Opinion Non-Crows AFL 5: Save Ken

But most of all, Port signed away all rights to that design.

If you sign away trademarks in order to enter new markets, you don’t get to whinge, cry & sook afterwards that it’s not fair
Of course, and they had to sign away those rights, because the league would never have allowed a club to join and use the same design as an existing club

Does anyone ever watch old games (e.g. From the 90s) and think that the game isn't even that much different?

Nope, the game was much better to watch back then. This rolling scrum, drop the ball, big pile on packs is a poor version of Aussie Rules.

I reckon peak AFL was 1994 to 2004.

Before massive use of structures/flooding/team defence which Craig/Roos/Worsfold introduced.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yep, this was around the sweet spot.

The players were fitter and more skilled then previously but the over coaching and AFL rule interpretations hadn't stuffed the game.

But most of all, Port signed away all rights to that design.

If you sign away trademarks in order to enter new markets, you don’t get to whinge, cry & sook afterwards that it’s not fair

I can't beleive how many overlook this point, it is really all that matters.

Port Powah agreed to drop the Wharf pylon jumper when they joined the AFL.

Case closed.

Collingwood were part of the AFL first, they own that design in the league.
It is a different design though.

Hawthorn/North/Collingwood all have the same design.
As do Essendon and Richmond.

Our own jumper is a similar design (hoops) to Geelong.

Similar designs can coexist. Especially when not playing each other

In any case why does it matter? Clubs wear multiple jumpers in multiple colours over the season.

Collingwood should not have the power to control what another club wears in a game they are not playing.

I can't beleive how many overlook this point, it is really all that matters.

Port Powah agreed to drop the Wharf pylon jumper when they joined the AFL.

Case closed.
Things change. That was an era with minimal jumpers worn. People renegotiate terms all the time.

Also, that agreement highlights what is wrong with this league. The designs are different. Why the need to even make such a deal? VFL trying to protect one of their clubs.

Man United and Liverpool share a closer shirt design and are separate global brands.

Maybe Hungry Jacks should just have a sook and throw a few tantrums until they become Burger King?

That’s how copyright and trademarks work isn’t it?
Collingwood don't even own the trademark.

AFL owns all jumper and mascot designs.

If Port were allowed to wear the prison bars regularly I think it would be the first time a club can wear a similar design in the same colours as another club.

Port media often use that argument, there are other teams wearing the same colours, other teams wearing the same design. They never point out that its both.

You could argue Ports is a different design but whether the stripes start at the top or further down, it's stripes.

I look at it like this, if a Tasmanian team comes in, with links to a local club that wear our coloured hoops (whether or not the hoops start at the top or further down like ours) I would expect our club to be pretty strong on us remaining the one blue, red and yellow hooped club in the AFL.

I'd hope they'd be smart enough to realise that if we let them wear them once, then again and then once a year, then twice a year, they would eventually end up wearing our coloured hoops all the time.

If Port were allowed to wear the prison bars regularly I think it would be the first time a club can wear a similar design in the same colours as another club.

Port media often use that argument, there are other teams wearing the same colours, other teams wearing the same design. They never point out that its both.

You could argue Ports is a different design but whether the stripes start at the top or further down, it's stripes.

I look at it like this, if a Tasmanian team comes in, with links to a local club that wear our coloured hoops (whether or not the hoops start at the top or further down like ours) I would expect our club to be pretty strong on us remaining the one blue, red and yellow hooped club in the AFL.

I'd hope they'd be smart enough to realise that if we let them wear them once, then again and then once a year, then twice a year, they would eventually end up wearing our coloured hoops all the time.
And yet Man United and Liverpool have no issue.

Shows how pissant this league is doesn't it.

Similar uniform colour and designs exist in far bigger leagues than the AFL.

And I bet if Tassie did wear our jumper or a close version of it, they would allow it.

They gave Gold Coast our colours.

674973.jpg

Hmm no.. I will stick with the HaHa Port thanks
I'd rather have Port get their prison bars than Collingwood having such a pathetic sook and the AFL more concerned about the feelings of a Melbourne club.

In what ****ing universe should Collingwood have any business in our intra state marquee matches. I'm actually strongly on Ports side with this one.
Weak by the league and arrogant by the pies.

Speaking of Port being scabs, are those campaigners paying INXS royalties yet?

Apparently they started using the song without permission but were forced to pay the record label a blanket licensing fee, albeit without having to pay back end royalties. So the band would have got their one off payday some time ago. Common industry practice.

They stole it, got caught, then had to pay for it. Prison bars indeed.

It’s a post highlighting the bad way Schulz is in. It didn’t need to be turned into a Port bashing thing.
Are you ****ing kidding? If that was a crows player the usual pitchforkers on here would be crucifying the Crows citing everything from negligence to criminal activity.

Why not question the incompetence or negligence of Port ****ing Adelaide?

Everybody here cares that Schulz is in such a bad way and anyone is well within their rights to criticise that shit club for the way they’ve handled players’ health on game day in the past. Port certainly has form in that area.

And I'll say it again whose fault is that?
The AFL.

Why do they need to defer to Collingwood to make a decision?

AFL owns the trademarks and copyrights on the jumpers. They should decide what is worn.

Not defer to another club for permission. Especially for a game or games that club is not playing in.

And I bet a non VFL club would not get that chance to stop another club wearing a jumper that is a different design. Gold Coast for example is close to some of our jumper designs. Their home jumper can be mistaken for our Red away one. Were we consulted?

Yes Port agreed to not wear the PB jumper when they were formed. But that was a different era, less jumper variations worn. Things can change. People negotiate terms all the time.

I bet if this wasn't Port, more people here would see the bigger picture. I don't care if they wear the jumper or not. Just don't agree with Collingwood having the final say.

Are you ******* kidding? If that was a crows player the usual pitchforkers on here would be crucifying the Crows citing everything from negligence to criminal activity.

Why not question the incompetence or negligence of Port ******* Adelaide?

Everybody here cares that Schulz is in such a bad way and anyone is well within their rights to criticise that s**t club for the way they’ve handled players health on game day in the past. Port certainly has form in that area.
Ok, lots of care for Schulz in those posts, I must have missed it amongst the Port Port Port

Personally think it is stupid in an era where clubs can wear any design (indegenous/heritage/clash/rainbow) jumper yet this one is denied because Collingwood say no?

Sure they would clash somewhat when playing Collingwood, but any other game why does it matter?

Yeah HaHa Port, but really just another example of this league being an extended VFL.

Haha, nah.

**** Port.

They’re like the CCP. They just keep chipping away, chipping away. No wonder they had the China debacle 😂

Did the club agree or not agree to not being allowed to wear black and white? Asking because I’ve heard so many computations about the situation I don’t know which is the truth anymore.

And even if it only gives one player 0.1% of uplift for a game against the Crows, then **** em.