Certified Legendary Thread My Sharona! (COVID-19 Information & Discussion Here)

Official Government Information about COVID-19
Contact the National Coronavirus Information Hotline on 1800 020 080 for information about COVID-19.

Stay informed. Download the official government “Coronavirus Australia” app in the Apple App Store or Google Play,
or join our WhatsApp channel on iOS or Android.

If you live in the Adelaide metropolitan area and would like to get checked out, this is how get drive-thru testing at the Repat:

1584943828763.png

the Official Sources, Do You Have The Symptoms?, Tips and Statistics are below

Official Sources, Do you have Symptoms?, Tips, Statistics

Environmental Cleaning & Disinfection Principles
https://www.health.gov.au/sites/def...-and-disinfection-principles-for-covid-19.pdf

SA Health:

Australian Federal Govt:

World Health Organisation:

Smart Traveller: (thanks Mutineer )

Do you have the symptoms?
(thanks again to Mutineer )

1584505884236.png

Tips

Home Isolation Advice:

What to do if you’re feeling unwell

If you are severely unwell, such as having difficulty breathing, call 000 (Triple Zero).

If you have travelled anywhere overseas in the past 14 days and have COVID-19 symptoms, seek testing at a COVID-19 clinic or contact your GP (advise your GP of your travel history) and isolate yourself.

If you have NOT travelled overseas recently, but are feeling unwell, visit your usual health care provider. Avoid contact with others if you are unwell.

Mental health in the age of coronavirus

Woolworths to introduce a dedicated shopping hour for the elderly and people with disability.

Keeping Yourself And Your Things Germ Free

Cleaning Your Phone

Optus Mobile giving away data due to Covid-19

To play our part in supporting your access needs, we are giving all eligible mobile subscribers a one off 20GB of free extra data which can be activated within My Optus app anytime during the month of April and valid for 30 days from activation. For our eligible prepaid customers, we will also be offering 10GB of free extra data when you top up for more than $40 during the month of April.

We'll have more details about these extra data offers available soon at optus.com.au/COVID19-support.

Statistics

Coronavirus COVID-19 Global Cases by the Center for Systems Science and Engineering (CSSE) at Johns Hopkins University (JHU)

Stay safe and look after each other (from a safe distance)
Dear posters: unsubstantiated advice will be deleted. We understand you want to help, but #fakenews blah blah blah we're not allowing any disinformation. Got some great advice about washing your hands whilst dancing like David Byrne in Once In A Lifetime helps kill the virus? That's fantastic, provide a link to a reputable source.

I'm down to 7 rolls, I'd be happy for 5 more.
Decided to give Aldi at Box Hill South a go at 9.23am.
Same thing, at least 200 people waiting outside, I turned around and went back home. It's totally dumb.
Just put on the second to last on the holder, new puppy lept up and almost took off with it, slight panic for a second.

Can someone let Dopey know that the horse has already bolted.

Steven Marshall “We are following the example of nations that have done it – Singapore is identified as one of the best-practice examples as coping with coronavirus, they have all their students at school."

We now have nearly 6 times more active cases in Australia than Singapore do. For Steven Marshall to make that comment just makes him look foolish. It's not the schools being open as to why the their rate is lower, it's because Singapore went early and stopped people through airports etc and were enforcing temperature tests. Their schools are still open because they've lead the world in trying to keep it out of the country and they haven't reached the point yet where closing down schools is needed.

You compare that with us who have sat on their hands for too long too scared to make a move, if we had a grip on things and only had 100 cases we wouldn't be looking at a shut down either at the moment.

I honestly think we're hearding towards becoming the next Italy, I hope I'm wrong, but the numbers are quickly becoming a concern.

Does this mean that the mortality rate is lower than reported?

Really hard to know. Most think China and Iran have not reported the correct number of deaths also, by a lot.
Many have also died at home or just not diagnosed with it even though they've died in hospital.
Especially when they were/are flooded with patients and it is mayhem.

I guess the thing with our early stages situation is that the carnage comes in time, not at the start of it.
This is spreading quietly which is the problem and why other countries have said don't think it isn't there quietly doing it's thing.
It is the sly, nasty part of this virus.

Then boom, the exponential growth explodes on you as do all of the critical cases and deaths.
It's what has happened elsewhere and what a few other countries are about to experience very soon.
The tsunami that wasn't seen coming as many have described it.
It's why you're taking luck into your hands if you gamble on the fact you don't have a lot of spread of it in the community yet, as we are.

It's a compounding issue as it goes along when the cases start flooding in for health systems too.
The law of averages of the more you infect and rapidly, the more serious cases begin to be found.
Infect 10 or 300, you won't inflict a lot of damage. Infect 10,000, then 100,000, you find it.

Generally once most countries start to head into a couple of thousand cases (official figures, but they too have had the virus passing around quietly), the critical and deaths start accelerating quite a bit.

