News Media Thread, 2023: Insightful, Inciteful and Incomptent

may well have but as a team we didnt discuss in match meetings how we would target indiginous players - we had a few and still do
More generally my sense of it is that WA footy has for as long as I can remember had a few indiginous players at all levels while it was rare in Melbourne. This may well have influenced behaviour.

may well have but as a team we didnt discuss in match meetings how we would target indiginous players - we had a few and still do

And how do you know that?

Suggest you go and dig up chris lewis’s chat with mike sheehan to see how racist some of our players were

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com

Apart from winning the flag, what has this thing we did the year we won the flag got us?

Nothing says what a bunch of sooks like a group of guys that came from 5 goals down, away, to win a GF despite having the scars of 2015.

Past 24 months have been abysmal but let's not pretend that it invalidates everything in the 3+ years before it.

What have the Romans ever done for us?

Knew it was woke's fault.

I mean, I don't know how, but I knew it.

Apparently Simmo has asked every player to put their preferred pronouns on their locker instead of skills training this week.

Yeah I didn’t see the original post, but based on that description it comes across like salty BF main board behaviour

I suspect Stocks has absolutely no idea how to handle what’s happening at the club at the moment. Not sure if he was in the same role in the mid 2000s, but regardless it’s a very different environment nowadays. Fine if we are dominating, but with the club in disarray on and off the field, i reckon he’s pretty out of his depth. Not social media, but just the whole PR and comms situation.

There's just no strategy, no coherence. It feels like we've got multiple people that just spout off when they feel it.

Every time a corp says something material there should be the relevant c-suite exec, the comms exec and the GC in the same room, they talk and then speak with one voice.

Like we can all think The West is trash, but it's ridiculous that we're 'at war' with the only major local news org.

Surely we can pinch a killer from one of the million dodgy af resources we have in WA.

There's just no strategy, no coherence. It feels like we've got multiple people that just spout off when they feel it.

Every time a corp says something material there should be the relevant c-suite exec, the comms exec and the GC in the same room, they talk and then speak with one voice.

Like we can all think The West is trash, but it's ridiculous that we're 'at war' with the only major local news org.

Surely we can pinch a killer from one of the million dodgy af resources we have in WA.
One of the board members is an expert in PR and communications. You'd think she could advise us how to get the team together.

Mmm, I was looking at the list the other day and had the exact same thought.

Would love to know what any of the non-exec directors actually do besides act as window dressing for the big Niz.

This reminds me of an employer that has had drastic reductions to expenditure that has resulted in good people leaving, and a drop in morale because all the good shit we could afford has now gone out the window.

And now the people who are left are totally ballsing up the place because they have No ****en Idea on how to run a company with such constraints.

Not to mention, synergy. Club needs a good folding!

Dom goes as She/ed
No Way Reaction GIF by Originals

Will Schofield expanding on his twitter comment after the match.

I like that he also mentions an incident with Noah Long that was highlighted on the TV coverage. I don't know how many of you at the game saw it but at one point Long was wrestling with 3 Collingwood players. I didn't see any other Eagle offer support.

West Coast Eagles’ meek response to Jordan De Goey’s felling of Elijah Hewett the ‘most disappointing act in two years’​

Moments like Jordan De Goey’s hit on Elijah Hewett are fleeting, writes WILL SCHOFIELD, but they mean more than you think.

The Jordan De Goey hit on Elijah Hewett has been the news of the week. Straight to the tribunal and a three-week suspension was about right for a football action gone wrong. It wasn’t malicious, just mistimed, and he has subsequently paid the price.
I was at the game. When I saw the bump, it wasn’t the contact made to Hewett that concerned me, but rather the lack of response by his teammates.

Not a finger was laid on De Goey by West Coast players as he stood by the fallen Eagles youngster.

Quarter time came and went, which would have included coach Adam Simpson questioning the group on how they would respond. Greg Clark and Jake Waterman were seemingly the only two listening, with brief remonstrations out of the break.

The rest of the midfield stood by and watched.

Similar scenes followed after the next two breaks.

De Goey continued to go about his business throughout the game. I saw no big tackles, no bumps, no jumper pulls, no lingering physicality.

Nothing.

