Coach Men's Senior Coach: Brad Scott

I’ve heard Lloydy say he speaks to some of the current players. How close he is with some of them? I have no idea.

Probably within hearing distance.
He was talking about Brad on footy classified about talking to one of the players. The player said to him that he doesn’t act like your mate (Brad) but he expects you to do a job.

Maybe I’m reading too much into it but it seemed a bit deeper than a surface level response that a player would say.

I didn't get the vibe from his media posturing that he was siding with Little or Sheedy/Hird.
Obviously I'm not in the know, but on face value he backed an external review and a proper process for appointing a coach.
He is probably worse as he has the coterie connections .

I think Lloyd's problem is that he is generally pretty rational when it comes to other clubs, so it sort of hoodwinks you into thinking he will be that about us - but you can absolutely tell he shifts into a different mode when it comes to us.

I laughed at Lloyd saying the other day in reference to The EFC....” I don’t say we or us”.....fair enough, just found it amusing. He is slowly hopping back on board, from distancing himself, again fair enough, to slowly acknowledging the joint is getting its shit together, he’ll start claiming us shortly.

He was talking about Brad on footy classified about talking to one of the players. The player said to him that he doesn’t act like your mate (Brad) but he expects you to do a job.

Maybe I’m reading too much into it but it seemed a bit deeper than a surface level response that a player would say.
I mean he could've got that from listening to any of the interviews the players have done recently, or from standing in the rooms after the game (without actually being friends with any of them).

Lloyd has been pretty critical of Essendon over our poor years and I think it has been warranted and generally accurate. Yes he doesn’t always have solutions but that doesn’t make the criticisms invalid. In fact a lot of the things he’s said in the past couple of years have echoed sentiment posted on this board, such as getting rid of the CEO and overhauling the footy department - nothing genius but pretty right.

Yes but you do not need to be a guru to work that out. I would have more respect if he produced a few actual solutions rather than just running with the herd. We all could put our finger on the issues.

I think they're worth listening to if only to figure out what the feeling is at board level and among the past players/coterie types. Sort of a canary in the coal mine situation.

If Lloyd and Robbo are shouting about top 4 then probably that's what half the board/coteries want and think will happen.

If they suddenly stop saying it, you know that someone they respect has had words with them to cool their jets.

And if they keep saying it and then we crash and burn next year, the knives will be out.
I can't stand those f******. 🤬

The victory lap is really that now matter how insane Barham seemed at the time, he was following the old John Kennedy maxim… don’t think… DO!!!

I was a massive critic at the time but a good outcome has been made possible by the willingness to shake the tree.

Plenty of sliding doors factors. Clarkson without racism might have worked well. (Though I would still hate Clarkson). Thorburn without dramatic over-reaction to his rabid church mates might have worked well.

All that fell over but the drive to move forward has created a freshness where it was needed.
Funny, it was John F Kennedy who is lauded as solving the Cuban Missile Crisis, but the same people who celebrate that also casually overlook the fact that he precipitated the crisis by allowing the Bay of Pigs invasion.
JFK is to Barham. Hopefully he doesn't get knocked off.

Robbo seems close with Sheedy and talks to Dodoro. Basically just a mouthpiece having a conniption on live television.

Lloyd seems to have some other connection to the club. Seems to get his news from past players and his weather from Sheedy. His alignment with their groupthink seems split, depending on who he spoke to most recently. Like he was more a fan of Scott and less of Hird than Sheedy seemed to be last September.
It would be Harvs, wouldn't it?

Lloyd rational. Yeah nah . Lloyd is big on yelling about the problem but has limited ideas about fixing the problem.

I’ve heard this take before and frankly don’t understand it at all. Lloyd is a media personality and pundit. It makes total sense for him in his position to be pointing out the myriad of issues that have been going on at Essendon since he left the club. Why on earth should he be responsible for telling the club how to fix them?

Bombers supporters love to pot Lloydy for criticising the club, but these are the same supporters that have (rightly) been criticising the club for the past decade. I for one am happy that there’s someone in the media who cares for the club and is happy to call out the clubs issues publicly.

Yes but you do not need to be a guru to work that out. I would have more respect if he produced a few actual solutions rather than just running with the herd. We all could put our finger on the issues.

