Lisle to Brisbane for Pick 29 (confirmed)

Re: Lisle on Lions Radar!

Yeah those are all good points mate. I just wonder if we could get more if we trade him next year. Pick 30 this year vs pick 30-35 in next years super draft. I suppose the club has a plan for that pick though.

He is out of contract next year and can walk to the PSD. Teams will know that and use it against us.

It doesnt really matter what we get for Lisle. It really depends on what Geelong is prepared to accept for Gillies.

I would expect that a straight out early 2nd rounder might not be enough, so it might well be pick 33 + whatever we can get from Brisbane for Lisle.
If it is 33 and 34, or 30 and 33.....does it really make much difference....? So from that perspective it really doesnt matter.

IMO Geelong would be crazy to let Gillies go given the pending retirement Matty Scarlett, so its going to take a good offer to bring Gillies to Hawthorn.

Hawthorn will not be handing over two picks around the 30 mark for Gillies. That would be idiotic considering that Geelong are asking for a pick in the mid to late 20's.

+1

Renouf+Lisle for Gillies does not sit right.

If that is all they want for him then we need pick 29 from Brisbane.
All will be revealed in the next 24hrs

And if the pick 29 doesn't do it for Gillies, we can sweeten the deal with a signed '08 premiership guernsey ;)

To me this is a good trade. If Lisle wanted out, then good luck to him, he obviously did not back himself to break into the team or was too impatient to develop his game to get into the best 22.

If the club decided to move him on, then clearly the experts do not think he is good enough. With all our injuries in defence he still could not break into the team.

Either way its a good result IMO

To me this is a good trade. If Lisle wanted out, then good luck to him, he obviously did not back himself to break into the team or was too impatient to develop his game to get into the best 22.

If the club decided to move him on, then clearly the experts do not think he is good enough. With all our injuries in defence he still could not break into the team.

Exactly. And if we can get an early 2nd rounder for him we should be very pleased.

Agree. Unfortunately Lisle didn't make the best of his opportunities and I just don't see what all the fuss is about.

If he happens to go then so be it.

Agree. Unfortunately Lisle didn't make the best of his opportunities and I just don't see what all the fuss is about.

If he happens to go then so be it.

Bollox. The Guy had his jaw broken while playing some good footy and we get posts like this.

If 5 games us an opportunity we'll be saying the same things about player x next year ... And the year after that. And the year after that.

Tough call. Club showed little respect to his future as a forward by recruiting 12 gamer Gunston, which is probably fair as jordan showed very little as a forward. But for them to publicly chase Gillies, a guy who even lisles probably played more games than, is an even bigger slap in the face...dont you reckon hes just being smart about his future?

I reckon a lot of the people dumping on Lisle in this thread were doing the same to Savage and Smith before they got a run in the team. The constant 'he's done nothing to suggest he'll make it as an AFL player because he's not tearing it up in the VFL' arguments were tiresome.

If you ever needed proof that a lack of dominant, high octane Box Hill form isn't necessarily an indication of ineptitude - take a look at Smith's performances at AFL level this year. If you believed what you read here, he didn't even deserve a run.

Lisle was good on occasions this year - his kicking needed work, but then so did Sewell's when he first broke into the team.

Puzzling move imo, unless the between the ears portion of Lisle's game is waaay below par.

Let's face it - we won't know if trading Lisle is a good or bad move until the close of the trading period at the end of tomorrow or until we see who we pick up in the draft with the pick we get for him.

I am happy for us to make the call on both Renouf and Lisle. They both have major deficiencies that will hold them back from being top quality AFL players. Not saying they wont have AFL careers but quite simply we can do better. Renouf is more likely to survive for longer as ruckman can get away with poor skills but as a KP player Lisle will be up against it with his legspeed, limited agility and kicking.

I reckon a lot of the people dumping on Lisle in this thread were doing the same to Savage and Smith before they got a run in the team. The constant 'he's done nothing to suggest he'll make it as an AFL player because he's not tearing it up in the VFL' arguments were tiresome.

If you ever needed proof that a lack of dominant, high octane Box Hill form isn't necessarily an indication of ineptitude - take a look at Smith's performances at AFL level this year. If you believed what you read here, he didn't even deserve a run.

Lisle was good on occasions this year - his kicking needed work, but then so did Sewell's when he first broke into the team.

Puzzling move imo, unless the between the ears portion of Lisle's game is waaay below par.
Savage and Smith are different players to Lisle though, obviously, and are required to excel in different areas.

