Merged DTM Mock Drafts

Re: Suprise Draft Pick Round 1 Verion 1.0

Ok I'll admit it. I am a draft nerd. And I do spend way too much time on this board.

I prey to god Collingwood don't **** it up. I think about it too much.

My mrs laughs at me that I take keen interest in the draft:D

But I don't care. haha

It seems like the 27th is an eternity away.
Wow, you must love Burgatron's Phantom then... personally I can't wait until the National Draft itself on the 29th! ;)

Who cares if he does them.. dont read them if you think its annoying.
I like to read all of these and see how peoples opinions change during a small amount of time.
Care factor 0.

It's people like you and DTM that get all they can from drafts on here rather than actually WATCHING games. With all due respect to Dave I love your work but opinions shouldn't be changed like that, every 2 or 3 days.

Looking forward with anticipation to DTM Alphabetical Order Draft merged with his Surprise Draft; in which the Saints pull a shock by selected Vickery with 13 when by rights he should've gone to the Dockers at pick 69. :thumbsu:

I could'nt do a phantom draft. I am too one-eyed towards the Saints. I would be manipulating every round so that the player I want ends up at the Saints. Now I know that none of the other posters do this.........

how about i give it a crack

1:Melbourne - Watts
2:West Coast - Rich
3:Fremantle - Hartlett
4:port Adelaide - Hurley
5:Essendon - Vickery
6:Carlton - Naitanui
7:Brisbane - Hill
8:Richmond - Trengrove
9:North - Yarran
10:Adelaide - Swift
11:Collingwood - Ziebell
12:Sydney - Johnstone
13:St Kilda - Blease
14:Bulldogs - Cordy
15:Geelong - McKernan
16:Hawthorn - Sidebottom

Reputations aside, I have tryed to pick best fit rather than best available... Cant see NickNat slidding to six nor can i see Ziebell slidding to 11... but this thred is surprise...

how about i give it a crack

2:West Coast - Rich
3:Fremantle - Hartlett
4:port Adelaide - Hurley
5:Essendon - Vickery
6:Carlton - Naitanui
7:Brisbane - Hill
8:Richmond - Trengrove
9:North - Yarran
10:Adelaide - Swift
11:Collingwood - Ziebell
12:Sydney - Johnstone
14:Bulldogs - Cordy
15:Geelong - McKernan
16:Hawthorn - Sidebottom

Reputations aside, I have tryed to pick best fit rather than best available... Cant see NickNat slidding to six nor can i see Ziebell slidding to 11... but this thred is surprise...

I doubt Tengrove will we dafted at 8.

Johnsone ate 12 looks about right though

I would dance... If Vickery is available I can't see us passing...

Ahead of a midfielder, no I wouldn't be dancing, we have enough ruckmen on our list

If you want a surprise draft, how about something like this:

1. Mitch Brown
2. Jason Johnson
3. Mitch Banner
4. Kevin Sheedy
5. Adam Gilchrist
6. Prince Charles
7. Christone Nixon
8. Jabba the Hutt
9. Kermit the Frog
10. Lucy Pevensey

etc......

Now THAT would be real surprise!

(I don't mean to sound like a smart...., just a joke!)

^ I'm assuming Leigh Brown is no.11???

Naturally. Courtenay Johns at 12.

Looking forward to seeing Gilly line up at full back.

Anyway, for the purposes of the thread:

1. Melbourne - Watts
2. West Coast - Naitanui
3. Fremantle - Hartlett
4. Port Adelaide - Ziebell
5. Essendon - Rich
6. Carlton - Yarran
7. Brisbane - Sidebottom
8. Richmond - Vickery
9. North Melbourne - McKernan
10. Adelaide - Hurley
11. Collingwood - Swift
12. Sydney - Johnston
13. St Kilda - Blease
14. Bulldogs - Cordy
15. Geelong - Hill
16. Hawthorn - Walters

Realistic (ish) while still surprising.

Naturally. Courtenay Johns at 12.

Looking forward to seeing Gilly line up at full back.

Anyway, for the purposes of the thread:

1. Melbourne - Watts
2. West Coast - Naitanui
3. Fremantle - Hartlett
4. Port Adelaide - Ziebell
5. Essendon - Rich
6. Carlton - Yarran
7. Brisbane - Sidebottom
8. Richmond - Vickery
9. North Melbourne - McKernan
10. Adelaide - Hurley
11. Collingwood - Swift
12. Sydney - Johnston
13. St Kilda - Blease
14. Bulldogs - Cordy
15. Geelong - Hill
16. Hawthorn - Walters

Realistic (ish) while still surprising.

yes, but I dont think Port would look past Rich and the same as Carlton and Hurley, but yes apart from that i would say terrific effort!