I just think he gets a bit of unwarranted negative sentiment on here at times. Nothing he says is destructive and he wants the best for the club like the rest of us.

I know you don’t hold a lot of love for him due to his attitude towards younger players during his senior playing days and probably other stuff, and that’s fair enough.

I remember him in a positive light and I’m also happy he is considered in his opinions and that he’s a public voice for what is generally reflective of Essendon supporter feelings.

It would be Harvs, wouldn't it?
I don't know who he is friends with, but if you look at a list of players he played with through his career there are plenty of names that are either at the club or in the system somewhere.

Longy, Fletch, Harvey, Bolton, Hurley, Rioli, Wellman, Caracella all work for or with the club (or did so until very recently).

Davey and Wanganeen have kids at the club now.

Mark Bolton has now come back to the club as an executive, and Andy Welsh is on the board, both having had successful business careers (likely having got their start through coterie connections and probably becoming members of the coteries themselves).

As a media person he probably has an AFL media pass to attend any of the media functions and stuff that he wants to. Tim and Jobe Watson would be connected to all of that as well.

And then there's a bunch more that are working in the AFL or as player managers. Who knows how much involvement they have but Scotty Lucas and Adam Ramanauskas are both player managers and I am quite sure Lucas has a few of Essendon's current players on his roster.

And then from his time as a player and past player he would be attending functions and rubbing shoulders with current players, past players and board members that he didn't personally play alongside during his own career.

I mean it's a club, right. Everyone knows everyone to some degree, apart from us card-carrying plebs who have to sit in the rain to watch our team play. But the ones above listed and more that I don't know the names of would all have avenues to information and would potentially be talking to each other about what they know. It's probably a disparate group with smaller pockets that have more in common and know each other better.

I just think he gets a bit of unwarranted negative sentiment on here at times. Nothing he says is destructive and he wants the best for the club like the rest of us.

I know you don’t hold a lot of love for him due to his attitude towards younger players during his senior playing days and probably other stuff, and that’s fair enough.

I remember him in a positive light and I’m also happy he is considered in his opinions and that he’s a public voice for what is generally reflective of Essendon supporter feelings.
I think his opinions are a symptom of the political environment at the club, more than being directly destructive. Although he is part of the media pack that could potentially raise the pressure enough that clubs will capitulate and sack their coaches.

It would be a pretty hard environment for a coach (oh hey, coach thread!) to work in, particularly a young coach, when you have so many people in the media, in the coteries, and behind closed doors with a vested interest in how the club is doing and a willingness to not only call out problems but to point fingers (and potentially get people sacked) rather than giving them a chance to work through the issues.

I suspect that applies more to someone in Sheedy's position, who was allegedly brought in to mentor the incumbent's predecessor and ended up knifing him about 14 months later, than to Lloyd, but given his connections he has more influence at Essendon than his desk mates on Footy Classified.

I think Lloyd's problem is that he is generally pretty rational when it comes to other clubs, so it sort of hoodwinks you into thinking he will be that about us - but you can absolutely tell he shifts into a different mode when it comes to us.
Correct, he is dying to hop on board, you can see he’s slowly changing his narrative. Trying to be the professional by keeping us at arms length.

Funny, it was John F Kennedy who is lauded as solving the Cuban Missile Crisis, but the same people who celebrate that also casually overlook the fact that he precipitated the crisis by allowing the Bay of Pigs invasion.
JFK is to Barham. Hopefully he doesn't get knocked off.
Loose comparison!

As if Barham is hot enough

That is not the case at all. Yes there are some parts of his captaincy I have been critical off but the few times I have met him and spoken to him he has been fine. There was a few times I was rehabbing an injury at the WH fitness center when he was doing his goal kicking while I was walking laps and we had the odd conversation. It is not that I do not hold a lot of love for him. I just call it for what it was. The fact he was a champion of the club does not exclude him from being criticized, Loved him as a player. Was decent enough to have a chat when some others would not have but I have not agreed with everything he has done and says even though he does have the best interests of the club at heart. My view is he often goes after the low hanging fruit and has never really offered solutions. Some of his relationships with some coterie members have been less than helpful in regards to the stability of the club as well. Love his passion but being a champion of the club makes no difference to me as far as judging his opinions and actions. One thing he should do is stop feeding Korn snippets of info that are often not correct.

Coach Men's Senior Coach: Brad Scott