Matt Rendell...

Re: Matt Rendall...

So Rendell gets hung out to dry and the AFL thinks that they look proactive on indigenous issues.

And meanwhile, indigenous kids continue to drop out of the system in disproportionate numbers and the perceived need for greater endurance works against them being recruited in the first place.

Rendell isn't the enemy Andrew, you are.

First, let me say I'm disgusted, embarrassed and ashamed of the Crows and their handling of this - absolutely gutless; where is our loyalty and integrity?

Numerous players who have worked with Rendell over the years have come out and backed him 100% - I'd listen to Andrew McLeod before I'd listen to Andrew ********.

As for your quote above - it makes it even worse!

You've got a guy passionate about aboriginal players in the game, who was trying to articulate a (seemingly great) idea of his own, to try and encourage and help aboriginal kids fit into the system better. He uses one throw away line, which, in context, isn't racist at all; and they completely ignore the entire objective of the discussion and crucify him based on that one comment.

Disgraceful.

The problem is that Rendall hasn't proposed anything, he hasn't acted and he has provided constructive considerations for the development of policy to prevent discrimination. That the development of the policy in on the lines of race may well make it racist but then, native title and any of the other lauded social developments would also be "racist" or "racial discrimination".

Rendall has suggested that the racism in that definition will be an unintended consequence of a failure of policy to assist with the assimilation of young indigenous footballers into AFL culture.

To have a discussion about the very essence of racism is not "racist".

When feminists highlighted the issues faced by women in the 60s and 70s and lobied for policy change were they sexist?

Rendall has proposed something (implicitly). Who's to say he hasn't acted? No, native title is not racist - it's recognising a land right. Yes, other "lauded social developments" are racially discriminatory, but they are not unlawful because they have been excluded by statute (by both Liberal and Labor governments).

And I won't even bother with your reference to women's rights activists in the 1960s.. pretty hard to argue that lobbying for equal opportunity could be sexist! Rendall hasn't lobbied for anything here..

So I suppose you think:

(c) if you didn't go to school and get an education, you will have a significant struggle getting into or suceeding in a AFL environment.

Now you are on topic.

That is exactly what is being suggested but, as Grant Thomas said last night, it isn't a black or white issue.

I can't be bothered with you all now. I just now know how Tony Abbott gets so many votes.

Bigger picture people, bigger picture.

I can't be bothered with you all now. I just now know how Tony Abbott gets so many votes.

Bigger picture people, bigger picture.

You truly are a rare breed. You accuse people of being racist who you have never even met. You make assumptions about people that are completely way off. You then have the nerve to make a comment like the one above, generalising and claiming some kind of moral victory. Take your faux "pc" attitude and leave.

What's to say Adelaide hasn't recently overlooked an aboriginal player with two black parents while Rendall has been in charge of recruitment? Do you think they'd be entitled to take Adelaide / AFL to court based on Rendall's comments? I reckon they would.

Entitled? Sure anybody can bring a valueless case. Would they have a snowdogs in hell. NO. Guess what; it is my job to calulate the value of civil cases. This would be valued at defence costs only. NO chance of success. I would refuse outright to settle. The simple fact is that Randell NEVER not once suggested that he has done this.

If in an attempt to get food aid for Africa I say that lack of rainfall in Africa would result in civil wars involving war crimes. Does that make me a war criminal? Capable of being charged as said? That is what you are suggesting.

3 things cost Rendell his job ...

No. It was only one.

Matt Rendell in FoxSports.com.au said:
Adelaide Crows recruiting manager Matt Rendell has launched a stunning assessment of Greater Western Sydney, declaring the AFL's newest club will be "shocking" in their first season.
http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/trade-and-draft/adelaide-crows-recruiting-boss-matt-rendell-declares-that-gws-giants-will-be-deplorable-next-year/story-fna8vsun-1226206548357

Nobody, and I mean nobody, disses Andy D's lovechild and gets away with it.

Unfortunately, Rendell's not political enough to realise that when you make comments like that, you've got to keep your head down otherwise heavyweights with an agenda come after you.

The AFL is more politics than sport. Which is why I'm losing interest in it.

No. It was only one.

Nobody, and I mean nobody, disses Andy D's lovechild and gets away with it.

Unfortunately, Rendell's not political enough to realise that when you make comments like that, you've got to keep your head down otherwise heavyweights with an agenda come after you.

The AFL is more politics than sport. Which is why I'm losing interest in it.

Demetriou said last night that GWS would be worse than GC in their first year. That would mean they are pretty shocking....

Does anyone find it strange that Gary "I racially abused players" Lyon is questioning Matt Rendell about Racism? I guess if you are Demetriou's puppet then racism is ok and you are given a plumb media job but if you are an interstate recruiter who is critical of his new startup lovechild then you are out on your ass.

THREAD NEEDS A POLL.

(Sorry for yelling, we need to send a message to the AFL. Phrase the question any way you like, the poll result will show overwhelming support for Rendell.)

Rendall has proposed something (implicitly). Who's to say he hasn't acted? No, native title is not racist - it's recognising a land right. Yes, other "lauded social developments" are racially discriminatory, but they are not unlawful because they have been excluded by statute (by both Liberal and Labor governments).

And I won't even bother with your reference to women's rights activists in the 1960s.. pretty hard to argue that lobbying for equal opportunity could be sexist! Rendall hasn't lobbied for anything here..

How is what Rendall said on FC last night (which is the only version I am prepared to credit him because the rest is only hear say) any different?

