Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2016 Draft Almanac

Tim

engkish rated so highly for a number of reasons,

see the following he knows much more about footy than anyone on this forum at a guess , Tim is 204cm that's a start point

Athletic South Fremantle big man Tim English has catapulted into top-10 draft calculations after earning AFL Under-18 All-Australian selection.

Aside from WA best and fairest, Perth Demons midfielder Zac Fisher, English was arguably the Black Swans’ most consistent player in the Under-18 Championship which concluded this week.

AFL national talent manager Kevin Sheehan felt it was a case of everything coming together for English after his whopping 20cm growth spurt in the past three years.

“Everyone that’s going to make an AFL list has their moment, or their year, where they’re ready to show their very best,” Sheehan told The Sunday Times.

“He was impressive throughout (the carnival) for a boy of that size — he’s a mobile, agile kid who generally showed an ability in the air and at ground level.

“He’s got massive upside, he needs probably another 8-10kg and all of that will come in time.

“He’s the kid that probably at the start of the year was on the radar to playing some terrific footy locally, and then handling it very well at national level to push his name right up there.”

Hope this helps

http://m.afl.com.au/news/2016-09-19/fatherson-prospects-have-a-chance-to-shine-on-grand-final-eve

All Star teams named

Not sure how many interstate lads impacted but SPS, Waterman, SPP play Colts GF Sunday , then this , then Combine .

Those playing prolonged seasons due to finals commitments , then this will not be expected to be at their peak for Combine . Other lads have had time to rest bodies and adopt training specific to Combine testing. Throw in 2 trips to Melbourne from those interstate. Big ask .

This All Stars game is driven by club recruiters , not sure the value in it given the seasons the lads have already been through and recruiters access all season . Not going to be much it anytime for GF finals winners involved to let hair down and celebrate with team mates .

http://m.afl.com.au/news/2016-09-19/fatherson-prospects-have-a-chance-to-shine-on-grand-final-eve

All Star teams named

Not sure how many interstate lads impacted but SPS, Waterman, SPP play Colts GF Sunday , then this , then Combine .

Those playing prolonged seasons due to finals commitments , then this will not be expected to be at their peak for Combine . Other lads have had time to rest bodies and adopt training specific to Combine testing. Throw in 2 trips to Melbourne from those interstate. Big ask .

This All Stars game is driven by club recruiters , not sure the value in it given the seasons the lads have already been through and recruiters access all season . Not going to be much it anytime for GF finals winners involved to let hair down and celebrate with team mates .
It's still a chance for a lot of them to enhance their draft stocks so unless the have niggles I expect every player there to be keen on giving their all

I meant more similar in their queries in juniors if they could play midfield at AFL level. Would argue that Scrimshaws explosiveness can be very good from what I've seen.

Scrimshaw moves more like Pendlebury than a Dangerfield to offer some perspective on his movement.

Very agile, can sidestep and moves smoothly through traffic but otherwise his speed is unimpressive.

How would you rate Long compared to someone like Cedric Cox, I know Cox is that year older.
But he was also pretty impressive at VFL level.

Both Cox and Long are top agers actually.

Cox is the higher rated player and offensively the more gifted. More of a linebreaker and cleaner skills, doing more exciting things each game.

Long is more a role player who back (and possibly forward) can fit into a side and shutdown a player and offer some mild rebound.

Cox may feature somewhere around the second round.

Long is more a late/rookie choice.

All Star teams named

Seeing the bottom agers v the Div 2 boys, I was sort of hoping for the same again this year.

But a sort of draft relevant all star game needless to say I'm ok with seeing also.

There are always players missing who are disappointing not to see listed, but it is what it is and the teams are good enough.

Knightmare, do you know if Setterfield will be available for the GF?

Wouldn't think so. Looked done for the season when he walked past me with his shoulder in a sling on the weekend.

Hey KM

Been reading a few rankings here and there and the common pattern regarding jy simpkin is that where he ends up going in the draft will depend on how he returns from injury; is he still injured or has he given any clarity to his draft position? A few have marshall slipping around 10-15 pick is there a reason and do you see the same?

Seeing the bottom agers v the Div 2 boys, I was sort of hoping for the same again this year.

But a sort of draft relevant all star game needless to say I'm ok with seeing also.

There are always players missing who are disappointing not to see listed, but it is what it is and the teams are good enough.

Wouldn't think so. Looked done for the season when he walked past me with his shoulder in a sling on the weekend.

Think Juddy team has more top end talent. IIRC he has McCluggage Brodie Bowes McGrath Anisworth Gallucci and Marshall
Still plenty of talent on MickyO team SPS Settlefield Drew Battle English Scrimshaw Clarke and Kerr.
Think this is a great idea, a great chance to showcase what a particular draft class has to offer.
Who do you like for this game KM ?

Hey Knightmare, what type of body does McCluggage have? Will he fill out to a decent build, or will he have lighter frame?

Light body currently but can physically develop enough. Probably can develop a similar build/size to a Hannebery (without being the same style/type of player) based on his build.

Hey KM

Been reading a few rankings here and there and the common pattern regarding jy simpkin is that where he ends up going in the draft will depend on how he returns from injury; is he still injured or has he given any clarity to his draft position? A few have marshall slipping around 10-15 pick is there a reason and do you see the same?

