Opinion Matthew Nicks: Adelaide's Coach (Part 2) - Full Support of the Board

Is Matthew Nicks the right coach for Adelaide?

• Firmly yes (I love what I'm seeing)

• Leaning yes

• Can't decide either way

• Leaning no (but don't sack him yet)

• Firmly no (he should be sacked)

Results are only viewable after voting.

Wish we had not overlooked Kingsley as well. The crows have a knack at messing up coaching appointments and draft picks. The two major drivers for success.

Calm down mate. All is not lost.

In 2019 - remember Nicks promised an attacking gameplan that is based around "attacking the opposition" and pouncing on their mistakes. Its just taking a little longer, hence the extension.

Just you wait until 2026.

Nicks presser, players aren't at their best, system is back, structure was good
The bloke is clearly delusional. Can't wait until the fraud is fired. Most likely gonna blame the players on the way out instead of his shit coaching.

What must the board and management be thinking now? They’ve ****ed themselves trying to eliminate “noise”.

Now instead of just not re-signing the clown, the have to sack someone before the new contract even starts, that’s unforgivable.

On top of the shit way we are playing and the losses, he’s lost, he’s floundering, blaming players, making up poxy excuses and taking no responsibility. We have not once heard “I’m the senior coach, I’m responsible for how we are playing” instead it’s “the players are out of the form, the opposition are very good, we know what’s wrong”.

Well there’s a lot of good opposition in this comp you ****wit, you can’t use that as an excuse, it’s up to you to make us better than them.

At least we won’t see that smug smirk for awhile.

WaynesWorld19 0-4, what’s your thoughts now?
It's some of the worse pre-game and in-game coaching moves I've seen from a Crows Coach for a long time

Whilst our boys Laird & Crouch rack up useless stats, Nicks is minimising the involvement of Dawson to accommodate that **** .....and playing him FWD was a game losing move

Make no mistake, the 2024 version of Crouch is not the 2023 version .....he is not using his legs to drive thru contests ....he is not moving the ball fwd .....he's playing the 2022 style, going wide all the time, for which Nicks refused to play him

Laird has slowed up a lot, and age is showing

Nicks continued stubbornness in not having Dawson as the 2nd possession mid ....and having him positioned out the back of stoppages, is going to cost Nicks his job .....fancy playing your best player like this, hasn't he watched how Bevo (sic) uses The Bont !!!

It's some of the worse pre-game and in-game coaching moves I've seen from a Crows Coach for a long time

Whilst our boys Laird & Crouch rack up useless stats, Nicks is minimising the involvement of Dawson to accommodate that **** .....and playing him FWD was a game losing move

Make no mistake, the 2024 version of Crouch is not the 2023 version .....he is not using his legs to drive thru contests ....he is not moving the ball fwd .....he's playing the 2022 style, going wide all the time, for which Nicks refused to play him

Laird has slowed up a lot, and age is showing

Nicks continued stubbornness in not having Dawson as the 2nd possession mid ....and having him positioned out the back of stoppages, is going to cost Nicks his job .....fancy playing your best player like this, hasn't he watched how Bevo (sic) uses The Bont !!!
So, fair to say at 0-4 you wouldn’t be re-signing Nicks and the club should have waited?

Crazy to think we're still paying for Burton/Roo's horrible tenure.

We chose a rookie coach on the back of him being a good bloke - because the Club was so utterly ****ed we needed to find somebody to try and make everybody feel better about the place.

Now we've got a good bloke first time coach, who's only strength appears to be that - being a good bloke.

Hard to really blame that when we just extended the guy 1 game and loss into the season. And publicly declared it was to protect him from outside noise.

So, fair to say at 0-4 you wouldn’t be re-signing Nicks and the club should have waited?
Nope .....Nicks deserved to be re-signed when he was !

No-one can predict when a Coach is going to go rogue bonkers

No one should be done in the off season, or a year out unless they have the runs on the board.

No Wayne, he didn’t deserve it. Our previous wins were against West Coast twice, North, Gold Coast and Port. He blew a home game against Sydney to make finals.

There was no harm in waiting until the bye, none, zilch. The club should have waited to see if we were going to improve, if he could take us into the finals.

As for going rogue bonkers, the signs were there, you just excused them. I won’t rehash them all again, but you know.

Adam Kelly needs more attention. Country Race club manager, WAFL club CEO and ops manager at SANFL. Somehow then becomes an AFL expert and sits on selection, strategy and list management committees. He's as big a fraud as Fraudan.
Good call ....we need an experienced footy head ....not a nice guy administrator

What do we reckon, a mid year sacking? Or can he hold out until the post mortem of our failed season?
Nicks refuses to drop underperforming senior players because all he has now is "the group"
We all know as soon as our senior players sook it up the board listens and the coach is gone.
All the current spuds will play out the year and retire as hero's meanwhile another season is shot.

So Nicks had coffee with David King yesterday.

He disagreed with Kings comments about our vanilla midfield. So if he’s not going to take on board Kings analysis, then why the coffee? To shut him up? To get him to like him so he supports him?

Well the latter seems to have worked. He reckons Nicks is a good coach and it’s lack of talent. This besides King criticising our midfield mix, selections and game plan, all fair given Nicks wouldn’t have control over any of that….