Preview Lions v Port @ Adelaide Oval Saturday March 18th @ 3.35 PM Brisbane Time

I am sick of that s**t.
It’s time we get that killer instinct and start blowing teams away.
Each to their own but I don’t like to get too greedy early in the season

our recent record against port is pretty good and we're now very slight favourites with the bookkeepers. hopefully get our season off on the right foot with a nice 4+ goal win

cant wait to see gunston in action in a real match. my favourite player of that hawthorn dynasty and looks to be moving well in the praccy games - would not be surprised to see a 50 goal season from him if he can stay on the park

Each to their own but I don’t like to get too greedy early in the season
I would like to see us get ahead and then keep doing what we were doing to get ahead rather than change mindset into party tricks or easing up etc. Changing to match when the opposition is on a run is one thing ... changing just because there is less pressure is not.

We need to be more proactive and take our own agency and not just play however they let us and/or kick it up a gear when we suddenly realise we are about to be behind/are behind.

Geelong didn't get their percentage last year by following the Brisbane pressure handbook ... hopefully we have had a re-write of the code over the break.

A preview thread!! How good is it that we are about to footy again.

I think the team is excited and very confident with the off season ins and the olds who have sorted their injuries.

They are going out to play with the flare and the class and the belief that the team is bloody good.

Tough start cause first game, defenders to look brilliant thanks to the defensive running up field, lions pull away a bit in the second, put their foot down in the third and play with ports brain in the fourth.

Happy days.

I would like to see us get ahead and then keep doing what we were doing to get ahead rather than change mindset into party tricks or easing up etc. Changing to match when the opposition is on a run is one thing ... changing just because there is less pressure is not.

We need to be more proactive and take our own agency and not just play however they let us and/or kick it up a gear when we suddenly realise we are about to be behind/are behind.

Geelong didn't get their percentage last year by following the Brisbane pressure handbook ... hopefully we have had a re-write of the code over the break.
There is an opposing force that differs and we can’t just do what we like all the time

Is this the year? I don't think the team are ahead of themselves but they've never been as well positioned. I hope they go all the way and I'm going to sit back and enjoy it.

Think they have the maturity to set the tone, execute a gameplan and control the flow of the match against most teams now. Im particularly interested in how the change in leadership will effect the group, specifically bring out the best in everyone and have good connection. Certainly amazed at how many good footballers have been amassed finally in the Lions colours

Is this the year? I don't think the team are ahead of themselves but they've never been as well positioned. I hope they go all the way and I'm going to sit back and enjoy it.

Think they have the maturity to set the tone, execute a gameplan and control the flow of the match against most teams now. Im particularly interested in how the change in leadership will effect the group, specifically bring out the best in everyone and have good connection. Certainly amazed at how many good footballers have been amassed finally in the Lions colours
I know Lachie Neale was tonge-in-cheek but.. yesterday at the Captain’s gathering at the MCG, on the side they were all asked “Which player would you want traded to your side?”.
Some were serious, some named mates but I loved Neale’s answer when he replied that the Lions don’t need anyone 😊
So it looks like you’re cherry-ripe to go this season.. tear ‘em apart.

View attachment 1625392
Here at Crowland, we wish the Lions great success in tearing apart Poort.
Should be hardly a challenge for you.
The Roos board are also keen for you to knock ‘em off. Should be a ripper 😉
Why the Roos board? Does there distaste for Port outweigh their distaste for us - they still seem very upset for that 2pt win we had over them years ago.

They have a death-ride thread on Poort because the worse Poort does this year, the higher the value of the first round pick they received in exchange for the sook JHF.
The Roos will be Rooting for every team to tear apart Poort this year.

I'm wondering whether Kenny will do his pre game we're out to get Lachie interview again.

Disappointed if he's put it to bed just because of a bit of bad press and egg on his face.

Give it another go Kenny. Doesn't need to be specific ,just say we're going after one of their Captains. Or if you want it to be a bit more vague someone in their leadership group.

