Jolly may pull the pin!

There would be a couple of clubs, mainly the Tiges but no one would give what we would want or what he is worth to our team, as we don't have a ready made back up. He is not completely useless

As was insinuated, no club worth their salt would seriously have a crack at Wood.....Richmond.....Your honour, the Prosecution rests.

Lol yeah probably only Ninthmond

I guess I'm playing with semantics here but all I meant was, he has SOME currency, where i took you're post to be literal as in even if we delisted him no one would take him.

I have no faith in him whatsoever, I even deliberately went to see him play at Vic park this year twice. I walked away thinking "Does this guy even give a shit?"

I still don't get the hate Wood receives.

I actually think he's come up pretty decently for a big man that gets almost NO continuous game time.

I think he's more than mobile enough to play ruck/forward. Seems to take stronger marks than Jolly too.

I am at my WITTS end as to who we could develop ;)

Seriously, would be a huge blow to our immediate stocks if Jolls pulled the pin, he has been absolutely fantastic. Woods is always going to be B Grade IMHO but this kid Witts could be a sensation in a year or two.

Hopefully Jolly can get himself right becaue if he can we dont need to look for a ruckman. Wood is a good backup and will play a lot of games next year as the second ruck which will help him develop as a ruckman and as a forward. With another couple of young rucks in the shed we don't need to spend draft picks on a ruckman or trade for one whichis always expensive.

In fact we don't have any list holes that we need to fill. What we need to do is get better players to replaced the bottme end of the 22. That requires trades of picks & players for upgraded picks or a Medhurst type deal.

I still don't get the hate Wood receives.

I actually think he's come up pretty decently for a big man that gets almost NO continuous game time.

I think he's more than mobile enough to play ruck/forward. Seems to take stronger marks than Jolly too.

I reckon this is spot on. Wood gets dropped all the time, never complains, does his job, keeps improving.

The hate is really confusing to me. The last few times he's played, he hasn't been monstered. Held his own. Hasn't crushed 'em either, but not every ruckman is Sandilands. The club would be absolute fools to drop him.

ahhh the rumours.... my mother is a cleaner down the hospital that the pies use. She saw Jolls down there getting a knee scrape ...

btw... I dont normally start rumours but I felt it was my duty in this thread...

ahhh the rumours.... my mother is a cleaner down the hospital that the pies use. She saw Jolls down there getting a knee scrape ...

btw... I dont normally start rumours but I felt it was my duty in this thread...

Nah, don't worry, it's not a rumour, I have a mate who delivers/repairs to the same hospital, and he heard the same thing about Jols.

It's actually a positive, it 100% confirms that Jolly is going on next year, as if he wasn't he wouldn't be rushing to get a minor surgery like that done.

Is it a good thing that Jolly does carry on if he has a degenerate knee? He was distinctly average this year, if his knee is that bad, he's probably not going to be any better next year. Not to mention likely missing games.

My dislike for wood is based on his lack of aggression. He has the skills, just appears he has no aggression or want for a contest. If he had Leigh Brown's mongrel he would be a top line ruckman.

We recruited him as a back up ruckman, which is what he is and always will be.

Is it a good thing that Jolly does carry on if he has a degenerate knee? He was distinctly average this year, if his knee is that bad, he's probably not going to be any better next year. Not to mention likely missing games.
Players can have bad knees and still play good footy. Ottens has had knee problems for years for example. He might just need to be managed better, and this is all assuming he does actually have a degenerate knee.

My dislike for wood is based on his lack of aggression. He has the skills, just appears he has no aggression or want for a contest. If he had Leigh Brown's mongrel he would be a top line ruckman.

We recruited him as a back up ruckman, which is what he is and always will be.
I would have agreed with you on the aggression front at the start of the year but I thought this year he showed good steps with his aggression and using his body. Each year he's improved parts of his game, and he's now up to being a reliable player for us. If he keeps it up he could quite easily become our #1 ruckman in a year or two.

Jolly may pull the pin!