Ahh an Essendon supporter, maybe port could overlook Rich :rolleyes:

Fremantle will take him, but I was looking for something "surprising". Rich sliding to 5 is more surprising than Freo taking a bolter, then everyone dropping down one place.

Either way, it's irrelevant, because he won't be available at your pick, let alone ours.

DTM Final 3 Round Mock - With Explnations

DTM 3 Round Mock Draft

No Brainer here for the dees, The have lost Neitz so know accept for robbo they hav no Forward Line to speal of.
So with Watts being the Best-Avaliable and is a power forward in the Making and could become a AA Forward.

2:West Coast - Naitanui
No Brainer here, This 200cm Atheltic Freak could be the most excting player in the league and could revoluize
how the Ruck is played, Has massive leap to jump over other ruckman and get the ball to his teammates but can
run as fast as Midfielders, Bit raw but would have the best ruckman in the league in Cox teaching him the Ropes

3:Fremantle - Rich
Freo will be getting the most AFL ready player in the draft. Also helps that he is a local WA boy.
Has a elite kick on him espically with his left foot. Can hit a guy from 50+ meters away.
Go along with Ibboitson and Palmer that is a very good Midfield for the Future

4:port Adelaide - Vickery.
With them de-listing some of there Young Rucks so they will go with the Best ruckman at this pick
and that is Vickery and you would not be Dissapointed with him and not geting Naitanui. Vickery at the
moment is arguably the better player out of the 2. Big leap with good tap work. Also can go forward and
take contested marks and kick goals too

5:Essendon - Hartlett
Knights goes with Hartlett the Inside/Outside mid from SA. His best work is at the Clearances and have
that with his speed make a very good combanation can get the ball at the Clearnce and Take off and can
kick a goal from 50 meters out.

6:Carlton - Hurley
No Brainer here for Carlton to take the best Key Defender in the draft, Something they dearly lack is a good
young Key Back. Good Kick from Kick-In,good with his Body on Body. Super on One on Ones.

7: Brisbane - Ziebell
Just take the best player there and they will be very happy with Ziebell who could come in straight away
and play round 1 next season. Plays inside and can Play down back as well as a medium defender.

8:Richmond - Trengove
Tigers need a Tall and they get a Verstaile Tall in Trengove can play back or forward. Has a ton of
Upside, Has great speed,Fearless attack on the ball,Great work rate. Tigers will be very happy.

9:North Melbourne - Swift
Roos will take the risk on the Tall Midfielder. Has not played for 2 years but before that Dominated the
u-16 National Championships.Has good Speed, can play inside and outside and good overhead mark.
At 192cm means he has very good reach over smaller mids

10:Adelaide - Johnston
Crows need tall Forwards and they are very happy with Lewis being there. Very smart forward,
Good pace and Can kick with both feet.

11:Collingwood - Sidebottom
Feels a Need for the Pies and a Mid who can win his own ball and can use it very well.
Pies love big game players and with Steele's 10 goal in the TAC GF well that says it all.
Very good mark,Win Clearances. Pies will be very happy

12: Sydney - Shaun McKernan
Swans need young talls and They take a big lump of a kid in McKernan. Can play in the Ruck but
in the AFL he will be more of a KPP. Has massive leap, Takes a good mark, Kick is good.
Good get by the Swans

The Saints take the Little dynmaite in Blease. Has the Biggest upside in the whole draft but also
has alot to develeop and would need tim in the gym. Very damging with Disposal,Super Quick,
Great Tackler and Good overhead.
Steal here by the Saints

14:Western Bulldogs - Ayce Cordy - Father Son

15:Geelong - Stephan Hill
I think the cats will be all over him that he fell this far in the draft. Cats will love his Speed,
his long left foot kick and Showed he can be a Tagger

16:Hawthorn - Jordan Lisle
Quite simple by the Hawks just take the Best Tall Defender that they can get there hands on and
that is Lisle. Very good kid with good work ethic, Takes Strong Marks,Mobile,Good Pace,Good Foot
Skills and Can go forward if have to but doubt that with the Hawks.

17:Melbourne - Mitch Robinson
Dees take a Tall Midfielder from Tassie, Link player who can at times win his own ball,Good Skills,
Good Mark.

18:West Coast - Chirs Yarran
Steal here by the Eagles, Just about the most skilled player in the draft. People are saying he could
turn out like S Burgoyne but there is some knockers on Yarran saying he is Lazy and does not put in
100% and this will see him Drop.

19:Melbourne - Ryan Shoenmakers
Will complement Watts well where Ryan can lead up Further up the ground and Then can get the
ball back into the 50 and Watts

20:West Coast - Micheal Walters
A Local Boy here for the Eagles who need a small forward simmlar to Cyril this year and this is Walters
and Walter can also be developed into a Mid later on

21:Fremantle - Tom Lynch
Freo will take a Tall here to help with Tarrant and Pavlich up forward and Can also play as a Tall wingman

22 :port Adelaide - Phil Davis
Nice Smart Tall defender to go along with Carlise and Also can go Forward as well.

