News Media Thread, 2023: Insightful, Inciteful and Incomptent

I think it was the nature of the Insta post that was the problem. A pic of the bump with the caption “straight to the Tribunal” which strikes me as a bit confrontational

If it had been more matter-of-fact, e.g “Jordan de Goey has been sent to the Tribunal for rough conduct on Elijah Hewett” they might have been better able to claim they were just reporting the news.

I think it was the nature of the Insta post that was the problem. A pic of the bump with the caption “straight to the Tribunal” which strikes me as a bit confrontational

If it had been more matter-of-fact, e.g “Jordan de Goey has been sent to the Tribunal for rough conduct on Elijah Hewett” they might have been better able to claim they were just reporting the news.
Yeah I didn’t see the original post, but based on that description it comes across like salty BF main board behaviour

I suspect Stocks has absolutely no idea how to handle what’s happening at the club at the moment. Not sure if he was in the same role in the mid 2000s, but regardless it’s a very different environment nowadays. Fine if we are dominating, but with the club in disarray on and off the field, i reckon he’s pretty out of his depth. Not social media, but just the whole PR and comms situation.

Probably shouldn't comment on any tribunal matters, given how touchy the AFL can be, but shouldn't have apologised to Collingwood. Should have simply apologised for speaking prematurely on tribunal matters or some such. As for the incident itself, De Goey will get a lengthy stint on the sidelines but beyond that, I don't see any reason to be too upset. It was the kind of bump that used to be allowed, that now isn't, that some players forget in the heat of the game. It was a bump, not a cheap shot.

And now multiple investigations are being held into how unsociable they were. The hyprocritical rationalisation by media based ex hawks in particular is pathetic.
Come on, not everything is about the racial enquiry.

Was talking about their on field play.
Brisbane were the same when they won their 3-peat.
Had a lot of hard nuts in the side.

I'm pretty sure the post saying "straight to the Tribunal” was before it was actually sent to the tribunal.
I think that was the issue.

Losing? Reckon we’d be considered irrelevant since supposedly whinging about the hubs in 2020
Maybe to outsiders but I figured we were due our time at the bottom and with all the seniors in the hospital bed it was going to take some time to rebuild. I was willing to see out the process, however I didn't anticipate us being so soft and passive about it.

Its just my opinion but it comes accross like we are always trying to be the good guys and please everyone. There is no accountability or consequence for poor performance and we just want to go along the path of least resistance, assuming it'l turn around by itself.
We are a proud club that doesn't normally tolerate being disrespected and being percieved as weak. I'm still waiting (hoping) for that line in the sand moment where we say enough is enough. We need to do whatever it takes to start getting better no matter whose feelings we hurt.

Also our 1992/1994 side weren’t pushovers either but of late the Club seems to have gone all soft but then that’s modern society at the moment with all this “woke” nonsense!

What do you mean "woke"? Explain what you mean and why, if it exists, is an issue.

Sent from my KB2005 using Tapatalk

Open systemic raciest abuse of players as admitted by Bretton, the chief and other counts as on field
You think culture doesn’t cross fences

Hutchison nails it

"Symbolic of the football club, too comfortable"

Pretty much. I had this discussion with my old man over the last couple years. As long as the club turns a profit at the end of the year they really couldn't give a rats ass if they win 15 games or two games. The wheels keep on spinning.

Open systemic raciest abuse of players as admitted by Bretton, the chief and other counts as on field
You think culture doesn’t cross fences

And of course none of our blokes during that time were racist at all to anyone were they?

It would be great to chat to an opposition player or coach to see actually how this club is perceived at the moment by other clubs because I’m sure it wouldn’t be very pretty.

The issue started when we had Family, Friends, Flags on the board instead of Flags, Family, Friends.

Club is rotting from the inside out. Too busy trying to be good guys instead of good footballers.
We’ve got CEOs that have been there too long and players who should have retired last year coz their bodies can’t handle the pace of the modern game (Shuey, Nic, Hurn) but they get to stay coz we are too soft to make a business decision.

We need to get back to being a good football club first. That doesn’t mean you can’t be good people, but you gotta get your priorities right and our business is meant to be winning games and flags.

The issue started when we had Family, Friends, Flags on the board instead of Flags, Family, Friends.
Yeah worked out poorly for us that year. Definitely not the kind of thing you could imagine a top team like Collingwood and Craig McRae using.

How’s it gone since mate? We’ve been the biggest bunch of sooks in the league, especially during the hub etc.
We looked like we didn’t give a **** for years after we won that GF and imo we were lucky Collingwood choked so hard on the day after being in a dominant position.
We turn up when we want to and coast when we don’t, because our focus isn’t on footy first as far as I’m concerned.

How’s it gone since mate? We’ve been the biggest bunch of sooks in the league, especially during the hub etc.
We looked like we didn’t give a * for years after we won that GF and imo we were lucky Collingwood choked so hard on the day after being in a dominant position.
We turn up when we want to and coast when we don’t, because our focus isn’t on footy first as far as I’m concerned.
Apart from winning the flag, what has this thing we did the year we won the flag got us?

Nothing says what a bunch of sooks like a group of guys that came from 5 goals down, away, to win a GF despite having the scars of 2015.

Past 24 months have been abysmal but let's not pretend that it invalidates everything in the 3+ years before it.

It's funny, I keep hearing the same things I did during our last rebuild in 2008-2010:
-club is too soft and prioritises off field over winning
-we are stuffed, rebuild will take 5 more years
-Sack the coach and trade all the players

My take is that all clubs are forced to rebuild due to the AFL system. Some prolong it for longer than others through good management, which hasn't worked for us due to some bad management (mainly injuries and holding onto vets) and bad luck (forced retirements of Venables and Shep, Yeo falling off a cliff).

Once you're at the bottom the media come for you and you look incompetent by default. I suspect internal pressure also starts affecting off field performance. Yes, the club could desperately use a change in CEO and a broom through the medical department. However, the sky isn't falling in.

For onfield, if we get another bunch of young guns in and can keep our players fit, we should start moving up the ladder from next year could easily be back in finals by 2026.

And of course none of our blokes during that time were racist at all to anyone were they?

It would be great to chat to an opposition player or coach to see actually how this club is perceived at the moment by other clubs because I’m sure it wouldn’t be very pretty.
may well have but as a team we didnt discuss in match meetings how we would target indiginous players - we had a few and still do