Draft Expert PMBangers 2023 Draft Thread

Pity Lachie Charleson isn't bigger because he's a bloody good mid too but likely if he gets drafted it will be as a small forward, reminds me a bit of Lachie Murphy who has eked out a pretty good AFL career as a small forward that is very handy around the forward stoppages.
Yep, he got his first of the game from a clearance at a F50 stoppage and it showed through consistently in his approach to crumbing work off marking contests, just knew where to be to win it and went at it at 100%

Was at TBO for the trial matches today and it was a bit of a treat! Haven't gotten to see a lot of the Country sides live so it was good to see the top enders (most of them) in the flesh at such a high level. Now both games were a little underwhelming with some sloppy decision making and skill execution, but that stuff happens with the additional pressure from rep games. A lot of players have grabbed my attention for the rest of the season, and quite a few bottom agers have well and truly put themselves on the radar for next year.

From game 1, most of the Metro kids I feel like I appropriately rated prior to this game, but I want to give a mention to Ollie Murphy from Sandringham, a 199 cm Key Defender that I think will act as a key bookend for Metro come champs time. He was one that had some really good moments, but Logan Morris also impressed, particularly in the third quarter when he played as a defender, I think that additional versatility will help enhance his draft stocks. apart from that, and this is a theme, it was mostly bottom agers that shined. Kako, Dattoli and Johnson for Metro were exciting every time they touched it, Dattoli in particular has started the year strong but was on something else today. For Country from Game 1, Tom Anastasopoulos and Angus Hastie from the Falcons have risen a bit in my eyes with strong performances, but Wil Dawson from Gippy is the one that'll get the biggest consensus raise in rankings with 3 goals. He's built a bit like Max Knobel from last year but is a lot more athletic and has better skills.

Game 2 was a bit worse for Country than the first one in result but quite a few players pushed their stocks up, with Lachlan Charleson showing off some great attributes for a small forward with his opportunism inside forward 50. Patrick Hughes was strong in the contest and a bit of a defensive headache for the Metro midfielders, I see a bit of Sam Berry in his game with less forward impact, so he's one I'm gonna spend more time on this year to see if there's enough athleticism there or if he's another inside mid bound for state leagues. Archer Day-Wicks had a day out, i was really impressed with him on debut against Tasmania and today he upped the bar again playing mostly in the midfield, just an outrageously smart player. For Metro it was mostly an even contribution, but Nash King, Tom Gross and Luca Grgeo stood up as bottom-agers, with Nate Caddy having quite a good outing after the Academy game. There'll be the classic arguments of whether or not he and Logan Morris are tall enough to play as Key Position Players at the next level, but I think in Caddy's case at least he's got enough of a difference to his play to overcome a couple of centimetres, and Morris could have a similar path to a Darcy Fogarty as a very strong one-on-one leading target.
How did Trembath go? He was stiff not to be in my top 30. But I reckon by the years end he will be around 25.

Not sure what game you were watching, Morris had 3 kicks in the 3rd term and two were a kick ins. Looked lost to me in defence as he was out marked a few times, doesn’t have the athleticism to be versatile and didn’t really look that mobile at all when watching him live today. There were lot better talls in both games than Morris. Let see what happens in the champs. Does his best work deep forward. Caddy looks to have the traits to be versatile and is miles ahead.

Not sure what Morris and Caddy have to do with Trembath.

Was at TBO for the trial matches today and it was a bit of a treat! Haven't gotten to see a lot of the Country sides live so it was good to see the top enders (most of them) in the flesh at such a high level. Now both games were a little underwhelming with some sloppy decision making and skill execution, but that stuff happens with the additional pressure from rep games. A lot of players have grabbed my attention for the rest of the season, and quite a few bottom agers have well and truly put themselves on the radar for next year.

From game 1, most of the Metro kids I feel like I appropriately rated prior to this game, but I want to give a mention to Ollie Murphy from Sandringham, a 199 cm Key Defender that I think will act as a key bookend for Metro come champs time. He was one that had some really good moments, but Logan Morris also impressed, particularly in the third quarter when he played as a defender, I think that additional versatility will help enhance his draft stocks. apart from that, and this is a theme, it was mostly bottom agers that shined. Kako, Dattoli and Johnson for Metro were exciting every time they touched it, Dattoli in particular has started the year strong but was on something else today. For Country from Game 1, Tom Anastasopoulos and Angus Hastie from the Falcons have risen a bit in my eyes with strong performances, but Wil Dawson from Gippy is the one that'll get the biggest consensus raise in rankings with 3 goals. He's built a bit like Max Knobel from last year but is a lot more athletic and has better skills.

