List Mgmt. National & Rookie Draft 2021

who wouldn't want a brad hill on each wing.

The Brad Hill that used to play for Freo...yep I'd take that no worries, but the guy we got, that has the same name and is a slightly chubbier body double...no thanks, I DO NOT want another of those.
If there is a guarantee or test that ensures that NWM is the first type of Brad Hill, then sure, come on down...but if he's the 2nd, he can stay on the boarding plane.
We don't need another passenger hugging opposition players after a 10 possession game and being belted by 1000 points.

A number of articles I have read have suggested that Saints will draft either Gibcus or Andrew if they are available at pick 11.

Then when listening to podcasts like ‘Road to the Draft’ a mock draft (with Twomey and Sheehan selecting alternatively) has Saints drafting Andrew at pick 11. The SuperFooty mock draft also has us drafting Andrew at pick 11.

I have no idea about what we will do, but there seems to be plenty of smoke suggesting we will draft either tall if they are available at pick 11. Presumably we believe both Owens and Windhager will slide past pick 20.

But if both Andrew and Gibcus are drafted prior to pick 11 I wonder if we might be tempted to trade down. Nothing but conjecture on my part.

I don’t think these mock drafts are so much suggesting we are looking to go tall with that pick so much as suggesting they’ve had Andrew/Gibcus slide to 11 and they can’t really be ignored at that point, plus key defence/ruck are areas that are useful to us. Trades are one thing mock drafts aren’t really considering because it’s a bit hard to predict. We may be tempted to trade either way but I think a trade might be more on the cards if one of Gibcus or Andrew does slide, simply because they are the ones other clubs would be more willing to pay overs to trade up for. If it’s something like Erasmus/Johnson/Sinn/Wanganeen-Milera we are looking at at our pick I’m not sure the gap is wide enough between them at this stage for other clubs to want to pay to move up. (Like you, entirely conjecture on my part)

I can't really understand why anyone thinks he won't be a key defender.

Has clearly got the size at 196cm and 87kg and likely still growing and is very good in one on one situations.

It's only this year where his intercept marking has taken off to a new level as well.

Strengths:
Vertical and running vertical jump
Contested marking
Intercept marking
Reading of the ball in flight
One-on-one defence
Shutdown capabilities

Closing speed
Tackling

I too would love Ward to slide to us bit see it as unlikely. I just don't see any mids that likely end up at that pick I'd be confident of having a better career than Gibcus.
The comparison is lever and as I’ve said from the limited amount I’ve seen and none in person that would be my call.

My problem is that a team with a poor midfield that lacks explosive run has no business potentially locking themselves out of selecting high end mids for the next three years. The figures don’t lie, we can get it but can’t use it and nobody currently on our list is likely to change that to any great degree Imo. All this talk of owens and windhanger is so over the top, might be handy and they’re a nice bonus that’s all. If the great bing plan comes off where are the mids we need coming from, not the draft that’s for sure.

I really don’t mind our defence and if we need another then find a pick for Charlie Dean, playing good football and still young enough to play for ten years.

Warning: long optimistic post/rant ahead 😉

Get excited people. Genuinely reckon we are a strong chance to get a really really good player from this draft, despite being just outside the top 10. If we were even just one spot back I wouldn’t be confident but I reckon we are in the sweet spot to land a big one. Would be stoked with either talls (Gibcus/Andrew) or a one of Ward/Erasmus/Johnson/Sinn/NWM/Rachele. Really just so many unknown factors in this draft (re: covid) but if there’s one thing our recruiting team has proven, we know how to draft in unknown territory.

We should get a player equal to the task of the potential of the saints team atm and into the next decade. Think the captaincy of Steele, the dominance of King(s), our young core coming through from Clark, to Heath, to Bytel, to Sharman. Not all are stars yet, but we see the tangible potential, and that’s why this is exciting, we should get an eventual best 22 player to add to the mix. Not to mention hopefully two very promising players in Windhager and Owens (and maybe Peris/Kyle). It should be a very good haul that will inject a massive amount of quality youth.