Edit: where do you think those statutory exclusions started?

Your "do-gooder, I'm superior but can be just as irrational as the right leaning people I denigrate because I vote Green" attitude is pathetic. What you want to do is wait for the discrimination to occur, wait for the oppression that results, and then make a change when it is too late.

Until the Abbot comment I was going to let this slide but the reality is that you've bitten off more than you can chew intellectually and you should just quit now. I'll tell you what, I voted Labor in the HOR and Greens in the senate in the last two elections and would unashamedly support a liberal party with Malcolm Turnbull as its head.

Not sure if its been mentioned earlier but the low point for me was when Garry asked Rendell the question "If you have a white player and an indigenous player of equal ability, which one would you take ?"

Well Garry .... as a powerbroker at Melbourne, which one would you take ?

Well Gary, if racism wasn't at play, how did Jack Watts get picked before Nic Natanui? I mean they are of equal ability... sort of...

I just watched the Rendell interview.

Ultimately what we have is a guy who cares deeply about the prospects for indigenous kids in the AFL being booted out for trying to get them to lift their head out of the sand.

I have a bit of insight into it and its true that white kids and indigenious kids both have issues but it is definetely fair to say that indigenous kids find the AFL environment with all its demands and rigidity more difficult to deal with bc of the way they have been raised (Cyril Rioli admits this).

All Rendell is trying to do is say to 30 x 16 yo kids - c'mon get into a scholarship programme at a good school. Get a good education, get into a professional AFL environment and let it help you more with the rigours of AFL footy come draft day. I think the man should be applauded for trying to make it better.....not sitting on his ar#e and letting the current systems faults continue.

We only have to go back to last year. Zyrus Manson was without doubt one of the most talented kids in the AFL Draft. He simply didnt get picked bc clubs didnt think he would cope. That was a shame and its exactly the sort of thing Rendell wants fixed.

Could he have said it better ....of course. Does he deserrved to be burnt because of it.....no.

How is what Rendall said on FC last night (which is the only version I am prepared to credit him because the rest is only hear say) any different?

Edit: where do you think those statutory exclusions started?

Your "do-gooder, I'm superior but can be just as irrational as the right leaning people I denigrate because I vote Green" attitude is pathetic. What you want to do is wait for the discrimination to occur, wait for the oppression that results, and then make a change when it is too late.

Until the Abbot comment I was going to let this slide but the reality is that you've bitten off more than you can chew intellectually and you should just quit now.

This....

What's to say Adelaide hasn't recently overlooked an aboriginal player with two black parents while Rendall has been in charge of recruitment? Do you think they'd be entitled to take Adelaide / AFL to court based on Rendall's comments? I reckon they would.

Well we know for a fact the so-called policy was not in place last year when he recruited Cam Ellis-Yolmen, with one parent from Papua New Guinea and the other Aboriginal.

After the fact Matt Rendell says he was raising a hypothetical as a warning. Three people who were at the same meeting had a different impression at the time. The apparently unanimous impression of the three has resulted in his sacking.

Hardly surprising he is putting a softer version of his comments, based on good intentions, but it doesn't make it true, no matter how passionate he is in his own defence.

Havign said that, it could have been a mistaken impression, and you'd hope a guy with his record in the game would have the chance to explain himself before it came to this.

The question mark for me is over the process - he says he had no opportunity to clarify his comments (and there's been plenty of time) and Demetriou says he did. One of them is not telling the truth. On past performance, you'd have to guess it's the CEO, but we have no way of knowing. It's too important an issue to be resting on such a poor process.

For me, it points back to the summit idea Martin Flanagan proposed a week or so ago, that AD said was not necessary. I'd suggest if a guy with Rendell's experience is saying stuff like this and claiming it's not just his view - whether out of context or not - it is worth getting a group of interested people together to loook at trends and issues more carefully and without scapegoats.

Rendall has proposed something (implicitly).

This is simply wrong. Actually, not even close and you should be embarrassed by the conclusions you've jumped to here. You're lack of comprehension of what has gone on here is just horrendous.

Everybody is forgetting that he is still hasn't apologised for these comments. The comments which he said that they had a laugh about and then he said they didn't have a laugh about.

Really Rendell? Nobody in the AFL is racist, so you make throwaway lines like that and then come and gives us conflicting reports in the same interview?

"Well... If I offended anybody" Rendell says at the very end even though he had been asked several times and even at the start about his comments.

You don't understand you offended anyone? Seriously? Your long time mate Misfud, The AFL, an article in the paper, the general public outrcry, you then lose your job and you haven't realised if you offended anyone? :rolleyes:

Seriously you people are buying his sob story even though he continually contraticed himself during the whole interview? When asked if he would recruit an indegenious player over a white player both of equal ability he said they cannot be equal. Muhaha, more racism!

And then finally after a long pause he says, "it would be a bonus for the aboriginal player". :D

This is why the AFL need be 100% diligent. People now believe a racist, crying, poor and unemployed man because he said he had a big ball in his stomach. Rendell, that's called GUILT and you ruined 35 years of hard work in 3 minutes.

All you had to say. I am sorry, I shouldn't of said that, in hindsight I realised it was a stupid thing to say and this is not my intention. My intention is...
and that would've been fine. But he didn't.

The underseeded of racism is fairly permutated in the minds of people still in this country.

Finally, someone else who didn't buy his "poor me" sob story. :thumbsu: