Coach Justin Longmuir Pt 2

Great connection you've made there. I've been telling all my Dockers supporting mates this privately for two solid years now. 2022 was our 2003.

Justin is good enough to keep us there or thereabouts, but he's not good enough to contend. The club needs to be brave. We need a hard ass coach to come in and straighten the group out like Ross did at the start of 2012 (sans the defensive game style). This is the most talented group we've ever had and we're going to blow it if we're not brave enough to make a change.

On Pixel 3 XL using BigFooty.com mobile app

I’m exactly here too. We have a good enough squad to make finals and be right amongst it, and yet we find ourselves here again.

There’s no guarantee that a change in coach will make any improvement to our results, but if the board decide to honour the final year then I would like to see some hard decisions being made. Playing the favourites has to stop, good form for Peel should be rewarded and poor form in the 1’s can’t be tolerated.

I feel sorry for Serong, Brayshaw and Young and a couple of others who are busting their guts every week for this club and are being rewarded with mediocre results.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

When M Harvey in 2011 was all over the place with positional changes. Pavlich
was not a happy man.
Well those changes, non selections, the last two years feels more Harvey than
Connolly.
Especially since Carr left after 2022.
At least with Connolly we got more than one finals campaign, who has faith in JLo
to turn it around in 2025?
The coaching group is lacking that hard edge, a preseason where you see players
develop mature bodies and tackling is a required skill set.
Guaranteed no one will speak out of school about our trajectory, but we will waste
our window and more players will request a move.
Let Jlo coach without an extension, someone has to set the standards.

Great connection you've made there. I've been telling all my Dockers supporting mates this privately for two solid years now. 2022 was our 2003.

Justin is good enough to keep us there or thereabouts, but he's not good enough to contend. The club needs to be brave. We need a hard ass coach to come in and straighten the group out like Ross did at the start of 2012 (sans the defensive game style). This is the most talented group we've ever had and we're going to blow it if we're not brave enough to make a change.

On Pixel 3 XL using BigFooty.com mobile app
I disagree, just like players average age, he’s just ticked over 100 games as a coach and is learning too.

I think we still scrap into finals but playing favourites, picking injured players and not adjusting on the fly is costing us.

This week he will have learnt he needed to play Reidy three weeks ago. Next week he will learn he should have dropped Banners three weeks ago too.

Switching the coach for another nobody isn’t the answer, getting him to be better is.

We aren’t that far off, let’s not throw the baby out yet or we become Carlton. The last three teams who had Dynasty’s went through the same conundrum before it clicked and it usually involved the coach doing some soul searching.

Justin in his presser says the boys have "had a crack". No we haven't, not by a long shot Justin. Set your expectations a little higher than playing a good quarter of footy every week. We also have one of the worst pressure rating averages in the competition.

We should have dropped Wagner and played Davies. Allow Cox to roll off and intercept. Hogan didn't just smash us on the scoreboard but around the ground as well.You have a hard tag on Daniels as well.

Match Committee really struggle with strategies to take away opposition strengths. How are we going to ever win a premiership if you can't properly plan?

Justin in his presser says the boys have "had a crack". No we haven't, not by a long shot Justin. Set your expectations a little higher than playing a good quarter of footy every week. We also have one of the worst pressure rating averages in the competition.

We should have dropped Wagner and played Davies. Allow Cox to roll off and intercept. Hogan didn't just smash us on the scoreboard but around the ground as well.You have a hard tag on Daniels as well.

Match Committee really struggle with strategies to take away opposition strengths. How are we going to ever win a premiership if you can't properly plan?

It was a poor choice of words from JL, seeing as the Raygun fiasco featured the 'having a crack' line rather than focusing on intense drive and tenacity.

I'm sure he has better coaching standards but his post match conference was very poor, even by his standards.

I understand the frustration mate, I really do.

But the fact still remains, no Pearce, No Darcy and no Treacy. That's not basically our spine, that IS our spine.

To go to Canberra against a quality outfit like the Giants, take it to them and actually go close to the point where it looked like we might pull it off, I consider that having a red hot crack.

But as a lot of people have been saying, myself included, we're losing these games on Thursday night.

I disagree, just like players average age, he’s just ticked over 100 games as a coach and is learning too.

