MCG World Cup Furore

Back yourself up. The FFA and Afl have met 14 times over the past year and a half over the requirements. He must have a bad memory or bad employees. Given Demetriou is a known liar then You are just one of disciples spreading his spin. He is angling for compensation. David gallop does it without bs

i'm not taking your word for it. show me something legit.

Demetriou will go down as the man who cost us the World Cup.
barely hit the news in sydney, its just a bit of posturing by demetriou and wont be an issue. The worst case scenario would be less games played in melbourne if TD was ruled out, but i dont think the melbourne special events committee or whatever they're called would allow that all of a sudden the bubble dome roof might not be too expenive to upgrade.

This is what was reported in The Guardian yesterday.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/dec/09/world-cup-2018

More good news for England's 2018 World Cup bid...The rival bid of Australia is now likely to apply to Fifa for a special exemption allowing its rugby union, rugby league and Aussie Rules leagues to continue during any potential World Cup in an effort to head off an escalating row with the bigger and better-funded codes.

Mightn't be making the news in Sydney mate, but it is certainly made the news internationally.

Lowie has spoken.

I can't find it back, but somewhere I read that Brazil were expecting 500,000 fans on average spending around $110 per day in 2014. That would add up.

A world cup would not only attract people who might otherwise never visit Australia, but it would also make people visit tourist destinations and spend money outside of their football activities.

Not to mention the massive publicity it would give Australia. I kid you not, when I met my Australian wife I had never heard of Brisbane. I was a Belgian uni student at the time and, pardon my arrogance for a sec, I believe I did know more about the world than the average European. I only knew Melbourne from the Australian Open, the GP and Mark Viduka.

500,000 fans x $110 per day average x 28 days = $1.54 billion in local revenues. Apparently Germany's local body made 200-300 million Euros and FIFA made $3 billion from the tv rights.

Everything that I've read suggests the minimum investment needed would be $2 billion, and anywhere up to $8 billion of taxpayers money could be spent. Hell, that's a lot of money spent for precious little return. If the Australian Government got the tv rights it may make it more economical, but as bang-for-your-buck goes, even if the figures aren't accurate it suggests that the money may be better spent on other infrastructure.

As for tourists that wouldn't otherwise come here, we're practically subsidizing the tourist industry if those economics stack up. And as far as publicising Australia goes - who cares if anyone overseas hasn't heard of Brisbane or Wagga Wagga? You'd be better advertising on Google Ads at that price...

Back yourself up. The FFA and Afl have met 14 times over the past year and a half over the requirements. He must have a bad memory or bad employees. Given Demetriou is a known liar then You are just one of disciples spreading his spin. He is angling for compensation. David gallop does it without bs

Who knows what those 14 meetings were over. I'm sure even during a regular season the two codes meet often to discuss venue use and scheduling. It could have been about pourage rights at the MCG for all we know.

The fact is, that FFA don't even know which venues they want to use yet - a fact that has been lost during the whole debate. I assume they're playing games at the mythical new Perth stadium, at the mooted Campbelltown 40,000 seater, the SCG (as reported in the press today) and a host of other venues that haven't either been built or been consulted. They should, for the sake of other codes and the public, come out with a list and say "oh, hey guys, the following 12 venues that we'd prefer to use are... and the alternates are... Now, who has issues with that?"

Mightn't be making the news in Sydney mate, but it is certainly made the news internationally.

One of only two articles I could find in a Google search, the other in the Shanghai daily. It's hardly stirring up anything, and the Brits are notorious for blowing Aussie sporting dramas out of proportion.

This is what was reported in The Guardian yesterday.

Not so fussed about that though.

One would think at this stage, any thoughts of England not hosting 2018 are silliness. There must be a reason they are still in for '18 but my guess is the FFA's focus is on 2022

re: Herald Sun ... Just on the knock on conservatives ... Educated conservatives read the Oz ;), the largely unintelligent outter suburban masses read the Herald Scum

Who knows what those 14 meetings were over. I'm sure even during a regular season the two codes meet often to discuss venue use and scheduling. It could have been about pourage rights at the MCG for all we know.

Obviously they talked about the weather and their families. :rolleyes: The article says they have 'kept the afl fully appraised on the bid and its requirements'.

The fact is, that FFA don't even know which venues they want to use yet - a fact that has been lost during the whole debate.

Its not hard to work what venues are likely even for someone with blinkers on like Demetriou. Again its at least 8 or 12 years away.

I assume they're playing games at the mythical new Perth stadium, at the mooted Campbelltown 40,000 seater, the SCG (as reported in the press today) and a host of other venues that haven't either been built or been consulted. They should, for the sake of other codes and the public, come out with a list and say "oh, hey guys, the following 12 venues that we'd prefer to use are... and the alternates are... Now, who has issues with that?"
Why don't just build the stadiums then worry about the bid? If they don't get it don't worry about. Its not going to cost anything is it?

Everything that I've read suggests the minimum investment needed would be $2 billion, and anywhere up to $8 billion of taxpayers money could be spent. Hell, that's a lot of money spent for precious little return. If the Australian Government got the tv rights it may make it more economical, but as bang-for-your-buck goes, even if the figures aren't accurate it suggests that the money may be better spent on other infrastructure.

As for tourists that wouldn't otherwise come here, we're practically subsidizing the tourist industry if those economics stack up. And as far as publicising Australia goes - who cares if anyone overseas hasn't heard of Brisbane or Wagga Wagga? You'd be better advertising on Google Ads at that price...

