gets the ball like another supposed "flog" 🤔

Curious

Goodes was actually a superb player that you wanted to curtail to limit his impact.

Duckwood is a limited player who limits his own impact. Why give ammunition to name him think he's good?

Remember a game years ago where he was well held for 3 1/2 quarters and it actually looked like we were going to beat Geelong for the first time in a long time.
About a minute to go and Joel kicks a goal to get them up and they win.
Always lifts when he needed to more often than not

Joel Selwood Appreciation Thread