Opinion Non-Crows AFL 4: The Centre Cannot Hold

Not really. there isn’t all that much camel or straw.

I’m amazed they’ve made that much effort since.
Subsequently, Caro has confirmed the idea that this was just the final straw for them - it's on the Real Footy podcast.

Or stay home and cook decent food yourself.

Between the Covid restrictions, the lack of service and the prices that have escalated, going out for a meal is shit atm.
I must have been lucky. Have been for some lovely meals lately.

Only heard it in the background, but did Kochie really say ‘it will never tear us apart’ this morning when referring to online abuse??

The melts among Tealsters will be fun if that happens.

His AFL coaching career hardly stellar. Sacked twice, old Norwood mate KT employing him.

Yeah he had success at Norwood. The first SANFL coach to bring AFL style footy to the league. Plus broke the salary cap?

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Port fans better watch out if they try saying anything to Bassett if he starts piling on the L's early. I've seen how he talks to people who were actually being friendly towards him.

Wasn’t that the fat potato-head failed cricketer Davies that said that? Would have loved to see his face as Dawson’s shot curled through.
Now there's a guy who is all sizzle and no steak. Can almost be guaranteed during an interview he'll bring us up and take potshots to try and score easy points with the locals.

Oh dear... Part 5 is here.

View attachment 1364182
Part 5 started last Wednesday. 1,100 posts since then.

It's a good read, that thread, and not just because LOL Port. There's some great memes and dark humour :)
I remember our “Sack Craig!” thread started out as a parody.

And then it became very, VERY real…
Every club's supporters want to sack the coach at some stage - rightly or wrongly. But the Sack Hinkley thing is just extraordinary, and it's been going on for so long. I almost feel sorry for them - what it must feel like to passionately want your coach sacked, year after year, contract extension after extension...
I must have been lucky. Have been for some lovely meals lately.
I have to say, apart from the experience I mentioned, yes, it's all been good.

Port fans better watch out if they try saying anything to Bassett if he starts piling on the L's early. I've seen how he talks to people who were actually being friendly towards him.
Hehe, I met him once - he was guest speaker at the launch of the Footy Almanac, back in his playing days. I had written a piece on our game vs Freo, and referred to a Bassett brain fade when he got run down HTB.

So, Bass makes his speech, and he says that when you see a book like that, the first thing you do is look through it, to see if you're mentioned. I started moving towards the back of the room. :$

Later we were introduced. "Hi Nathan, look... really sorry about page 85". "No worries, I had it coming." :)

If that mass turnover happens, yeah agree done.

But...I do think there is enough there for them to flat track it next year.

Alir out is massive for them. Had he played against us we lose. Hberg would not kick 4 with him playing loose man. He is a genuine elite third defender.

That is all it takes for them to eek out enough wins against bottom 10 clubs.

Their two "contender" years were frauds as well. Struggled against top 8 sides through 20/21.They were never genuine contenders. Just gained good ladder position flat tracking it.

What we are seeing now is a few injuries exposing their real lack of depth. They need their best team out there to be competitive.

Ken won't step down. Blight called him a "survivor " a few years ago. Said his existence in the Footy industry was largely through persistence and resilience, a genuine survivor
Blight meant it as a compliment.

But a used car salesman will never walk away from money on the table.

Allir has been worked out.. the PF against the dogs showed exactly what clubs need to do against him..

Play like hes the forward and youre the defender.. put a forward on him and make him earn every touch.. when you do and he’s under pressure.. he completely shits the bed.

Even bigger bonus if the forward, at the same time, can get a couple of goals..

Schache showed everyone exactly how its done.. and if you shut him down you essentially shut all their rebound from defense down..

Allir has been worked out.. the PF against the dogs showed exactly what clubs need to do against him..

Play like hes the forward and youre the defender.. put a forward on him and make him earn every touch.. when you do and he’s under pressure.. he completely shits the bed.

Even bigger bonus if the forward, at the same time, can get a couple of goals..

Schache showed everyone exactly how its done.. and if you shut him down you essentially shut all their rebound from defense down..
True. Good teams have worked him out.

But there are enough teams where he is a problem. Right now we are one.

All they need are 11 flat track wins and jag 3 or 4 bottom top 8 side wins to make the Eight.

That is essentially how the finished top 4 in 20/21.

Won't happen this year. But if they don't sack Ken this year.....

The melts among Tealsters will be fun if that happens.

His AFL coaching career hardly stellar. Sacked twice, old Norwood mate KT employing him.

Yeah he had success at Norwood. The first SANFL coach to bring AFL style footy to the league. Plus broke the salary cap?

Well he will make for interesting press conferences. He doesn’t take defeat with any sort of decorum.

Remember his over dramatic antics on the field? Well I’ve played lawn bowls against him and it is no different.

A leopard doesn’t change its spots.

2020 was their big shot and they blew it

View attachment 1364060View attachment 1364059

The teams they played twice last year - Carlton, Collingwood, Saints, Crows and Bulldogs. Pretty soft.

And they won all 5 games decided by under 10 points (and 4 of them were 4 points or less).

They were bloody kissed on the dick in 2021.

2020 was their big chance in the 150,000th year and they choked!

Remember a few of us saying on here (inc myself) during the off season that we would win one of the two Showdowns this year and we win both Showdowns next year.

All going to plan.
So our 5 year plan is further advanced than their 5 year plan :)

So my suggestion is to folk right now, is be patient - with the staff and with the business.
Patience only goes so far, though - I have a pretty limited tolerance for bad service. I don't mean in the sense that I get loud and abusive etc about it, but that I won't necessarily hang around and spend my money on it.

Couple months back my wife and I went for lunch at our local pub. This was a weekday lunchtime, so by no means flat out busy. Ordered a couple of standard pub meals... schnitzel and fish and chips that should take about 10 minutes to come out of the kitchen. After waiting half an hour, we had nothing. One of the staff finally comes out and says sorry there was a breakdown with the printer when sending the order through to the kitchen and it'll be right out. So we're still sitting there waiting. Other people who got there 20 minutes after us have had their meals coming out, despite their orders presumably going through the same printer ours did. After another 15 minutes (so 45 total) we said to hell with it, I went and got a refund and we left without having had our lunch.

Sometimes bad service is just bad service, and COVID, staff shortages etc aren't a valid excuse.

Was nothing earth shattering, just when he was at Norwood he displayed a "lack of enthusiasm" for engaging with fans at times. My guess would be if he was asking people trying to chat him up "Why the **** are you talking to me?" he may not be super keen to hear someone give him a spray!

Was a long time ago though, so no idea if he's still like that or not.

Remember a few of us saying on here (inc myself) during the off season that we would win one of the two Showdowns this year and we win both Showdowns next year.

All going to plan.
My bold prediction before this season started, which I did not refrain from telling every footy fan I know, was that we would win both showdowns. Port fans laughed at me. All going to plan so far!

Sam Skinner is expected to be fit for this week.

This has been largely ignored because we won. Port Power subbed a slow tall defender out in order to bring on a smaller player who was fresh. That guy then kicks a goal in a close match.

Skinner was not injured.

Sam Skinner is expected to be fit for this week.

This has been largely ignored because we won. Port Power subbed a slow tall defender out in order to bring on a smaller player who was fresh. That guy then kicks a goal in a close match.

Skinner was not injured.
Isn't there a stat that every player subbed out this year has played the following week?

It's an impossible thing to police. Every player would have a sore something or other that you could build a case to sub them over.

Should just be a free hit for teams to use whenever they want