I think we still scrap into finals but playing favourites, picking injured players and not adjusting on the fly is costing us.

This week he will have learnt he needed to play Reidy three weeks ago. Next week he will learn he should have dropped Banners three weeks ago too.

Switching the coach for another nobody isn’t the answer, getting him to be better is.

We aren’t that far off, let’s not throw the baby out yet or we become Carlton. The last three teams who had Dynasty’s went through the same conundrum before it clicked and it usually involved the coach doing some soul searching.
Man works for a firm, makes an error that costs said firm $100k. People demand he's sacked, but the boss says, "Why would I sack him after I've just spent $100k teaching him?"

On SM-G988U1 using BigFooty.com mobile app

But the fact still remains, no Pearce, No Darcy and no Treacy. That's not basically our spine, that IS our spine.

To go to Canberra against a quality outfit like the Giants, take it to them and actually go close to the point where it looked like we might pull it off, I consider that having a red hot crack.

But as a lot of people have been saying, myself included, we're losing these games on Thursday night.

I'm not all that impressed with GWS overall. They have a few AAA players like Daniels who rips and tears teams apart. But they can't win it right now with the footy they are playing. I think the Bulldogs pick them apart next week as well.

Yes we losing on Thursday, but it’s also basic skill errors every game.
Some of these errors are from experienced players who have reached their ceiling.
Very little accountability, it feels to me JLo has been coaching to save his job and
no thought on how to better the list overall.
Then there is the body shapes of our players, even if we scrape into finals the
pressure and tackling mindset means we are poorly prepared.
If Jackson is to be playing ruck, he looks too lean in muscle mass to compete.
Which is fine if we want to use our pace, or the opposition let you.
Instead we play a slow style and kick it long and can’t tackle.
Individuali programs need to be sorted, and the coaching staff have to know where
to play players for team success.
Some players are too lean, others are not , while others need sprint training.
Waste of time if everyone is predominately doing the same class thinking.
A couple of UFC classes wouldn’t go astray either.

Allowing Cox to just roll off and wander around the back line is poor anyway. As a key back with Pearce out he needs to be accountable and actually cut a key forward like Hogan out of the game. They showed visions during the week of our backmen like Draper and Cox in the Geelong game who just run around and guard space a lot without impacting the game.

It was a poor choice of words from JL, seeing as the Raygun fiasco featured the 'having a crack' line rather than focusing on intense drive and tenacity.

I'm sure he has better coaching standards but his post match conference was very poor, even by his standards.
Always the constant "proud of the boys" is not what you should hear of a coach who loses these key games, maybe a North or Richmond who lose a close one against a top team but not when you were close to securing top 4 a couple of weeks ago.

Look at Sam Mitchell’s interview two weeks ago for contrast

I think our gameplan is excellent. As Chris Scott said last week - we are easy to scout but very hard to counter.
The fact we are taking it up to every team in the comp and should be finishing top 4 with a young core group is really a pretty decent result.

What isn't good is injuries to our most important players at the business end plus non-imaginative & conservative selection policies and several underperforming players getting a free ride while others languish in the WAFL no matter what they do.

Not playing Reidy & O'Driscoll earlier are howlers which pretty much blew the season. Reidy worked brilliantly with the midfield and some of of clearances were poetry. NOD added dare and dash and nearly helped us steal it.

Taking Fyfe off was just baffling.

It must be instruction to play low pressure, because ours was below average for the whole first half. I get you can't sustain 200+ for a whole game each week, but I reckon it wouldn't hurt to go a little harder for longer in games like this.
My theory is that we intentionally don't pressure initially when we turn the ball over and it's very obvious from kick ins. Everyone roasts our kick ins but how we defend them is far worse in my opinion.

We almost always seem to wait until play is hemmed in to one side of the field before we apply pressure. At kick ins we always leave a spare player or two in the pockets for the opposition.

I think we do this because that way instead of trying to create turnovers we are trying to create stoppages given we typically win the vast majority of those.

It also means we reduce the amount of 1 on 1s our defence has to deal with by having numbers behind the ball.

My theory is that we intentionally don't pressure initially when we turn the ball over and it's very obvious from kick ins. Everyone roasts our kick ins but how we defend them is far worse in my opinion.

