Ovens and Murray Part 2

Does anyone else reckon this GF doesn't have the ususal hype. Looking at the first semi, seems like theres alb then daylight. Be interested in the opinion someone from yarra but surely from what i've seen players like o'brian, mcabe, james, bigger are players that could win you a flag.

Did you mean players like O'Bryan, McCabe, James and bigger are players that couldn't win you a flag?? (I presume it is..). I was only at Yarra this year, but I'm almost certain O'Bryan, and 100% sure James, were part of the 06 premiership side.. Bigger's been given a harsh wrap on this thread and has done everything asked of him since he's come back into the senior side. He's been a sold performer for years at Yarra and deserves a premiership more than anyone. McCabe's a dangerous prospect, particular up forward, and 5-6 goals definitely isn't beyond him.

This GF probably doesn't have the normal hype, because Albury rightly go in red-hot favourites, but Ednie, Stevens and Hargreaves are all capable of having a massive say in the outcome and if they get a good start anything's possible.. Go pigeons :thumbsu:

yeh i think they have secured him including his brother and a few shep fellas what will be handy ,also Pete tossoll has been given the green light and will spend as much money as wat he thinks it will tak eto win the grand final

I find this interesting, i would've thought Corowa were closer to Myrtleford money wise than Albury. Where is this sudden splurge going to come from? Do they have their own Colin Joss ready to tip in a few $$$$

[/b]

I find this interesting, i would've thought Corowa were closer to Myrtleford money wise than Albury. Where is this sudden splurge going to come from? Do they have their own Colin Joss ready to tip in a few $$$$

I agree velvet, not sure where the cash would be coming from, but then again Corowa have got a good record of buying outside, rather than developing their own, and paying them accordingly, Schmidt being a good example, was their best player and paid peanuts apparently, no wonder he took off to SA, the experience will do him good, but would also be rewarded financially, Corowa have got some good kids coming through, they should be promoting them.

Did you mean players like O'Bryan, McCabe, James and bigger are players that couldn't win you a flag?? (I presume it is..). I was only at Yarra this year, but I'm almost certain O'Bryan, and 100% sure James, were part of the 06 premiership side.. Bigger's been given a harsh wrap on this thread and has done everything asked of him since he's come back into the senior side. He's been a sold performer for years at Yarra and deserves a premiership more than anyone. McCabe's a dangerous prospect, particular up forward, and 5-6 goals definitely isn't beyond him.

This GF probably doesn't have the normal hype, because Albury rightly go in red-hot favourites, but Ednie, Stevens and Hargreaves are all capable of having a massive say in the outcome and if they get a good start anything's possible.. Go pigeons :thumbsu:

Not saying they don't deserve it mate or on their day their not good enough, you can only go on form and what you see there a bit off.

Anyone got any thoughts on the way the GF will go? Best on? Key match ups?

in the 3rds i would have to tip lavi with their recent form against raiders to good to go past.....key match up will be who will stop GUS??? he won the leo dean on monday night and has been in great form all year and played a couple of senior games as a reward.....

Best on:its a toss up between angus and lewis gardner...

the reverses should be a formality for the undefeated tigers...but expect some fireworks from the dogs should albury kick away..

Best on: albury has many good players but cant see a match up for sam cross so i expect to kick a bag...on the other hand if the bulldogs were able to pull off the unbievable i would guy telford would have to have a day out...
also heard luke trew was asked to play because he qualifies but said he only came back to play seniors so made himself unavailable...poor effort they need all hands on deck to be a chance...

the big one....who can go past the tigers what a season.....i would nearly put my house on them expect i still think yarra have enough class to push them all the way...forget the 2nd semi yarra nearly gave up after being blown away early and albury put the que in the rack in the last quater...whatever the result i think it will be a cracker....ill go albury by 20 points.....key match up is definatly in the ruck...big cal has had his best season by far and should give first use to the likes of daly mackie and hyde all day long.....do yarra play lonergan in the ruck??? if they do who plays on fowler?? so many question for craig to ponder...i hope he can work it out amd give albury a real run for their money....

Best on: it all depends if ablury give them a flogging i would think joel mackie just because he is class through the middle and up forward....if its tight and albury win i would one of maher or carroll would be a job done back and set up plenty of forward drives....
if yarra were able to win which i hope they do i would think one of stevens ednie or barnes would have to have a blinder and would be my pick from them...

wouldnt be so sure about lavi thirds besides that 1 game have a look at there previous matches i agree "GUS" is a very good player and needs to be stopped but there are alot of good players in the raiders line up who can get the job done

I agree velvet, not sure where the cash would be coming from, but then again Corowa have got a good record of buying outside, rather than developing their own, and paying them accordingly, Schmidt being a good example, was their best player and paid peanuts apparently, no wonder he took off to SA, the experience will do him good, but would also be rewarded financially, Corowa have got some good kids coming through, they should be promoting them.
Since i live in the town and have a fair idea on whats going on there is no way we have the money to compete with albury and every other club in o&m sure we have some good kids but they are 2 years off and with outside leagues paying money how do u keep them.Just remember some players said they went to albury not for the money well thats load of crap,when u offer x amount of money then u read in the paper they gone to albury.Just one more point SPARGO hasnt coach a team of battles there was nothing wrong with carroll last year give him the players and he would be coaching a grand final side

Would Yarra consider trying to rough up Albury early? Albury been the class side, who's the more physical?

