Review National Draft 2010 and look ahead to Rookie Draft

Ownage, I'm quite sure he has plans on heading to the SANFL or WAFL instead the VFL. No idea why but I guess it matters little, so long as the competition is strong

Yeah, any state league comp should help give him a springboard to getting drafted.

Does anyone know what's going on with Adam Varcoe? Will we pick him up again?

I'm sure I read on here somewhere that he hadn't re-nominated, or something to that effect........

There's a list of the delisted players that have nominated on the main board (I think I also read it somewhere else) which doesn't have him on it. I think the final formal nominations for delisted players are due today. However the list I read only contains senior listed (delisted) players not rookie listers, so I'm wondering if maybe they don't release details of the rookie listed players that have nominated. I hope he doesn't nominate, we need to keep him away from GWS (although if he nominates next year we'll have the same problem too).

Oh bugger. Really?

Why did we let him go? I presume it could only be doubt about his body, cos there seemed to be none about his ability........

And what was the reasoning behinds Ranga's delisting - same?

Ranga never recovered from the hamstring off the bone injury...tried his best in the VFL but wasn't the same IMO.

AV must be doubts about him coming back from his second knee reco, but I would've kept him.

I agree, with GWS having the first 8 picks in the rookie draft, hopefully Ranga gets a gig but hopefully AV doesn't nominate.

I hope he would want to stay here with his bro.
IF we can induce brother to stay with us long term. My fear is GWS is after TV, and not Bartel, in reality. But same feeling--surely AV would want to be picked up by us again

Anyone know if Orren Stephenson has nominated?
He would be handy for a flag tilt, but would come at a cost i.e. limited chances for Westy and Big Daws. I don't think he would get past GWS or GC though.

Cousin of SteveJ's mate? Looks Ok , could probably do worse. What his speed like ?
His bio says he's quick, but it's not really highlighted in the video. I haven't seen him play, just noticed that he seemed a pretty consistent presence in the Falcon's bests. Yes, we've got a lot of players like him but I'm not sure that should be a huge consideration in the rookie draft. You're either going for absolutely best available or real projects, IMO.

I hope he would want to stay here with his bro.

He definitely will, the issue is whether we can convince him to sit out of next year's draft as well, which is what we need to do if we want to stop GWS prelisting him.

He'll want to be back on our list in 12 months if he plays well for us in the VFL, but given the GWS concessions I don't see how we can achieve that.

Anyone know if Orren Stephenson has nominated?
He would be handy for a flag tilt, but would come at a cost i.e. limited chances for Westy and Big Daws. I don't think he would get past GWS or GC though.

Hawthorn were looking at him last year but he told them that as he was running his own business (and has a young family) the dollars didn't make sense for him as a rookie (i.e. senior list or no). There's a number of other guys we could look at if we wanted to go down that road though.

I would only look at him possibly with our last pick. As Meto says we have stacks of young guys now with similar characteristics. I personally think we could be looking for another small forward after taking 2 talls with our first 2 picks.

If we must take a sub 190cm guy, I'd like it to be Bucovaz.

Gotta get a tall first pick though.

In other news, I heard on the grapevine that GC are a near certain to take NAblett.

Cant wait to watch Scarlo make his life hell when we play them!!!

2@ 191 , 5 @ 189 , 4 @ 187/188 , 2 @ 186 = 13

2 @ 185/184 , 2 @ 183 , 5@182 , 6 @ -182 = 15

To be honest 190 or 185 , we have quite a reasonable spread. I don't think size should be the only deciding factor in the Rookie draft.

Personally I'd like a couple of running talls of the Goddard, Mackie size, can go back or forward, dangerous overhead, can spread quickly to give the kicker options and play outside midfield as well.

About 190-193cm.

Lets be honest, Dasher and Ling are two of those at 189, including the kid Smedts, 191 is Corey (almost finished) and Drum (hasn't played) those numbers are misleading as to the future needs.

Just saw that Freo have said they will rookie Ben Bucovaz. Apparently has reported back in good nick and is training well. With his history at Freo and if Scott likes him as a player what are the chances of us getting in before Freo and nabbing him with our first rookie pick. (assuming Freo dont take him with their first).

I would think we would (and Scott has alluded to it in the press) use our first pick on a tall. Bucovaz, if considered at all, would probably be looked at with either our second or third picks.

Will he slip to 23? don't think so..

Definitely will.

Freo will take him with either their third or fourth pick, I think they'll take Ruffles before Buco (the fact that they're re rookieing Ruffles after yet another knee reco tells you how much they rate him, plus he's contracted) and then Buco with their last, so we could definitely get him with our second, and even maybe our third.

I agree...best tall (hopefully Walker) at 23 and then if all the KPP's we rate are gone by 40, we may take Bucovaz.

Interesting:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/105720/default.aspx

North Ballarat's Myles Sewell (22 years old), Stephen Clifton (23) and Derick Micallef (23), and Werribee's Scott Sherlock (20) and Kyle Hartigan (19) spent two days with the Roos this week, and will return for next Thursday and Friday's sessions.

I reckon definitely Sewell and probably Clifton will end up at GWS. Hopefully the Roos don't take Hartigan because there's not heaps of key defenders available in this draft. I reckon with both Delaney's on their list they won't need to take him (hopefully)

FRANKSTON'S midfield ace Michael Hibberd has spoken to four AFL clubs over the past month but was one of many VFL players left disappointed after the national AFL draft.

Hibberd, who was a revelation in the VFL this year, returned to training with the Dolphins last week. He said he hoped to find an AFL club in the rookie draft on December 7.

''I was a bit disappointed because I spoke to a few clubs and I had a couple of visits from Geelong and Essendon but it shows that there are no guarantees,'' said the 20-year-old winner of the Fothergill-Round Medal, which is awarded to the player considered the best young talent in the VFL.

Interesting. I wouldn't mind him as a rookie.

Review National Draft 2010 and look ahead to Rookie Draft