Preview Lions v Port @ Adelaide Oval Saturday March 18th @ 3.35 PM Brisbane Time

I don't have the knowledge of a lot (well pretty much all) of you on here, but has the idea of Fort in a defensive role been discussed? It gives that extra tall and I've always thought he is quite strong bodied for his size.

Again, I don't have the depth of knowledge to say this is a good suggestion, just hadn't seen it mentioned before
Depth of knowledge is the worst thing you can have in footy Quested. What you need is depth of belief. But it's not an idea I'd embrace because even though he's a smart player and would have a go where ever he is he's a bit slow for that role imo.

I can't see us doing anything else but smashing them . It might take them a few games for them to get it together and there's not a position on the ground where they worry me.

A fair part of the session was mixed but there were a couple of times where they broke into 2 groups that I would consider was 1’s and 2’s and Lester was in the group of what you would consider the AFL team.
Also Jimmy Tunstill was the other that possibly is ahead of others for a wing spot as he was in that group too.

Berry did a bit of a mix of re-hab and joined in with the group as a whole.

As I said it was a pretty soft training session and not much contact so really couldn’t tell you how Berry looked in that respect.
Thanks for the update mate.
Have to think if Berry is doing any rebab stuff he’d be a huge doubt given didn’t play v cats.
Wings perhaps Tunstill / Robertson / McKenna or Tunstill would be my guess if so. Would be very inexperienced so maybe a bit of Bailey too.

Might as well be, they don’t get along (fight like Cats and Dogs)… something about prison? bars? prison bars?
I'm very Meh about opposition clubs however there is just something about Port and the Pies that make me 🤮.

When I watch them I like to see them either flogged or get beaten after the siren.:D

What's the news on Payne?

Did he 'do' a hammie?
He's fine apparently. Iced up in the practice match as a precaution, should be named in Round 1.

B Starceivich Andrews Mckeena
HB Rich Payne K.Coleman
C Mcluggage Dunkley J.Berry
HF Gunston Daniher Bailey
F Cameron Hipwood McCarthy
FOLL- Omac Robertson Neale
I/C- Ashcroft, Rayner, Lyons, Zorko
Sub- Wilmot

Round 1 will see a few changes to the game. So, a reminder for when things start in 5 days.

Introduction of a 4th central umpire. Below quote from an AFL article.

“The fourth umpire will optimise decision making, allowing umpires to be in better positions to adjudicate a contest – whether they are stoppages through the midfield or marking contests at either end of the ground," Richardson said.

“Having two umpires at stoppages also acts as a strong deterrent to off-the-ball players from engaging in undisciplined play. Umpires will also be able to manage off ball situations more effectively.
Additional interchange player added. They have called this the "tactical sub". TS likely to be the shortened version.
  • Clubs will still name a starting sub when they finalise their teams an hour before the first bounce, in addition to the four interchange players.
  • The starting sub must sit in the rear row of the interchange bench, wearing a club-branded top that is not their playing guernsey. There will be no substitute's vest or any other coloured top.
  • Substitutes can play in a state league competition on the same weekend, subject to the club's discretion and the relevant state league's rules.
No new rules as such but "tweaks" to 3 rules. Number 2 i see as an issue with fans not understanding. So, lots of boos and yelling.

(1) A 50m penalty will no longer be paid if a player fakes a handball while behind the mark, drawing their opponent off their position.

(2)Additionally, players have to make an immediate decision regarding the 5m protected area. When a player is penalised for giving away a free kick or loses a marking contest, they must stand the mark or immediately leave the protected area.
The example below would now result in a 50m penalty as he has left the area after initially deciding to enter.

(3) The third change will see players no longer given an alert by umpires at the 15-second mark of their set shot, instead receiving just a warning at 25 seconds. Players are allowed 30 seconds to start their set-shot approach.

Link for 2 very short videos and a longer version of the changes

The decision to add a 24th round - the Gather Round in round five - this year
The Lions play North at Mt Barker, and it is our first sold out game of the year;)
I think that covers it, let me know if i missed anything

Thanks for the update mate.
Have to think if Berry is doing any rebab stuff he’d be a huge doubt given didn’t play v cats.
Wings perhaps Tunstill / Robertson / McKenna or Tunstill would be my guess if so. Would be very inexperienced so maybe a bit of Bailey too.

I would guess you are right (unless Berry has been a ploy but don't see that TBH), why risk an away return to full contact work when we have very decent depth.

It's round one and the kids are all running on top of the ground.

Release the potential, one spot can't hurt. Tunstall, Robertson or Wilmot. McKenna or Lohman if you want some x-factor.

Not saying JB doesn't come back in but no need to rush, it's round one after all.

Charlie Cameron could/should be on the end of some favourable calls with that new umpire. Always seems to be held around the waist chasing a loose ball by panicking defenders.

I don't have the knowledge of a lot (well pretty much all) of you on here, but has the idea of Fort in a defensive role been discussed? It gives that extra tall and I've always thought he is quite strong bodied for his size.

Again, I don't have the depth of knowledge to say this is a good suggestion, just hadn't seen it mentioned before

Same boat here, just a nuffy who's been watching since the early 80's!

I would love to see Fort out of the square and Gunston on his shoulder.

Big reach but he could be the new Paul Salmon, at least in my dreams ;)

Just in case anyone needed more of a rev-up for this game

I say we terrorise JHF - although this time we don't follow the port approach and send the whole team after him while we leak 7 goals in a quarter.

In the fair dinkum department you'd have thought Ken Hinkley, and anyone involved with Geelong in the late 80s/early 90s, would be more cognisant than anyone of the perils of playing the man and not the ball.

Our last win was against Melbourne in the SF.
We were without Joe & Big O that day. I had completely forgotten they both missed that game.
It certainly was a win against the odds at the MCG.

Red (5) won't play in round 1. Mathieson (sub), Gardiner, McStay, Zorko, Ah Chee
Who automatically comes back in (5); Daniher, Big O, Dunkley, Gunston, Ashcroft

Green (3) unlikely, but still a chance to get a run in round one
I like Fullarton as the sub round 1 (Fort round 2) either will do, so that leaves 2 spots
McKenna most likely gets one spot

I like Lyons for the last spot even though he is still training in the two's group at last report
Other contenders are Answerth, Tunstill, Prior, Sharp

1678585331449.png

Our last win was against Melbourne in the SF.
We were without Joe & Big O that day. I had completely forgotten they both missed that game.
It certainly was a win against the odds at the MCG.

Red (5) won't play in round 1. Mathieson (sub), Gardiner, McStay, Zorko, Ah Chee
Who automatically comes back in (5); Daniher, Big O, Dunkley, Gunston, Ashcroft

Green (3) unlikely, but still a chance to get a run in round one
I like Fullarton as the sub round 1 (Fort round 2) either will do, so that leaves 2 spots
McKenna most likely gets one spot

I like Lyons for the last spot even though he is still training in the two's group at last report
Other contenders are Answerth, Tunstill, Prior, Sharp

View attachment 1626987
I don’t personally think AhChee is an automatic selection anymore.

I like Ah Chee but I just can't see him displacing anyone from this team. As others have mentioned previously he seems to be the player most suited for the role of tactical sub.

I think we've nearly got it with the team we played against the cats.