There is an opposing force that differs and we can’t just do what we like all the time
Totally - but sometimes it feels like we play more to the level they let us rather than putting the pressure on them to stop us playing our way.

Berry appears to be in full training

Anyone know why he missed the Geelong game?

Seems likely he plays from that shot. Would make it missing Gardiner, Zorko, Ah Chee. Hardly a big enough cohort for any sort of excuse for a poor start to the year.

Assuming Finlayson doesn't play I reckon team will look like this - but would not surprise me if Joyce gets a go to get him up to speed ahead of Dees / Dogs games

Starcevich Andrews Rich
Coleman Payne Rayner
Berry Neale Robertson
Bailey Daniher Hipwood
McCarthy Gunston Cameron

McInerney Dunkley Mccluggage
I/C Ashcroft / Wilmot / Mckenna / Prior
Sub: Tunstill

Emergencies: Joyce / Fort / Sharp / Cockatoo

The sub might be different in particular if Joyce doesn't play - if a big man goes down we would be vulnerable.

I like the idea of Hipwood in particular roaming up the ground. And Daniher to a slightly lesser extent. Hard match-up for their opponents. Gunston should be staying close to goal.

I think if Answerth plays it will be a sign Fagan still wants to go with who he thinks is best 22 above all else. Has been a very interrupted start to the year so he really should earn his spot but just get the feeling he will be named

8 days to go!

Berry appears to be in full training

Anyone know why he missed the Geelong game?

Seems likely he plays from that shot. Would make it missing Gardiner, Zorko, Ah Chee. Hardly a big enough cohort for any sort of excuse for a poor start to the year.

Assuming Finlayson doesn't play I reckon team will look like this - but would not surprise me if Joyce gets a go to get him up to speed ahead of Dees / Dogs games

Starcevich Andrews Rich
Coleman Payne Rayner
Berry Neale Robertson
Bailey Daniher Hipwood
McCarthy Gunston Cameron

McInerney Dunkley Mccluggage
I/C Ashcroft / Wilmot / Mckenna / Prior
Sub: Tunstill

Emergencies: Joyce / Fort / Sharp / Cockatoo

The sub might be different in particular if Joyce doesn't play - if a big man goes down we would be vulnerable.

I like the idea of Hipwood in particular roaming up the ground. And Daniher to a slightly lesser extent. Hard match-up for their opponents. Gunston should be staying close to goal.

I think if Answerth plays it will be a sign Fagan still wants to go with who he thinks is best 22 above all else. Has been a very interrupted start to the year so he really should earn his spot but just get the feeling he will be named

8 days to go!

Like the team and I don’t think it is too far away.

I was going to look at a job at Robertson this morning and somehow ended up at Springfield 🤔

A couple of things I noted from the session and with your line up -

Prior has come up a bit stiff through the back and hips and was on light duties this morning and blamed his stiffness on sitting in the car, driving out to Springfield (he said with a very cheeky smile on his face).
I think Lester is just as much in the frame as Joyce for a third tall role in defence but Rayner trained the whole session with the backline so I think that is a certainty for round 1.
Darcy Gardiner is still re-habbing and after a little chat with him he thinks he is about a month away.
Both Lyons and Answerth spent most of the session with the 2’s although they both mixed through a little as the session wore on so still a few ??? there.
It seemed to be a pretty scratchy session to be honest and I think deliberately was pretty much a no contact session to just get miles into the legs as much as anything.
Lots of little match sims on a smaller field but pretty much no contact. In fact one time there was contact in a marking contest there were loud groans from all of the players, Oohhh!

Zorko was doing a lot of running and did some match play but on occasions looked noticeably frustrated about something, but appeared to be moving ok.

Notable Absentee - The Chief Captain Harris who has the AFL Season Launch in Brissie somewhere today.

Still sorta shocked that we have that good a current record against Port. They have been a pretty good sign for pretty much the same length of time we have been back near the top of the ladder. But somehow seem to match up on them pretty well.