I'd be surprised if Yarra went down this route. I think they'd be more concerned with applying as much scoreboard pressure as they can early and having a real focus of beating their opponent to the ball. Albury smashed them early in the 2nd semi, and the most likely way Yarra have of winning is turning this trend around and capitalising on their opportunities early..

Sounds like a disgruntled player. In 2009 corowa had Clark, Oliver, Ambrose, Ferraro, Bonat and Carpenter that were not Corowa or Rutherglen juniors. So that means that 15 each week in the seniors were developed locally. Schmidt never wanted money, he is great mates with blokes like Brendan Eyers and Darrell Spencer who played over 300 games each on standard match payments and i think if you asked him he would've been embarrassed to accept more than these guys. Schmidt is exactly what country footy should be about, great local player representing his town, his decision was a lifestyle decision and the opportunity to play the best standard of footy he could.

Can somebody please post the selected sides for the seniors?

Thanks in advance.

not sure if i am right or wrong but i drove past alburys ground and their premier sign has already been taken down.........is it already in the shop having 09 put on it??? i wonder if they got an early bird fee

Tips and Key players for all 3 grades tomorrow please
not just the seniors i want to know more about the seconds and thirds

not sure if i am right or wrong but i drove past alburys ground and their premier sign has already been taken down.........is it already in the shop having 09 put on it??? i wonder if they got an early bird fee

I think it's been down for a while, it was getting a bit dated and they prob realised it needed to come down.

I agree with FPC about the spargo/carroll comment, in fact i'll take it a step further. You give the Albury playing list to any coach in country footy and they'd well with them. But i think spargo deserves credit for keeping them on the straight and narrow and making sure different characters don't step too far outta line.

In the 3rds Lavington should be too stong withthe advantage playing at home and should win by around 4 goals. Lewis Gardiner, Luke Mcneil Angus Mcdiarmid hold the key for Lavington.
While for the Raiders they will have to get big games out of Josh Mccudden, Tyson Bradsworth and John Spencer if they are any chance.

In the seconds Albury are undeafted and should be favourites but Wodonga should get a few back from the seniors this week. Zac Jones should be back and a few others. While for Albury Trent Crothers and Luke Daly have had very good seasons and are the key for the Tigers.

While in the Seniors Albury should go in very stong favourites after beating Yarrawonga by 9 goals a couple of weeks ago. Albury should be too stong arounf the midfield with guys like Shaun Daly ,Chris Hyde ,Joel Mackie ,Charles Gaylard and Andrew Carey just to name a few.
While for Yarra Craig Ednie, Michael Stevens , Scott Oswald and Xavier Leslie will have to win there fair share in the midfield and get it down to Mark Keenan and Tim Hargreaves if they want to keep it close.

Albury Vs YARRAWONGA.

Have been done the local and cant believe what I saw. Andy Carey and Joel Mackie amon others including Luke Daly, and McClay, drinkin schooners!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Things up Albury way are confident, so the boys have started celebrating early.

Saw them train during the week, and Carey and "the sniper" Hyde were running off the square and hitting tackle bags off the ball. The old Tiger tactics havent changed. Hit off the ball, hurt players. They must be scared of Yarra, worrying about these tactics.

Tip - PIGEONS BY 11 points, only based on Albuy's attitude with the boys drinking the night before the game.:cool:

Albury Vs YARRAWONGA.

Have been done the local and cant believe what I saw. Andy Carey and Joel Mackie amon others including Luke Daly, and McClay, drinkin schooners!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Things up Albury way are confident, so the boys have started celebrating early.

Saw them train during the week, and Carey and "the sniper" Hyde were running off the square and hitting tackle bags off the ball. The old Tiger tactics havent changed. Hit off the ball, hurt players. They must be scared of Yarra, worrying about these tactics.

Tip - PIGEONS BY 11 points, only based on Albuy's attitude with the boys drinking the night before the game.:cool:

Looks like Cal and co knew exactly what they were doing. Absolute massacre today, Albury far too good.

Don't be surprised if Mackie finds himself at an AFL club next year.

Albury Vs YARRAWONGA.

Albury had every right to be cofident winning the grand final by 70 points today. Game was over by half time with Did Simpson meadlist Joel Mackie setting up the win with 3 goals in the first half. Well done to the Tigers.

Congratulations to the Albury FC on their win yesterday. They've looked a class above their opposition from the start of the year and showed that emphatically in the finals. On the Did Simpson, is it time to take it off the boys controlling the game in the middle & possibly have a panel of the next tier of umps watching from the side & voting on the medal?

Looks like Cal and co knew exactly what they were doing. Absolute massacre today, Albury far too good.

Don't be surprised if Mackie finds himself at an AFL club next year.

Would be very suprised if mackie got to an afl club.. Seeing he couldnt cut a regular spot in a struggling Woodville team early last year and left when things got a bit hard for him!

Can any Bulldogs fans enlighten me as to why Luke Trew didn't suit up yesterday in the Magoos ? Apart from dominating the ball Albury also intimidated the Wodonga youngsters, something Trewey wouldn't have allowed to happen.

On the radio yesterday they said J. Mackie won the Did Simpson medal but then I saw in the Border Mail to my surprise Hyde had won it. Mackie was 10 times better than Hyde and te comment made by chiller10 about having a panel vote for the best player on the ground needs to be thought about as nearly everyone there would have said Mackie was best on groungd a a long way.