Opinion Matthew Nicks: Adelaide's Coach (Part 2) - Full Support of the Board

Is Matthew Nicks the right coach for Adelaide?

• Firmly yes (I love what I'm seeing)

• Leaning yes

• Can't decide either way

• Leaning no (but don't sack him yet)

• Firmly no (he should be sacked)

Results are only viewable after voting.

He has bigger posting issues than his use of " ... " which I think for him is a long pause, rather than missing text.
He could find this useful:

The thing that shits me the most is the variance in length of the " ... ".

How does WW defend having an injured Tom Lynch as sub. That was on Nick's and one of the most incompetent things I've ever seen.

WW is on the payroll in some capacity.

Someone couldn’t literally be that stupid seeing what is happening to this club and its selections.

A good mate of mine has a wife and daughter and a fixed speed camera near his place.
Both have been pinged THREE times by that same speed camera; same location, same warning notifications, nothing's different.
Once, ok, that's not paying attention, but TWICE more after that with more likely? It's nuts, beyond careless.

Like them, sadly, Nicks has not, does not, learn from his mistakes.

Similar theme -

I always say - I’ll tell you something once, I’ll tell you something twice in case you didn’t hear me correctly the first time but I’m not telling you a third time coz that means you ain’t paying any attention.

I can answer that, because I looked it up earlier today.
Nicks, of course, then Godden/ Wright/ Bello, all of whom have "devlopment" in their job titles.

It means none of them are doing their job well.

If all of them have development in their names then there is a problem, who do you make accountable?

Hmm, think we might be onto something here.

Now on a separate matter, the last 5 out of 6 times we have lost to Collingwood by less than a kick in the past 3 years. Now a smart person might think that after a couple of those close losses, you would actually learn something but no, just rinse and repeat.

Weren't there a few posters on here that said Murphy would make a good midfielder. Where did they disappear to.

Not sure it's as many as a few and not sure it's in this thread. Murphy would almost certainly be a better midfielder than what he is currently. He's also almost certainly a better defender than what he is currently. If he's going to be selected, he should be tested in other roles and then delisted if he's no better.

Why do you have this obsession with suggesting others are "seduced by numbers"? It reeks of projection. Nobody is saying anything about disposal numbers except you.

Because I was curious though, I've checked the numbers. Of the main stats, Crouch beats Laird in disposals (+3.2), kick efficiency (+1.1%, but they're both awful), contested possessions (+1), ground ball gets (+0.7), clearances (+1), marks (+1.4) and score involvements (+1.1). There's 0.1 difference between them in tackles and pressure acts, so nothing of significance there.

It's pretty similar across the board. Maybe it's not the numbers we're all thinking about. Maybe we're actually watching the games in full with our eyes.

Both are liabilities and wouldn't get a guernsey in a contending midfield.

If all of them have development in their names then there is a problem, who do you make accountable?
Now on a separate matter, the last 5 out of 6 times we have lost to Collingwood by less than a kick in the past 3 years. Now a smart person might think that after a couple of those close losses, you would actually learn something but no, just rinse and repeat.
I think another poster said Nicks' record in games decided by a goal or less is 6W-1D-16L.

Any body in that situation (you'd think) would be asking themselves:
"Hmmm :think:, what can I change? What can I get the boys to do better?".

Not Nicks, apparently.
OK, maybe that's unfair. Maybe he's been addressing the problem/s which actually is kinda worse because it's not working.

Not sure it's as many as a few and not sure it's in this thread. Murphy would almost certainly be a better midfielder than what he is currently. He's also almost certainly a better defender than what he is currently. If he's going to be selected, he should be tested in other roles and then delisted if he's no better.

Why bother having him at all? He is just clogging up space for one of the younger ones.

How he got to 100+ games believes to one of footy’s biggest mysteries.

Billy Dowling playing his first game had more touches and impact than Murphy across first 12 games.

And lets call it, Murphy in his 7th season has less impact on the scoreboard than he did in his 2nd season. Think about that.

Nicks is stuck in his ways.
He can't pivot.
Friends Lol GIF by Max

Thing that keeps sh**ing me about what Silvers said yesterday on SA Grandstand is that on one hand he said "Right now -List isn't good enough" - then proceeds to say he "will back in" the likes of Ogilvie and Reid etc who have been there over a decade.

TIM...TIM, the reason the list 'isn't good enough' is BECAUSE of these duds that have been there too long.

Club is totally clueless.

