Opinion Non-Crows AFL 5: Save Ken

No surprises there.

Broke club, and he just got them to two Prelim Finals.

AFL would never approve of the expenditure to pay him out. Even if it was half his contracted salary.

Now, with an easier draw next year, more bottom 10 sides to flat track. Bouncing back into Finals will be a pretty good result. Kenny would surely deserve a two year extension into 2024/25.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Tim G said this a couple weeks ago, with Port being a “benefit” club, they wouldn’t be allowed to moved him on without approval which in his opinion would be unlikely. I’d assume he’d have an idea as he works for them yeah?

Simple answer is Port can't afford to sack Ken and can't afford to attract a decent coach.

The Clarko pipedream is laughable. They would need to pay out Ken his $650k, pay Clarko $1m plus - and then do you think Clarko will be happy with Port's assistants? Do you think he wants old mate Chad by his side? Not a chance, so they'll need to pay for Clarko's assistants as well.

Don't worry about the AFL not signing off on it - the cash flow budgets wouldn't get to them in the first place.

Can’t find it anywhere else here and not sure where to put it - but both Sam Berry and Darcy Fogarty of the Crows were named in the AFL 22under22 squad.

Simple answer is Port can't afford to sack Ken and can't afford to attract a decent coach.

The Clarko pipedream is laughable. They would need to pay out Ken his $650k, pay Clarko $1m plus - and then do you think Clarko will be happy with Port's assistants? Do you think he wants old mate Chad by his side? Not a chance, so they'll need to pay for Clarko's assistants as well.

Don't worry about the AFL not signing off on it - the cash flow budgets wouldn't get to them in the first place.
And if the AFL is subsidizing a club to get Clarkson, they'll want to subsidize GWS

giphy.gif

Tim G said this a couple weeks ago, with Port being a “benefit” club, they wouldn’t be allowed to moved him on without approval which in his opinion would be unlikely. I’d assume he’d have an idea as he works for them yeah?
I like Timmy G, seems to be fairly sensible and know his stuff
Still cant believe 5AA sacked Bicks and kept Rowey, surely we can do better

No surprises there.

Broke club, and he just got them to two Prelim Finals.

AFL would never approve of the expenditure to pay him out. Even if it was half his contracted salary.

Now, with an easier draw next year, more bottom 10 sides to flat track. Bouncing back into Finals will be a pretty good result. Kenny would surely deserve a two year extension into 2024/25.

I have my doubts kern will survive this year, but if he does no way he gets an extension after this.

I Wouldn’t be surprised to see kern throw his hat into the gws ring and leave this year . Gets some job security, as well as a decent list.

I have my doubts kern will survive this year, but if he does no way he gets an extension after this.

I Wouldn’t be surprised to see kern throw his hat into the gws ring and leave this year . Gets some job security, as well as a decent list.
They will chug the Kool Aid once they beat all the bottom 10 sides again next year.

Ken will be hailed as a great coach turning the ship around when they finish top four on the back of that.

The issue right now is the last 4 of the last 5 or weeks they have been playing an losing to top 4 sides. With one flat track game among the five.

Reality is losing to top 4 sides is a Ken Hinkley trope. But usually spread out more.

I reckon they will flog Essendon and hope we push them in round 23.

Ken has played this beautifully, took till R20 for him/media/fans to concede that Port cant make the 8 when they got rolled by the Pies and other results went against them.

All long sold the dream to the media and supporters. This way it prevented any sacking which really should have taken place half way during the season.

If it did, Port may have had some realistic albeit small chance of Clarko.

Port board providing the lulz. So many dramatic nerds.
Our "we are really shit" thread is tame in comparison to the Hinkley thread(s). One poster was even suggesting to chastise Hinkley's wife on social media. They were shot down thankfully.

Our "we are really s**t" thread is tame in comparison to the Hinkley thread(s). One poster was even suggesting to chastise Hinkley's wife on social media. They were shot down thankfully.
Thats pure gutter/street level of person to attack a player's wife on social media specifically to get at Kenny.

Every supporter base has some element of feral nature to it, but I think one or two exceed the average.

Can’t find it anywhere else here and not sure where to put it - but both Sam Berry and Darcy Fogarty of the Crows were named in the AFL 22under22 squad.
22 under 22 in 22.

On SM-A115F using BigFooty.com mobile app

wow…laughable.

So you’d have to pay $700k a year for the next 5 years for a bloke that hasnt been worth anything near that, when he hasnt been injured and is actually playing AFL mind you, since he signed his current contract.

faaaaark that!.

i’d be asking the pies to chuck in two first rounders as part of the deal if thats the case!.

I’d balk at paying $500k a year.. he could spend 3 of the next 5 years like he’s spent the last two years.. injured and/or out of form.

the Pies can keep him.

Our "we are really s**t" thread is tame in comparison to the Hinkley thread(s). One poster was even suggesting to chastise Hinkley's wife on social media. They were shot down thankfully.
To be fair I've seen people posts talking about shooting people who run this club on this board, based on things like Thursday night selection. There's a lot of unhinged footy fans out there.

The Sack Hinkley thread will be in meltdown status when Clarkson chooses GWS or North and they're stuck with Hinkley another year (and hopefully more)
Clarkson looks to be going to North and is picking his team currently. I don't think Powaa will sack Hinkley this year but next year will be his final year. Not sure who they may go for but I reckon someone like Leppitsch is a chance.