Round 1 is always a bit of a lottery and playing away can be tough but feel really happy with how the team is looking and cant wait for the season to kick off

I was going to look at a job at Robertson this morning and somehow ended up at Springfield 🤔

Prior has come up a bit stiff through the back and hips and was on light duties this morning and blamed his stiffness on sitting in the car, driving out to Springfield (he said with a very cheeky smile on his face).
I think Lester is just as much in the frame as Joyce for a third tall role in defence but Rayner trained the whole session with the backline so I think that is a certainty for round 1.
Darcy Gardiner is still re-habbing and after a little chat with him he thinks he is about a month away.
Both Lyons and Answerth spent most of the session with the 2’s although they both mixed through a little as the session wore on so still a few ??? there.
It seemed to be a pretty scratchy session to be honest and I think deliberately was pretty much a no contact session to just get miles into the legs as much as anything.
Lots of little match sims on a smaller field but pretty much no contact. In fact one time there was contact in a marking contest there were loud groans from all of the players, Oohhh!

Zorko was doing a lot of running and did some match play but on occasions looked noticeably frustrated about something, but appeared to be moving ok.

Notable Absentee - The Chief Captain Harris who has the AFL Season Launch in Brissie somewhere today.
so it appears Gardiner misses the first three or four games, which are against Port, Dees, Dogs, Pies, whoever is taking that third tall defender role as long as they perform OK I would like to see them maintained for what is arguably the easier games starting against Roos in round 5. If Cam does OK in the first few rounds, I would be keeping him back, and as much as I think his preferred position is forward, Zorko takes that spot upon his return.

I have Dev now ahead of Lyons so Lyons is playing 2's with at least two years to go on a contract. Answerth also probably playing twos although i love his commitment for the contest. Prior unfortunately will miss out unless there are injuries. Geez all three of them and some others are very good depth and will get a run at some stage in 2023.

Hmm if Prior is not cherry ripe you would say he’d miss.

Zorko possibly out for a while given how many weeks he has been off. When’s the last time he played 2s? Might need a game or two.

Gardiner sounds quite a while away from the seniors given that timeframe - again surely needs some proper match practise.

What makes you say that re Lester? I rate him but he seemed to have had an interrupted pre season. I have a perception of Joyce as a bit of a big lump and not mobile but maybe just because he is massive, listed at 195cm which is 1cm off Darcy.

How did Berry look?

Hope the Robertson job is okay haha

Hmm if Prior is not cherry ripe you would say he’d miss.

Zorko possibly out for a while given how many weeks he has been off. When’s the last time he played 2s? Might need a game or two.

Gardiner sounds quite a while away from the seniors given that timeframe - again surely needs some proper match practise.

What makes you say that re Lester? I rate him but he seemed to have had an interrupted pre season. I have a perception of Joyce as a bit of a big lump and not mobile but maybe just because he is massive, listed at 195cm which is 1cm off Darcy.

How did Berry look?

Hope the Robertson job is okay haha
A fair part of the session was mixed but there were a couple of times where they broke into 2 groups that I would consider was 1’s and 2’s and Lester was in the group of what you would consider the AFL team.
Also Jimmy Tunstill was the other that possibly is ahead of others for a wing spot as he was in that group too.

Berry did a bit of a mix of re-hab and joined in with the group as a whole.

As I said it was a pretty soft training session and not much contact so really couldn’t tell you how Berry looked in that respect.

Hi Lions…
I hope you are all sitting down..

This is the current state of the Adelaide Oval..

07F00709-2DAA-429D-8B06-5E194BBB83D2.jpeg

I don't have the knowledge of a lot (well pretty much all) of you on here, but has the idea of Fort in a defensive role been discussed? It gives that extra tall and I've always thought he is quite strong bodied for his size.

Again, I don't have the depth of knowledge to say this is a good suggestion, just hadn't seen it mentioned before