Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2015 Draft Almanac

It depends on Adelaide's preference regarding to preferred type. As an example, Adelaide love their contested ball winning midfielders, and will rarely draft a mid if they can't win their own ball.

I haven't picked up on such a definite trend towards ruckmen with Adelaide. My best guess is probably a more athletic ruckman rather than your power marking ruckman, is more what Adelaide will look at. The reason I guess athletic is because Adelaide generally do well for forwards - identifying and developing.

It means for Sushames and Dodge that only a small number of teams have interest. There are players not at the draft combine every year who get picked. So it's hardly curtains. It just suggests they probably don't go early draft with fewer teams interested.

Dodge is one I quite like. He has front half talent. That doesn't mean he gets drafted, but late/rookie I like what he offers.

Brisbane won too many games last year I receive a priority pick I'd imagine with the seven wins last year.

I haven't followed the rules of late. But from what best I recall two seasons of four wins or less are required to get a priority pick.

If I'm wrong I'm sure someone will correct me.

In the odd scenario Brisbane ended up with a priority pick. I don't know the timing and how that will work with f/s and academy selection time, but assuming the priority pick is awarded first, I'd assume that pick would go towards Keays or Hipwood.

Darcy Cameron had a 61 hitout game last round at league level which a big performance. And the week prior at reserves level he had 54 hitouts and 2 goals. So I'd be open to looking at Cameron again as a rookie option.

Does he get drafted? I haven't heard any talk. But with his second half of the season a lot stronger than his first half. I'm open to looking at him again. And it's possible AFL clubs may also be.

For that burst of pace. Ryan Clarke is the closest. He just doesn't have that same strength at stoppages to do what Ablett or Danger do.

For stoppage dominance. Jacob Hopper is this years most dominant specifically at that. He is a pretty good athlete, but not Danger.

Thomas Cole is a real chance. High level accumulator. Considered high character. Can play mid/hbf.

Aidyn Johnson with his pace and athleticism while he has been hurt is someone else who will attract interest.

Both can get drafted mid-late draft.

Lachie Tardrew may be that third chance with his performance in the TAC Cup strong, but probably more a rookie chance.

Tardrew..37 on the weekend must be a chance

Ok, fair enough. I feel that the Dogs are unlikely to give up Roughead or Campbell given they could both become a nice ruck partnership in the near future. On Cordy, though, I do wonder whether would he interest a team like Essendon? Young, and has a lot of talent which just needs to be unlocked, but a change of scenery might just do that. I think he's been given his last extended chance at the Dogs, and we'll be looking to soon move him on.

One this is not the thread to be discussing trading and two why would any club consider Cordy who is not AFL standard.

Here is the list so far. (15 games listed anyway when this report was done)

http://www.wafl.com.au/players/view/4672

Only just turned 20 and is 204cms/104kgs
Gets on the scoreboard as well.

Cameron hasn't been too impressive at all this year. Spent most of the year battling away in the reserves where he has an enormous sze advantage, but doesn't seem to make full use of it. Pretty good effort to come in to the league side and have that number of hitouts against Keunen who is a pretty accomplished ruckman though, so will watch how he goes for the remainder of the year, but I wouldn't have thought clubs would be that interested in him at this stage.

One this is not the thread to be discussing trading and two why would any club consider Cordy who is not AFL standard.
OK, firstly, I was only commenting because others had been commenting on their teams, so try and read a few before you comment. Secondly, I think a first round father-son pick who is around the 23-25yo age is probably at AFL standard, but just hasn't found his mojo yet. Do your research mate.

I have done my research - I watch every AFL game and I've seen nothing to indicate that Ayce Cordy is AFL standard - Even taking into account that rucks take longer to mature, Cordy has been in the system for seven years - He had been tried as a key forward and as a ruck with limited success.

Finally we have other threads in the D and T to discuss this issue.

Hey KM do you think Stephen Tahana will get drafted, he looks a nice player to me?

Tahana is a definite chance.

He had a terrific season last season. And at the time was an incredible effective negating type. This year I haven't seen a great elevation in his game, but he is showing some hints of talent.

Tahana won't go first round, I'm not expecting. But mid-late/rookie draft Tahana is one who will be in the mix for a number of clubs I anticipate.

Perhaps West Coast could be his eventual destination late draft as a club who continue to rate those who have strong underage years.

KM at this stage it would appear like st kilda would end up with one of parish, Mathieson or balic.. I think parish suits our needs the best but if we ended up with Mathieson how do you think he compliments our current crop of midfielders and do you think he'd be a good fit? Or can you see is taking anyone else with our first ?

I have done my research - I watch every AFL game and I've seen nothing to indicate that Ayce Cordy is AFL standard - Even taking into account that rucks take longer to mature, Cordy has been in the system for seven years - He had been tried as a key forward and as a ruck with limited success.

Finally we have other threads in the D and T to discuss this issue.
You need a comma after 'finally' in the second paragraph. Poor diction ruins an argument ')

KM at this stage it would appear like st kilda would end up with one of parish, Mathieson or balic.. I think parish suits our needs the best but if we ended up with Mathieson how do you think he compliments our current crop of midfielders and do you think he'd be a good fit? Or can you see is taking anyone else with our first ?

