Neutrals who are you supporting in the GF?

Who do you want to win the 2017 AFL grand final?

• Adelaide

Votes: 480 67.8%
  • Richmond

Votes: 228 32.2%

If the game was being played in Adelaide as it should be seeing that Adelaide are the highest placed team I'd lean towards the Tigers. But the gift run they have had playing Geelong at home when it should have been played at Kardinia Park and now the GF makes me want to see the Crows win. They've also been the better side all year.

Played in front of 60k Crows fans at Adelaide Oval, Crows win it in a canter.

In front of a predominately Tigers crowd I can see them getting up.

Just another inequality we all ignore and accept it as the norm.

Grand Finals' are played at the MCG. The AFL sell corporate ticket allocations all year and MCC members have a given right to be there as per ticketing arrangements that existed when your grampie was a boy.

I agree it sucks that it's unfair to teams outside Melbourne, where the MCG is located, but that's just how it is. In about a million years you can picket the AFL when the deal is up for renewal, but commercially speaking nothing is going to happen as BHP, Coca Cola and others who pay big money for tickets won't be sending their execs to Perth for the big dance.

Am split. Have a good mate who is a tigers supporter so would like to see them win for him and his own mental state. He is 40 so has lived through the drought. Ridiculous thing to say I know but I hate Australia’s biggest cashed up bogan Lleyton Hewitt so be happy to see him wallow in misery if the crows lose. But love Don Pyke being a great WC man so be good to see him win.
Can understand though for Melburnians who aren’t tigers supporters it would be a hard one putting up with the tiger army as premiers. Hopefully it’s a close one though and a great spectacle.

Grand Finals' are played at the MCG. The AFL sell corporate ticket allocations all year and MCC members have a given right to be there as per ticketing arrangements that existed when your grampie was a boy.

I agree it sucks that it's unfair to teams outside Melbourne, where the MCG is located, but that's just how it is. In about a million years you can picket the AFL when the deal is up for renewal, but commercially speaking nothing is going to happen as BHP, Coca Cola and others who pay big money for tickets won't be sending their execs to Perth for the big dance.
I never implied the contrary to anything you stated which I think everyone knows.

Just because it is true doesn't mean it's fair. What's your point? That I should suck it up and go for the Tiges?

On the Crow bandwagon for this one.

Vic media are bouncing so hard on Tiger D at the moment that I just feel that Adelaide are the underdogs.

Sorry Tiges. Nothing personal.

I never implied the contrary to anything you stated which I think everyone knows.

Just because it is true doesn't mean it's fair. What's your point? That I should suck it up and go for the Tiges?

Valid points. My sentiment is that it's a reality that existed before Fremantle came in to the competition. If you buy a house next to an airport you don't get to complain about the noise.

I agree 100% that it's not fair, but it's the way it is. It sucks, I don't disagree.

Valid points. My sentiment is that it's a reality that existed before Fremantle came in to the competition. If you buy a house next to an airport you don't get to complain about the noise.

I agree 100% that it's not fair, but it's the way it is. It sucks, I don't disagree.
Seems like there'd be more chance of moving the airport than the GF

Got a lot of Richmond friends, long suffering, never seen a flag most of them. If they're not my long-suffering AFL-following friends then who is (me?!).

No, I prefer that Richmond are my long-suffering friends.

Plus after what Adelaide went through the last few years, I think it would be a great story for them to win it.

Won't be too upset if Richmond do though, I'll have some very happy friends. I've no idea if they'll get arrogant about football afterwards, I've got the feeling that a lot of them will.

Hmm. Maybe Adelaide.
Mostly I'm just happy to see a grand final that doesn't involve one or more of Sydney/Hawthorn/Geelong. If you ignore 2010 (Pies vs Saints), the last time a grand final didn't feature at least one of those 3 sides was 2004. If you include Brisbane in the list you can get back to the year 2000 as the last "fresh" grand final clash.

you can get back to the year 2000 as the last "fresh" grand final clash.

Amused at this idea of "fresh" grand final.

Let me see, first one I saw 1977 of North v Pies was fresh for me as do not remember watching football before that game.
It was a draw.
So the Grand Final Replay the next week I guess cannot count as fresh.
1978 North v Hawks. Seen North year before so guess in your concept that does not count as fresh.
1979 Carlton v Pies. Seen Pies before so that is out as fresh.
1980 Pies v Tigers. No again
1981 Carlton v Pies. Nope!
1982 Tigers v Carlton. Nope!
1983 Hawks v Dons. Seen Hawks in 78 grand final so no again.
1984 and 85 Hawks v Dons all over again so nope.
1986 & 87 Carlton v Hawks. Nope!
88 Hawks v Dees. No as sick of sight of brown and gold now...ha ha
89 Hawks v Cats. Nope.
90 Pies v Dons. Nope.
91 Eagles v Hawks. Nope!
92 Eagles v Kittens. Nope!
93 Carlton v Dons. Nope!
94 Eagles v Kittens. Nope!
95 Carlton v Scared little Kittens. Nope!

