Non-Lions discussion 2023

None of this reassures me about a potential match up against the dees. Both Fritsch and Kosi play very very well against us.

Our only hope is they continue to play Tom McDonald. The spud I had with my steak was less cooked than that fine fellow.

Crikey.

They've finished clearly on top of the ladder, won tonight and have their best player to come back.

People seem to just see what they want to see.

They were lucky Melbourne were very poor in their execution but who's to say they won't be better either.

Both of these teams will be very strong opposition whoever they play

It’s hard when people come at your team :(

The supporters maybe wary but there were only positives out of that game for our premiership hopes. The team should be ****-a-hoop at how the chips are falling our way this season.

The Dees are an injury to almost 32 year old Max Gawn away from going into oblivion.

Gawn ,Petracca and Oliver were clearly the best 3 possession getters on the ground and they still got done.

I think Max just said Collingwood are the best team in the comp. so we need to replay that to our guys if we come up against them.

McRae going all 'stats are for losers' in the post-game presser and honestly I respect it.

Without referencing what happened tonight there's something empowering about losing all the key stats and winning.

I know it annoys the hell out of me when we get done and Fages talks about us winning all the key stats 'we pride ourselves on'.

Geez Goodwin just did a total dump on Maynard. A bit salty. Unlike him.

the thing that worries me about melbourne is they have arguably 3 of the top 10 players in the competition in gawn, oliver and petracca and all play in the same portion of the ground. if they get midfield dominance they are scary and hard to wrestle control back from. for us, stifling the impact of gawn in particular must be something the coaching staff put a lot of work into if we win against port - he is usually the catalyst for the rest of melbourne to lift and is definitely their most important player this finals series

Still more confident we could take care of Collingwood rather than Melbourne.

Agree. If we have to face them both, Melbourne at the Gabba & Collingwood at the G feels much more comfortable than the other way around.

Without referencing what happened tonight there's something empowering about losing all the key stats and winning.

I know it annoys the hell out of me when we get done and Fages talks about us winning all the key stats 'we pride ourselves on'.

Geez Goodwin just did a total dump on Maynard. A bit salty. Unlike him.

Alan Richardson dumped on Zorko, so they have form.
Goodwin is one loss away next week from a year long of talk about finals chokers.

Are you worried about our chances against either of these sides Grasshopper?

Maybe Lions v Port on Saturday night could be a Grand Final preview. Would be good if only for the Victorian footy punditry melts.
I think if we can break even at stoppages against either, we probably win.

Unfortunately our midfield has arguably been the least consistent part of our game in recent weeks.

But assuming we are able to do that...

The key against Collingwood will be stunting their ball movement, which we did by cutting off their handball chains up here and by setting up well behind the ball in Melbourne.

Against Melbourne the key will be going around Lever, May and Gawn, or bringing it to ground if we can't. We've shown we're capable of it, but will need to do it for as close to 4 quarters as possible to make sure of it.

Every team has warts, and on what I saw tonight, Collingwood's very best may indeed be the best, but I think we are capable of playing at our very best for longer in a game. As I've been saying all season, Collingwood play in bursts where they look absolutely electrifying, but for large swathes of games they are frankly rather ordinary. That will be our opportunity to strike if we play them, and provided our heads are in the right place we should be good enough to take advantage.

Are you worried about our chances against either of these sides Grasshopper?

Maybe Lions v Port on Saturday night could be a Grand Final preview. Would be good if only for the Victorian footy punditry melts.
Oh! And a Brisbane v Port Grand Final would be simply magnificent. From both a spectacle (ie quality of game) perspective and from a neutral venue perspective. And just to shove it down the throats of all the Victorian "experts" who have been positively orgasmic about at least one of Collingwood, Melbourne or Carlton at any point in time this year.

Collingwood fans are the hooded youth at the train station asking you for a lighter

Tigers fans have done hard time and scare me
I have a story about Richmond fans.

Went to the 2017 Preliminary Final between Richmond and GWS. 94,500 people there, 94,000 (conservative estimate) barracking for Richmond. Spine tingling atmosphere, coupled with the late arvo start on a glorious warm and sunny late September Melbourne day, just perfect.

Anyway it's looking like a Richmond win and then midway through the last quarter they kick one that basically seals it. Fans in the stands around me going absolute ape droppings.

Anyway I look over to the bay next to mine, and there's this mean looking dude. Massive bloke, mid 40s probably, leather bikie type jacket, huge beard, tattoos and piercings everywhere. The kind you would not want to meet in a dark alley. Probably the exact kind of guy you're talking about. Yet here he was, in the middle of the MCG crowd...

BAWLING HIS EYES OUT!

Growing up in Tassie before moving to Sydney and then Brisbane, this was really my best experience of what footy means to people in Melbourne. Particularly when their team hasn't made a Grand Final for 35 years.

So Richmond fans have a (small) soft spot in my heart after that game. Even tho I wanted GWS to win, it was just a great day at the footy, and I really was pleased for all the Tigers fans who had copped so much for so long. Particularly the younger ones who had only ever seen their team be complete rubbish.

What they dished up doesn't help me with my expectations especially since we haven't put our own finals serving on the table yet ... that being said nothing there screams dominance or team-to-beat and no trace of gee-I-hope-don't-play-x in my heart.

Rock on Sat evening!

Other funny thing is that if this happened in NRL it wouldn't even be a question- would be weeks. If a player is falling and is collected High they still get a consequence. No one means to do it unless they’re a thug.

Non-Lions discussion 2023