Coach Men's Senior Coach: Brad Scott

I don’t think he’s capable of selling anything to anyone but it’s a blessing the season is almost done, because I don’t see how you sell the plan to the group after that.

That is probably our most comprehensive front half game for 2 years and there’s no result.

I don’t think he’s capable of selling anything to anyone but it’s a blessing the season is almost done, because I don’t see how you sell the plan to the group after that.

That is probably our most comprehensive front half game for 2 years and there’s no result.
front half game with that fwd 6?

no wonder the wider competition is almost starting to pity us

front half game with that fwd 6?

no wonder the wider competition is almost starting to pity us

Think the first 15 minutes of the last quarter was 88-12 time in forward half. Very unlike us.

Exactly how you would want it to look and expect it to look against the Suns in Melbourne, and we lose.

How do you sell that? ‘Method was a ****load better than normal and I loved your endeavour, but because I picked the wrong side and we lacked a bit of polish we lost’

How do you sell that in revie

Think the first 15 minutes of the last quarter was 88-12 time in forward half. Very unlike us.

Exactly how you would want it to look and expect it to look against the Suns in Melbourne, and we lose.

How do you sell that? ‘Method was a ****load better than normal and I loved your endeavour, but because I picked the wrong side and we lacked a bit of polish we lost’

if you're wanting to sell stocks when they are high, don't come Monday if you want to sell when they are low

I'm not sure, as a general point, that I agree with this. I don't think the Club thinks it sucks. I think the Club thinks it can't suck. And if we do suck, well we can just sack some people, preferably 'outsiders', and move on. I'm inclined to think the stuff that John Worsfold has talked about continues to age pretty well. (links at the bottom)

Now I know that we, more or less, suck albeit with green sprouts here and there that make me hopeful from time to time. But I think the Club always thinks next season is the season we become a serious team, because of all the wise and wonderful decisions we've made which means the dues have been paid and we will win stuff now -Next season will surely be it! The new coach has had one season, now it's time to win! And when that doesn't happen, we sack the coach. Obviously Scott has been very upfront in trying to fight that with the talk of a years long plan/version....and it won't help him when we sack him.

I think what you’re saying is true of the board, who want to be admired when they walk into important rooms around the city. So yes they arrogantly believe that we are forever a grand club.

But my point is I don’t think the players believe in themselves. They aren’t losing because they think they’re too good. They are losing because they have no muscle memory of success, no experience of being a consistently good team for any period.

And also probably because as a collective they aren’t very good

He was miffed in the presser and was biting his tongue.

I think he realises after two seasons he needs to bring in some winners, put some vets out to pasture and trade away some players who aren't willing to do the hard work and are soft and find some young talent who can ******* KICK AND TACKLE.

Winners teach you how to win
Get Joel Selwood involved in some capacity. Hodgey. Choco Williams for the young kids. Brett Kirk. WINNERS

Williams will never come back. We burnt him the last time he applied for the coaching spot.

He was miffed in the presser and was biting his tongue.

I think he realises after two seasons he needs to bring in some winners, put some vets out to pasture and trade away some players who aren't willing to do the hard work and are soft and find some young talent who can ******* KICK AND TACKLE.
He better do something, time's ticking.

Say if you’d kicked straight you win by 40

He can clearly piss off in to whatever his next leech of the industry is.

And he is, without the slightest shadow of a doubt, the least of the concerns that poxy, bloated sack of shit club has.

"While Scott said his players were shattered, he believed going through such traumatic footy experiences would only hold them in good stead in the long run.

“As hard as it is now, you can draw on that in the future because you’ve been there, you’ve experienced it.

“You need to stress yourself and then you get a response from it and we’ve certainly stressed ourselves and stressed our supporters and now it’s how we get the response.”

I'm sorry but this is horse shit and useless spin. Trauma is not good and never has been.

You only have to look at all the ****ed up people in the world who have childhood trauma as their root cause...they even reckon trauma influences our stress response system and is probably associated with compromised immunity and poor cardiovascular health.

Taking it back through a footy lens, the trauma just manifests itself into learned responses and coping mechanisms ie. Same old Essendon DNA shitting the bed anytime it gets hard, oh shit it's close, it's happening again..looking for excuses and short cutting, aided and enabled by a club who constantly gaslights you by refusing to bottom out and keeps telling you it's all ok , youre ok, we are in the right path...here have another 5 year deal.

"While Scott said his players were shattered, he believed going through such traumatic footy experiences would only hold them in good stead in the long run.

“As hard as it is now, you can draw on that in the future because you’ve been there, you’ve experienced it.

“You need to stress yourself and then you get a response from it and we’ve certainly stressed ourselves and stressed our supporters and now it’s how we get the response.”

I'm sorry but this is horse shit and useless spin. Trauma is not good and never has been.

You only have to look at all the ****ed up people in the world who have childhood trauma as their root cause...they even reckon trauma influences our stress response system and is probably associated with compromised immunity and poor cardiovascular health.

Taking it back through a footy lens, the trauma just manifests itself into learned responses and coping mechanisms ie. Same old Essendon DNA shitting the bed anytime it gets hard, looking for excuses and short cutting, aided and enabled by a club who constantly gaslights you by refusing to bottom out and keeps telling you it's all ok , youre ok, we are in the right path...here have another 5 year deal.
Fantastic post

This is exactly right. It would have been more accurate to say:

“This happened tonight because it’s happened so many times in the past. Any other club would have taken those chances but we have become conditioned to believe we are mediocre and really don’t deserve to win. We need psychological help.”

