Draft Expert PMBangers 2023 Draft Thread

View attachment 1668407
April Rankings xx as usual ask questions friends, and foes.

Watson the big mover, has done superbly well in all thirds of the ground early on in the year, and for mine is the most skilled and talented player of the crop. It's obvious that his height is going to be the main discussion point as the season goes on, but I just think he's got too many high end traits to not be a really good player at the top level, it's a call I'm willing to die on at the moment until proven to be wrong in his games against men. I still don't think he'll get taken top 2, but * it's going to be tempting for teams still.

Rest of the top 12 is pretty standard I think, McKercher and Wilson have been on fire early in the season, Wilson looks so natural on both the wing and in the forward line, where he's at his best is difficult to call at the moment, I think it's in the forward line but the versatility is enticing for sure. Duursma has been a bit of a mixed bag as a more permanent midfielder from my viewings, he's certainly productive, but the impact in the forward half has tapered off, if he can merge those together better he'll be the clear Pick 2 in my mind.

Will Brown has been phenomenal to begin the season, some things to iron out but a 194 cm Midfielder is going to draw a lot of attention come draft time, although if his injury from yesterday is serious then may slide due to lack of exposure. Sanders, Freijah, Evans, O'Sullivan and Johnston have all shot onto the scene or improved from last season, while McAuliffe and Patton have been in good form early on. Patton and Evans as defenders without much midfield exposure may slide slightly, but I like the impact of both when the ball is in the defensive half, and both have similar areas of improvement in terms of their one on one work.

Clay Hall and Riley Hardeman were the main two guys that were pushing for inclusion in this top 20, but want to see some improvement in both of their contested games/ use from the inside before going all in on them.
Interesting Lorenz gets omitted without mention. Has he been injured or sick? I would have imagined he plays in the trial matches, but I'd his continued absence from stoppages for Oakleigh aren't a sign of things to come for Metro. It's where I think he really shines, his composure and agility to get on that lethal left boot at contests is what he'll be drafted for, not his running capacity or forward craft in my opinion.

I'm assuming he has been, but eDPS is the guy to ask. Actually accidentally omitted him from the 'pushing list with Hall and Hardeman, still very much a fan

View attachment 1668407

Watson the big mover, has done superbly well in all thirds of the ground early on in the year, and for mine is the most skilled and talented player of the crop. It's obvious that his height is going to be the main discussion point as the season goes on, but I just think he's got too many high end traits to not be a really good player at the top level, it's a call I'm willing to die on at the moment until proven to be wrong in his games against men. I still don't think he'll get taken top 2, but * it's going to be tempting for teams still.

Rest of the top 12 is pretty standard I think, McKercher and Wilson have been on fire early in the season, Wilson looks so natural on both the wing and in the forward line, where he's at his best is difficult to call at the moment, I think it's in the forward line but the versatility is enticing for sure. Duursma has been a bit of a mixed bag as a more permanent midfielder from my viewings, he's certainly productive, but the impact in the forward half has tapered off, if he can merge those together better he'll be the clear Pick 2 in my mind.

Will Brown has been phenomenal to begin the season, some things to iron out but a 194 cm Midfielder is going to draw a lot of attention come draft time, although if his injury from yesterday is serious then may slide due to lack of exposure. Sanders, Freijah, Evans, O'Sullivan and Johnston have all shot onto the scene or improved from last season, while McAuliffe and Patton have been in good form early on. Patton and Evans as defenders without much midfield exposure may slide slightly, but I like the impact of both when the ball is in the defensive half, and both have similar areas of improvement in terms of their one on one work.

Clay Hall and Riley Hardeman were the main two guys that were pushing for inclusion in this top 20, but want to see some improvement in both of their contested games/ use from the inside before going all in on them.
What’s your thoughts on Logan Morris at Geelong PMbangers? I don’t mind him, gun deep forward but I think he is just a one trick pony, mark and kick. Doesn’t seem to have great agility, speed, endurance etc. maybe it’s something clubs can work with. If I had a choice Caddy is the main man at the moment but Geel don’t stand a chance.

Well Geelong have made more limited players work pretty well in the past, so I can imagine they'd get a bit out of Morris. There's a couple of match ups I'm curious to see for him in Champs to help gauge where his athleticism is at, I'm not expecting to match a guy like Will McCabe for athleticism but if he can be competitive in that regard then it's hard to argue that he'd hold up at AFL level, but those more traditional leading KPFs are getting rarer and rarer unless they have a POD, like Cameron and Cadman with their ability to get up the ground, Morris does this a little bit but would need to improve to push into the first round mix imo

View attachment 1668407

PMBangers how are you grouping players outside of the Top 20 at this stage? Do you have the players ranked but just don’t post them this early, do you have the next “tiers” but not ranked within, other?

Curious to know where you’re projecting Lual (Dogs NGA - is he a clear top 40?) and Croft (Dogs F/S) at this stage?

PMBangers how are you grouping players outside of the Top 20 at this stage? Do you have the players ranked but just don’t post them this early, do you have the next “tiers” but not ranked within, other?

Curious to know where you’re projecting Lual (Dogs NGA - is he a clear top 40?) and Croft (Dogs F/S) at this stage?
Moreso tiers than ranking them all.

