List Mgmt. 'Play hardball': Mitch Robinson urges the Suns to re-draft Jack Martin

Should Gold Coast make a stand and re-draft Jack Martin?

Lol The Suns won't want to sabotage the attempts to re-sign Luko and Rowell and Anderson by being forced to take on Martin again and his cap draining contract.

It's 100 % certain Martin ends up at Carlton, it is what it is.
Why? IT's only for one season as has been stated and those names don't come out of contract till 2021 at earliest

Clubs only have to match the years and money to pick up a player in either draft.

He'll only cost GC or the Dees 600k in 2020.
Thanks for clarifying this. I was wondering why the scribes had been saying how Melb or Suns couldn't match his demand of $1m straight up. Thought it had to be like an FA offer where it is the total contract amount, not yearly breakdown that was the determining factor.

Jack wants to be paid more than Cripps or anyone else on the Carlton list?

Hope the kid loves pressure because the Lygon St faithful won't have much patience for him if he has struggles early

Exactly right. He's been able to scoot along under the radar while everyone's at the beach. Can he handle the spotlight in the big smoke?

Jack wants to be paid more than Cripps or anyone else on the Carlton list?

Hope the kid loves pressure because the Lygon St faithful won't have much patience for him if he has struggles early
600k over 5 years is not more than Cripps. Carlton have salary space up to 105% of the cap that has to be spent. No papley coniglio to give the money too means it will need to be shifted to front ended contracts. I think some played will get renegotiated deals in the coming months to get our cap up to that value. But Carlton have under spent for some time and will have the max over the cap expense the next few years. Martin will probably earn 1.2mil next season followed by 4 years at 450k which is pretty fair. Gives him a signing bonus of about 750k which keeps our 2020 picks intact and we still have a top 10 pick in 2019. Should have heaps to throw at Whitfield, Williams, Duncan, Wines, Papley, viney, Gray or boak. Carlton should be able to pick up 2 and still be in a great TPP position.

Clubs only have to match the years and money to pick up a player in either draft.

He'll only cost GC or the Dees 600k in 2020.
Slightly Wrong. They’ll need to pay 3mill over 5 years. So GC will need to offer a deal to a player that will not play for them and ask to leave again. I reckon he will just sit out 2020 and sign with Carlton with a similarly large contract a year later.

In 2020 its 600k not $1mil as some have stated and they can always trade him next year.

Also it's 2 years out and he'll still have to go in the draft in 2022.

He didn’t come up with the figure on his own.

His manager and the club have negotiated next year’s payment which will ensure he will get past Melbourne’s PSD, and given we’ve got to guess what they can accomodate, it had to be a high figure.

It has nothing to do with Martin’s actual worth which is obvious as he was happy to sign for 600k; it’s a measure to ensure he gets to Carlton.
Of course he'd be happy to sign for 600k. He's worth about 250-300k absolute max. A bottom 5 player at any club

600k over 5 years is not more than Cripps. Carlton have salary space up to 105% of the cap that has to be spent. No papley coniglio to give the money too means it will need to be shifted to front ended contracts. I think some played will get renegotiated deals in the coming months to get our cap up to that value. But Carlton have under spent for some time and will have the max over the cap expense the next few years. Martin will probably earn 1.2mil next season followed by 4 years at 450k which is pretty fair. Gives him a signing bonus of about 750k which keeps our 2020 picks intact and we still have a top 10 pick in 2019. Should have heaps to throw at Whitfield, Williams, Duncan, Wines, Papley, viney, Gray or boak. Carlton should be able to pick up 2 and still be in a great TPP position.

Based on the last few seasons, wish lists are nice but at the end of 2020, Carlton are more likely to end up with Zac Clarke, Connor Menadue and a "favourite son" in Lachie Henderson than any of that lot, let alone two of them.

Wont really need to add any of them to make progress. We will bd creeping up the ladder anyway. Players will want to jump on. We have every right to say GFY. Which I’ll be repeating to a lot on here when it turns.