SARS was far more dangerous mortality rate wise but not as infectious as Covid-19 and the symptoms were severe and easy to identify. Easier to control and squash.

The Government at the moment are playing a game of trying to judge it, it's dangerous because you don't know exactly how well entrenched it is in the community (unlike a virus like SARS as it had stronger symptoms and struggled to spread as hard) - and it is what the World Health Organisation Executive Director and other countries warned against, because they did that.

The CMO is correct - to a point.

Shutting down for 2-4 weeks alone won't solve the problem. If we return to a normal way of living after that period, then the virus numbers will flare again as soon as the restrictions are lifted. The CMO is 100% correct in making that statement - it's just bleeding obvious.

Shutting down indefinitely - for 6 months or more - is also not sustainable. Slowmo is also correct in making this statement.

What a 2-4 week shutdown would achieve is to dramatically slow the progress of the virus, and allow health officials to identify and isolate as many casualties as possible. It would massively simplify the task of tracking down people who have come into contact with the infected casualties. It would prevent people from inadvertently spreading the disease, before they even become symptomatic. These factors would give the health officials a chance to reset and prepare themselves for whatever follows.

However, life should not be allowed to return to "normal" once the shutdown is lifted. We should still be subject to the restrictions which the Govt has announced today (and which should have announced to immediate effect last Friday). These restrictions, in combination with the shutdown, would go a long way towards taking us from the Italy trajectory to the Singapore trajectory.

Life will not & should not return to "normal" until a cure or vaccine becomes widely available. Even then, the new "normal" will not look anything like the old "normal", because (sadly) many people will have lost their lives, and many more will have lost their jobs and businesses.

Also...Just using Singapore as a benchmark and example in regards to not closing schools is not the best. As that's part of Morrison's statement.

I've been told Singapore's controls in general are much greater than Australia's.

Monitoring of citizens and use of body temperature checks are just a start. Not just at airports but throughout the city etc. Then if you have been told to isolate, you are monitored. They physically check your place of isolation and you are visited twice a day with your temperature taken each time and logged.

And they're citizens do follow true social distancing as much as practically possible, which they did immediately at the outbreak, unlike Australian's "she'll be right attitude".

Also the schools have those body temperature test. So all staff and students are tested daily. Far far different to what's happening in Australia.

All the above combined allows them to keep their schools opened etc. So unless we introduce all the other controls etc like Singapore, we're just kidding ourselves taken elements of their approach as saying "it worked for Singapore".

I'm sorry but this government and the CMO are idiots.

Also...Just using Singapore as a benchmark and example in regards to not closing schools is not the best. As that's part of Morrison's statement.

I've been told Singapore's controls in general are much greater than Australia's.

Monitoring of citizens and use of body temperature checks are just a start. Not just at airports but throughout the city etc. Then if you have been told to isolate, you are monitored. They physically check your place of isolation and you are visited twice a day with your temperature taken each time and logged.

And they're citizens do follow true social distancing as much as practically possible, which they did immediately at the outbreak, unlike Australian's "she'll be right attitude".

Also the schools have those body temperature test. So all staff and students are tested daily. Far far different to what's happening in Australia.

All the above combined allows them to keep their schools opened etc. So unless we introduce all the other controls etc like Singapore, we're just kidding ourselves taken elements of their approach as saying "it worked for Singapore".

Places carrying this out strongly also have an app that can monitor to make sure people are staying in quarantine. Wristbands also. The public also care and are taking it seriously. India are stamping peoples hands and it has a date your quarantine ends.

Same as Hong Kong. They got smashed by SARS. The second they heard a mysterious pneumonia was found in China, they were ready to go.
They are all wearing face masks which help a lot. Apparently they have basically eradicated the flu there due to everyone wearing face masks.

Or they Could have mention England, Wales, and Scotland, who are keeping the schools open except for temp closures for deep cleaning when required, Again its day to day just Like us, In truth, we don't have the full picture, and what effect closing schools have on essential services,
But the Government working party does have more information than we do, Sometimes you have to trust the poeple making all the decisions more so when they have a strong working group advising them,
And I would never use Italy as an example.

Or they Could have mention England, Wales, and Scotland, who are keeping the schools open except for temp closures for deep cleaning when required, Again its day to day just Like us, In truth, we don't have the full picture, and what effect closing schools have on essential services,
But the Government working party does have more information than we do, Sometimes you have to trust the poeple making all the decisions more so when they have a strong working group advising them,
And I would never use Italy as an example.

I wouldn't use Britain as an example. The "shit we've just did the numbers and herd immunity we thought we'd do will kill too many". They're a disaster waiting to happen as far as I'm concerned.... Another country too slow to act...

THIS

The whole Singapore argument is moronic.