With Simpkin much of it will be down to injury, as having not played this season, he hasn't moved up/down draft boards other than others around him moving. Simpkin still clearly isn't right to play with Murray in the granny and I assume he is still several months away in his recovery. May over the coming days ask my Murray contact where he is at in his recovery.

Marshall at pick 10-15 would be based on recent below standard form.

I have Marshall inside my top 10 still and I'm not discounting him as a top 5 prospect in this draft and on my draft board.

Think Juddy team has more top end talent. IIRC he has McCluggage Brodie Bowes McGrath Anisworth Gallucci and Marshall
Still plenty of talent on MickyO team SPS Settlefield Drew Battle English Scrimshaw Clarke and Kerr.
Think this is a great idea, a great chance to showcase what a particular draft class has to offer.
Who do you like for this game KM ?

Micky O has Brodie and Drew in the same midfield. Setterfield won't be right to do which is a shame but Clarke and Scharenberg are both terrific mids. That's the better midfield. I just like Judd's front half more and would on that basis back his side in to win the game. Having Ainsworth, Bolton, Hayward, Taranto, Powell-Pepper, McCluggage, Battle, Marshall and Ratugolea etc is going to make a big difference.

Hi KM,

Who do you reckon replaces Setterfield in Sandi's team this week for the Granny? I believe Kane Nissambaum was 1st emergency last week.

Cheers.

would venables be a full time Mid at AFL? would like him with our first pick.

Hi KM,

Who do you reckon replaces Setterfield in Sandi's team this week for the Granny? I believe Kane Nissambaum was 1st emergency last week.

Cheers.

Kane Nissambaum would be a likely replacement for Setterfield if 1st emg last week I'd predict. Has been pretty good this season for Sandy and probably was unlucky to miss on the weekend.

would venables be a full time Mid at AFL? would like him with our first pick.

Venables likely starts his career as a forward and may in time become a full time midfielder. My prediction is he would when developed split minutes between the front half and midfield.

He is a wildcard though and someone who could be anything if things go right for him and his game really comes together. The attributes are there in the most part.

Venables likely starts his career as a forward and may in time become a full time midfielder. My prediction is he would when developed split minutes between the front half and midfield.

He is a wildcard though and someone who could be anything if things go right for him and his game really comes together. The attributes are there in the most part.

Screams Luke Shuey

Kane Nissambaum would be a likely replacement for Setterfield if 1st emg last week I'd predict. Has been pretty good this season for Sandy and probably was unlucky to miss on the weekend.

thats not too bad actually. we don't have many that could play in a flank and chip in the middle. Most fans thought that was yeo but he has regressed.
Screams Luke Shuey
was about to say thats looks a bit like him as well. Eagles fans have been screaming out for another shuey.

Screams Luke Shuey

He has the explosive power.

Just hasn't proven the ball winning capabilities through the midfield yet.

Regarding Kane, a rookie chance?

Wouldn't think so. Not invited to the state or national combine. Not part of Sandy's win.

Knightmare I've seen quite a bit of Ballarat Rebels players Tom Williamson and Cal Wellings throughout the year and both seem to be flying under the radar a bit on what I've seen and I'd expect both to test very well in the upcoming Draft Combines as both seem athletically gifted on what I've seen...where do you see them in draft discussions?

Williamson has received a national combine invite and is seen as being in the mix. Good height and can provide some drive out of the back half with his run and kicking. Probably a bit too outside for my liking, but if you draft him it's because he is young and has scope to develop.

Wellings I've liked the look of through the midfield. Wins 1st possession inside and has excellent acceleration. He has something and while only at the state combine, he feels draftable. If he misses out, he is someone I could see with another year of development pushing again for selection next season as he has some attributes.

When will your weekend write ups be on ESPN?

I'm just doing a final look through it now and will in the coming hour or so submit it to ESPN for editing.

Either tomorrow or Thursday depending on scheduling ESPN will post my weekly wrap.

It's a ripper again this week. Like last weekend am covering another four matches in the weekly wrap. So there will like last week be an unrivaled level of depth on how the players have played and what they could and couldn't do.

This weeks feature player to change things up isn't a Victorian and someone I haven't heard much talk about. So hopefully my player focus player will get some people talking.

I'm just doing a final look through it now and will in the coming hour or so submit it to ESPN for editing.

Either tomorrow or Thursday depending on scheduling ESPN will post my weekly wrap.

It's a ripper again this week. Like last weekend am covering another four matches in the weekly wrap. So there will like last week be an unrivaled level of depth on how the players have played and what they could and couldn't do.

This weeks feature player to change things up isn't a Victorian and someone I haven't heard much talk about. So hopefully my player focus player will get some people talking.

I look forward to it every week cheers mate

If WA lads Q Narkle , Cam Zuhaar maybe . Two talented WA lads not highly talked about in draft conversations .
I think both with go Q Narkle well after Zuhaar .

Jye Bolton the Sandover Medallist any sneaky chance to be picked up? Rookied possibly? Dominated this year and seems like hes matured and bulked up a bit since his time at the Pies