Opinion Matthew Nicks: Adelaide's Coach (Part 2) - Full Support of the Board

Is Matthew Nicks the right coach for Adelaide?

• Firmly yes (I love what I'm seeing)

• Leaning yes

• Can't decide either way

• Leaning no (but don't sack him yet)

• Firmly no (he should be sacked)

Results are only viewable after voting.

Dennis Pagan & Clarkson have ably demonstrated at CARL and NORTH .....no matter your credentials as a Coach, if you don't have the cattle ....players cannot successfully adopt your gameplan

Nicks has been at our club since the end of 2019, he was at the 2019 National Draft as our coach.

Players that were here before - that are still on our list:
  • Taylor Walker (2007)
  • Brodie Smith (2010)
  • Rory Laird (2011)
  • Matt Crouch (2013)
  • Reilly O'Brien (2014)
  • Wayne Milera (2015)
  • Elliot Himmelberg (2016)
  • Darcy Fogarty (2017)
  • Lachie Murphy (2017)
  • Chayce Jones (2018)
  • Ned McHenry (2018)
  • Jordon Butts (2018)
  • Lachlan Sholl (2018)
  • Will Hamill (2018)
  • Kieran Strachan (2018)
Most of these came onboard post 2017 season ... so I reckon it's his responsibility for the cattle. He was at the helm while the vast majority of our list developed into AFL players.

He can't blame the list profile or the list's experience on others. The lack of depth is his fault.

If you were coach would you give them a gameplan beyond their abilities?
No ...but you also can't change your gameplan weekly, based on injuries

This has been a major criticism of Adam Yze in his early days with RICH .....players arked up, and got confused by continual changes .....players want consistency

So Nicks has created a gameplan so complex that only a specific 23 can execute?

I can somewhat see where Wayne is coming from, the list is a bigger issue than coaching. Selection is absolutely deplorable and Nicks should be gone on that alone but I agree we don't have the players to execute the gameplan because so many of them have poor skills. We are capable of playing good football with a full strengh team, but 70 goal Walker is gone now and Laird is finished. We are reliant on our top end players carrying us, to the point where we forcefeed Dawson at every opportunity. At our best we are good enough for finals, but not good enough for a flag, which means we need to pump more talent into the club asap before Tassie comes in.

As for our players - we could not execute uncontested kick/marks when we were constantly switching the play, the most basic of skills. Everyone yelped about the midfield (which is still a problem) when outside class is the biggest issue, we don't have a reliable offensive kick out of defense or up the ground. There is no connection at all between def and midfield, part could be game plan but we have no confidence in our footskills to move the ball. We need someone like Jordan Clark or Bailey Dale who can hit long darts and provide run and carry. Hinge is too prone to clangers and often plays defensive. We need a Smith replacement badly. Not to mention our wingers are crap because we have just rotated fringe players and inside midfielders there for years.

With Crouch gone we are going to see the midfield get hammered. The Richmond game was a sneak peak of whats to come, Thompson Dow had more contested possesions than any of our mids, i can't wait to see what guys like Neale and Bont do to us. Don't care what hate Crouch gets, he is the one who routuinely won first possession and dished it out cleanly. Sure its at the back/side of stoppages but he is still giving it to players in space. Soligo is tiring, Laird has slowed and can't hit pinpoint handballs and Berry is too way slow with the ball. Dawson is good but his strenghs are on the outside, and Rankine is a jet who we need in two roles. I've been telling you guys Shoenberg is garbage and lazy for years and you're all starting to realise it, his work rate is not good enough, nore are his skills. We're going to struggle to win the hardball going forward. We are happy to throw Max midfield for a quarter but won't let actual midfielders like Dowling touch CBAs. its incredible our dumb our coaches are.

Midfield gets hammered with Crouch in it.

Haven't you posted that coaches change the way they play on a weekly basis?

He has been Nicksy's pet since First 18 footy at Scotch College.
One of the most overrated players in the game . Sure he racks up possessions but his decision making and disposal are substandard .

He was good in the mopping up role when we had a very strong defence .

We should have moved him 3 years ago when he had maximum trade value .

1. Injuries ....do not underestimate the flow on effect .....GEEL & GWS are losing games due to key players being out

2. List Management ....for not chasing a RUCK the last 3 years

3. The lack of aggressive trading by the Club ....we're a "nice, good citizen" Club .....example, negotiations around Thebarton ...nice 🤮
Not a rogue bonkers coach?

Going to be shot down I know, but why not get in Choco Williams as your senior assistant coach? The guy is a nut, but so was Blight and that seemed to work out ok. At least he is likely to question idiotic selections like playing one inexperienced ruck last week. To me, you have a bunch of novices in charge atm.

Because he literally hates the AFC.

Why bother having him at all? He is just clogging up space for one of the younger ones.

How he got to 100+ games believes to one of footy’s biggest mysteries.

Billy Dowling playing his first game had more touches and impact than Murphy across first 12 games.

And lets call it, Murphy in his 7th season has less impact on the scoreboard than he did in his 2nd season. Think about that.

He's contracted for another year, I'd prefer he get paid out and delisted, but if he's going to play, it's pointless continuing to do what we've always done.

But aren't coaches changing their gameplan every six weeks with tweaks in between?

Serious question WaynesWorld19, at what point will you admit Nicks is no good, what’s the threshold?
So WaynesWorld19 not prepared to put down a threshold of where you backtrack on your opinion on Nicks?

Previously you said the only thing he had to prove was how he coached in finals. Well given this season is shot to bits when he went rogue bonkers, played a vanilla midfield, odd selections, inability to curtail intercepting defenders, what’s it going to take?

If he survives and we don’t make finals in 2025 will that be it? Or is there no breaking point that applies to Nicks because he’s the awesomist coach ever?

Waynus had just lost it a bit
Go Crazy Wtf GIF