Review National Draft 2010 and look ahead to Rookie Draft

I reckon the best players to take off the rookie list are those not from the traditional path ways rather than rake over the under 18 left overs exposed to all through the championships and TAC Cup etc.

Thinking here of players like Cox, Sandlands, Mumford, Max Rooke, Podsiadly, Barlow

I'd take 4 of these types. And the ruckmen has to be over 205 cms and athletic.
Not interested in some unlucky kid who everyone thought would go higher in the draft.
We’ve done poorly with these type of picks in the past, I can only think of Byrnes who came immediately from a traditional under 18 pathway and made a good career at Geelong off the rookie.

Umm, Mumford maybe?

Unfortunately Josh Jenkins is shorter than the ruckman you're after or he'd probably be an ideal fit for what you're talking about.

Anyway, Walker and Chalwell please! Can I dream? :p
Mumford didn't come from the tradition under 18 pathway, quite the opposite.

Yeah that's what I thought, as soon as BP put up his post, I thought of Mumford and Max as good examples of the value of non traditional picks. I just didn't phrase my point properly.

So yeah, if Wells wants to get one of them, I'm all for it.

Any comments on the article about the three strays training with us at present time? Walker, some lightning quick Buddha lookalike, and a 3rd player. PO, have you seen these guys? Saints were intersted in Dalhaus???, but chose Gamble.

Seems plausible to select some local rookies IF THEY HAVE WHAT IT TAKES.

Sorry guys, have just reread page 11, where there were some comments on that story. I'm a bit behind.

Have been flat-out away from BF, so what is the up to date thinking on Adam Varcoe. I would be shat if we somehow don't select him for 2 reasons, both called Varcoe.

I've said this several times, but he didn't nominate, which is good because GWS would have taken him if he did.

We'll have the same problem next year too.

Footy never ends mate.

Pre season training, family days, and before you know it nab cup will be here :thumbsu:

As for the Ashes, the sooner North is dropped the better.

Oh I forgot, they'll replace him with some dud NSW player rather than DHUssey or White (and don't even start me on Hodge).

Would be happy with Usman Khawaja, he's young & in form.

All up we took an interesting combination of kids. Stocked up on the midfield with some 'sure things', grabbed a couple of long term smokies and rookied some KPP rather than doing another Simpson/Spencer double.

ooh cool a side tracked thread.

Ponting is the domino.
Until he leaves the team we can't rejig the whole thing.

At the moment I'd like Ponting, Kattich, Hussey all retired.
And Clarke dropped down to 5.

Yeah I know :rolleyes:

ooh cool a side tracked thread.

Ponting is the domino.
Until he leaves the team we can't rejig the whole thing.

At the moment I'd like Ponting, Kattich, Hussey all retired.
And Clarke dropped down to 5.

Yeah I know :rolleyes:

I largely agree.

The aussies are a bit like the cats in 2010 - the side is being chosen on reputation and past deeds, not current form.

It's time they recognised that some careers are over, and the sooner they start blooding some youngsters the better. They can't do any worse than what they are now, so what's to lose?

Footy? Oh, yeah. Umm, it seems we've done well with our drafting, although the selection of George Burbury seems to be a bit of a risky surprise. He's played so little footy, but he's obviously impressed the right people in a very short time.

And 69kg?? Damn, he'll need some heavy boots on a windy day.

I have a mate staying with me who is also a cricket tragic. Well I've lost some enthusiasm.

I said to him that all those guys needed to be retired.
And he looked at me like I was mad. Said he agreed they should retire but not all at once.

I said "nooo, we need a few kids coming through together"

Yes it's like the cats. Except we have more scope with 22 players per game.

I don't really have an issue with the batting line up right now.
But our fielding is complete shit. We look like pakistan.
We need youth.

You can't expect bowlers to be good fielders, so we have to replace batsman.

Lets get set up now for the ashes in 2013.

welcome josh walker

I reckon the drafting of Walker rounds out a pretty successful ND/rookie period for us. We look to have taken a nice range of players that will not only bring talent into the club but fill some gaps in the medium term.

Look to Wells taking some quality talls in the next couple of drafts though.

I have a mate staying with me who is also a cricket tragic. Well I've lost some enthusiasm.

I said to him that all those guys needed to be retired.
And he looked at me like I was mad. Said he agreed they should retire but not all at once.

I said "nooo, we need a few kids coming through together"

Yes it's like the cats. Except we have more scope with 22 players per game.

I don't really have an issue with the batting line up right now.
But our fielding is complete shit. We look like pakistan.
We need youth.

You can't expect bowlers to be good fielders, so we have to replace batsman.

Lets get set up now for the ashes in 2013.

I love my cricket, so much so I spent a few years embarrassing myself on the local field every saturday for a few years :eek: I too have lost enthusiasm and am aghast at how far the national team has dropped its standards.

The fielding especially is straight out embarrassing.

They can start blooding a new opener straight away, given Katich is gone for most of, if not all, the summer. I think North has to go too, and his spot should be given to Ferguson (I'm giving him seniority over Kwaja for now) in the next test.

Ponting is the tricky one - he's been a good captain, but his batting is steadily declining. As you say, he's the domino.

The bowling?? I dunno where to start there. All are good, honest toilers, but we no longer have a shock bowler, and we need one fast, excuse the pun.

I'd like to see Smith as our spinner - he has a lot to learn, but he can't do any worse than the others and he's a damn sight better with a bat in his hand.

It wouldn't hurt to start putting a few games into Paine either, so we have a ready replacement for Haddin.

Surely we can throw a bunch of dollars at Tate to play one more test series and scare the shit out of the poms. Starting with Perth :D

Not as bullish on the rookies as I was with the ND. I know a lot of people here are massive on Walker but he sounds suspiciously like Scott Simpson Mk 2 - and while I was a big Scotty fan for every strength in his game there was a big hole. I hope Walker's not the same. I also wonder how much they'll try and mould him given we (IMO) have a relative glut of young forwards and only one real KPD prospect. This Tasmanian kid is a total mystery and I'm happy for Simpkin, think we don't actually have a huge number of players like him on the list. At the third round in the rookie draft it's really about best available and glad we're continuing the tradition of rewarding solid performers in the VFL.

Overall though a really strong recruitment period for us, I know there was a lot of wailing about everything from the 'ambush' on Laidler to the lack of KPP in the main draft but I reckon the list is stronger and more balanced than it was. Look forward to next year immensely.

Jes you see Simpson , I see a little bit of Playfair.
We just need someone else to compare him to McCartney or Spinks and we've got the trifecta!
I just hope his kicking can hold up better than his. I like that we have given him a go with the family history. Roll of the dice , not a lot to lose.
Definitely. He's a rookie so a) expectations obviously weren't that high and b) it's not like there was much at stake with the pick.

Review National Draft 2010 and look ahead to Rookie Draft