Mega Thread Oh yeah ... did you know there are 17 other teams? - General AFL discussion #9 - Blues posters only

Jail might be the best place for Ben tbh.

Compare:
Fremantle will impose disciplinary action on recruit Shane Yarran who was charged by West Australian police on Saturday night.
Yarran, 27, had been issued with a move on notice, before being spoken to by police having failed to obey the notice, issued in the Perth suburb of Leederville.
The forward was then charged with disorderly behaviour in public, and failing to obey an order given by police.

***************************************************************************************************************************
"We understand Ben Cousins was standing in the middle of Canning Highway directing traffic," Seven News Perth reporter Blake Johnson said.
"The guys who wash windows here where you get off the freeway said he was hanging around with them for about three hours but he appeared to be incoherent."
Witnesses reported that Cousins at one stage tried to hop on the back of a stranger's motorbike and multiple police vehicles, plus the WA Police helicopter, attended the scene.
"He was really lost, confused and making no sense at all," a witness told Seven News.
Cousins was taken to hospital by St John's Ambulance.

Compare:
Fremantle will impose disciplinary action on recruit Shane Yarran who was charged by West Australian police on Saturday night.
Yarran, 27, had been issued with a move on notice, before being spoken to by police having failed to obey the notice, issued in the Perth suburb of Leederville.
The forward was then charged with disorderly behaviour in public, and failing to obey an order given by police.

***************************************************************************************************************************
"We understand Ben Cousins was standing in the middle of Canning Highway directing traffic," Seven News Perth reporter Blake Johnson said.
"The guys who wash windows here where you get off the freeway said he was hanging around with them for about three hours but he appeared to be incoherent."
Witnesses reported that Cousins at one stage tried to hop on the back of a stranger's motorbike and multiple police vehicles, plus the WA Police helicopter, attended the scene.
"He was really lost, confused and making no sense at all," a witness told Seven News.
Cousins was taken to hospital by St John's Ambulance.
What's your point? Yarran has been disciplined by his employers. If Ben was still with a football club, I reckon he would have copped the same.

Jail might be the best place for Ben tbh.

Jail will only make his problems worst. We need incarceration, but similar to how they do it in Singapore where they get 3 months intensive help.
What's your point? Yarran has been disciplined by his employers. If Ben was still with a football club, I reckon he would have copped the same.

Yarran was charged. Cousins for the umpteenth time will probably walk away until the next time. Maybe Jake King should visit him and his family and explain that they are just victims of the bikie gangs that produce, distribute and profit from ruining people's lives. He can apologize for them but explain what great blokes they are, and that he would do anything for them. I hope Jake King never has to see his kids lose their souls to drugs.

I'm on the #Dusty4Charlie bandwagon.
Would be a fabulous story if he won, given all the turmoil in his life in the past 8 months.
Its pretty much anyone but Dangerfield i want to win though, Danger comes across as a self absorbed pill imo.

FYI - There is a very good thread on the main board about the demise of the Fitzroy Football Club. For those of you that are too young to remember what happened to them, or someone like me who remembers bits of it, then it's well worth a read. Some Fitzroy supporters have posted as well, who we don't see very often around here.

Would be a fabulous story if he won, given all the turmoil in his life in the past 8 months.
Its pretty much anyone but Dangerfield i want to win though, Danger comes across as a self absorbed pill imo.

I'm all for people turning their lives around, but taking someone with some history of being off the rails and at the very least rude or disrespectful to a woman, and championing them winning the highest individual award as being a fabulous story given all his turmoil (some of it self inflicted), while simultaneously dismissing someone who hasn't got a chequered history as coming across as a self absorbed pill .... just seems your views on such things are a little askew.

FYI - There is a very good thread on the main board about the demise of the Fitzroy Football Club. For those of you that are too young to remember what happened to them, or someone like me who remembers bits of it, then it's well worth a read. Some Fitzroy supporters have posted as well, who we don't see very often around here.

Bring them back. Send them to Tassie to make it semi viable. How many here would buy a membership to keep them going?

People power and cash could see it happen. It won't, but it would be nice.

Bring them back. Send them to Tassie to make it semi viable. How many here would buy a membership to keep them going?