The reality is Singpore have been able to hold COVID-19 at bay to some degree whereas Australia now has almost 6 times more active cases than Singapore does and our infection rates are growing exponentially each day.

The only reason that Singapore have avoided a shut down is because of the measures that they put in place right from the start with temperature testing and border controls while we just sat there on our hands.

Sadly the genie is already out of the bottle here and the virus is now invisibily spreading away in the background. I suspect that we're about a month away from crashing and burning Italy style.

To put it simply they're too scared to shut the country down and would rather tell people that they're looking out for them rather they're only doing a half arsed soft shutdown because they think it's going to be better for the economy. The whole Singapore thing seems to me to be a convenient excuse to justify their decision to "keep on, keeping on"

We'll have to see how well the economy goes when our health system more than likely becomes overloaded in a few weeks time.

Ultimately if we do become the next Italy then those in charge will have no one to blame but themselves.

Where do you get those face masks? I don't think they do anything but i want the faux security of wearing one.
Make your own with a cream cake.
1584507305000.jpeg

THIS

The whole Singapore argument is moronic.

The reality is Singpore have been able to hold COVID-19 at bay to some degree whereas Australia now has almost 6 times more active cases than Singapore does and our infection rates are growing exponentially each day. The only reason that Singapore have avoided a shut down is because of the measures that they put in place right from the start.

Sadly the genie is already out of the bottle here and it's continuing to spread away in the background. I suspect that we're about a month away from crashing and burning Italy style.

Ultimately if it do become the next Italy then those in charge will have no one to blame but themselves.

Singpore's schools are open because of the measures that they have put into place from the start which has kept COVID-19 at bay to some degree.
I wonder how our density will effect the growth rate though?
We have far less population over a far greater area than most countries.

Where do you get those face masks? I don't think they do anything but i want the faux security of wearing one.
I got a pair of P2 masks from Bunnings in Adelaide, when I was there for Christmas. The shops in Canberra were sold out at the time, because of the bushfire smoke. I am very, very, happy that I didn't throw them away when the smoke finally cleared.

They can work. Not 100% guaranteed like most things but usually that's only if you don't wear it properly or touch the front and spread goobies around.

You need the P2/N95 masks though.
They seal to your face properly, not like surgical masks.
And the material blocks finer particles.
Surgical masks are only helpful for the sick person to wear to reduce how much virus they put out there.

At the moment, they are probably in the same situation as they have been for a month or 2 now - sold out.

I wouldn't use Britain as an example. The "shit we've just did the numbers and herd immunity we thought we'd do will kill too many". They're a disaster waiting to happen as far as I'm concerned.... Another country too slow to act...
The reason I would not use Italy as an example is Math based, They have the Oldest population a lot of the population is over 60 and least amount of School-aged Children so their reasoning is different, and their conditions are different.
But in Australia, we struggle when our Essential workforce drops off, who going to keep the lights on if we force the workers to stay at home, Avo's and night shift already run on minimal crews due to the Day shift carrying ut the major functions,
Who is going to sell you you basic if a large portion of the supermarket lose staff? there will be a long line up indoors, at the 1 or 2 cash registers and fewer people stacking shelves,
Who going to operate those truck needed to supply the supermarkets, and who going to ensure our sewage system is maintained if they lose worker who stay at home to watch there kids, And then there the effect on an overwork sector the emergency workers,

This is bigger decision than just closing schools and protecting teachers and students, it has a domino effect and that what they are trying to slow down,

Shutting the schools down should be the last thing we do, and if Possible wait until easter break when most have plans in place to cover the closure,
To shut them down today mean they stay shut for a possible 8 weeks, that a long time for parents to stay at home and a long time for essential service to run understaffed,

And some of 160 odd countries who have shut down the schools are starting to report problems of this kind.

Again our schools are closing in a couple of weeks and most likely remain shut for 4-5 weeks we are better off prepare for that, let not make that 8 plus weeks of closure today and run our essential services to the ground,

They can work. Not 100% guaranteed like most things but usually that's only if you don't wear it properly or touch the front and spread goobies around.

You need the P2/N95 masks though.
They seal to your face properly, not like surgical masks.
And the material blocks finer particles.
Surgical masks are only helpful for the sick person to wear to reduce how much virus they put out there.

At the moment, they are probably in the same situation as they have been for a month or 2 now - sold out.
Just brought 3 of those newer wet skin type mask 3 online along with some reusable filters, still available, and they have arrived
PS did not get them for the Virus use them when my property gets sprayed and as a suggestion from a mate who used them during the fires,
this type, not me in the picture

1584508443114.png

I wonder how our density will effect the growth rate though?
We have far less population over a far greater area than most countries.
Not really. We're one of the most highly urbanized populations on earth.

Sure there's a lot of sparsely populated space where densities are very low, but that's not where 90% of the people live.