Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2016 Draft Almanac

Now the seasons finished is there any chance you reckon beveridge from sandy can get picked up son of Luke had a good year but in the small side though ?

Hey KM whats the go with Jeremy Goddard (strengths/weakness and draft range)? Gone off the radar it seems.

Good height/size. Good tap ruckman who dominates with his tap work. Has some size and around the ball uses it.

The major weakness is not offering enough around the ground. Finds very little of it. Doesn't cover enough of the ground. Needs to get forward, take some marks and kick some goals.

Will be considered late/rookie.

Hi Knightmare.
I read your articles on ESPN every week, and I was just wondering when you'll be posting your next updated mock draft?

Thanks for reading and great question.

Another weekly wrap to come next week with matches tomorrow and Saturday.

I'll certainly do a phantom draft the week before the draft. Perhaps immediately after trade week.

Would you also like a mock draft prior to trade week and free agency?

Always open to hearing what others think and I'm in the process of planning my articles once my weekly wraps conclude.

Now the seasons finished is there any chance you reckon beveridge from sandy can get picked up son of Luke had a good year but in the small side though ?

Not invited to the state or national combine. Don't view Kye Beveridge as being in the mix this year. He is small but has been more a capable component of Sandringham rather than one of the driving forces behind winning or one of their better players.

Always open to hearing what others think and I'm in the process of planning my articles once my weekly wraps conclude.

Hi Mate,

Really enjoying your articles this yr. FWIW, i'd love for you to do the following;

1. Finalised Rankings article. i.e., ranked best draftees

2. A Reddit Style: Ask Me Anything.

3. Phantom Draft after trade week, not much point in doing it before given that picks will obviously change hands.

4. Post Draf Analysis: grade each clubs draft performance

Cheers

Hey Knightmare

Noticed the following blokes are not in the all star game (all inside my top 30 ratings). Which ones are due to injury, and which are just non selection?

Z.Fisher
D.Venables
J.Graham
K.Mutch
B.Scheer
J.Allison
H.Macreadie

Thanks

Hey Knightmare who are the best accumulators in the draft and out of them who uses the ball well at the same time?

Not much point doing a mock draft before the trade period, and we find out if/where brisbane get a PP. Stick to your own player rankings.

What I am interested in is your big board and your own mock draft. And then a mock draft on what your hearing in terms of team/recruiter rumours.

In other sports with drafts, it's pretty common to see mock drafts change as information gets out from teams. I would certainly expect to see (if you have the time) a mock the week before the draft, a mock the day before the draft and then a final mock before the draft starts.

Would certainly be funny if the AFL had it's own version of Adrian Wojnarowski.

Hey Knightmare who are the best accumulators in the draft and out of them who uses the ball well at the same time?
Kobe Mutch is a very productive midfielder. He's one of my favourite players in this years draft crop

Hey KM there is a lot of hype around Taranto ATM, myself not entirely sold on him just yet. Very impressive over head mark and seems to hit the score board regularly.
Do you think he will be able to make it as a midfielder ? He seems to have pretty average pace, is big bodied but not really a contested ball or clearance winning beast and foot skills seem just ok.
Could he really go inside the top 5 as some are suggesting ?

Hey Knightmare

Noticed the following blokes are not in the all star game (all inside my top 30 ratings). Which ones are due to injury, and which are just non selection?

Z.Fisher
D.Venables
J.Graham
K.Mutch
B.Scheer
J.Allison
H.Macreadie

Thanks

Macreadie, Scheer and Allison all played the last games for the year for GWS, Gold Coast and Brisbane respectively so they should all be healthy. Perhaps they didn't want to make the trip? I don't know why they're not on that list.

Graham played through the SANFL finals and I also imagine would be fine to play if he was picked and wanted to.

Venables and Fisher are the two who due to injury would be missing with neither playing in the TAC Cup or WAFL recently respectively.