Game 2 was a bit worse for Country than the first one in result but quite a few players pushed their stocks up, with Lachlan Charleson showing off some great attributes for a small forward with his opportunism inside forward 50. Patrick Hughes was strong in the contest and a bit of a defensive headache for the Metro midfielders, I see a bit of Sam Berry in his game with less forward impact, so he's one I'm gonna spend more time on this year to see if there's enough athleticism there or if he's another inside mid bound for state leagues. Archer Day-Wicks had a day out, i was really impressed with him on debut against Tasmania and today he upped the bar again playing mostly in the midfield, just an outrageously smart player. For Metro it was mostly an even contribution, but Nash King, Tom Gross and Luca Grgeo stood up as bottom-agers, with Nate Caddy having quite a good outing after the Academy game. There'll be the classic arguments of whether or not he and Logan Morris are tall enough to play as Key Position Players at the next level, but I think in Caddy's case at least he's got enough of a difference to his play to overcome a couple of centimetres, and Morris could have a similar path to a Darcy Fogarty as a very strong one-on-one leading target.
Not sure what game you were watching, Morris had 3 kicks in the 3rd term and two were a kick ins. Looked lost to me in defence as he was out marked a few times, doesn’t have the athleticism to be versatile and didn’t really look that mobile at all when watching him live today. There were lot better talls in both games than Morris. Let see what happens in the champs. Does his best work deep forward. Caddy looks to have the traits to be versatile and is miles ahead

How did Richmond F/S Charlie Naish go (IIRC he was listed wearing #14 for Vic Metro in game 2)?

How did Trembath go? He was stiff not to be in my top 30. But I reckon by the years end he will be around 25.
Ok without being outstanding, admittedly I was a look more focused on the Country players though.
Not sure what game you were watching, Morris had 3 kicks in the 3rd term and two were a kick ins. Looked lost to me in defence as he was out marked a few times, doesn’t have the athleticism to be versatile and didn’t really look that mobile at all when watching him live today. There were lot better talls in both games than Morris. Let see what happens in the champs. Does his best work deep forward. Caddy looks to have the traits to be versatile and is miles ahead
Could well have, I was more focussed on Country players but it felt like he popped up a bit to impact contests in the defensive half 🙏
How did Richmond F/S Charlie Naish go (IIRC he was listed wearing #14 for Vic Metro in game 2)?
Popped up a little bit, I've been impressed with his early season form in general though, not jumping out as a top ender ATM but I think he's got better traits than his brother

Not sure what game you were watching, Morris had 3 kicks in the 3rd term and two were a kick ins. Looked lost to me in defence as he was out marked a few times, doesn’t have the athleticism to be versatile and didn’t really look that mobile at all when watching him live today. There were lot better talls in both games than Morris. Let see what happens in the champs. Does his best work deep forward. Caddy looks to have the traits to be versatile and is miles ahead.
Strange response.

april.PNG
April Rankings xx as usual ask questions friends, and foes.

Watson the big mover, has done superbly well in all thirds of the ground early on in the year, and for mine is the most skilled and talented player of the crop. It's obvious that his height is going to be the main discussion point as the season goes on, but I just think he's got too many high end traits to not be a really good player at the top level, it's a call I'm willing to die on at the moment until proven to be wrong in his games against men. I still don't think he'll get taken top 2, but **** it's going to be tempting for teams still.

Rest of the top 12 is pretty standard I think, McKercher and Wilson have been on fire early in the season, Wilson looks so natural on both the wing and in the forward line, where he's at his best is difficult to call at the moment, I think it's in the forward line but the versatility is enticing for sure. Duursma has been a bit of a mixed bag as a more permanent midfielder from my viewings, he's certainly productive, but the impact in the forward half has tapered off, if he can merge those together better he'll be the clear Pick 2 in my mind.