Our potential list of players under 25 years old (at time of writing):

Gresham (24)
Clark (22)
Coffield (22)
Sharman (21)
Long (24)
Byrnes (20)
Bytel (21)
Heath (19)
Higgins (22)
Joyce (24)
Pick 11 (18)
Highmore (23)
Allison (19)
Paton (23)
Owens (18)
Connolly (20)
Windhager (18)
Battle (23)
King (21) (+Bing? 🤞)
Peris (18)
Kyle (18)

Out of the 21 listed players (excluding Bing), only 6 are currently 23 to under 25. That’s a lot to work with in building a very strong team for the future. And of course we also have a fair amount of class players beyond the 25 range who we typically see as our maturer leaders (think Steele, Dougs, Marshall, Membrey).

BTW, players currently aged 25:

Cal Wilkie
Dougal Howard
Dan McKenzie
Dan Butler
Jack Steele

As I said in the warning, this is a rant, so I’m not entirely sure what my overall point is. But what I do know that is that we nail this draft, we do justice to an already strong list with a lot of potential from our young players. I foresee 2022 as a really strong year for development. We should see those aged between 22-25 really taking a step forward barring injuries, letting the youth below them step up into their shoes. We nail the draft, and that younger group is being led by players like King, Sharman, Byrnes and possibly Owens or Pick 11 (say Sinn or Gibcus for example). Should we properly develop next year, we will see massive improvements in our list as we come out of the 2010s list mis-management error. Top it off with a finals appearance and a big fish in 2022, (Bing, or, instead hitting the high-end of the draft again, or, big free agent) and we are well and truly rebuilt into a sustained contending team.

I know it’s optimistic, but I don’t think it’s unrealistic. Keep the management of the club as smart as it has been, and let things run their course - because atm we are on the right track. And it all kicks off on Wednesday/Thursday night. If we are going to land a generational player or two, this covid-interrupted draft is the time to do it. Let’s make the most of it, and do justice to the immense potential of our list and our youth. Massive pre-season/season ahead! 🔴⚪⚫

TLDR:

The kids are alright, we’ll be alright.

Did Premo give give you some of his magic tea brew!? 🤔 Love the optimism though man, seriously. I'd like to believe like that...I can't & I won't, but I'd like to. Good to have folk that will though. We need to get this draft right, we need an explosive midfield jet, and good support. I don't care about the order. If our pick 11 is a good/better than average support guy then fine...but one of the later picks HAS to be a gun. There can be no dicking around for this one.
GET IT RIGHT.

Is Josh the new Jack ? Not sure if anyone else has mentioned this but fox sports draft power ratings top 50 have FIVE Josh's in the top 14.
FIVE !!! Rachele, Ward, Gibcus, Goater and Sinn. Must have been a popular boys name with people bonking 19/20 years ago......:eggplant: Maybe
I've got too much time on my hands noticing this stuff ?
Yeah Gill gonna have fun with that .

Conil
So the two most likely to draft Owen's in the 20 are GWS, a team that has unlimited access to its own Academy, or the premiers.
You could not make this sh*t up. AFL allow a finalist to grab an NGA as no.1 but a team who has not won a flag in 56 years potentially miss a NGA to the AFL love child or the team that just won the flag.

AFL is so pathetic.
If GWS take Owens they are lunatics , the reason being they are currently loaded with midfielders and throwing another into the squad will only upset the apple cart more.
With Hooper , Kelly , Taranto , Whitfield , Ash , Green , Coniglio and O'Hallaran do they really need another - however they will most probably lose Hill next year so they could go for a Rachele type.
They needing a key position forward and back - fully expect GWS to take Gibcus and that key forward from WA.

If GWS take Owens they are lunatics , the reason being they are currently loaded with midfielders and throwing another into the squad will only upset the apple cart more.
With Hooper , Kelly , Taranto , Whitfield , Ash , Green , Coniglio and O'Hallaran do they really need another - however they will most probably lose Hill next year so they could go for a Rachele type.
They needing a key position forward and back - fully expect GWS to take Gibcus and that key forward from WA.
yep. they're so stacked in the midfield. Their back and forward stocks are a bit depleted/lacking in quality now.