Mutch, McGrath, McCluggage, Clarke and Taranto from the TAC Cup are the standout accumulators.

Of those non top end guys, Brodie Romensky and Lachlan Walker are two if picked who can find a lot of it.

Zac Fisher, Jonty Scharenberg, Brad Scheer, Jack Bowes, Will Setterfield, Harry Perryman, Jack Graham and Jake Pitman from outside Victoria also can find a lot of the ball.

Of these that don't use the ball well. Jack Graham and to a lesser extent Dylan Clarke and Brodie Romensky are the less reliable ball users. But if you're thinking from a Supercoach standpoint, they're all high percentage contested ball winners and would still have better SC output than DT output as a result.

Hey KM there is a lot of hype around Taranto ATM, myself not entirely sold on him just yet. Very impressive over head mark and seems to hit the score board regularly.
Do you think he will be able to make it as a midfielder ? He seems to have pretty average pace, is big bodied but not really a contested ball or clearance winning beast and foot skills seem just ok.
Could he really go inside the top 5 as some are suggesting ?

Taranto for me moves fine. He is no slower than Bowes, Perryman, Scheer, Scharenberg, Clarke etc from my power rankings. It's not his strength, but not as bad as others.

His work overhead has long been noted as a strength.

His work by foot I feel you are underselling. He has the creativity, vision, decision making and quality of skills to do damage kicking inside 50m, finishing on goal and hitting targets around the ground.

In terms of contested ball winning and clearance work he isn't elite but he is very good. His final v Geelong is a great example of how capable a contested ball winner Taranto is with 17 contested possessions (from 23 disposals).

In weeks 1-3 of the finals Taranto also had 4,8 and 5 clearances, splitting his time between midfield and forward. So he also is very capable winning clearances.

With Taranto, he is rising up my draft board and is someone I view on as a combo forward/midfielder who can play 50/50 in each position, more so on the basis that he is so good in both positions, in the way you'd say while a different player, of Dustin Martin, where Taranto does considerable damage up forward to the extent that you can isolate him deep i50 as your go-to target, or equally play him through the midfield, and he'll be highly effective in either role.

A month ago I would have said top five is too high for Taranto, I'm no longer convinced of that and feel he is probably worth a pick around 5 if not inside the top 5.

Bit stiff on Romensky who kicks at 66.4% (higher than McCluggage) compared to Clarke's 49.2%.

Romensky played half the season off half-back. That's why his efficiency is higher.

McCluggage by contrast playing half-forward/midfield is always going to have a lower efficiency.

*I actually like Romensky's game a lot. So evasive. Excellent midfield or back. Nice height/size. But by foot he can lack some consistency.

Do you think Andrew McGrath would be a good pick up for Fremantle considering their inability to break out of defence .

From the footy I've seen him play 10-12 matches a very fair comment on Goddard . Both him and Strnadica "found out" a bit this season , need to get more to game than size and some pretty good ability .

I'd agree. Both certainly at the end of last year I had inside my first round and neither have made meaningful progress.

Strnadica if anything has regressed kicking 16 less goals in the Colts from the same number of games.

With Goddard improving, but not adding to his game as would have been hoped coming into the season.

As a big, if you're not progressing rapidly, interest will be low, with rate of improvement a significant factor in what talls particularly in time will become.

Do you think Andrew McGrath would be a good pick up for Fremantle considering their inability to break out of defence .

McGrath would be a suitable get for any team. But for run out of defence, he is the guy in this draft.

Probably not there for Fremantle, with McGrath increasingly looking like he might go pick 1.

Just like the U18 Championships today Willem Drew consigned to the back pocket for almost the whole game when his team had only Florent with any real impact in the midfield WTF!! Scharenberg's disposal in particular was awful today, can't see him going 1st round on today's showing.

Throughout the game I was thinking - throw Drew in the midfield and you'll have a contest. But never happened just as was the case during the u18 championships.

Going to have a fair bit I'll go through in my weekly wrap about the game.