Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2017 Draft Almanac

Gday mate thoughts on Nathan Krueger SA not much talk about him think he had a good season.Oskar Baker another I like.

Agree he did some good things but the wraps he is getting do not warrant most of his games. Give him some time and he may develop into a solid player.
Thats why i mentioned him being a bottom ager, Kid has played all year as a 17 year old and still has alot to learn but Alex Rance was also similar at the same age.

Im sure in 4-5 years time he will be a 196/197cm athletic beast that will be alot different to what he is now and i would be very happy to see him in the yellow & Black

Why is Balta so underated?

He's one who divides opinion.

Part of it is disagreement on best position due to being used a lot as a ruckman and having less time either as a key forward or key defender. If he played more as a KPP I suspect he'd be more highly regarded than he is.

Those who rate him regard his points of difference highly.

Those who don't tend to regard him as lacking football smarts.

Gday mate thoughts on Nathan Krueger SA not much talk about him think he had a good season.Oskar Baker another I like.

Kreuger is athletic, a capable mark, good height and size. He's developable and with attributes but his production isn't of a standard I'd feel compelled to pick him. My issue is with his low numbers, bigs who have poor numbers as juniors don't often translate. He's a mid-late draft chance but has his fans based on his attributes.

Oskar Baker has game and is one who while not a national combine invite, I could see him slipping in late draft. Explosive and really takes on the game offensively and can also provide drive by foot. Can give a club an outside punch. Potentially developable and one I consider worth a shot as a later bloomer, with Brisbane cutting him from their academy program previously before his breakout year this year.

He's one who divides opinion.

Part of it is disagreement on best position due to being used a lot as a ruckman and having less time either as a key forward or key defender. If he played more as a KPP I suspect he'd be more highly regarded than he is.

Those who rate him regard his points of difference highly.

Those who don't tend to regard him as lacking football smarts.
He strikes me as a Hamish type pick tbh, wouldn't surprise me if he gets taken at 12 and develop him as a Rance type.

Some like Balta back. I like him most forward.

He also has scope to develop as a mid - with his ground ball winning and acceleration from the contest really exciting and something he's completely capable of. I wouldn't be discounting this potential vision with Balta either.

He's a genuine 18 position player.

I'd be congratulating Adelaide on the choice if they go Balta. Regardless of positional vision.

Gday Knightmare, love your work , depth and effort , fun ready always.
Ask you most drafts , whom do think Silvagni & Brodie will at pick 3, 10 & 30.
We need talent everywhere, so who do ya reckon?
Thanks

Gday Knightmare, love your work , depth and effort , fun ready always.
Ask you most drafts , whom do think Silvagni & Brodie will at pick 3, 10 & 30.
We need talent everywhere, so who do ya reckon?
Thanks

Three round phantom draft will be up on Monday and will give my most complete update of who I'm predicting will be the picks.

3 - out of Dow/Rayner/LDU/Cerra
10 - likely to be out of D.Fogarty/Higgins/Constable/Coffield/Stephenson/Bonar/Clark
30 - for a few who may be considered around this point (based on projected draft range): Ballard/Miers/Spargo/Starcevich/Petruccelle/Stoddart

Thanks Knightmare, look forward to catching round three of your updated phantom drat on Monday . I hope we snuffle Rayner, Fogarty and Petruccelle from your suggestions that would be a great haul indeed.

All plausible.

Rayner could go with any of the third three choices, with that top 3 all in the air still.

D.Fogarty is no guarantee to be there at 10. North Melbourne, Fremantle, Collingwood, St Kilda and Western Bulldogs all may consider.

Petruccelle could go top 30, but no certainty having not heard a club inside the top 30 being prepare to take him inside that range.

Have really liked what I've seen of Kyron Hayden. What are your thoughts on him as a prospect?

Good size and athlete. He'll get late draft consideration.

Given his size and strength though his numbers are ok, from a draft context they're underwhelming. Only the 2 goals from 14 Colts games, none from his 5 Reserves games and none through the U18 Champs (4 games). Disposal numbers, tackle, contested possession and marking numbers (given his leap which should make it a weapon) also aren't the weapons his physical stature and athleticism suggest he could be. He's not one I'd necessarily pick with other mids who are lesser regarded being better footballers - Charlie Thompson and Cassidy Parish as two top of mind who may not even get drafted despite their incredible production and pretty good games respectively.

Was really impressed with Kai Owens in the prelim and GF for Sandringham. He drops a mark/misses a target here or there but is clearly a great athlete with potential. What's your view on him and his chances of being drafted?

State combine invite, so he's a possible late/rookie but against the odds.

He doesn't find enough of the footy for my liking but he has his moments where you think "he has something doesn't he".

Good athlete, strong mark and has composure, makes good decisions and can do damage at times by foot.

That's attractive in a 192cm prospect.

If undrafted he's one I'd like to see given another shot to play TAC Cup next year.