Parish and Balic would be the best list fits, if ignoring the player quality. Just the class those two offer I really like if talking purely as a fit alongside the current midfield group at St Kilda.

Mathieson may be the best of the three. And is the better inside player of the three. So he increasingly would be my pick if those three are deemed best available at that St Kilda selection and based on my view that all picks should be best available and needs should be met via trade and free agency as best as can be practically achieved. Mathieson I'm starting to like for his improved inside game. His ball use is better. Big numbers, improving. Can offer some scoreboard impact. More resoundingly than with the others Mathieson is ticking the boxes for me.
Balic I'm also even considering as someone I'd pick ahead of Balic. Parish has some real class, but Balic is someone I feel has been slept on and should be well and truly in that discussion as an excellent talent in his own right.

Parish and Balic would be the best list fits, if ignoring the player quality. Just the class those two offer I really like if talking purely as a fit alongside the current midfield group at St Kilda.

Mathieson may be the best of the three. And is the better inside player of the three. So he increasingly would be my pick if those three are deemed best available at that St Kilda selection and based on my view that all picks should be best available and needs should be met via trade and free agency as best as can be practically achieved. Mathieson I'm starting to like for his improved inside game. His ball use is better. Big numbers, improving. Can offer some scoreboard impact. More resoundingly than with the others Mathieson is ticking the boxes for me.
Balic I'm also even considering as someone I'd pick ahead of Balic. Parish has some real class, but Balic is someone I feel has been slept on and should be well and truly in that discussion as an excellent talent in his own right.

If had to choice NM, if Pies have pick 3 in order who would you take?

Francis, Parish, Mathieson, Balic

Tahana is a definite chance.

He had a terrific season last season. And at the time was an incredible effective negating type. This year I haven't seen a great elevation in his game, but he is showing some hints of talent.

Tahana won't go first round, I'm not expecting. But mid-late/rookie draft Tahana is one who will be in the mix for a number of clubs I anticipate.

Perhaps West Coast could be his eventual destination late draft as a club who continue to rate those who have strong underage years.

Hey KM, how do you rate the West Coast recruiting team? And who do you think would be some players they may be targeting that you'd expect to be around their eventual draft selections? Would Tahana be a good fit? Cheers

Was just going to ask if you favoured a pure midfielder for Melbourne at pick 3/4 assuming Francis is also on the table? Or even a curnow/burton type? Cheers

I think Demons will take best available out of Balic or Mathieson. Mathieson first preferences but hard to know what recruiters are thinking

Aaron Francis if available will be tempting as versitile and good kicking so if still available I'd say Francis

If I'm picking today. Francis.

Collingwood badly lack ball users. Collingwood forward or back could use his impact and influence.

Hey KM, how do you rate the West Coast recruiting team? And who do you think would be some players they may be targeting that you'd expect to be around their eventual draft selections? Would Tahana be a good fit? Cheers

West Coast are fairly conservative as recruiters - and conservative is wrongly seen as a bad thing, and just means there will be less poor misses.

West Coast have been inactive trades/free agency players, and that involvement needs to increase. There are enough players from WA playing in other states, so it's time for WCE to make a play for some of these guys.

In terms of the draft. That's where I say conservative. WCE take guys who have had strong junior careers. It's that one thing I see with West Coast every year. Lamb and Nelson last year are two examples. Lamb was seen as a potential top five pick. Nelson was seen as a potential late first round selection. So was Waterman going into the season. Then we've seen the Jack Darling's. And going back further. Tom Swift for those who remember him.
A willingness to take a shot at once high draft selections. Cale Morton. Kane Lucas last year.
So there's a lot of going after players who had great junior careers, and more so than any team in the competition.
And it works not to a best few in the competition standard. But certainly an above average standard.
Where WCE's relative drafting strength is and the player development also is strong in this area. But key position players. West Coast get the identification and development right and to a standard second probably only to Adelaide.

As for would Tahana be a good fit? Based on my above observations on West Coast's drafting. I can see Tahana certainly being on West Coast's draft board as a consideration. In terms of as a list fit, he also offers some value as a versatile type who can play either as a stopper, or do some creative things at time.

When will your next update of your phantom formguide be knightmare

No deadline at this time.

Life is busy. I'd have 50 full draft profiles up like last year if I had the time to. A heavy workload is all that's standing in my way. And I'll be busy till seasons end and probably into next season also. So it's just going to be about finding those minutes and making time as best I can for any updates - both phantom draft but then also power rankings and my detailed draft profiles.

Knightmare is gus borthwick worth looking at? Seems he's had a few good game for Collingwood vfl

I've enjoyed the play of Borthwick for Collingwood VFL. Exceptionally hard at the footy and can really win the contested ball on the inside. And he can hold his own at VFL level which is promising for someone still very young and with not a whole lot of exposed footy form prior to this year.

He just lacks polish by foot. So a no from me on Borthwick as an AFL prospect this year.

Knightmare is gus borthwick worth looking at? Seems he's had a few good game for Collingwood vfl
I've seen him a few times and I think he's a ripper, but there are other state league players I'd have ahead of him. Players like Rippon, Marcon, Coghlan, Polkinghorne, Hartley from the VFL at least.