Little return? Its only the biggest sporting event in the world. I'm no accountant but your figures don't add up. Are they government figures, FFA figures or your own?

AFL bogans. Honestly :rolleyes:

I love Aussie Rules and the doggies are my life, but the amount of paranoid, myopic rantings on this site from all these mantis type bogans is pathetic.

So intolerant and unable to see the bigger picture from beyond their own silly little world.

I’d like to express my disappointment In the way that my two favourite sports & their supporters seem to be squabbling.
I started this thread because of the like minded people I find in this “Big Footy Other Footballs” forum. I prefer to talk to well rounded open minded sports fans who can see both sides of the story.
This debate has brought up many assumptions like: you can’t support Soccer & AFL which is utter rubbish, I personally couldn’t care less whether the World Cup makes a profit or not, I just believe that Australia could host the best ever World Cup, and to those who are unconvinced: great cities host the Olympics, Great nations host the World Cup.

The idiots who seem to think it's their job to guard the beaches against the "sokkah invasion" aren't all that much better than the people on here who spent the duration of the last world cup calling anyone who didn't support an A-League/NSL/Premier League/Other bogans or bandwagoners.

I love Aussie Rules and the doggies are my life, but the amount of paranoid, myopic rantings on this site from all these mantis type bogans is pathetic.

So intolerant and unable to see the bigger picture from beyond their own silly little world.

lol brilliant:D

Thanks heavens for this little bit of BigFooty away from that S**t fight that is happening about this subject in another part of this forum.

I am sure that many of us Australian Rules/Association Football fans this sort of debates are disconcerting to say the least.

I think that the AFL has every right to protect its product and make sure that they are not disadvantaged in the eventuality (which has to be recognised it is still pretty remote) that Australia does have a World Cup.

But I am sort of wondering why Andrew Demetriou has gone all guns blaring about this. He could have approached Buckley or the Government privately and make his views known. And it seems that Buckley has tried to keep the AFL up to date about the bid. There is a possibility that the FFA is also not yet sure about the details.

That the AFL basically doesn’t want the World Cup, and this is a Howard style wolf whistle strategy to scuttle the bid.

While the AFL makes all the right noises about the ‘AFL not beating up on soccer or being unsupportive of the World Cup’ it unleashes a sentiment about ‘us and them’. This ‘Us and Them’ is a well worn card. Demetriou went on radio uttering hyperboles such as that some AFL clubs would not survive due to the AFL season being cancelled due to the unavailability of the MCG and similar venues for 16 weeks, when I think he already been told that stadiums like the MCG would be required for up to eight weeks.

someone made a great point on another forum - he said that this will help the bid as FIFA have a mandate to make the game global and will now see Australia as a 'Final Fronteer' as it were. We are also apart of Asia and FIFA want to strenthen Asian ties as much as possible. Korea and Japan already hosted it and China didnt put their hand up this time - that leaves us as the next on the list.

They need to be carefull of how they go about this - disrepecting the code will only fuel FIFA's fire and they dont really care if their actions drive other sports further.

a great artical - http://au.fourfourtwo.com/news/118591,fifa-will-embrace-oz-challenge.aspx

EXCLUSIVE: FIFA are well aware of Australia’s competitive sporting market and are more likely to embrace the World Cup challenge than be driven away by code disputes, according to the PFA.

Both the AFL and the NRL have voiced loud concerns this week over the potential impact a World Cup would have on their respective codes.

This has led to fears that such squabbling could seriously damage Australia's chances of earning either the 2018 or 2022 tournaments.

However PFA CEO Brendan Schwab is confident that FIFA will see Australia as too big an opportunity to ignore and that powerful 'positives' will holder greater sway than rival codes' concerns.

"Australia is part of Asia and this country hosting the World Cup would allow FIFA and the game to make a massive footprint in this part of the world," Schwab told au.fourfourtwo.com today.

"I think FIFA understand how important it is to have the World Cup in Asia and how big the potential market is.

"Football has the ability to bring people together like no other sport can. I think a World Cup for Australia would provide a wonderful sporting legacy.

"I think they are wrong to think that FIFA would be pushed away by the challenge, I think they would be emboldened by it. I don't think it will drive a wedge.

"What they will look at is a Prime Minister backing this bid, letters of support from levels of government, football fans and of course proof of the financial commitment that backs up that support.

"FIFA's executive committee understands just how competitive a sporting market this is and a World Cup would be a tremendous opportunity to further drive football forward.

"I travel around the world and people are well aware of the sporting set up here. They liken it to the United States of America."

Schwab said a World Cup on these shores would be important in the near future and for Australians in the decades that would follow.

"We have a chance to host an event that would leave all the foreign visitors to enjoy the tournament and then head home saying to themselves that Australia is a football nation," he said.

"We are also left with the infrastructure from the event which Australians will benefit from."

The PFA boss reiterated that FIFA's drive to spread the world game far and wide was a powerful factor in making a final decision on hosting rights

Schwab added: "FIFA is driven by its desire for the development of the game. These people are football missionaries.

"Asia is a market that has huge potential and Australia is a big part of that market. I firmly believe Australia will be a greater nation for hosting the World Cup."

The main board has turned into one giant troll.

I find it amusing that many of them took the moral high-ground over the AFL threat to the NRL, branding the insecure name-calling immature, but as soon as the AFL becomes the subject, they then resort to the same sort of behaviour that they supposedly loathed about NRL fans.

The influx of 'new' users is amusing as well. Obviously too scared to post under their original accounts.

MCG World Cup Furore