Will Brown has been phenomenal to begin the season, some things to iron out but a 194 cm Midfielder is going to draw a lot of attention come draft time, although if his injury from yesterday is serious then may slide due to lack of exposure. Sanders, Freijah, Evans, O'Sullivan and Johnston have all shot onto the scene or improved from last season, while McAuliffe and Patton have been in good form early on. Patton and Evans as defenders without much midfield exposure may slide slightly, but I like the impact of both when the ball is in the defensive half, and both have similar areas of improvement in terms of their one on one work.

Clay Hall and Riley Hardeman were the main two guys that were pushing for inclusion in this top 20, but want to see some improvement in both of their contested games/ use from the inside before going all in on them.

McAuliffe is a bigger boy and I always wonder whether kids with some size to them at u18s will carry their form to AFL, or whether it's their size advantage that makes them look so good at u18s. Given his performance in the Academy match, you think he's got the tricks to still shine against mature bodies?

Where do you have luker kentfield mate? See he played league yesterday.

Also don’t tell too many clubs about clay hall, hoping he gets to freo first pick

McAuliffe is a bigger boy and I always wonder whether kids with some size to them at u18s will carry their form to AFL, or whether it's their size advantage that makes them look so good at u18s. Given his performance in the Academy match, you think he's got the tricks to still shine against mature bodies?
I feel his performance in the Academy match was more to do with the heavy rotations rather than him having an off day, his ball use when he won it was really good (100% DE if I recall correctly) and still managed to show decent athleticism. As I've been open about before I'm a **** for defensive work rate in juniors and he always ticks that box regardless of disposal numbers. Hopefully he gets a better go at it vs Carlton VFL, and even if he doesn't I expect he'll have a decent Champs
Where do you have luker kentfield mate? See he played league yesterday.

Also don’t tell too many clubs about clay hall, hoping he gets to freo first pick
Haven't watched him personally yet, break in VIC Games over the next month will allow me to see more interstaters, but the main thing I've heard is that he's really well built which isn't always a good thing if they become reliant on their size, but I'll have more on him this time next week.

I don't think any junior playing senior level is going to be unknown by clubs, still a few areas of his game to iron out though

Appreciate your list, Bangers.

I'm curious about the upside/movement of Archer Reid v Daniel Curtin over the course of the season.
Do you have any early insights as to how they're both tracking?

Appreciate your list, Bangers.

I'm curious about the upside/movement of Archer Reid v Daniel Curtin over the course of the season.
Do you have any early insights as to how they're both tracking?
Curtins been spending most of his time up forward, been ok without being a standout, to the point where Sam Van Rooyen has made him second fiddle up there. Personally I think he's a KPD long term anyway, especially given its a position that's probably in more demand.

Reid was good for Power in his game there but hasn't really impacted a lot in his rep games so far, but yes still displaying the traits that had so many excited heading into the season. Showed a little bit in the ruck on Saturday as well, so we might see a bit more versatility through the year.

Upside wise though I don't think there's going Ti be much that'll change my view of Archer being the better forward prospect

I haven't seen him once, but I was checking the stats for the WAFL Colts yesterday, and it appears Sam Van Rooyen had a massive game for Claremont in a 126-48 win over Subiaco. This is on top of his hot start to the year. He recorded stats of 5 goals (but 5 behinds 😵‍💫), 3 frees for his team, 9 marks, and 15 disposals. Meanwhile, Curtin only had 15 disposals, 2 marks, and 1 goal. So my question to you, PMBangers , is this: Where do you see Van Rooyen in terms of draft range at this stage, how high do you think he can rise by the end of the year, and do you think he's tall enough to be a key forward at the AFL level in this day and age at only 193cm?

He's a very similar player to his brother, although I think Sam's draft range will end up more 20+ given the strength of this crop

Someone best tell Chris Cavagh that Harley win't be playing for Vic Metro at the Nationals? ;)

A powerful midfielder, an outside running machine and a goalkicking key forward produced standout performances on the weekend as they continue to solidify their spots as top AFL Draft prospects this year.
Two under-18 trial matches were held between Vic Metro and Vic Country at Sandringham on Saturday, with many of the state’s best young players on show.

Vic Metro key forward Nate Caddy was one to catch the eye, with the 192cm Northern Knights product booting 4.1 from 20 disposals and six marks in the second game.

Two of Caddy’s marks were contested grabs, while he also logged two score assists in a monster performance.

