Opinion Matthew Nicks: Adelaide's Coach (Part 3) - The Biggest Loser

Is Matthew Nicks the right coach for Adelaide?

• Firmly yes (I love what I'm seeing)

• Leaning yes

• Can't decide either way

• Leaning no (but don't sack him yet)

• Firmly no (he should be sacked)

Results are only viewable after voting.

lol, that’s not a coach who expected to finish bottom.

Seek the contest, yeah by pushing Murphy up around the ball, genius.
Prioritise others, except me, I’ll blame the players when we lose.
Simple game plan, until I change it.
Defence leads to fast attacking play, until I tell the players to play kick to kick and move the ball slowly.
Experienced mids but you’ll see some young players like McHenry, never once played midfield, now delisted.

The bloke was a fraud from day 1.

yep, this extension is only going to end in tears

And if it doesnt i guess you will just move onto the next guy to knife in the back ? Thats how it works on this board right ?

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Knife in the back? I didnt even know I could knife him in the front.

Seriously though, wtf?

Ive said the same thing for years. I fear this is only going to end in tears. Knifing in the back implies I have control of the situation. If you also read my posts I do say i am happy to be proven wrong.

Knife in the back? I didnt even know I could knife him in the front.

Seriously though, wtf?

Ive said the same thing for years. I fear this is only going to end in tears. Knifing in the back implies I have control of the situation. If you also read my posts I do say i am happy to be proven wrong.
Im saying this board or certain people want people sacked or they cant play according to them ie ben keays , nicks ,burns ,godden, kelly , roo do i need to go on ?

I agree. This board can be highly negative at times. And especially when there is just hate for no reason.

But i outline why I am not sure on Nicks and why I think the evidence suggests otherwise. But i dont dislike Nicks under blind assumption of a job role. Some of my critique is no doubt unfair. but not all of it.

You mean like reid and hamish ? I dont know how many times ive read on here people wanting them both sacked

Well to be honest I think its probably good to change recruiters periodically. Hamish is extremely highly rated within the industry though.

Still struggling with grammar I see.

Now is there any club employee, because that’s what they are until they are generally sacked, that you are unhappy with?

Now I’m pretty sure we know the answer, you won’t provide any names. Instead you’ll blindly support any club employee, so why would we give too ****s about anyone’s posts that can’t form an opinion but is just a loyal cheerleader?

So you reckon everything is ****ing awesome?

Comfortable extending a coach who has not played finals in 5 sessions, extending us to 7 seasons without finals?

Guess most of us have an expectation that we want our club to have people involved who will give us a winning culture rather than a losing one... but you are obviously very, very easily pleased to accept mediocrity.

That's your prerogative, just like it is for the majority who want to change at the club to bring in personnel who will turn us back into a successful club.

No worries

No, we have big worries with those running the club!

It's the no worries she will be right that things will just turn themselves around with the same key people who clearly are incompetent which leads us to continued mediocrity.

We will only improve as a club with getting in more quality people. At least Davis is a start, but there needs to more of an overhaul than this.

Still struggling with grammar I see.

Now is there any club employee, because that’s what they are until they are generally sacked, that you are unhappy with?

Now I’m pretty sure we know the answer, you won’t provide any names. Instead you’ll blindly support any club employee, so why would we give too ****s about anyone’s posts that can’t form an opinion but is just a loyal cheerleader?
Did someone say something ? All i hear is the same flog saying the same rubbish on a daily basis .Let me know when you have something new to contribute

Well to be honest I think its probably good to change recruiters periodically. Hamish is extremely highly rated within the industry though.
During the season, the pitchfork brigade wanted all positions vacated …. including Reid and Hamish

Now we’re starting to see a tempering of that rhetoric …… starting to see the Nicks hate being toned down, so if he does turn the team around , they won’t be caught out & can claim support

Phrases like ….. IF Nicks can turn the team around

Supporters are fickled and will never admit they got it wrong ….. we may find it difficult to actually find a Nicks hater by the end of next season 🤣

There’s history with opinions on Crouch in 2022 to now

During the season, the pitchfork brigade wanted all positions vacated …. including Reid and Hamish

Now we’re starting to see a tempering of that rhetoric …… starting to see the Nicks hate being toned down, so if he does turn the team around , they won’t be caught out & can claim support

Supporters are fickled and will never admit they got it wrong ….. we may find it difficult to actually find a Nicks hater by the end of next season 🤣

I agree and I am the first to admit I have said I want Hamish gone. That post was more out of change for change sake more than Hamish doing any wrong doing.

But Nicks is contracted now and no matter how much negative rhetoric we have around Nicks its not going to change. So may as well sit back and give some benefit of the doubt to see if we are proven wrong.

My main concern with Nicks was not that he was the wrong man, just that we never did the due diligence around reappointing him. So I am consistent where as I will be the first to buy Nicks a bottle of fine whiskey if he wins us a premiership. I couldnt give a shit who the coach is. Just do it!

So tinman Mostyn and Mutineer do you think posts like this contribute to some of us trying to hold Wayne to account for his posting?

Pitchfork brigade? How many wanted Reid sacked? Who is in the pitchfork brigade?

Hamish should still go, heaping praise on his recent drafting when they are all relatively new draftees is a bit premature isn’t it?

Seeing the Nicks hate toned down? Lol, by who apart from you trying to forget the posts we’ve been bumping?

Pretty sure most of the commentary has been Davis has come in to hold Nicks hand and easy draw.

Supporters are fickle to admit they got it wrong. FMD talk about the lack of self awareness.

This post is one big troll, craving for a reaction.

Tinman, Mostyn and Mutineer, surely you can see that. So tell me why we should go easy on Wayne?

I don't know whether you include me in your pitchfork brigade... so I will clarify what I wanted given our continued mediocrity.

At least half the board should go given the poor decision to extend Nicks before necessary. Clearly they can't be trusted to make good key decisions on the football front. We lack a balance of quality football people on the board. We now have a vacancy with Ellis, but should be more changes imo.

Our head of football clearly isn't up to it & should be replaced. Actually think Reid would be better in this role, but ideally someone from outside.

I have no issue with Reid & think he has been good. Only reak stinker was paying so much for Gibbs, but I blame Fagan for that one.

I haven't had as much issue with Hamish as others have on this board, but imo its unhealthy that he has been at the club for so long. A refresh & new perspective is needed.

I am absolutely convinced Nicks is incapable of being a successful coach as he is just not very smart. Very happy we have brought in Davis from a successful environment to take over strategy & many of the every day coaching activities... but this is was done because we have a head coach who is not up to it. The best solution would have been to bring in a competent head coach rather than someone who will do most of his job.

Just wondering at which point we are allowed to be unhappy with Nicks?
Do we have to wait for him to be the worst coach in the history of the afl or just our club?
I need a number thanks, we are at 5 years and counting.
He’s heading dangerously close to wasting the prime years of our guns.

And if it doesnt i guess you will just move onto the next guy to knife in the back ? Thats how it works on this board right ?

Knife in the back?
Grow up, people are expressing opinions just like you are, except the facts support our opinion that nicks is no good.

Opinion Matthew Nicks: Adelaide's Coach (Part 3) - The Biggest Loser