We almost always seem to wait until play is hemmed in to one side of the field before we apply pressure. At kick ins we always leave a spare player or two in the pockets for the opposition.

I think we do this because that way instead of trying to create turnovers we are trying to create stoppages given we typically win the vast majority of those.

It also means we reduce the amount of 1 on 1s our defence has to deal with by having numbers behind the ball.
It's hard to tell on TV, but whatever it is, I don't like it. Turnover is far more important than stoppage.

We better be up for it next week if the season is alive.

It must be instruction to play low pressure, because ours was below average for the whole first half. I get you can't sustain 200+ for a whole game each week, but I reckon it wouldn't hurt to go a little harder for longer in games like this.
Yea this is area of our game that’s got me puzzled the most.

It’s definitely an instruction, the team can’t just be continually one of the lowest pressure teams in the comp week in week out.
If I remember correctly WC weren’t a high pressure team either for a lot time when jlo was there whilst they were good.

That said considering how much value basically the rest of the comp places on it I can’t help but think there’s got to be other factors for why we’re so poor at it .
One of them I’m sure has to be fitness.
Yes we’re a young side but the majority of a players still all have 4+ pre seasons under their belt so that’s not an excuse.

Id genuinely be interested to know what’s actually up because if you go back through recent history all the great teams have prioritised pressure/based so much of their defence system around it.

I mean Richmond basically built their dynasty off the back of it

I refuse to believe it’s (our method)is a sustainable way to win big matches consistently

Yea this is area of our game that’s got me puzzled the most.

It’s definitely an instruction, the team can’t just be continually one of the lowest pressure teams in the comp week in week out.
If I remember correctly WC weren’t a high pressure team either for a lot time when jlo was there whilst they were good.

That said considering how much value basically the rest of the comp places on it I can’t help but think there’s got to be other factors for why we’re so poor at it .
One of them I’m sure has to be fitness.
Yes we’re a young side but the majority of a players still all have 4+ pre seasons under their belt so that’s not an excuse.

Id genuinely be interested to know what’s actually up because if you go back through recent history all the great teams have prioritised pressure/based so much of their defence system around it.

I mean Richmond basically built their dynasty off the back of it

I refuse to believe it’s (our method)is a sustainable way to win big matches consistently
The 2018 Eagles are the only reason I can think someone would do it on purpose.

Given we play so low pressure, we really should be entering Q4 with plenty in the tank, but it never pans out like that. Would love a journalist to ask about it.

The 2018 Eagles are the only reason I can think someone would do it on purpose.

Given we play so low pressure, we really should be entering Q4 with plenty in the tank, but it never pans out like that. Would love a journalist to ask about it.
I can't remember the last time footy media actually spoke about tactics properly.

First Crack and On the Couch are probably the best ones we have and that's just them pulling up numbers that they either don't explain or don't understand. There is the occasional tactical analysis for a good 90 seconds here or there if you are lucky.

I think our gameplan is excellent. As Chris Scott said last week - we are easy to scout but very hard to counter.
The fact we are taking it up to every team in the comp and should be finishing top 4 with a young core group is really a pretty decent result.

What isn't good is injuries to our most important players at the business end plus non-imaginative & conservative selection policies and several underperforming players getting a free ride while others languish in the WAFL no matter what they do.

Not playing Reidy & O'Driscoll earlier are howlers which pretty much blew the season. Reidy worked brilliantly with the midfield and some of of clearances were poetry. NOD added dare and dash and nearly helped us steal it.

Taking Fyfe off was just baffling.
This is too balanced, logical, and sensible for the frothing crowd mate. The mob demands a sacrifice, reasons be damned.

Reidy showed against GWS he would have been a perfect stopgap against Essendon, which would have let Darcy recover from his niggle and made him available for the next two games if all went well. We’d have at least not dropped the Essendon game and have secured finals.

Recalling Taberner, a man everyone knows is cooked at this level, was madness.

This capitulation is all on the coach.
Man works for a firm, makes an error that costs said firm $100k. People demand he's sacked, but the boss says, "Why would I sack him after I've just spent $100k teaching him?"

On SM-G988U1 using BigFooty.com mobile app
He’s five years into his senior career and was an assistant for nearly a decade before that. Time to start producing results

Coach Justin Longmuir Pt 2