Football God

Nov 26, 2007
melbourne
Man utd, miami dolphins
nick maxwell is dead certain to make the AA team.
he has dominated all of his opponents all season and helped the defense to get back there and clear the ball out.

whoever thought at the start of the season that maxwell will choke as being collingwood's new captain, think again.

being a leader of such a young side, he has been sensational and has improved heaps of his skills.

he deserves that 'C' more than the likes of harley (lol), mitchell, harvey etc..

AA HBF: maxwell.
now lets see all those collingwood haters out there disagree :rolleyes:

Sam Gilbert & Brendon Goddard have the HBF spots taken.

The Saints have the best defence in the league by a country mile, hence the reason 2, possibly 3 (Sam Fisher) will feature in the AA side.

Sorry Collingwood, you'll have a few AA's, but not 6 like some of you have been claiming.

How does loose man in defence dominate his opponents? ;)
obviously you dont watch him play football. this guy breaks packs, outmarks nearly everybody, thats what true defenders are meant to do. not like scarlett who receives a cheap handball out of defense all the time.

you being a brisbane supporter wouldn't understand since you dont watch a real team. ;)

After watching him on gameday this morning i would say he is certain to be the next police commissioner what a tool.

I can't remember a captain saying anything like about an opposing team i'm pretty sure it will be heavily discussed .

Senior Seargent Give Up Maxwell:thumbsdown:

After watching him on gameday this morning i would say he is certain to be the next police commissioner what a tool.

I can't remember a captain saying anything like about an opposing team i'm pretty sure it will be heavily discussed .

Senior Seargent Give Up Maxwell:thumbsdown:
mate, he was saying the truth, and yeah your right.. maxwell was wrong saying they were "average" more like "gutless". they knew they would start a fight cos they had nothing to play for.

and yes it will be discussed cos morons like mike sheean and caroline wilson have nothing else to crap on about...

he has dominated all of his opponents all season and helped the defense to get back there and clear the ball out.

whoever thought at the start of the season that maxwell will choke as being collingwood's new captain, think again.

being a leader of such a young side, he has been sensational and has improved heaps of his skills.

he deserves that 'C' more than the likes of harley (lol), mitchell, harvey etc..

If this happens it will be I new low for AA

Had a better season than Harley did when he made it, so a guernsey beckons for the leagues best captain.
Harely made it exclusively on the back of his teams fortunes, and Geelong are an infinitely better side in 08 than you are. Even then it was a disgraceful decision and I don't think they'd make the mistake again.

btw I don't know what Kirk has to do with this thread but I reckon he's about as good a chance as Maxwell to make the team, **** all.

obviously you dont watch him play football. this guy breaks packs, outmarks nearly everybody, thats what true defenders are meant to do. not like scarlett who receives a cheap handball out of defense all the time.

you being a brisbane supporter wouldn't understand since you dont watch a real team. ;)

2nv5amw.gif

Please go away. You make the rest of us look bad.

Maxwell has had a fantastic year but AA? Not even close..

He could win a spot in the team, he has been one of the best defenders this year

I would have him in the back pocket over Gilbert and Sam Fisher anyday (AA wise)

Frankie, you have to be having a good lend of yourself to have him over Gilbert.

Fisher won't be AA. He hasnt had as good of a year as many think. He has still had a better year than Maxwell though.

Maxwell wouldn't be in the top 10 defenders this year. O'Brien is clearly ahead of him, as he actually plays on someone each week.

Before you ask, here are the defenders I rate ahead of him....

Gilbert
Goddard
Bock
Tarrant
Enright
Scarlett
Prestgiacomo
Fisher
Drummond
Lake
O'Brien

No spot for him. Enright and Goddard should be 100% certainties for the HBF's. Gilbert and Presti the BP's. Maxwell has been and improved a lot but I don't think he belongs in the AA team. I doubt he'll make the squad.

Don't get me wrong, Maxwell has had a great season and has improved massively in 2009, but if we're talking Collingwood defenders in All-Australian consideration, I think Heath Shaw has to at least get a mention. He started slow this year (due to a niggling back/hamstring injury), but he's been playing great footy since the middle of May. It's no coincidence that Collingwood has only had one loss since Shaw got properly up and running in the West Coast game in Round 9, as his run and kicking are integral to our attacking drives forward. Definitely among the best running defenders in the game IMO, and he's still just 23 years old.

strangest thing about this thread is that usually these sort of threads are started as a reaction to said player having a great game, yet Maxwell was one of Collingwood's least impressive players yesterday :confused:

Nick Maxwell guaranteed AA