Nick Maxwell guaranteed AA

lol at people saying didak is not elite. blokes had 30+ possesions and averaging a couple of goals the last 10 weeks. he hurts teams with his kicking, unlike some players (cough cough priddis) who gets 40 touches with 2 effective kicks.

Didak is elite whatever your definition of the word is. He is at times soft and a very talented actor, but he is still elite.

I've got Swan, Didak and Davis in my AA team.

Hate to say it but maxwell definately deserves AA this year, when he took over as captain last year i was shocked at the clubs decision, but to my amazement he has really stood up & the leadership seems to be the reason behind this! We can only hope the scum r out in straight sets

I've always liked Nick Maxwell but his performance in the press yesterday was really poor. There were plenty of ways to handle the questions on the brawl but the "it wasn't us....they started it...we coldn't do anything" was pathetic! Should have kept his trap shut. Bad form.

Anyway, not AA IMO. Others playing better.

You are joking right? This is from a Sydney supporter, the team which whinged and whined about The Sniper (AKA Goodes) for so long because he hurt his poor little knee in the ruck that the AFL changed the rules for him! Don't lecture us on sooking, Roos has been the master of it for years.

Maxwell has been excellent in his role this year, opened a few eyes as to the role he plays and his strength as a leader.

Not too sure about AA tho.

As for what he said on Sunday: Yeah imagine a footballer telling the truth! We have become so used to the crap Richo wants us to say, about sticking to the script that when someone has the agates to tell it like it is, many cant believe it was said publicly even tho they would say it in private.

The footballing public aren't fools, we can see what happens and analyse why it is happening, so Maxwell is just confirming what we all know anyway. But we cant have that ............... can we?

If Didak is Elite then there are 100 elite players in the AFL. Getting 30 possies for half a season in your 9th season is not Elite. Simon Black, Chris Judd are elite, didak is 'good'.

As for Nick Maxwell, good season but not AA, I'd have Goddard, Enright, Drummond, Gilbert, Goodwin, Duffield ahead of him.

The footballing public aren't fools, we can see what happens and analyse why it is happening, so Maxwell is just confirming what we all know anyway.

Yeah, a shit side showed a murmur of a heartbeat, ten of Collingwood's "disciplined" players copped fines and their captain was shown up as being not so tough when actually confronted, as opposed to his opponent being wide open for a hit.

You forgot to mention that the toughest thing "disciplined" Collingwood's real AA player, Dane Swan, could do was pull Deledio's hair while O'Bree had him in a headlock during the melee. What a tough guy with his tattoo sleeve. :eek:

Maxwell is miles away from AA and maybe should have considered staying out of the melee Joel Bowden style and getting on with the game instead of running in and going after Hislop, a wrestle he ultimately lost, before opening his mouth to have a whinge afterwards.

Talks shit, tries to play tough guy on the field and then complains later when he got trumped, and most importantly, doesn't play an AA level of football. Laughable thread.

Richmond stopped playing after 10 mins into the 1st qtr. A player sniping early in the 2nd qtr when 48 points down is not exactly showing a murmur, its just petulance. Resigned to the inevitable!

Are you there to play football or just go the hit when things turn against you?

Of course Collingwood could just let these things go unchecked and unchallenged all day and maybe lose players to broken jaws and whatever in the process, but I am pretty sure that what Collingwood players did was a natural reaction to a player taking a hit, as has happened to us when our players have transgressed in the past also. The melee wasnt the problem, it was King not playing football. If he was smart, why didn't he take out Didak in a real play? That would have been his best course of action. The bloke is a moron, not even smart enough to utilise one of many opportunities to wipe him out more legitimately.

Are you there to play football or is it just make up numbers and when you start losing you have a bloke with little mans syndrome go the hit?

Has Richmond ever thought about translating some of that aggression towards the ball? Maybe if they did, there would be less necessity to hit opposition players as the outcomes would be less skewed against them!

Just a thought.

Has Richmond ever thought about translating some of that aggression towards the ball?

Fair call, at least that part of Maxwell's diatribe rang true. The club is a rabble on-field ATM with a third coach in three months about to be named and blokes playing for their futures. Better to be a rabble that makes itself known physically than not at all, though.

Well if that is the measurement, 2 players made themselves known for something other than football and the other 16 on the field made themselves known for having to be forced into a confrontation by the two other players.

Where was the case they were trying to make for footballing prowess to their future master?

If it was fighting they were trying to make a case for, then only 2 players made a case that they can only do that when someone is not looking. But are they there to snipe/fight tho?

Well if that is the measurement, 2 players made themselves known for something other than football and the other 16 on the field made themselves known for having to be forced into a confrontation by the two other players.

Where was the case they were trying to make for footballing prowess to their future master?

If it was fighting they were trying to make a case for, then only 2 players made a case that they can only do that when someone is not looking. But are they there to snipe/fight tho?

It's not the first time frustration's boiled over on the field and won't be the last. Nobody got hurt. Pretty tame really.

I've seen nastier bitch fights at kindergarten

But it really is not giving their future coach anything to go on other than they surrender easily and when frustrated they cant contain themselves. Is that the impression you got from all of that? And if you were those 2 players, is that the impression you would be giving to someone making a decision on your future?

Controlled aggression is what coaches want to see.

I've seen nastier bitch fights at kindergarten

But it really is not giving their future coach anything to go on other than they surrender easily and when frustrated they cant contain themselves. Is that the impression you got from all of that? And if you were those 2 players, is that the impression you would be giving to someone making a decision on your future?

Controlled aggression is what coaches want to see.

One side looks half a chance to win the premiership, the other can't wait for the season to end. As stated, we are a rabble on-field at present.

BINGO !!

I am sure his testicles shrivelled right up when he opened his mouth and started bitching... :eek:

You have no idea. He isn't worthy of AA this season, but deserves to be in the squad. He leads the team well and is as hard as anyone on the field.

Didak is elite whatever your definition of the word is. He is at times soft and a very talented actor, but he is still elite.

I've got Swan, Didak and Davis in my AA team.

Spot on. Didak is supremely talented, but a bit of a rat and very soft at most times. He's an out and out receiver who sometimes tries to do too much, but generally uses the ball supremely well and has a miraculous left boot.

nick maxwell is dead certain to make the AA team.
he has dominated all of his opponents all season and helped the defense to get back there and clear the ball out.

whoever thought at the start of the season that maxwell will choke as being collingwood's new captain, think again.

being a leader of such a young side, he has been sensational and has improved heaps of his skills.

he deserves that 'C' more than the likes of harley (lol), mitchell, harvey etc..

AA HBF: maxwell.
now lets see all those collingwood haters out there disagree :rolleyes:

236shhhh.jpg

So you think a season, not even, half a season of good footy makes you elite? Well the whole Collingwood team are elite then, Didak's a good player but when he has this sort of season more then once you can call him Elite!

He should really swap to soccer though with all his kicking in mid air and off the ground pick the thing up!

Didak's a good player but when he has this sort of season more then once you can call him Elite!

It's not his first season at or near this level. Usually form precedes reputation by a few years and Didak is no exception.

He was AA and Collingwood B&F in 2006
2008 was the leading kick getter in the AFL and in everyone's AA list before getting suspended by the club. AA selector Gerard Healy admitted he wasn't considered for AA solely because he missed games due to off field indiscretions.

Nick Maxwell guaranteed AA