olimauldon
- Mar 14, 2017
- AFL Club
- Western Bulldogs
KM, with the Dog's position this year and the upcoming retirements of older stars, who could you see us going after ?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
What were your thoughts?Knightmare...was that you out at Calder today?? Liked Taylor and Brooks as bottom age boys in that game. If it was you what were your thoughts?
Yep - Dermott Brereton is a long standing expert on draft depth. He spends 100s of hours watching tapes from WAFL, SANFL, TAC games.....in between surfing and bayside lunches.
Give me a spell!
100% with you every year seems to be so so up until now but lately they all seem good come draft day and once a few extra players arrive on the scene.Yep - Dermott Brereton is a long standing expert on draft depth. He spends 100s of hours watching tapes from WAFL, SANFL, TAC games.....in between surfing and bayside lunches.
Give me a spell!
This time last year McGrath and Taranto were only just coming onto the radar as top 30 talent, let alone where they eventually went (#1 and #2). Yet both have played every single game bar being "rested" for a game each.
Most recruiters had them as "depth" draftees this time last year too.
What were your thoughts?
100% with you every year seems to be so so up until now but lately they all seem good come draft day and once a few extra players arrive on the scene.
What I feel observers get trapped into is remembering what drafted player A was like in September last year and thinking potential draftee B needs to be like that in June this year.
It's completely wrong.
They're all overlooking the fact that all these players DEVELOP CONSTANTLY throughout the year.
Hi Knightmare thanks for your insight
My Rankings after watching year unfold
The ones in bold have shocked me with how good there going-Have Sutherland playing Cricket
1. Cameron Rayner - Western Jets
2. Darcy Fogarty - Glenelg
3. Jack Higgins - Oakleigh Chargers
4 Jaidyn Stephenson - Eastern Ranges
5. Sam Hayes - Eastern Ranges
6. Jarrod Brander - Bendigo Pioneers
7. Luke Davies-Uniacke - Dandenong Stingrays
8. Joel Garner - Eastern Ranges
9. Hunter Clark - Dandenong Stingrays
10. Lochie O’Brien - Bendigo Pioneers
11.James Worpel - Geelong Falcons
12.Noah Balta - Calder Cannons
13.Connor Ballenden - Queensland Uni
14.Charlie Constable - Sandringham Dragons
15.Nick Coffield - Northern Knights
16.Callum Coleman-Jones - Sturt
17.Adam Cerra - Eastern Ranges
18.Oscar Clavarino - Dandenong Stingrays
19.Charlie Spargo - Murray Bushrangers
20.Matthew Ling - Geelong Falcons
21.Lachlan Fogarty - Western Jets
22.Paddy Dow - Bendigo Pioneers
23.Patrick Naish - Northern Knights
24.Aaron Naughton - Peel Thunder
25.Cassidy Parish - Geelong Falcons
26.Gryan Miers - Geelong Falcons
27.Jack Petruccelle - Northern Knights
28.Toby Wooler - Oakleigh Chargers
29.Jackson Edwards - Glenelg
30.Dylan Moore - Eastern Ranges
Knight,
Just wanted to know your thoughts on bailey smith's last few games? As well as how Jackson Ross (draftable next year) from oackliegh is looking. Also wanted to know what you reckon on Joel Crocker?
KM, with the Dog's position this year and the upcoming retirements of older stars, who could you see us going after ?
KM, what's the deal with Ben Caluzzi? Still late/rookie pick?
Apparently this years draft is the worst for 5 years according to Dermott Brereton The top 5 is good then it falls away dramatically Knights high do you rank this years talent
There are plenty of good kids that don't get a look in Ringo !! seems you are trying too hard to get player B noticed . you do know that recruiters don't care what is posted on these forums... I agree there are some overrated players but this is the way it works...those who do get drafted and are not that good will not last long so if the kid wants to play afl and is good enough it may happen but if not that's life and the sooner this is made reality to the dreamers the better they will come out the other sideI find it frustrating that once player A has a reputation he is set for life...others never get a look in
Hey Knightmare.
Crowden, Moore, Giro & Spargo......Any chance you can give us a run-down on these 4 & if faced with a choice, rate them in what order you'd draft them compared to one another.
Hey Knightmare.
Crowden, Moore, Giro & Spargo......Any chance you can give us a run-down on these 4 & if faced with a choice, rate them in what order you'd draft them compared to one another.
Bailey Smith had a big game v Geelong on the weekend. Used it efficiently and seemed to enjoy the heightened midfield responsibility on the weekend, albeit against a completely depleted Geelong side that were missing six who played for Vic Country.
There are plenty of good kids that don't get a look in Ringo !! seems you are trying too hard to get player B noticed . you do know that recruiters don't care what is posted on these forums... I agree there are some overrated players but this is the way it works...those who do get drafted and are not that good will not last long so if the kid wants to play afl and is good enough it may happen but if not that's life and the sooner this is made reality to the dreamers the better they will come out the other side
Two points if I may:
1. Bailey played the entire game in defence. There was no heightened midfield responsibility. Having said that, he is playing very well and should be a strong contender in 2018. Probably another Andrew Brayshaw type.
2. A "depleted" Geelong were missing 6 with Vic Country. Sandringham were missing M. King, B. King, McLean, Constable, A. Brayshaw, H. Brayshaw, Sakeson, Cameron and Jarnestrom from their best 22. It was a fair match up in that regard.
http://neafl.com.au/round-11-rising-star-nominee-sam-wicks/
What do you know about this kid. According to the swans was overlooked for the allies. I saw he got in the best players for the swans reserves last Friday night in the top of the table clash with Sydney uni. I saw some of the game including this goal.
Those losses aren't comparable to those Geelong were missing. Worpel, Parish, Walsh, Miers, Ling, McCartin.
That's an entirely depleted midfield. Worpel and Parish are the two most dominant mids in the competition with Walsh probably top 10.
No worries I agreeYep thanks ! Its always good to dream...without them life is pretty boring!
Gives context on why Bailey was so efficient with his ball use with more time down back.
Those losses aren't comparable to those Geelong were missing. Worpel, Parish, Walsh, Miers, Ling, McCartin.
That's an entirely depleted midfield. Worpel and Parish are the two most dominant mids in the competition with Walsh probably top 10.
I want to see both teams full strength.
Impact of any participating in the game doesn't really matter with both teams as you rightly point out depleted.
I don't believe I've seen Wicks. He's not part of the Allies team.
Good individual highlight, though more than one positive play is required.
One to keep tracking if he has more strong performances.
Not aware of Wicks being on the radar at this stage, though a strong season could well see him rookied by Sydney.
You're entitled to your opinion, as am I.
Worpel = Constable
Parish = A. Brayshaw
Walsh = H. Brayshaw
McCartin = McLean
Ling = ??????
Miers = Jarnestrom
Still leaves both Kings (who are dominant already as bottom agers), two big 19 year olds in Sakeson and H. Brayshaw and another 6'2" wingman in Cameron.
I'd take that over whatever you reckon Geelong were missing.
Worpel and Parish gets heaps of footy because they're playing TAC every week whilst the privates are elsewhere. Not saying they're not good players, but their output and dominance within their side shows that their midfield doesn't run that deep after all.