I saw Noah Long in the goalsquare wrestling the Collingwood captain Darcy Moore and another Magpie defender. A third Collingwood player joined the scuffle before the umpire broke it up without another Eagle in sight.

Long was playing in his eighth game of AFL.

The reaction of this Eagles playing group to the felling of a young teammate was the most disappointing thing I have seen in the last two years on the field. That’s saying something, considering they have won just three games of footy over that period.

There would be players disappointed with the way they reacted in the moment and the lack of response throughout the game. Most of them would be embarrassed they didn’t stand up for their teammate.

I think if it happened again this weekend we’d see a completely different reaction from the group. But you don’t get these opportunities twice. Moments like those I witnessed on the weekend are fleeting and they mean more than you may think.

They represent culture, connectivity and care as a team.

It's a moment in time that you will never get back; a moment in which you get to show your teammate that they mean more to you than winning or losing. It’s an opportunity to show that player – and, in this instance, a young one – that no matter what happens on the field you’ve got their back.

I played for 14 years in the AFL and I love reminiscing over memories with former teammates. We don’t talk about the wins and losses. We talk about the moments. Those little things that only players know if they were out on the field. Certainly, in my case, a lot of those memories revolve around those moments when you had someone else’s back.

Defensive actions, sacrificial acts, holding down opposition so others can mark, big spoils, big chase downs, elite verbal harassment of opposition, sticking up for your mates, scuffles and wrestles.

The team moments.

That’s what matters when it’s all said and done.

Not winning. Not losing.

Not even the premierships.

It’s the moments.

And this West Coast side just missed a big one.

I think back to a moment on the MCG, West Coast versus Collingwood, a regular season game with nothing more than four points on the line. A young Luke Shuey ran past my opponent Chris Dawes and I in the backline. Dawes threw an arm out to stop Shuey’s run and clipped him high. Nothing major, happens all the time, but it got Boots pretty good.

He went down and Dawes stood over him. I wasn’t happy.

I came from 10 metres away – yes, I had been playing him a little too loosely – and gave him a tomahawk elbow to his spine as hard as I possibly could while screaming, “Hey! You don’t get to touch my teammate.”

I followed him around with verbals and elbows for the rest of the night.

I don’t recall who won that game, nor how I played.

But I speak about that moment to this day with Luke Shuey.

I also think about the moment Tom Jonas knocked out Andrew Gaff at the Adelaide Oval. Again, that incident was a football action gone wrong: Jonas miscued his spoil and absolutely shitmixed Gaffy.

I was in the other goalsquare when it happened.

I hit my top speed on the GPS that day as I sprinted towards the incident from the backline. I was late getting there, but managed to fight my way through a crowd to strangle Jonas for a little while.

I’m laughing as I write this as it sounds ridiculous. What did I think that was going to achieve? But in the moment, all I wanted to do was stick up for my mate first, thinking about the consequences later.

In my second game of AFL in 2007, I stood in the goalsquare as a forward. Daniel Pratt from North Melbourne was manning me and used his physicality against a young and skinny athlete. He was bashing up a young player off the ball. I’ve done the same thing many times throughout my career.

There was another pairing of players with us in the goalsquare; another North Melbourne backman who I can’t recall and my captain Chris Judd. As Pratt hit me in the back for the 20th time, I felt him get thrown to the floor behind me.

Judd was standing over the top of him.

I’ll never forget what Judd said that night, it stuck with me through my whole career.

“If you touch my teammate again, I will kill you.”

Of course, Judd was never going to kill Pratt, but the look in his eyes and the way he said it made me think it was at least a possibility. It made me grow stronger and I think Pratt might have believed it too. He didn’t touch me for the rest of the game.

In a cruel twist of fate – for Daniel – Pratt would become my premiership backline coach in 2018.

I never let him forget the day Chris Judd had my back.

You can only move forwards in football. You can’t take anything back. This West Coast side is young, inexperienced and has been really poor over a sustained period. But moments like the De Goey hit on the weekend will be the ones to define them, not their win-loss record.

They’ll start to win again.

They’ll get their senior players back.

But not standing up for a teammate on the field is about as bad as it gets in my book. If this West Coast side can’t show that their teammates matter more than their own individual performance, they won’t have many memories to laugh about with their mates at the end of it all.