Oppo Camp Non Geelong football (AFL) discussion 2022, part II

I only went and saw a handfull of games

But way back - when Geelong West when they were in the VFA - their home ground - well in between the boundary line and the fence - there was a conctrete bike track/veledrome cambered on about a 30 to 40 degree angle

And i can still picture this - players running full pelt for the ball - like Cameron did last night in the last qtr - but he used the fence to brace himself - well you couldnt do that at Geelong West - they would be running - they would go over the boundary line - and then suddenly be on this angled concrete bike track at full pace ( with the old football stops on ) and gingerely trying to come to a halt - how someone didnt fall over and fracture their arm - or badly graze their knee is beyond me

That was so dangerous
Were other grounds like that too?
I only went to the GW ground.
Maybe fortuitous that the comp had no wingers.

I only went and saw a handfull of games

But way back - when Geelong West when they were in the VFA - their home ground - well in between the boundary line and the fence - there was a conctrete bike track/veledrome cambered on about a 30 to 40 degree angle

And i can still picture this - players running full pelt for the ball - like Cameron did last night in the last qtr - but he used the fence to brace himself - well you couldnt do that at Geelong West - they would be running - they would go over the boundary line - and then suddenly be on this angled concrete bike track at full pace ( with the old football stops on ) and gingerely trying to come to a halt - how someone didnt fall over and fracture their arm - or badly graze their knee is beyond me

That was so dangerous
Yep, played my junior footy there. Was a nightmare!

As the opposition team, I know these things can be easier to do after a win, but credit to the Adelaide players for helping form the guard of honour for JK, then staying while he thanked each of them

Total contrast to what I saw from the Bulldogs last week during Joel's guard of honour & not sure it was really shown in tv (select camera angels...) - basically, one by one the Bulldogs players were turning their backs & walking off once Joel had been chaired past them

It meant that those at the start of the guard were getting near the centre square before Duncan & Hawkins had finished chairing off Joel - I can't remember another team where the players started walking off before the player being honoured had finished being chaired off

Total contrast to what I saw from the Bulldogs last week during Joel's guard of honour & not sure it was really shown in tv (select camera angels...) - basically, one by one the Bulldogs players were turning their backs & walking off once Joel had been chaired past them

It meant that those at the start of the guard were getting near the centre square before Duncan & Hawkins had finished chairing off Joel - I can't remember another team where the players started walking off before the player being honoured had finished being chaired off
The footage has been omitted from Kayo :think:

If Geelong did something similar, I would be embarrassed and pissed off - I'd like to think that the leaders at our club wouldn't accept that sort of thing either, and make it clear that when forming a guard of honour (even for an opposition player), it's about respect and acknowledging that player for next 60/X seconds

All teams do things differently, but it's those small things around that moment which really says a lot about the individual & the club - I know we like to hang shit on Richmond, but full credit to Dusty (his recommendation I believe) and the team who removed their premiership medals during Ablett's guard of honour

If Geelong did something similar, I would be embarrassed and pissed off - I'd like to think that the leaders at our club wouldn't accept that sort of thing either, and make it clear that when forming a guard of honour (even for an opposition player), it's about respect and acknowledging that player for next 6/X seconds

All teams do things differently, but it's those small things around that moment which really says a lot about the individual & the club - I know we like to hang s**t on Richmond, but full credit to Dusty (his recommendation I believe) and the team who removed their premiership medals during Ablett's guard of honour
Some clubs have class and others don't. Dogs haven't had class for what feels like a long time especially true since Bevo has been at the helm.

If Geelong did something similar, I would be embarrassed and pissed off - I'd like to think that the leaders at our club wouldn't accept that sort of thing either, and make it clear that when forming a guard of honour (even for an opposition player), it's about respect and acknowledging that player for next 60/X seconds

All teams do things differently, but it's those small things around that moment which really says a lot about the individual & the club - I know we like to hang s**t on Richmond, but full credit to Dusty (his recommendation I believe) and the team who removed their premiership medals during Ablett's guard of honour
Doesn't surprise me. The apple doesn't fall far from the tree at Footscray.

sydney vs collingwood is a juicy one. Almost barracking for collingwood as i want to either play one of melbourne/brisbane/sydney week one of finals... if we play collingwood, i want it to be the grand final where i think we will get them if we make it. I can see them pinching a friday night MCG prelim as opposed to getting us in a GF day game.

Some clubs have class and others don't. Dogs haven't had class for what feels like a long time especially true since Bevo has been at the helm.

I can still remember the Dogs' "wog squad" (their term, not mine) of Tony Liberatore, Jose Romero and Paul Dimmatina who would try to unsettle their opponents by doing dodgy stuff off the ball in the late 90's in order to get back into games.

Some wounds never heal. Carey is a s**t bloke and he shouldn't go poking the bear.
Yeah and shows no awareness. Cheated with his mates wife, then has years of issues including assualt but manages to get a cushy job on TV.

Meanwhile Stevens has to watch the bloke who slept with his wife and then assualted someone else if he wants some escape from working his full time job.

If Stevens has been bagging him behind his back, fair enough I reckon. What a bitter pill Stevens has to swallow.

Suck it up Carey you flog, you've had a grossly unfair run.

Bad luck for Grundy who was just on the verge of a senior return.

has there ever been a side in the history of the modern game where you could put a strong argument for a first year 18 year old kid being a top four side's most important player like Daicos is to collingwood?? insanely good talent. Best since GAJ and Judd

That's why it's utterly insane to declare them premiership favourites. Young Daicos is a gun but clearly their best player this season. You need your 22-30 year olds at that level too. If he had Pendles and Swan in their prime next to him they'd be scary.

He really is a quality person IMO Dusty. As hard as Richmond supporters make it, I can't help but like him.

Steven Motlop announced is immediate retirement. I reckon we had the best of him. I recall once on the Mangrook footy show they thought that Steven was the better of the leading indigenous small forwards of the time (Eddie Betts and Cyril Rioli).
Good luck to him for the future.