Ovens and Murray Part 2

Im pretty disappointed with this Travis Hodgson bagging tbh. Unless the people baggin him have been in any of North's changerooms or listened to his talks with the playing group, then they have no real idea about his coaching ability or the tactics he directs them to carry out.....

Btw, Kane Goode is still fairly young....

I have been thinking about your response for a bit Shagger and granted you make some valid points, especially as i haven't heard Hoggie talk to his group of players for the last couple of years.

However one comment that i would make is that sometimes as a coach its not what you say to players, rather that its not what is said. Surely one of the roles of being a coach is to instill the discipline or ethics you want your team to use. If you dont give your players direction as to 'targeting players' then you are complicit to their behavior.

An excellent example of this is some coaches drilling their players to bench themselves after giving away a 50m penalty... but I guess if Travis did this a few weeks ago he would have had a team below the required 14 players needed to continue a match?

As for Goodie - a fair cop of the sauce bottle on using the age defence. Discipline can be learn't at any age - its a question of keeping the ego and brain in check. An expectation of the coach. Eg. Joel Mackie and Albury perhaps?

Thats my two cents anyway.

Heard that Benalla have been approached ,on the quiet, to return to the O&M should Myrt not be able to go around in 2010.....Anyone know?

i heard something like this about 3-4 weeks ago but nothing more since. reckon it's on the cards tho if myrtl fall over as they will definitely want a 10th team in. here's hoping tho that myrtl can work things out, maybe the partnership with bright at senior level is the way to go, because i think it is important that there's a team from the alpine region in the comp

Im pretty disappointed with this Travis Hodgson bagging tbh. Unless the people baggin him have been in any of North's changerooms or listened to his talks with the playing group, then they have no real idea about his coaching ability or the tactics he directs them to carry out.

As far as I'm concerned, he has done a fair job with the players he has had. Alot of youngsters have come through this year and it was only 2-3 weeks ago that people thought North would be playing finals.

Btw, Kane Goode is still fairly young, and Shambles I think he has done a fair enough job this year coming back from a bad ankle last year.

I think if it's true that Hodgson has signed on for another year it shows just how much the NAFC respect his coaching ability. I guess unless your actually apart of the club, then you won't be able to appeciate the reasons why.

no arguments that north have done a great job this year to get so close to playing finals. they remained on the verge of finals until the death despite a number of injuries to key players and purely in terms of that they have had a really good season no doubt. of course the coach has to take the lions share of credit for that

just like the coach has to take the lions share of blame for the disgraceful way his team conducted themselves on field v rovers a few weeks back. and in the GF replay v wang at wang in 08. and in the GF itself in 07. people can defend them all they like, but there is no argument that nth have targeted key opposition players in the physical sense in each of these games and have gone well outside the rules of the game in doing so

the fact that it has happened on numerous occasions in important games, with no acceptance by anyone at the club of any responsibility for their actions (and in fact trying to actually blame others), is what has tarnished their reputation around the league and has led to posts such as those which appear on here

i heard something like this about 3-4 weeks ago but nothing more since. reckon it's on the cards tho if myrtl fall over as they will definitely want a 10th team in. here's hoping tho that myrtl can work things out, maybe the partnership with bright at senior level is the way to go, because i think it is important that there's a team from the alpine region in the comp

What about Wagga?? I know there is a bit of history there - they wanted to come to O&M, then they didnt etc but with the changes around NSW/ACT AFL and in particular the farrer and riverina leagues, perhaps it is a chance to get Wagga into a pretty stable and very high quality league. Some pretty big drives for some clubs to Wagga though!!
Hopefully Myrtleford stay (either as they are or Eagles) and become more competitive soon, but surely the league bosses would consider Wagga as an option too???
Are there any Hume league clubs that anyone thinks could step up? There are a few that would do better than Myrtleford are at the moment.

Are there any Hume league clubs that anyone thinks could step up? There are a few that would do better than Myrtleford are at the moment.[/quote]

Stupid comment mate! Myrtleford may be struggling at the moment for a number of reasons, but they are a reasonably sized town that represents a region (and if they can get bright on board the alpine representation becomes stronger). Don't get caught in the trap of overrating any hume league team they are a mile off 9 other o&m teams, so why would the league consider replacing one ordinary team with another one.

Ok people stop standing up for Hodgey, he was overherd in his own clubrooms bragging about how in the granny he "hit him as hard as i possibly could and the bastard got up" if thats the sort of behaviour acceptable form a guy in charge of a footy club ill bare my arse in reid stret

Who the hell did u hear that off, mate i reckon if ur've heard that from your mate who heard it from a guy in wang who heard it from a drunk u should pull ur own head in unless u heard that then i wouldnt say to much at all!

Boss thoose words came from his mouth.... fact. I know you wouldnt belive st trav would be capible of this but your hero isnt the top bloke you keep telling your self he is.

All this talk about Myrtleford not being viable in the league

Myrtleford have some unbelievable kids coming through and look like they have a few recruits all but signed for next year from Melbourne, Adelaide and Tasmania

The future is very bright, no need for a merger (excuse the pun)

Myrtleford have some unbelievable kids coming through and look like they have a few recruits all but signed for next year from Melbourne, Adelaide and Tasmania

Its good to hear theres some young talent there, however if you are serious about players from melb, adelaide and tasmania that in itself raises questions about the club's ability to stay competitive. They wouldn't have the cash to keep blokes coming from these places over a number of seasons.

Are there any Hume league clubs that anyone thinks could step up? There are a few that would do better than Myrtleford are at the moment.