The 17-year-old is the nephew of two-time Richmond premiership player Josh Caddy and is also part of the AFL Academy squad this year.

A pair of fellow AFL Academy members were particularly impressive in the first match, playing for Vic Country.

Greater Western Victoria Rebels product George Stevens pushed up into the midfield after starting the Coates Talent League season across halfback and recorded 31 disposals, four clearances, four inside-50s and six marks.

Stevens has returned to the field this year after missing last season with an ACL he suffered while taking part in match simulation at pre-season training in late 2021.

In the same game, Murray Bushrangers outside midfielder Darcy Wilson impressed with his run and carry and was damaging as he logged 18 disposals, three clearances, three marks, three goals and three score assists.

Expected No. 1 draft pick Harley Reid was rested for the trial matches, but will be part of Vic Metro’s team for the under-18 national championships this year.

The under-18 championships run from June 4 to July 15.

Supercoach points from the games as per the article...

U18 VIC METRO V VIC COUNTRY TRIAL A - SUPERCOACH SCORES

VIC METRO

144 - Nate Caddy

127- Murphy Reid

110 - Harvey Johnston

103 - Tom Gross

92 – Billy Hicks

88 – Hugo Garcia

83 – Nash King

80 – Charlie Naish

79 – Matt Carroll

69 – Christian Mardini

65 – Oliver Badr

63 – Calsher Dear

62 – Lucca Grego

58 - Aleksander D’Arro

57 – Levi Young

56 - TajHotton

54 – Harry O’Farrell

52 - Mahmoud Taha

46 – Darcy Weeks

45 – William Green

44 – Riley Weatherill

31 – Vigo Visentini

14 – Will Brown

12 – Cooper Trembath

VIC COUNTRY

124 – Joel Freijah

108 – Oskar Smartt

107 – Ryan Maric

105 – Kade De La Rue

99 – Lachlan Charleson

99 – Patrick Hughes

95 – Finn O’Sullivan

94 – Archer Day-Wicks

87 – Ben Hopkins

79 – Kobe Shipp

72 – Luamon Lual

65 – Oscar Ryan

63 – Billy Wilson

58 – Boston Dowling

57 - Joe Pike

55 – Joziah Nannup

52 – Liam Kershaw

51 – Tobie Travaglia

44 – Mac Scoullar

43 – Michael Rudd

38 – Noah Mraz

35 – Harper Fox

30 – Brady Hall

9 – Zac Harding

U18 VIC METRO V VIC COUNTRY TRIAL B- SUPERCOACH SCORES

VIC METRO

104 – Kynan Brown

97 – Jesse Dattoli

94 – Tarkyn O’Leary

88 – Tyson Sruk

85 - Rye Penny

85 – Clay Tucker

82 - Zak Johnson

81 – Flynn Riley

79 – Ollie Murphy

78 – Charlie Harrop

77 – Isaac Kako

76 – Jake Smith

75 – Cooper Lord

65 – Miles Enders

60 – Josh Docking

59 – Logan Morris

57 – Caleb Windsor

52 – Diesel Moloney

51 – Jordan Croft

47 – Josh Tovey

42 – Ryan Eyre

41 – Amin Naim

39 – Remy McLean

32 – Will Elliott

VIC COUNTRY

143 – George Stevens

138 – Angus Hastie

128 – Darcy Wilson

94 – Oliver Poole

93 – Jacob Grant

92 – Tom Anastasopoulos

84 - Wil Dawson

82 – Cooper Hynes

79 – Malik Gordon

73 – Harvey Langford

71 – Hugh Byrne

67 – Coby James

67 – Sam Lalor

64 – Lachlan Smith

56 - Tom Hanily

50- Xavier Lindsay

42 – Archer Reid

41 – Tom Peirce

40 – Harrison Hewitt

40 – Ziggy Toledo-Glasman

39 – Will Burke

25 – Sam Frangalas

24 – Jacob Noble

22 – Flynn Penry

My dear friends, fans and secret admirers, please enjoy the scouting notes from the recent VIC Country and Metro trial matches, a lot of players staked their claim for representative selection, definitely one of the harder years to predict the final squads, especially when adding on the players that didn't participate like Reid, Duursma, Watson, Lorenz, Ashcroft, etc.

some of my favourite performers;
#4 Darcy Wilson (Murray Bushrangers)
18/08/2005 | 185cm | 73kg | Midfielder/Forward

