Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2015 Draft Almanac

Why not mention Cripps? ;)
maybe I should have mentioned Carlton's choices for its other first round picks over the last few years. Very poor of me to selectively highlight Boekhorst. So here goes Menzel:2012, Bootsma: 2011, Watson:2010, Lucas:2009, Yarran: 2008, 2007: gave to Eagles along with Kennedy for Judd.:$

If you were Tony Elshaug who would you bring in for the saints with their 1st and 2nd round pick? (being realistic of course with their current pick selection)

G'day KM: Dylan Clarke 2016 prospect, what are your thoughts at this early stage?

As LemmingMaster mentioned. The WA talents have all fallen down my draft order.

I love the group for next year from WA.

But from this years group only Ah Chee is inside my top 30 power rankings (at 30th). And Darcy Cameron (ruckman) is the only other West Australian this year to make my top 50 power rankings, and he may not get drafted.

In saying this. Dylan Smith and Gregory Clark both should get selected in the national draft, though in recent times they have dropped out of my power rankings, with their games not leaving me particularly convinced.

Joshua Glass-McCasker, Brayden Hackett, Declan Mountford and Joshua Schoenfeld also were invited to the national combine. So they all will also receive consideration from some clubs.

--
Just the dynamic within this draft is after the first 25, maybe 30. There is a significant drop off in talent, and a real evenness which leaves things open to interpretation, with most clubs where possible from that point onward probably looking to pass on their selections where possible in the national draft anyway.
Who do you like from WA next year? Heard anything about Josh hannon, Kye beveridge, Corey Lions or Ash Krakouer?

If you were Tony Elshaug who would you bring in for the saints with their 1st and 2nd round pick? (being realistic of course with their current pick selection)

I'm assuming certainly first round that Schache, Weitering, Mills, Francis and Parish are not available.

I'd be putting in bids for Jacob Hopper and Ben Keays firstly to see if Brisbane match, as they would be my best available talents. Failing those two, Charlie Curnow, Kieran Collins and Eric Hipwood would be that next group I'd be considering, and at this stage I'd stay fairly non-committal as to which is my preference, as I rate those three fairly closely and may change that order.

In the second round. Best available slider based on my power rankings - maybe a Curnow, Collins or Hipwood slide further than they should. Of those more realistic options. Ryan Clarke, Luke Partington, Josh Dunkley and Wayne Milera are those I'd strongly recommend if available, and I anticipate one if not more of these will be available.

G'day KM: Dylan Clarke 2016 prospect, what are your thoughts at this early stage?

Nice size for a mid and can win the footy. He has draft chances for next year.

Who do you like from WA next year? Heard anything about Josh hannon, Kye beveridge, Corey Lions or Ash Krakouer?

Sam Petrevski-Seton, Sam Powell-Pepper, Jeremy Goddard, Cameron Zurhaar and Josh Rotham are those standouts certainly from the u18 champs and those who have caught my eye.

The others I'll likely need to watch next season as I'm not familiar with them at this point.

Not unless Carlton/Brisbane rort the draft like Melbourne/Gold Coast did to prevent Brisbane from potentially getting Hogan.

Carlton pay Leuenberger enough to net us pick 2. We pay Kreuzer enough to net Carlton pick 4. Win/Win for both clubs.
Can't see Kruezer going to Brisbane but the plan has devious merrett unfortunately for an Essendon supporter

G'day Knightmare,

What're your thoughts on GWS 2016 academy prospects Macreadie and Setterfield? Cheers

G'day Knightmare,

What're your thoughts on GWS 2016 academy prospects Macreadie and Setterfield? Cheers

Macreadie I've seen a bit of and have been impressed with the attack he offers with his footskills, vision and general dare as well as a willingness to run with ball in hand. He looks draftable.

Setterfield I don't recall seeing.

But they're both seen as GWS' most likely for next year at this stage.

Knighter, Lachlan Tardrew?

Invited to the state combine so there will be a couple of clubs considering, but he isn't on all draft boards. He is an accumulator and is finding the footy but I imagine clubs will be asking what he can that others can't, that will make him successful at the next level.

Hey KM, Could I get a profile on wayne milera?

I'll work through most likely sequentially with my draft profiles, so Milera won't be amongst that next batch I don't anticipate. Though I certainly will put up a draft profile for Milera as he is someone I'm very strong on this year.

Given you ask though, I'll give you some brief insight into his game and what he offer. Good athlete and moves very well. Classy with ball in hand and also has hurt factor. Offers scoreboard impact forward of centre. Can find enough of the footy and also win the hard ball when it's his turn. So I really like his game a lot and I'd say he could be something like this years Steven Motlop equivalent on talent. So he looks to me like someone who can push into the first round as in my view the best indigenous talent in this draft (though most still seem to argue Ah Chee).

Hey Knighta reckon Ballard will get promoted for Freo?

I have no information on what Fremantle's intentions are with Ballard.

Looking at his stats, he has had a strong past three weeks in the WAFL which is something. But given he has yet to debut. I see no reason why Fremantle should upgrade him.

Any time a rookie listed player is yet to debut, I don't believe it is right for them to get promoted onto the senior list. I'd certainly be making them earn it and earn their way onto the senior list through proving their best 22 relevance and that they are ready to play regular senior AFL football ahead of the others on the senior list.

Not unless Carlton/Brisbane rort the draft like Melbourne/Gold Coast did to prevent Brisbane from potentially getting Hogan.

Carlton pay Leuenberger enough to net us pick 2. We pay Kreuzer enough to net Carlton pick 4. Win/Win for both clubs.
You thought Hogan would make it to Lions?!?!? More likely MacRae or Billings would have made it to the Lions picks in either 2012/2013 draft (depending on whether Hogan was picked in minidraft or not).

He's referring to Brisbane having the highest offer on the table to GWS for the Hogan minidraft pick until it became apparent that Melbourne was not going to have to use pick 3 on Viney.

What was their offer?

Brisbane's? IIRC it was picks 8 and 22.
Still wasn't the next best offer. Dogs offered 6+21, which didn't get it done as Dees offered up more after dogs had traded up to pick 21.
Sorry to derail your thread KM.

Still wasn't the next best offer. Dogs offered 6+21, which didn't get it done as Dees offered up more after dogs had traded up to pick 21.
Sorry to derail your thread KM.

Huh, that's news to me. Looking through your board, it seems most posts were about offering pick 6 for Hogan + something else (or picks 5+6 for both Martin and Hogan) rather than pick 6+21 straight up - I would've thought it would've have rated a mention, but obviously BF's search functionality is... sporadic.

Macreadie I've seen a bit of and have been impressed with the attack he offers with his footskills, vision and general dare as well as a willingness to run with ball in hand. He looks draftable.

Setterfield I don't recall seeing.

But they're both seen as GWS' most likely for next year at this stage.
Probably because he played mainly APS for Caulfield GS this year (and for ACT/NSW in champs).

I did see all three NSW/ACT games through the u18 champs. In reading through his stats he found the ball the ball in the first two games of the champs.

In saying that, in quickly glancing at my notes through the three games while I will have seen several of his games as it turns out, I have not on any particular plays noted his influence which explains my lack of familiarity with his game.