List of Trade Trade Rumours: Part II

Saints are apparently chasing Tom Hickey. Will be a very good pick-up for St Kilda if we do manage to get him, Hickey will work well with Stanley and Macca. We will need to offer quite a bit though.

not really, given the club knew about Riewoldt so "graciously" dropping his salary 3 years ago, as it was a front-ended deal...
We still apparently have plenty of cap space though, and Watters indicated that even if Goddard re-signs, we will still be in a position to go fairly hard after someone through free-agency, or trades. Our cap will open up even more in 12 months time, once Kosi's reported $500K contract expires and he either retires, or or is delisted (most likely). With that being the case, Goddard's contract could quite easily be back-ended to a degree, to make it even easier to fit him in.

Then of course there is the fact Riewoldt and co are all now eligible for the new veteran's list, which means we can put up to 8 (Riewoldt, Kosi, Hayes, Milne, Dal Santo, Montagna, Goddard- if he stays, Blake- if retained) on that, taking around $115 of all their salaries outside the cap (as much as $920K all up). This year we had half of Kosi and Lenny's contracts in that, so that would have been around $500K this year.

If we really want to keep Goddard, we very easily can, I would suggest. Hell, it seems if we offer him the 4th year he is after he will stay! The only question is, is he worth more to us than we are currently offering?

mate, he's a gun. Any team can use a gun.

Interestingly, I think he'd be the only Number One pick we've ever had on our list

If he plays like he did in 2010 - I agree he was a gun. At worst he is a very good player. But are you comfortable with Essendon spending that much on him? I could understand the Bombers throwing the farm at a class Midfielder. But I think you potentially have a better player in Heppell, playing that role that Goddard plays...

I think going for Moloney is very good business, not so sure about Goddard. Just my opinion.

We still apparently have plenty of cap space though, and Watters indicated that even if Goddard re-signs, we will still be in a position to go fairly hard after someone through free-agency, or trades. Our cap will open up even more in 12 months time, once Kosi's reported $500K contract expires and he either retires, or or is delisted (most likely). With that being the case, Goddard's contract could quite easily be back-ended to a degree, to make it even easier to fit him in.

Then of course there is the fact Riewoldt and co are all now eligible for the new veteran's list, which means we can put up to 8 (Riewoldt, Kosi, Hayes, Milne, Dal Santo, Montagna, Goddard- if he stays, Blake- if retained) on that, taking around $115 of all their salaries outside the cap.

If we really want to keep Goddard, we very easily can. The only question is, is he worth more to us than we are currently offering?

i really think goddard is no value to us any more. there are better players out there his best footy is beyond him IMO.

i think we go hard in trade week.

But I think you potentially have a better player in Heppell, playing that role that Goddard plays...
Which role is that? Goddard has spent the great majority of the past 4 seasons lining up in the midfield, including by far his two best seasons (2009/2010) and also most of this year, when he still came 4th in the B&F.

If he plays like he did in 2010 - I agree he was a gun. At worst he is a very good player. But are you comfortable with Essendon spending that much on him? I could understand the Bombers throwing the farm at a class Midfielder. But I think you potentially have a better player in Heppell, playing that role that Goddard plays...

I think going for Moloney is very good business, not so sure about Goddard. Just my opinion.
I think he'll thrive in a new home. He's younger than Jobe, so he's hardly past it. Sure there's some element of risk involved, but it's one I'd personally be happy to take

I don't think money is a problem tbh.
Mcveigh comes off the books, Hille either goes or stays on on a reduced wage, we were unfortunately paying slattery with money and not corn chips, but he's come off the books and Monfries as well who i reckon is on more than decent coin.

Front load the deal to take advantage of the cap space when we can, and we're laughing

Where did I discount Carlton?

I provided hard evidence that Caddy is interested in North.
There is no hard evidence providing any link with Carlton.

When did a "tour of facilities" = "Hard evidence" of interest. Riska and Bradshaw toured Carlton's facilities and we all know how that turned out ......... He would be negligent NOT to tour clubs facilities irrespective of if he has a real interest in going there or not, and Trade Month is a LONG process and ANYTHING can happen ...........

He's icing in a midfield that needs cake.
yeah you could argue that. I think our midfield is building ok, and it's constantly being addressed with short term additions like Moloney and long-term prospects like Kavanagh, but it doesn't surprise me or bother me that opposition supporters think that. It's been that way for a decade.