Giants taking him would make little sense. They've still got Stone and Bruhn to get games into on top of the rest of the insanely deep midfield they've got. He'd get less than 6 games in 2 seasons and probably ask to be traded back to Victoria, which would get done for a late 2nd.

we're pretty good at getting midfielders from the giants ;) they should just let him come to us now and save everyone the trouble

I wouldn't mind the saints trading 2022 2nd + 2022 3rd to the lions for pick 18 + 2022 4th. I'd push more for a swap of 3rd round picks next year but more likely to be a future 3rd for a future 4th.

Feel like there's some good value to be had towards the end of the first round. From what I gather next year is likely to be a weaker draft as well.

The concern is lack of picks next year if we lure Ben King, however we can find ways to trade back into the draft if required as well as back a Libba late round special.

Pick 18 could secure us one of Chesser, Taylor, possibly Goater.

The comparison is lever and as I’ve said from the limited amount I’ve seen and none in person that would be my call.

My problem is that a team with a poor midfield that lacks explosive run has no business potentially locking themselves out of selecting high end mids for the next three years. The figures don’t lie, we can get it but can’t use it and nobody currently on our list is likely to change that to any great degree Imo. All this talk of owens and windhanger is so over the top, might be handy and they’re a nice bonus that’s all. If the great bing plan comes off where are the mids we need coming from, not the draft that’s for sure.

I really don’t mind our defence and if we need another then find a pick for Charlie Dean, playing good football and still young enough to play for ten years.
His comparison to Lever is due to the fact he's a terrific intercept mark, but I don't think there has ever been a doubt about his one on one defensive capabilities or if he'll be a genuine key position player.

I agree our midfield isn't good enough and that should be our number one priority.

But where we sit in the draft order, we seem to be right on the cusp of the genuine elite talent and the next tier down and a key defender is clearly our 2nd priority in my book.

If we pass up the best player available that also fits a need just so we can find a player that we hope can be a good midfielder we risk making a huge draft blunder IMO.

McCartin over Petracca because we wanted a key forward comes to mind.

I wouldn't mind the saints trading 2022 2nd + 2022 3rd to the lions for pick 18 + 2022 4th. I'd push more for a swap of 3rd round picks next year but more likely to be a future 3rd for a future 4th.

Feel like there's some good value to be had towards the end of the first round. From what I gather next year is likely to be a weaker draft as well.

The concern is lack of picks next year if we lure Ben King, however we can find ways to trade back into the draft if required as well as back a Libba late round special.

I think the Lions are pretty happy with their picks this year. We'd have to offer up something pretty decent to get one.

His comparison to Lever is due to the fact he's a terrific intercept mark, but I don't think there has ever been a doubt about his one on one defensive capabilities or if he'll be a genuine key position player.

I agree our midfield isn't good enough and that should be our number one priority.

But where we sit in the draft order, we seem to be right on the cusp of the genuine elite talent and the next tier down and a key defender is clearly our 2nd priority in my book.

If we pass up the best player available that also fits a need just so we can find a player that we hope can be a good midfielder we risk making a huge draft blunder IMO.

McCartin over Petracca because we wanted a key forward comes to mind.
Often a balancing act between best available and need, Imo this isn’t anything like McCartin over Petracca there should be a very good mid available at our pick and we should take whoever it is.

Is Josh the new Jack ? Not sure if anyone else has mentioned this but fox sports draft power ratings top 50 have FIVE Josh's in the top 14.
FIVE !!! Rachele, Ward, Gibcus, Goater and Sinn. Must have been a popular boys name with people bonking 19/20 years ago......:eggplant: Maybe
I've got too much time on my hands noticing this stuff ?

Nah you’re not alone mate. I noticed that as well on the draft game thread - not only is it Josh’s but a lot of ‘J’ names as well like Jesse, Jason, Jye, Jack and Jacob!!! All on only around the first round mark…

Often a balancing act between best available and need, Imo this isn’t anything like McCartin over Petracca there should be a very good mid available at our pick and we should take whoever it is.
Fair enough.

Looking at the phantom drafts there's no mid likely at that pick that I'm totally confident in.

Sonsie would probably be my pick but I think we'll be able to trade down and get him which is what I'd be looking at doing.

Unfortunately there's nothing in that for the Lions.