For example, I watched Smith play in the VFL early in the year, and although he didn't dominate the stats you could see that if he was allowed to get on the end of some handballs and put in space he would burn opponents off. What he did need was to get his fitness up to the required level before he was given a shot( which happened).
Savage is similar.

Lisle on the other hand allowed himself to be moved out of the fall of the ball, missed targets by hand and foot or ducked his head when going for an overhead mark.

While he was kicking small bags of 2-4 goals in a few of his games for Box Hill, he never really took the next step and put in a dominant performance on an opponent, which is the area that a KPP needs to excel in if they want to step up to AFL level.
Box Hill watchers were waiting for it, but it never came.

The club have made a tough call, but I'd be much more inclined to think that they've made the right one, than the wrong one on what I've seen.

Tough call. Club showed little respect to his future as a forward by recruiting 12 gamer Gunston, which is probably fair as jordan showed very little as a forward. But for them to publicly chase Gillies, a guy who even lisles probably played more games than, is an even bigger slap in the face...dont you reckon hes just being smart about his future?

I don't think chasing Gillies is a slap in the face. Fact is, Lisle has been on te list for quite some time and has been ranked behind Buddy, Roughy and now Hale as key forward options. Down back is where the opportunities should be, but due to form and/or inability to play the role required, he has been behind Schoey, Stratts & Gibbo as a defender.

At Geelong, you can count on one hand the number of games they've gone in over the last 4 seasons without Lonergan, Scarlett and Taylor as thier 3 key defenders and Gillies has been behind them all the while. I think they are without doubt the best 3 KPP defenders (as a group) and if your 4th behind them, you will probably get a gig as a KPD at any other side in the comp.

Hence Gillies' desire to move and get to a club which is well and truly challenging, whilst having an obvious need for his services as a tall big bodied defender.

If we come out of this trade period with Gunston and Gillies as inclusions, then we have done extremely well in my view.

I don't think chasing Gillies is a slap in the face. Fact is, Lisle has been on te list for quite some time and has been ranked behind Buddy, Roughy and now Hale as key forward options. Down back is where the opportunities should be, but due to form and/or inability to play the role required, he has been behind Schoey, Stratts & Gibbo as a defender.

At Geelong, you can count on one hand the number of games they've gone in over the last 4 seasons without Lonergan, Scarlett and Taylor as thier 3 key defenders and Gillies has been behind them all the while. I think they are without doubt the best 3 KPP defenders (as a group) and if your 4th behind them, you will probably get a gig as a KPD at any other side in the comp.

Hence Gillies' desire to move and get to a club which is well and truly challenging, whilst having an obvious need for his services as a tall big bodied defender.

If we come out of this trade period with Gunston and Gillies as inclusions, then we have done extremely well in my view.

I just said basically the same thing on the Gillies thread. Agree 100%.

What happens if Ruff and Gilly are not ready till mid year next season and Hale and Bailey are not up to scratch or not playing as good together as they had been this season?

We let Renouf go, we got Gunston of which no one really knew who he was and if he is any good, and now we are going to lose Lisle and Lisle did show enough to say he can play at AFL level.

And also what about all those Shoey haters and Murphy haters out there that want these 2 gone, are they happy to keep them now that we are losing Lisle..

By the way i will support the Club no matter what their decisions even though i am bitterly disappointed that we will lose young KPP..

Obviously Hawks think he is dispensable
Obviously Hawks think we can win out of trading him
Obviously Hawks know more about him than anyone on bigfooty

Are the same people sooking about this possible trade the same people who couldn't understand Hawks not giving Dowler a fair go?

Oh please, there's no major sooking in this thread. Just because someone disagrees with an opinion/the club/you/god or whoever it doesn't mean they're sooking.

And I don't think you're robinson crusoe in your belief that the club is better enducated in terms of what they want than posters here on bf - even those on the other side of the argument.

The point is that we all come hear to voice our opinions on what's happening.

Lisle looked a player when I was standing at the punt road goals watching him play against the Pies this year. He wasn't sprinting to space to link up, or wowing anyone with his field kicking.

But he was leaping at the high ball and killing or marking it quite well in packs of talented players, and certainly not getting pushed off it.

I don't think anyone is kidding themselves that he's the next Brown/ Bock or Rutten. But he did look capable of something. Time will tell I guess.

There were games this year when he wasn't picked that were telling. It screamed of a selection committee who didn't trust him.

Anyone know why that was - because for me he did as much as you'd expect a guy with a handful of games under his belt to do....

Lisle to Brisbane for Pick 29 (confirmed)