Literally every good team has 5 talls.

Jones being a decent winger as an oversized medium is just a bonus.

Tonight it was
FF Draper
CHF Caddy
Ruck Bryan
CHB Cox
FB McKay

Collingwood won the flag with 6

3 tall defenders
(Moore, Howe, Murphy)

3 front half talls (Cameron, Cox and McStay/Frampton)

So I’m not sure how this is relevant….
Different is they then play Langford and stringer in the front half deep, both slow are pseudo talls who add no pressure

Taking it back through a footy lens, the trauma just manifests itself into learned responses and coping mechanisms ie. Same old Essendon DNA shitting the bed anytime it gets hard, looking for excuses and short cutting, aided and enabled by a club who constantly gaslights you by refusing to bottom out and keeps telling you it's all ok , youre ok, we are in the right path...here have another 5 year deal.
Was this quotes from last night or every other traumatic loss we’ve had in the past 2 years under Scott.

Agree, trauma does not help and that’s just absolute spin. They’ve lost after the siren 3 times in 2 and half years 😂 did the trauma of the past 2 occasion help them in the final minutes las night nope. Had max Andrew getting a free run and jump with zero body on him, had Draper pathetically losing a crucial 1 on 1 on the wing

Mate we could have all the winners surrounding the group we wanted. At the end of the day this group has far too many average footballers who just don’t care enough, and aren’t smart enough to consistently execute on game day. Yet instead of turning over the list and building with youth, we continue to hang on to the mediocre leaders and offer them long term deals. Guys like redman, McGrath, parish, heppell, shiel, Draper is why this club is in quicksand

Fantastic post

This is exactly right. It would have been more accurate to say:

“This happened tonight because it’s happened so many times in the past. Any other club would have taken those chances but we have become conditioned to believe we are mediocre and really don’t deserve to win. We need psychological help.”
There is definitely mental demons with this group.

I can't stand the this crap of, it will take 8 years, we are not ready, etc. etc. No 5 year plan ever works. Players become negative and give up if the rhetoric is we will be good when YOUR career is over!

Look at Hawks, just take the game on and see where it takes you. Look how Massimo is starring but we could not see it.

Footy is here and now. With Tassie coming in the 8 year plan is bound to fail.

Different is they then play Langford and stringer in the front half deep, both slow are pseudo talls who add no pressure

Sure but that’s no reason to put down the talls, or their selection.

We’ve fluctuated between undersized and oversized all season. Stringer and Langford have proven that they can’t play as Talls. So they are being trialled as pressure players/mediums/smalls because of our lack of depth in the spot. (And big reputations)

For the future that has to change and one of stringer or Langford likely needs to be dropped, but the big issue tonight was missing shots at goal they should have made

Literally every good team has 5 talls.

Jones being a decent winger as an oversized medium is just a bonus.

Tonight it was
FF Draper
CHF Caddy
Ruck Bryan
CHB Cox
FB McKay

Collingwood won the flag with 6

3 tall defenders
(Moore, Howe, Murphy)

3 front half talls (Cameron, Cox and McStay/Frampton)

So I’m not sure how this is relevant….
No worries, we played 7 talls. (Laverde offers nothing at ground level and is taller than Howe).

Which is fine if you have the smalls buzzing around the ground applying pressure which is what the modern game clearly requires… we don’t have that. It’s a glaring issue.

The time in front half stat for the last quarter shows the method is right. The issue was execution. I reckon they all know that. We're still working on that front half game but we still don't have players with the competitive edge to carry it. It will take more time to refine both execution of game style/plan and list.

If Rosa et.al. do their jobs, he won't have to sell the plan to that group going forward. The list has to evolve away from passengers and poor footballers. Swap out Menzie for Kako etc.

so if we sack Scott, clean out the veterans without a plethora of draft picks, where does that leave us?

This forum cracks me up. Calling for his head after only a few years in the job.

He has inherited an average list with a poor culture, and a back room that has just reshuffled. No one could turn that around quickly. Also, the coach isn’t the only piece of the puzzle.

One last thing. If we had won by 5 points last night would the rhetoric be the same?

It’s not the coach or the system it’s the players not executing. We had a million opps that last quarter and we kept missing. Many other games ..Crows, Dees, Blues, Suns in QLD ..just poor execution going forward.

We don’t have any decent small forwards. We’re clearly a tall or two short down back. We have the right coach. If we sack him and start all over again we’re completely f*****

No worries, we played 7 talls. (Laverde offers nothing at ground level and is taller than Howe).

Which is fine if you have the smalls buzzing around the ground applying pressure which is what the modern game clearly requires… we don’t have that. It’s a glaring issue.

Personally I think of players in that 186-194 range as mediums.

Actually thought those Collingwood players were taller. Anyway agree with you that we lack pressure/speed.

Think the “tweener” mediums (basketball term for players who should be able to play 2 positions but really play neither) are the real issue

so if we sack Scott, clean out the veterans without a plethora of draft picks, where does that leave us?

This forum cracks me up. Calling for his head after only a few years in the job.

He has inherited an average list with a poor culture, and a back room that has just reshuffled. No one could turn that around quickly. Also, the coach isn’t the only piece of the puzzle.

One last thing. If we had won by 5 points last night would the rhetoric be the same?
100% absolutely f****** spot on.

A five point win last night silences the critics but papers over the cracks. We need to lose to expose the passengers and give the list management team something to think about. Hopefully Brad meets with them soon and shows the evidence.

I'm interested to know if he is consulted during discussion about lengths of contracts.

Coach Men's Senior Coach: Brad Scott