Player Watch Mid-Season Pick #13 (2021) - Jed McEntee

No player, whether it’s McEntee, Duursma or someone else deserves to be judged on one error in a game. Not saying either of them are good players, but even the greats make mistakes.

Probably the worst mistake I’ve ever seen in a final was Peter Burgoyne playing on in the goal square in the 2002 QF. Horrible mistake in a very critical time of a close game.

OK. Yeah, they are pretty different in terms of acts and players overall.

I think you're on a witch's hunt on this one.

Witch hunt? You were the one that said that McEntee should’ve been delisted on the spot for a clanger. But when a comparable Clanger is brought up from a former golden boy of the squad you make excuses.

Both were shithouse mistakes, but they’re going to happen, particularly with younger players in big games.

Witch hunt? You were the one that said that McEntee should’ve been delisted on the spot for a clanger. But when a comparable Clanger is brought up from a former golden boy of the squad you make excuses.

Both were shithouse mistakes, but they’re going to happen, particularly with younger players in big games.

The best of Xavier Duursma is light years in front of the best of Jed McEntee. He is a limited player who has probably reached near the peak of his ability which is mediocre at best. If his ceiling was higher errors like that could be tolerated or overlooked but alas he will be another small we cling on to for far too long for some reason.

For me it’s either DBJ or mcentee or neither absolutely can’t be both together.

cant carry 2 blokes, 1/3 of your forward line not doing much.

our depth should mean we move away from these list clogging types.

Both have their strengths. DBJ as silly as it may sound just does the things you expect reliably well. He hits up short kicks inside 50 easily. Doesn't go for too much but also not capable of the miraculous goals small forwards are known for. Marks in space, head over the footy high frees and assists are his game.

McEntee on the other hand is pace and frenetic pressure on the ball user even when he can't lay a tackle. He's fast, runs hard all day and is an accurate set shot when given the chance.

Very different players in my mind even though both are 'small forwards'. Doesn't mean either are necessarily good enough at the role to be premiership players but I reckon most are too harsh when considering the other options available (or not available)

I consider them very different.

Duursma was an up and coming star who had showed huge potential on the wing. He was a part of the Big 3 that would change our trajectory of our team. He had played some very impressive games. He had the bow and arrow.

Yes, he dropped a mark he should've marked but had a pretty good game. He had 19 possies and a team high 5 marks and 9 inside 50s that game. He was also 2nd to Houston for metres gained. As stated, and IIRC, the dropped mark was in driving rain. I honestly can't recall when he dropped the mark but it wasn't in the dying seconds or anything IIRC.

McEntee has done very little since he's been in the team. He doesn't kick goals and he's a small forward. His defender can easily out mark him and run off him because he is a smaller guy. I don't see the elite defensive forward numbers. He's not overly quick. He doesn't have a great goal sense. He has decent skills but nothing to write home about. Average mark at best. A pretty good kick for goal from about 40 metres out. How is that going to stack up in Finals? Two games, one point.

So this is IIRC but I am sure another poster will have a better recollection than me. The blunder in question was when we were close to getting back in the game or to keep in touch. Jed is on the wing, half forward. He has a paddock. He has many options and they all should work. We might even have a free player. I seem to remember Finlayson leading and open. Jed has the ball and is like a deer in the headlights. He does an around the corner up and under kick and the player scrambles and the play is killed. He just looked overawed on the occasion and has never really done anything of any note. A passenger without a bus.

I am happy to praise Jed when he plays well.

I haven't seen it.

It is not shitting on someone when they are s**t. It is the truth.

Until he turns his form around and I hope he does, I will call it as I see it.

He was a big improver on his 2022 form and his first half of the season was decent.

Avg about a goal a game and always putting on good pressure. You could watch him live and he would not stop running after the ball carrier. It was good stuff

I even recall some news snippets about him.

Went to shit after he resigned, went into terrible form and should of been dropped.

He was a big improver on his 2022 form and his first half of the season was decent.

Avg about a goal a game and always putting on good pressure. You could watch him live and he would not stop running after the ball carrier. It was good stuff

I even recall some news snippets about him.

Went to s**t after he resigned, went into terrible form and should of been dropped.
Last year Jed averaged 0.64 goals a game.

In accordance with Footywire and their call on forwards, he's good for 145th overall.

To put that into perspective, Rozee and Horne-Francis had a better goal average from midfield.

Last year Jed averaged 0.64 goals a game.

In accordance with Footywire and their call on forwards, he's good for 145th overall.

To put that into perspective, Rozee and Horne-Francis had a better goal average from midfield.

I agree

but you only need to go look back in time on this thread to corroborate my opinions of Jed.