96 North v Swans. Well this closest so far in terms of "fresh" as never seen Swans in one before and North had not been in one since 1978

97 Saints v Crows. Bingo!!!! Genuine fresh grand final for me as never seen either in a grand final before.

98 North v Crows. Nope. Crows saw year before.
99 North v Carlton. Nope!
2000 Essendon v Dees. Nope!
2001 Essendon v Brisbane. No but first time I seen Brisbane in grand final.
2002 Brisbane v Collingwood. Nope!
2003 Brisbane v Pies. No!
2004 Brisbane v Port. No!
2005 Eagles v Swans. Swans were in it only 9 years earlier. Certainly not fresh enough for me.
2006 Eagles v Swans. No!
2007 Geelong v Port. Nope!
2008 Geelong v Hawks. Nope!
2009 Geelong v Saints. No.
2010 Pies v Saints. No!
2011 Pies v Cats. Nope!
2012 Hawks v Sydney. No.
2013 Hawks v Fremantle. No but first time ever seeing Dockers in grand final and what a snorefest and probably never watch it again as so horrid seeing a side in some stupid white outfit. If I could delete that one from memory would be nice.
2014 Hawks v Sydney again. Of course no.
2015 Hawks v Eagles. No!
2016 Sydney v Dogs. No but was exciting seeing Dogs in first grand final I seen them make in 39 seasons of watching and break an amazing drought and be first club to win the flag from 4 genuine cut throat finals in a row. The grand final does not count as fresh but the result certainly was.

Guess today Crows v Tiggies is freshest grand final I seen since back to 20 years before of 1997 when first saw Crows and Saints in grand final.

It is very rare that neither team in grand final has not played in one in previous 1 to 5 years.

Tough gig to find anything to barrack for in this one. Guess a good game would be nice but at end of day moral compass says clear cut case of got to back our old little mate Eddie Betts.
Be nice to see that wonderful smile on his face again and some serious sweet joy today for him and his family. Tex Walker and Rory Sloane easy characters to like too and went through a lot losing their previous coach to tragic homicide. I feel for those guys having to live through that.

Go (cough) Crows!!!! for one day only.....

Well after watching 50 hours of supposedly national footy coverage this week I finally found out who Richmond are playing in the GF by turning off and doing some detective work. For those of you who haven't taken the trouble to tune into 5AA or read the Advertiser, its actually Adelaide! Who would have known?

I am supporting Adelaide because the narrative around their story is so compelling. They have had to fight so hard - their coach was murdered, their best player was snatched, their ruckman's brother died on the eve of the finals. Its been such a long time since we had an actual inspirational story of triumph over adversity in a GF. And not only that, the individual life stories of guys like Eddie Betts are just so fascinating. The Adelaide Crows story of getting to the 2017 GF is the footy fairytale of our generation.

If you are not hoping for a Crows win, then that is just like shooting Bambi or hoping the house breakers win in Home Alone.

Neutrals supporting the other mob are just bad people.

Well after watching 50 hours of supposedly national footy coverage this week I finally found out who Richmond are playing in the GF by turning off and doing some detective work. For those of you who haven't taken the trouble to tune into 5AA or read the Advertiser, its actually Adelaide! Who would have known?

I am supporting Adelaide because the narrative around their story is so compelling. They have had to fight so hard - their coach was murdered, their best player was snatched, their ruckman's brother died on the eve of the finals. Its been such a long time since we had an actual inspirational story of triumph over adversity in a GF. And not only that, the individual life stories of guys like Eddie Betts are just so fascinating. The Adelaide Crows story of getting to the 2017 GF is the footy fairytale of our generation.

If you are not hoping for a Crows win, then that is just like shooting Bambi or hoping the house breakers win in Home Alone.

Neutrals supporting the other mob are just bad people.
You've convinced me. Also I hate Richmond

Not fussed who wins. Great to see 2 clubs that havent featured in a GF in a long time. 2 great club stories about how they got here. We will have a new premier which is awesome.

Just hopeing for a tight game. Been a few blow outs this finals series.

Please give us a classic!!!

Going with Adelaide purely because I can't stand Jack Riewoldt. His playing ability to FIGJAM persona ratio is terrible.

No surprise once Hardwick finally saw just how little talent Jack has and diversified the forward line that Richmond started being successful.

Yarra Park is where the game was born. It seems fitting to contest the premiership there.

I don't know who to go for. I'll wait and see how the game is rolling before I lean one way I think.
WTF?
I know it is like picking between Saddam Hussein and Adolf Hitler but c'mon man, when push comes to shove you know there is only one right answer today.

Neutrals who are you supporting in the GF?