I'd buy a membership, probably a few.
And I think alot of people would do that as well.

Imagine if Gill signed off on that - he'd be a hero.

I'm not sure they would enjoy the process of being resurrected just so they can be re-located all over again.

That's just cruel.

I'm all for people turning their lives around, but taking someone with some history of being off the rails and at the very least rude or disrespectful to a woman, and championing them winning the highest individual award as being a fabulous story given all his turmoil (some of it self inflicted), while simultaneously dismissing someone who hasn't got a chequered history as coming across as a self absorbed pill .... just seems your views on such things are a little askew.

Maybe i'm jaded with all the media hype around Dangerfield, when he is not even the best player in the league (Buddy Franklin is, without a shadow of the doubt)

Some of his comments about leaving Adelaide and Phil Walsh's passing left me cold, i feel like he is too clinical, if it was me, i wouldn't have left under similar circumstances for love nor money.

Not defending Martin's chopstick incident, but he had his detractors before that, cause of his tatts and hanging out with bikies etc. He just comes across as a likeable rogue.

Probably my comments about Danger were harsh, maybe i'm blinkered because i think he did the wrong thing leaving Adelaide so soon after Walsh's passing. Part of me just doesn't understand how you could leave a footy club after all that. (Girlfriend, family issues aside)

NO JUST NO, and no it wouldn't be a fabulous story! :straining:

This!

Maybe i'm jaded with all the media hype around Dangerfield, when he is not even the best player in the league (Buddy Franklin is, without a shadow of the doubt)

Some of his comments about leaving Adelaide and Phil Walsh's passing left me cold, i feel like he is too clinical, if it was me, i wouldn't have left under similar circumstances for love nor money.

Not defending Martin's chopstick incident, but he had his detractors before that, cause of his tatts and hanging out with bikies etc. He just comes across as a likeable rogue.

Probably my comments about Danger were harsh, maybe i'm blinkered because i think he did the wrong thing leaving Adelaide so soon after Walsh's passing. Part of me just doesn't understand how you could leave a footy club after all that. (Girlfriend, family issues aside)
That's really easy to say from the comfort of your armchair.

I'm not sure they would enjoy the process of being resurrected just so they can be re-located all over again.

That's just cruel.

I refer back to Paul Roos saying that the players wanted to go to Brisbane in 1986 when they would have been a stand alone relocated entity. They were sick of not having resources or money and their future under scrutiny.

I don't know, given how it turned out, do you think Fitzroy supporters would rather an interstate move than being a Brisbane Lions afterthought or keeping the memory alive in the Amateurs?

Frankly, I'd have two bases, one in Melbourne, one in Tassie and the reserves in the VFL.

He definitely needs help. I'm not sure how it happens at this stage though. If it's still not sunk in for Ben, it likely never will. From memory, he had a child in the last couple of years, didn't he? I was really hoping that might have helped him.

Wasn't there suggestions that his brain has been irreversibly damaged as a result of rhe abuse? Meaning even if he gets clean this is a lifelong issue.

Didn't know about that. As much as I feel sorry for him, he has bought all of this on himself.

Robbo's take on Ben Cousins...
Discussing the latest Cousins developments on 360, Robbo came up with this as his solution...

"He's got to go away, he's got to go away. I hope he commits a crime, so he can go to jail, and I mean that...."

"... I hope he commits a crime..."

I can't believe they allow this man to be in the media. He's gone from dumb as dog shit to just repulsive and sickening to watch. Jail may or may not help Ben, that's up for debate. But "I hope he commits a crime..." Really Robbo?!

Robbo's take on Ben Cousins...
Discussing the latest Cousins developments on 360, Robbo came up with this as his solution...

"He's got to go away, he's got to go away. I hope he commits a crime, so he can go to jail, and I mean that...."

"... I hope he commits a crime..."

I can't believe they allow this man to be in the media. He's gone from dumb as dog shit to just repulsive and sickening to watch. Jail may or may not help Ben, that's up for debate. But "I hope he commits a crime..." Really Robbo?!

Agreed. Robbo may look a bit like Dr Phil but he's not really qualified to decide what the best thing for Ben is. Keep those opinions to off camera chats.