Stupid comment mate! Myrtleford may be struggling at the moment for a number of reasons, but they are a reasonably sized town that represents a region (and if they can get bright on board the alpine representation becomes stronger). Don't get caught in the trap of overrating any hume league team they are a mile off 9 other o&m teams, so why would the league consider replacing one ordinary team with another one.[/quote]

The league did it (eventually) in 1979 with Lavington, from TDFL (I think) and from there I would argue that the Blues/Panthers have played some competitive footy...

Anyway, I raised the question in the event that Myrtleford do not play in the O&M from whatever of the number of reasons. Surely the league is looking into a few different options in case Myrtleford do not stay. I would think it would be foolish for a Board to sit there with their fingers crossed hoping the Saints stay, without investigating some other options, even if they seem a bit left field.

Stupid comment mate! Myrtleford may be struggling at the moment for a number of reasons, but they are a reasonably sized town that represents a region (and if they can get bright on board the alpine representation becomes stronger). Don't get caught in the trap of overrating any hume league team they are a mile off 9 other o&m teams, so why would the league consider replacing one ordinary team with another one.

The league did it (eventually) in 1979 with Lavington, from TDFL (I think) and from there I would argue that the Blues/Panthers have played some competitive footy...

Anyway, I raised the question in the event that Myrtleford do not play in the O&M from whatever of the number of reasons. Surely the league is looking into a few different options in case Myrtleford do not stay. I would think it would be foolish for a Board to sit there with their fingers crossed hoping the Saints stay, without investigating some other options, even if they seem a bit left field.[/quote]

And Wodonga Demons from the TDFL in late 80's became Wodonga Raiders, who have been a welcome addition to the O&M.
Bottom line is Albury - 55,000 people, 3 teams. Wang 25,000 people, 2 teams. Corowa 5500, Yarrawonga 6000. Myrtleford 3100 people.

Would these potential signings be based on the viable re-launch of the tobacco plant and uncle chop chop?

Anyway, I raised the question in the event that Myrtleford do not play in the O&M from whatever of the number of reasons. Surely the league is looking into a few different options in case Myrtleford do not stay. I would think it would be foolish for a Board to sit there with their fingers crossed hoping the Saints stay, without investigating some other options, even if they seem a bit left field.

And Wodonga Demons from the TDFL in late 80's became Wodonga Raiders, who have been a welcome addition to the O&M.
Bottom line is Albury - 55,000 people, 3 teams. Wang 25,000 people, 2 teams. Corowa 5500, Yarrawonga 6000. Myrtleford 3100 people.[/QUOTE]
Myrtleford came from the O&K

Very weak league

Had a look at Wang on the weekend and they looked very impressive! Ran and shared the ball particularly well. The most pleasing thing for the coach would have been the fact they were able to win so well without a big impact from McCormick. He was obviously gone late in the 3rd quarter but had had little impact on the game up until then. The Wang supporters would be very happy with the form of the turncoats - Allan boys

Two comments for 2009 Finals Campaign

Jon McCormick is a great bloke, and those who continue to bad mouth him, are jealous they don't have the talent that he has in his footy boot. So bugger off !!

Two, hard calls are going to be needed at Yarrawonga, if they want to get to the Grand Final. People wont agree with this, and frankly I dont care, but you need players who can get the ball, and as an attacking player Dean Bigger couldnt get a kick at the Sherrin factory. He might have beaten Doswell last week, but he was only 60% fit with a crook shoulder, so didnt enter many contests, so his scalp doesnt count. He may have tagged Hyde last time, but Albury will target him this week, and Hyde will roam free, mark my words. Albury have been training hard on blocking and hitting off the square, saw a training session, they are targeting players !!!

Josh Hammond played out of position all year in the ruck, and when they get a ruckman back, they drop him. Bull shit decision. The kids can play, should be back in the side this week. Would carve up a wing in a final. Hammond is not looked at by selectors and thats a worry. Seems the old mates policy is in play, according to a lot of players after the Wodonga games.

Wodonga will beat Wang then beat Yarra, and go on to win the flag, Albury are very suspect, that comes from inside the Tiger den. Another scrap between Mackie and Koehler may have resulted in broken bones, and one or both may miss this week. It true, the Tigers are yellow and black !!!:cool:

Jon McCormick is a great bloke, and those who continue to bad mouth him, are jealous they don't have the talent that he has in his footy boot. So bugger off !!

Two, hard calls are going to be needed at Yarrawonga, if they want to get to the Grand Final. People wont agree with this, and frankly I dont care, but you need players who can get the ball, and as an attacking player Dean Bigger couldnt get a kick at the Sherrin factory. He might have beaten Doswell last week, but he was only 60% fit with a crook shoulder, so didnt enter many contests, so his scalp doesnt count. He may have tagged Hyde last time, but Albury will target him this week, and Hyde will roam free, mark my words. Albury have been training hard on blocking and hitting off the square, saw a training session, they are targeting players !!!

Josh Hammond played out of position all year in the ruck, and when they get a ruckman back, they drop him. Bull shit decision. The kids can play, should be back in the side this week. Would carve up a wing in a final. Hammond is not looked at by selectors and thats a worry. Seems the old mates policy is in play, according to a lot of players after the Wodonga games.

Wodonga will beat Wang then beat Yarra, and go on to win the flag, Albury are very suspect, that comes from inside the Tiger den. Another scrap between Mackie and Koehler may have resulted in broken bones, and one or both may miss this week. It true, the Tigers are yellow and black !!!:cool:
well spoken wonga yarra has allways treated their kids liks shit thats why they leave and nothing will change while all thoes dinosaurs are running the club.

Never heard such a load of crap in my life wonga!!

heard on the radio today that the wodonga magpie game should of gone into extra time but the umpire didn't pay the mark in the goal square any thoughts