23:Essendon - Nick Suban
Bombers take a Inside Mid who is really good in Traffic. With a Pentrating Left Foot

24:Fremantle - James Strauss
A Small Defender who can break Lines and Win his own ball.

25: Brisbane - Dayne Beams
Just taking the best QLD Kid. Inside Midfielder with Courage.

26:Richmond - Luke Shuey
The Inside Mid who can Tackle and Win alot of Clearnces

27: North Melbourne - David Zaharakis
Good Midfield for the Roos. Very good kick into the Forward line.

28:Adelaide - Mitch Brown
Crows will love him to be more a Big Body Forward who can go along with Tippet. Great Finsh of the Season

29:Collingwood - Jayden Post
Pies need a Tall Defender with Waklin retering and Presti getting on, Post will be a very good
choice, Overage but had a Brilliant season winning the Best and Fairst for the Western Jets

30:Sydney - Neville Jetta
Swans don't have any small crumbing forwards and they get a Beauty here with Jetta

31:Western Bulldogs - Liam Jones
Simple dogs need tall and they will be very happy with this highly touted underage Tall.

32:Western Bulldogs - Aaron Cornelius
Another Impressive Tall Forward for the Doggies from Tassie. Good Set of Hands and
Can finsh very well

33:Geelong - Matthew Broadbent
Backman but can also play in the midfield. Runs Hard all day.

34:Hawthorn - Ashely Smith
Had an Impressive DC with his Speed, Hawks will love that run off Half-Back

35:Melbourne - Jordan Roughead
Dees need ruckman and Roughead will be a very good ruckman at pick 35

36:West Coast - Clancess Perace
Another from the home state of WA, Running Half Back who Demands the Ball.

37:Fremantle - Jarrad Redden
Freo need a Ruckman to replace Warnock and Redden is best Avaliable

38:port Adelaide - Hayden Ballaytane
Reckon Port will like him Kicked 75 goals in the WAFL Seniors

39:Geelong - Nathan O'Keefe
Good Young Forward option to go along with the other Youngster in Hawkins

40:Carlon - Rhys O'Keefe
Half-Back/Mid who plays a bit like a Poor Luke Hodge

41:Brisbane - Bart McCulloch
Only have 2 ruckman on there list so they Take the Tall mobile Ruckman from Tassie

42:port Adelaide - Dan Hanberry
Port will love his Silky Skills.

43: North Melbourne - Jake Walsh
A Powerfull Underage Tall who can take Stong Marks and will help with the Depatrure of Nathan Thompson

44:Adelaide - Paul Cahill
An Athletic Tall who can play just about most Postions but need work on his Kicking

45:Collingwood - Matthew DoBoer
Pies take this Clearnce Gun that they need with loss of Burns.

46:Collingwood -Brad Mangan
Utility Player who plays as a Medum Forward but hopes to turn into a Inside Mid.

47:St Kilda - Rhys Stanley
Big Tall Kid who can play Ruck and Forward who can take a Strong Mark

48:St Kilda - Kade Klemke
A Negating Midfielder who can shutdown players

49:Geelong - Charlie Sharples
Very Exciting Player who can play Forward or in the Midfield

50:Hawthorn - Sam Wright
Player who can give them X-Factor alongside Cyril

Re: DTM Final 3 Round Mock - With Explnations

Naita, yarran, walters and pearce, wow, that would be great, and if we got blight at 52, it would be damn near perfect.

Re: DTM Final 3 Round Mock - With Explnations

Certainly never easy to do ...however not to sure I would be a happy camper if we went -

Rich, Lynch, Stauss & Redden

A mid, tall forward, small defender and a ruck.

Rich obviously would be happy with, Lynch OK I understand the rationale here but not sure Lynch would be my number 1 choice here - if we are going after a KP or ruck ...I'd rather not chance a tallish utility (of which we have a few).

If the draft goes as you predict ....maybe Davis as he would appear more a natural KP defender or even Post (though may hope he dropped one more round). If we went the ruck model then even Roughead.

Personally if Robinson is gone ...I would rather we committ a 2nd rounder to a another mid in Shuey or Broadbent. Otherwise just grab Pearce here.

So rather than tall forward/small defender I would go mid/flanker and KP defender/ruck.

Finally if we took Roughie - I would target Hanneberry ...if we did not get a ruck in the 2nd round - I would be wrapped to get Redden.

Personally if it went the way you called it and I was in charge I would go -

Rich - class mid
Davis - we need to take at least 1 KPD
Pearce - probably not what we need but he is a very skillful player and may get into the midfield one day
Redden - simply need another one on the books and behind Sandi he will get the time he needs.

Good job mate :thumbsu:

Merged DTM Mock Drafts