Wilson is a player that has shown instant improvement from last season to this one in his first few games, increasing his productivity and showcasing his versatility along the way. Wilson started the trial match on a wing, utilising his evasiveness in close, along with his clean skills with ball in hand. There were times early on where he tried to do too much, but he figured out the pace of the game pretty quickly after that. A real standout attribute of Wilson’s game is how quickly he executes his skills, from ground ball gathers, to handballs out into space, Wilson does everything at such a speed that opponents rarely have time to react. Wilson took the opportunity to run with the footy when it presented itself, going on a couple of impressive forays that included running bounces and beautiful kicks inside 50. Wilson was moved into a more forward 50 focused role in the second half, slotting two goals for his efforts – one from an impressive contested mark.

#22 Ollie Murphy (Sandringham Dragons)
16/09/2005 | 200cm | 85kg | Key Defender

One of the real finds of the day in a key position sense, Murphy did some super impressive things down back. The 200cm prospect was terrific aerially, flying at the ball with confidence and holding his own to intercept under serious fire. He was particularly prominent during the second and third terms, where he reeled in a pair of strong one-on-two grabs. There are some promising signs to work with for the Sandringham Dragons tall.

#7 Joel Freijah (GWV Rebels)
14/11/2005 | 191cm | 86kg | Midfielder/Wing

After an eyebrow raising display the week prior, Freijah had quite few eyes on him to see how he would back up the BOG performance. Whilst it was not quite a six-goal game, Freijah was still impactful through the midfield, with his vision through traffic and good ball use particularly impressive features of his game. Freijah balanced his approach to the contest well, going in to win the contested ball when it was his time to do so, but admittedly looking more comfortable when hanging out in space for the receive. Whilst Freijah didn’t run overly hard defensively, he did still apply himself well enough to land a couple of tackles and cause headaches for the Metro opposition.

#17 Nate Caddy (Northern Knights)
14/07/2005 | 192cm | 91kg | Tall Forward

Caddy has a handy knack of hitting up to draw the opening centre clearance, and he did so on Saturday to set the tone for a fine four-goal performance. Though just shy of true key position height, Caddy plays as a genuine tall – akin to Charlie Curnow – and has serious presence when presenting full-chested on the lead. Even when the ball fell short of him, he swooped on it and wheeled into attack, getting involved in plenty of Metro scoring chains. He also straightened up to convert four majors himself, cutting off a couple of Country kicks and taking toll. A confidence player, he looked full of it in game two and remains a first round prospect on pure talent.

View attachment 1668407
April Rankings xx as usual ask questions friends, and foes.

Watson the big mover, has done superbly well in all thirds of the ground early on in the year, and for mine is the most skilled and talented player of the crop. It's obvious that his height is going to be the main discussion point as the season goes on, but I just think he's got too many high end traits to not be a really good player at the top level, it's a call I'm willing to die on at the moment until proven to be wrong in his games against men. I still don't think he'll get taken top 2, but * it's going to be tempting for teams still.

Rest of the top 12 is pretty standard I think, McKercher and Wilson have been on fire early in the season, Wilson looks so natural on both the wing and in the forward line, where he's at his best is difficult to call at the moment, I think it's in the forward line but the versatility is enticing for sure. Duursma has been a bit of a mixed bag as a more permanent midfielder from my viewings, he's certainly productive, but the impact in the forward half has tapered off, if he can merge those together better he'll be the clear Pick 2 in my mind.

Will Brown has been phenomenal to begin the season, some things to iron out but a 194 cm Midfielder is going to draw a lot of attention come draft time, although if his injury from yesterday is serious then may slide due to lack of exposure. Sanders, Freijah, Evans, O'Sullivan and Johnston have all shot onto the scene or improved from last season, while McAuliffe and Patton have been in good form early on. Patton and Evans as defenders without much midfield exposure may slide slightly, but I like the impact of both when the ball is in the defensive half, and both have similar areas of improvement in terms of their one on one work.

Clay Hall and Riley Hardeman were the main two guys that were pushing for inclusion in this top 20, but want to see some improvement in both of their contested games/ use from the inside before going all in on them.
Thanks for this Bangers, I needed someone's opinions to copy and make my own

Draft Expert PMBangers 2023 Draft Thread