List of Trade Trade Rumours: Part II

Update: Caddy touring North, Collingwood offer 5 year deal to Cloke, Freo offering 3.4 mil over 4 years to Goddard, Collingwood interested in Giles, Saints offer Hickey 3 year deal, Demons still want Wellingham, Tigers offer Chaplin 4 year deal, Young to GWS?

Source: d_rose1 via The Age, Snowroo via The Footy Show, Varicho via SEN.

Poster on our board says that another unnamed club/s have offered Tom Bell a 3 year deal, while Carlton have offered him another year as a rookie.
Doesn't sound good for us.

True - but Saints must be thinking the worst...the longer it goes.
If that's the case and we really want him then all we have to do is up our offer, or give him the 4 years he wants.

If we don't, we'll miss him, but on the other hand, we'll get another pick around 13 in the draft, in return (maybe we'd take a punt on the hugely talented Menzel, if we had both 12 and 13 and he was still available, or Stringer, if still available), plus it would free up a lot of cap space, to go after others in trade week, or through free agency next year (we would be crazy to go after anyone this year through FA, if he leaves, IMO, as that would cost us our first round compo pick).

If he leaves, we could renegotiate a couple of contracts, so that they are front ended more, to take up more cap space next year and then could really load up on a "free agent" next year. So in 12 months time, we could snare someone who is maybe even as good as Goddard is now, though free agency, on top of whoever we draft with his compo pick this year, who ought to be extremely talented. This is the conundrum we face.

Poster on our board says that another unnamed club/s have offered Tom Bell a 3 year deal, while Carlton have offered him another year as a rookie.
Doesn't sound good for us.

Bit of a logjam on the blues rookie list isn't it?
Curnow, Casboult, Tuohey and Bell all pushing for upgrades.

Surely tuohey gets an upgrade, casboult a chance as well is the blues don't get cloke.
Curnow probably ahead of bell as well. Interesting times ahead.

Not sure on the rules of the rookie list, is it max 2 years and then upgrade or let go?

Bit of a logjam on the blues rookie list isn't it?
Curnow, Casboult, Tuohey and Bell all pushing for upgrades.

Surely tuohey gets an upgrade, casboult a chance as well is the blues don't get cloke.
Curnow probably ahead of bell as well. Interesting times ahead.

Not sure on the rules of the rookie list, is it max 2 years and then upgrade or let go?

Tuohy has been elevated to the senior list today :thumbsu:
I think Casboult is waiting to see what happens with Cloke.
Personally I'd elevate Bell before Curnow.
They can stay as rookies for 3 years

Tuohy has been elevated to the senior list today :thumbsu:
I think Casboult is waiting to see what happens with Cloke.
Personally I'd elevate Bell before Curnow.
They can stay as rookies for 3 years

goon on tuohey. But if bell has indeed been offered a 3 year deal elsewhere, and he's not even garuanteed a senior spot at carlton he'd be crazy not to seriously consider it

Not sure where these Garlett rumours have perpetuated from. There isn't even one of those phoney articles written by a players management. The reason suggested though was off-field issues.

yeah that's great mate. What about Zaharakis for example? Didn't suit your argument?

And as for Heppell, you obviously aren't aware he ran a faster 20m sprint at draft camp than Atley. Burn... :oops:

Like I said, the perception around North's midfield is that it's very one-paced. Do you agree?

No. How can a midfield with Wells, Swallow, Harvey, Adams and Atley & Harper moving in over time be considered slow?

Ziebell & Cunnington are glaciers, but very good ones! ;)

I will feel sick if you get BJ if that makes you happy!

Has had short spells in the guts, and had a decent impact.
Would need more fitness to become a permanent mid.

Clearly Garlett is too small for midfield. He would be smashed. And as for Bell ahead of Curnow... thats just silly.

Regardless, Goddard is still going to be a monumental asset to whoever gets him. He's in his physical prime, is a tough competitor and a great ball user. Whatever you think of our current midfield, you can't honestly think he isn't going to improve it?

This is is exactly how I feel about BJ. He is a gun, why we aren't offering him 900k over 4 years is beyond me.

Give that man what he wants, he is a proven big game player with amazing ability to execute under duress. Both North & Essendon have a pressing need to improve in this area.

I reckon it's a no-brainer!

Sell him the dream of a flag and give him 900k or whatever gets the deal done.

What would you offer for Curnow?
From St.kilda? I actually think he'd be a good fit with his engine and clean hands. Bell definately has potential but i think curnow has shown more to date.