Regardless, Goddard is still going to be a monumental asset to whoever gets him. He's in his physical prime, is a tough competitor and a great ball user. Whatever you think of our current midfield, you can't honestly think he isn't going to improve it?

I think he'll thrive in a new home. He's younger than Jobe, so he's hardly past it. Sure there's some element of risk involved, but it's one I'd personally be happy to take

Younger than Jobe? Isn't Jobe 24. Goddard will be 28 next year...

Yep, will all say players will thrive at their new club - and he may well do... He's definitely a very good player. I just don't know about bringing in a 28 year old on massive coin...

When did a "tour of facilities" = "Hard evidence" of interest. Riska and Bradshaw toured Carlton's facilities and we all know how that turned out ......... He would be negligent NOT to tour clubs facilities irrespective of if he has a real interest in going there or not, and Trade Month is a LONG process and ANYTHING can happen ...........

I'd argue that shows exactly that - hard interest. Bradshaw agreed and Rischitelli took a couple of days to knock back the deal (allegedly because Carlton wanted to sign him to an extension, but Rischitelli wouldn't given the GC coming in the following year). It was almost a done deal. But you're definitely right on anything happening.

Younger than Jobe? Isn't Jobe 24. Goddard will be 28 next year...

Yep, will all say players will thrive at their new club - and he may well do... He's definitely a very good player. I just don't know about bringing in a 28 year old on massive coin...
I wish Jobe was 24! Jobe was born Feb 8, 1985; 3 months older than Goddard who was born May 20, 1985.

Sometimes you take a gamble. Big coin is the only way you get a marquee player like Goddard. Again, happy to take the risk.

Which role is that? Goddard has spent the great majority of the past 4 seasons lining up in the midfield, including by far his two best seasons (2009/2010) and also most of this year, when he still came 4th in the B&F.

Yep that midfield/half back/whatever we need him to do tole - I think Heppell will be an absolute gun.

I wish Jobe was 24! Jobe was born Feb 8, 1985; 3 months older than Goddard who was born May 20, 1985.

Sometimes you take a gamble. Big coin is the only way you get a marquee player like Goddard. Again, happy to take the risk.

Geez, Jobe's been around that long? You're right, big coin is the only way to get a guy like Goddard... I'd been happy for the Tigers to spend it on Cloke (even though they won't) but not on Goddard... Then again you guys have Hurley. One thing's for sure - It will be make or break for the bombers.

No you're right: Watson, Howlett, Hocking & Heppell = Bolt, Blake, Carter & Frater.
yeah that's great mate. What about Zaharakis for example? Didn't suit your argument?

And as for Heppell, you obviously aren't aware he ran a faster 20m sprint at draft camp than Atley. Burn... :oops:

Like I said, the perception around North's midfield is that it's very one-paced. Do you agree?

Regardless, Goddard is still going to be a monumental asset to whoever gets him.

No doubt, he's a good player when he is on and he will provide some excellent feed for the essendon forwards.

If he doesn't detract from your search for midfielder and causes essendon to lose no assets in the process, then he is a good addition to the list.

Whatever you think of our current midfield, you can't honestly think he isn't going to improve it?

He can assist with the release, and he will take an opponent.

No doubt, he's a good player when he is on and he will provide some excellent feed for the essendon forwards.

If he doesn't detract from your search for midfielder and causes essendon to lose no assets in the process, then he is a good addition to the list.

He can assist with the release, and he will take an opponent.
with us using our first round pick on Daniher this year I'm sure we won't be distracted from looking for mids. Mind you, we've been doing it for a while. Loaded up last year with a few potential options, but we won't see if they work out for a year or two.

Again, I understand the perceptions around Essendon's midfield, but it's something that's not news to the club and has been getting addressed for a while now

Means little if he doesn't show it in games.

Goddard is a top line player but may not be worth the coin he is looking for.
well it means something. It means he has pace and isn't slow! I don't know about not "showing it in games", I'm not sure that's the case. Anyway, as with all second year players, he has some aspects of his game to work on

Essendon would make much rather a pure mid, but Goddard is clearly the second best player available in FA so it would be a huge signing. Cloke would be nice, but he wants too much and it's either the Pies or Blues.

Besides Cloke and BJ, the only players available are past-it warriors or role players.