This is a bizarre and stupid situation by both clubs.

First, on Carlton’s side, agonising over what he’s worth is stupid. You get a decent player just entering his prime, convince him that your (bottom 3) team is the place he wants to be... then quibble over the price? Sure, we were holding out for Papley and keeping some assets in reserve but it’s just poor form. Get the deal done, bring the guy in and get him settled and focusing on preseason and playing good footy in a new environment. Instead, we are stuck in some stupid game of emotional blackmail, hoping GC don’t exercise their right to redraft him (which would be perfectly legit of them) AND that Melbourne for some reason choose not to draft a bloke who would totally fit their needs. Absolute idiocy.

On GC side, geez. They had years to sort out his contract and an extension beyond this year. They didn’t. Too bad - you’ve had 7 years with the bloke, he’s given solid service at a basket case of a club, and now wants something different. You’ve traded out other guys in his age bracket who wanted to go, and this is the stand you are making, over 10 or so spots of draft position when you are loaded with (freebie) draft assets gifted to you by the league? This is your stand? To what end? Keep Martin for 1 miserable year until free agency and then he can go anyone? Try again to persuade him to stay (8th time is a charm, right?)? If it’s a question of price, again, figure out something you want and get it sorted rather than having this mess that the whole playing group is absolutely watching... Absolute idiocy.

There’s a reason why both teams are in the bottom 3 IMO. Richmond gave up pick 6 for Prestia, traded a second round pick for Caddy; even packaged up two picks to get a first rounder for Chris Yarran, a trade that didn’t pan out. In the end - they got good players into their footy club and have won premierships. Does anyone see Hawthorn or Geelong ballsing this up from either direction? Hawthorn let Buddy Franklin go for pick 19 when he wanted out, traded a heap to get Jaeger O’Meara. Their ‘rebuild’ included a top 4 home and away season last year. The AFL should have stepped in on this one and forced a mediation (and still should rather than letting the dick-swinging contest turn the draft into a shambles).
Spot on. How grown men couldn't get this done in trade week is baffling.

It is, literally, their jobs.

What a terrible reflection on the caliber of people we have working in the AFL.

I thought these bullshit contracts weren't allowed anymore?

Can someone explain to me how this isn't draft/trade tampering?

It's calling the bluff on Gold Coast. We offered them a fair trade for Martin, they refused, its their own fault for being too arrogant and stubborn to accept our offer.

Melbourne have ruled themselves our for Martin btw, he is Carlton bound. There is nothing in the AFL Rules that prevents player from nominating their own financial terms and contract in the PSD. (That's how Kurt Tippett ended up in Sydney)

Martin will excel in Navy Blue, of that you can be certain 👍👍👍👍

Of course he'd be happy to sign for 600k. He's worth about 250-300k absolute max. A bottom 5 player at any club

Why all the jealously and bitterness from rival flogs that we will get Martin for free then ?

Spare us the sympathy for Gold Coast Blah Blah. Fat Tony (Cochrane) brought this upon himself and his footy club, wouldn't want us to trade with the Suns again whilst he is chairman, the fool has no idea of the footy industry and how to run a footy club

Papley and Williams aside, I am not keen on any of those players that posted listed, Jack Viney especially is an obnxious, overrated twit that i really don't want at Carlton..

Would love Whitfield dearly, but clearly he will stay at GWS (he strikes me as a sensible, loyal type of guy)

Really? Docherty aside, name one player who has come to the Blues in the last ten years and and excelled....

Liam Jones. Caleb Marchbank (pre injury) Will Setterfield is going on nicely too, and probably a few others as well.

I still dont understand how carlton is a bottom four team?

such a nice mix of solid citizens going well and stars

I still dont understand how carlton is a bottom four team?

such a nice mix of solid citizens going well and stars
Really, a team has won two out of the last three flags with mostly solid citizens a decent coach and game plan.

List Mgmt. 'Play hardball': Mitch Robinson urges the Suns to re-draft Jack Martin