Go look around page 20 or so

Believe it or not, the denizens of this forum even took to calling themselves "Jed heads"

I agree

but you only need to go look back in time on this thread to corroborate my opinions of Jed.

Go look around page 20 or so

Believe it or not, the denizens of this forum even took to calling themselves "Jed heads"
No worries, Jack.

You are right. There are a lot of opinions flying around on this forum which make it quite combative but in general the posters are very good and quite funny and the Mods do a good job.

There are times when there is groupthink or where there is a heaping on the player. Jed is a bit of a punching bag but I think for good reason.

Anyway, I am a big fan of the potential of Josh Sinn but he has been maligned as he hasn't put it together yet with injuries and such. Add we burned a 2nd rounder to move two spots up to get him, add other players around that area of the draft in his year are playing well, add the actual 1st rounder for nada and it is open season. A bit harsh but footy is one of those games where the majority of fans want to see results. When they see it, then they get on board.

I thought the Jedheads was a positive comment made by one of the mods, FF or TK.

I wish Jed the best but I just don't see an avenue to what we need but I am very happy to be wrong if he turns into Charlie Cameron.

I will say I'm a big fan of Anastasopoulos so I am going to follow his career at the club and hope he gets his chance sooner rather than later.

The OTT hate towards Jed on BF is pretty pathetic, the lad tries his guts out and by no way is it his fault if he gets selected even if the BF think tanks objects to his place in the side.
Jed has his limitations but I will be certainly hoping that he can continue to improve and forge out a successful AFL career.

The OTT hate towards Jed on BF is pretty pathetic, the lad tries his guts out and by no way is it his fault if he gets selected even if the BF think tanks objects to his place in the side.
Jed has his limitations but I will be certainly hoping that he can continue to improve and forge out a successful AFL career.

Yeah it's mind boggling that people are highlighting the efforts of the 22nd player selected in that game playing one of the least significant positions on the ground when it was actually our current captain and vice captain who were at the coal face getting embarrassed by less talented GWS players who were harder, more committed and frankly just wanted it more than they did.

Don’t hate the bloke. I feel bad for him. Don’t doubt that he works hard.

I can still be highly critical of the coaches who continuously put him out there when he is clearly out of his depth.

The best of Xavier Duursma is light years in front of the best of Jed McEntee. He is a limited player who has probably reached near the peak of his ability which is mediocre at best. If his ceiling was higher errors like that could be tolerated or overlooked but alas he will be another small we cling on to for far too long for some reason.

Maybe he is, but I personally think duursma is overrated on this board because he was drafted with rozee and butters in the first round of 2018. The 2019-20 version was better too, and he has regressed since due to injuries and loss of confidence. Not sure he is light years ahead of McEntee, plus they play completely different roles and Duursma has a 3 year head start on his career too.

Nevertheless, the original debate wasn’t about who was the better player it was about comparing two single errors from each in a final.

Jed and that play is just another example of the overall poor quality of the coaching and the general malaise of the Kenny Average Football Club.

To play Jed who has very limited skills is just another long line of poor decisions that effects win efficiency.

While our young midfield of Rozee, Butters and Horne-Francis were not the best in their first final appearances together, they were the main reasons we got there in the first place. With the form of Jed, he is very expendable, especially to a coach who knows what they are doing. The young midfield should not be devoid of criticism but they are at the start of their finals journey. They still have time to right the ship. They aren't even in their prime and they have AA's.

In the end, I appreciate the folly but when it comes down to it, there has been a lot of posts, a lot of comments, a huge amount of diversion, comparisons, no highlights, etc but I haven't seen anyone actually say Jed is any good.

So lets cut the rug, I will ask all of the posters, put your money where you mouth is, do you think Jed is a good AFL player?

Jed and that play is just another example of the overall poor quality of the coaching and the general malaise of the Kenny Average Football Club.

To play Jed who has very limited skills is just another long line of poor decisions that effects win efficiency.

While our young midfield of Rozee, Butters and Horne-Francis were not the best in their first final appearances together, they were the main reasons we got there in the first place. With the form of Jed, he is very expendable, especially to a coach who knows what they are doing. The young midfield should not be devoid of criticism but they are at the start of their finals journey. They still have time to right the ship. They aren't even in their prime and they have AA's.

In the end, I appreciate the folly but when it comes down to it, there has been a lot of posts, a lot of comments, a huge amount of diversion, comparisons, no highlights, etc but I haven't seen anyone actually say Jed is any good.

So lets cut the rug, I will ask all of the posters, put your money where you mouth is, do you think Jed is a good AFL player?
41 posts now by yourself in this thread, I think we all get YOUR point - time to find a more worthy target please.

Player Watch Mid-Season Pick #13 (2021) - Jed McEntee