Thing that keeps sh**ing me about what Silvers said yesterday on SA Grandstand is that on one hand he said "Right now -List isn't good enough" - then proceeds to say he "will back in" the likes of Ogilvie and Reid etc who have been there over a decade.

TIM...TIM, the reason the list 'isn't good enough' is BECAUSE of these duds that have been there too long.

Club is totally clueless.

There's a reason Silvers didn't get the Hawks gig. He's a grunt, not a difference maker.

At what point will you and others let go of 97/98 .....it actually is ridiculous to benchmark an era 27 years ago .....it's akin to believing Ted Whitten would be a successful Coach in today's era .....or John Cahill

Dennis Pagan & Clarkson have ably demonstrated at CARL and NORTH .....no matter your credentials as a Coach, if you don't have the cattle ....players cannot successfully adopt your gameplan

Hey Wayno, if the list is as bad as you claim, and assuming Nicks knows this, why is he adopting a gameplan that is beyond the list to execute?

Is that not the definition of setting them up to fail?

Then, if you want to go down the path of the cattle are poor, do you at least accept the failings of recruiting and/or development given we are now several years into the rebuild and and dealing with a bare cupboard thanks primarily to the void of 2016-2020?

Hey Wayno, if the list is as bad as you claim, and assuming Nicks knows this, why is he adopting a gameplan that is beyond the list to execute?

Is that not the definition of setting them up to fail?

Then, if you want to go down the path of the cattle are poor, do you at least accept the failings of recruiting and/or development given we are now several years into the rebuild and and dealing with a bare cupboard thanks primarily to the void of 2016-2020?
I haven't said this exactly .....however, it's quite clear the list depth isn't there, the list exposed thru injuries

Even the Crows are saying the list needs more quality (depth)

IIRC ...last year, the Crows did say, it was time to reassess the list, after putting a number of games into young players ....I'm sure there's media pieces confirming that

And, there was discussion on the board last year, certainly from myself, that given the age / experience profile of our list ....injuries to key personnel would expose us

It's worse that that Kirky - it's still "just do the same but longerer and harderer" :-(

Neil Craigisms still rule our club.

I can somewhat see where Wayne is coming from, the list is a bigger issue than coaching. Selection is absolutely deplorable and Nicks should be gone on that alone but I agree we don't have the players to execute the gameplan because so many of them have poor skills. We are capable of playing good football with a full strengh team, but 70 goal Walker is gone now and Laird is finished. We are reliant on our top end players carrying us, to the point where we forcefeed Dawson at every opportunity. At our best we are good enough for finals, but not good enough for a flag, which means we need to pump more talent into the club asap before Tassie comes in.

As for our players - we could not execute uncontested kick/marks when we were constantly switching the play, the most basic of skills. Everyone yelped about the midfield (which is still a problem) when outside class is the biggest issue, we don't have a reliable offensive kick out of defense or up the ground. There is no connection at all between def and midfield, part could be game plan but we have no confidence in our footskills to move the ball. We need someone like Jordan Clark or Bailey Dale who can hit long darts and provide run and carry. Hinge is too prone to clangers and often plays defensive. We need a Smith replacement badly. Not to mention our wingers are crap because we have just rotated fringe players and inside midfielders there for years.

With Crouch gone we are going to see the midfield get hammered. The Richmond game was a sneak peak of whats to come, Thompson Dow had more contested possesions than any of our mids, i can't wait to see what guys like Neale and Bont do to us. Don't care what hate Crouch gets, he is the one who routuinely won first possession and dished it out cleanly. Sure its at the back/side of stoppages but he is still giving it to players in space. Soligo is tiring, Laird has slowed and can't hit pinpoint handballs and Berry is too way slow with the ball. Dawson is good but his strenghs are on the outside, and Rankine is a jet who we need in two roles. I've been telling you guys Shoenberg is garbage and lazy for years and you're all starting to realise it, his work rate is not good enough, nore are his skills. We're going to struggle to win the hardball going forward. We are happy to throw Max midfield for a quarter but won't let actual midfielders like Dowling touch CBAs. its incredible our dumb our coaches are.

I haven't said this exactly .....however, it's quite clear the list depth isn't there, the list exposed thru injuries

Even the Crows are saying the list needs more quality (depth)

IIRC ...last year, the Crows did say, it was time to reassess the list, after putting a number of games into young players ....I'm sure there's media pieces confirming that

And, there was discussion on the board last year, certainly from myself, that given the age / experience profile of our list ....injuries to key personnel would expose us

If you were coach would you give them a gameplan beyond their abilities?