I think Lual is likely as a top 40 pick at this stage, if I did rank that next group he'd probably be somewhere before 30, and Croft is probably more a 40+ for me at the moment

Well Geelong have made more limited players work pretty well in the past, so I can imagine they'd get a bit out of Morris. There's a couple of match ups I'm curious to see for him in Champs to help gauge where his athleticism is at, I'm not expecting to match a guy like Will McCabe for athleticism but if he can be competitive in that regard then it's hard to argue that he'd hold up at AFL level, but those more traditional leading KPFs are getting rarer and rarer unless they have a POD, like Cameron and Cadman with their ability to get up the ground, Morris does this a little bit but would need to improve to push into the first round mix imo
Where do you see McCabe at currently? Think Twomey mentioned he could be in the teens but ~20 is what I've heard elsewhere.

Probably in those first few outside the top 20 for me at the moment, moreso due to me being a bit behind in my SA footy watching than anything to do with McCabe himself. When you have a player that moves as well as he does at his height it's always going to draw attention, and his work in defense to offensive transition is really good. If he can sure up the defensive aspects of his game then he could well push up into the top half of the first round

Do you rate any other Tassie players a chance outside the big 3? (McKercher, Sanders, Callinan)
I'm not PMBangers, and this isn't my thread, but where's Arie Schoenmakers? He looked like a really good player from what I saw of him last year. He has to be injured because he hasn't even been named for their match today against the Giants Academy. If so, I hope he's fit for the Championships because he could be one who uses it to his advantage and rises up the rankings. I had him in the top 45 for this draft based on what I saw of him last year, so it's annoying that he hasn’t played.

Do you rate any other Tassie players a chance outside the big 3? (McKercher, Sanders, Callinan)
Schoenmaker the main guy that I could see getting drafted if we ever see him on field again, I haven't heard anything since pre season but they were expecting him to be right to go from their first game so might've had some complications in rehab.

The other two that have been mentioned b some on bigfooty in Nash and Beaumont I don't see getting drafted personally, but both have some traits that I reckon will see them become pretty handy state league players

Schoenmaker the main guy that I could see getting drafted if we ever see him on field again, I haven't heard anything since pre season but they were expecting him to be right to go from their first game so might've had some complications in rehab.

The other two that have been mentioned b some on bigfooty in Nash and Beaumont I don't see getting drafted personally, but both have some traits that I reckon will see them become pretty handy state league players
Watching the Devils for the first time this year, Beaumont is a bit of a machine. If he doesn't go drafted be nice to have him in our VFL team next year (if we get one that early). It's nice that we are easily beating the way more overfunded GWS academy at their home.

Yes it is impressive that a premiership contender is dominating a group of spuds

A bit harsh, some of those guys probably read these pages lol. Bad year for GWS? They usually produce some good players.
We actually usually don't, outside of some top enders for a couple of years it's been quite a low production program given the investment in terms of AFL level prospects, but it's achieving it's purpose in increasing participation and quality of local level footy.

Hopefully the funding we are about to get pumped into our program on the back of the AFL team can produce better results for us. Your top enders have been pretty good though!

Harley Reid had a mixed bag on debut at VFL level for Carlton this year, quiet first 3 quarters but looked amazing in the 4th term out of the backline, set up a couple of Carlton's most promising attacking plays with his run and long kicking.

What I will say from this game is that Reid mightn't have had the most impressive stats sheet but almost looked like he's better than that level with his positioning around the contests and runs for teammates, if even half of his movement off the ball was rewarded as it should've been it would've looked very different, just some of his teammates trying to do too much rather than take the sensible disposal option, or holding the footy too long from a mark/ free kick.

One of the main question marks around Reid so far has been whether his strength is the reason he's so dominant at CTL level, he didn't look completely out muscled as he still managed some good displays in standing up in tackles and a stiff arm, but he was definitely knocked off balance a lot easier around stoppages/ in the contest

PMBangers .... not sure how familiar you are with the Falcons... but there is a couple of tallish kids in the Vic Country squads Tom Peirce 195ish and Angus Hastie 190 ish ... any info on their potential?
No notes on Peirce which is a sign that nothing has particularly impressed me in my viewings. Hastie is one that's impressed early on though as a rebounding defender, generally reliable with his disposal and actively seeks out the most aggressive option he can see which is vital with how the AFL is currently played. I'll just Ctrl C + Ctrl V my write up on him from the trials, it pretty much summarises all his outings so far
#19 Angus Hastie (Geelong Falcons)
19/09/2005 | 189cm | 77kg | Defender

Hastie took majority of the kick-ins through the game, generally playing on from the square and launching a kick to the wing. For the most part, Hastie made the right decisions and was clean with his disposal, there were naturally a few slip ups but his follow up work to make up for his mistakes was impressive, desperately running to lay a tackle or apply pressure on the ball winner. Hastie had some moments of pure magic, such as a play where he won the ball by reading it off the hands of a marking contest, then handballing it over the top of an opponent and running around to get it himself, then exit defensive 50. Hastie took some good intercept marks and positioned aggressively when the ball was in Country’s forward half.

PMB, where do you see George Stevens? In the trial matches, he looks to be carrying too much weight and that affects his speed. He's a big strong lad but I don't know where he plays at afl level? He's like a chunky half back flanker with good foot skills? He almost plays like a Ziebell to me with less mobility.

Will Gould 2.0!

His work with ball in hand is elite, fantastic user and decision maker even under pressure deep in defense, but the athletic base is going to be a major sticking point for clubs I imagine. There has of course been some success stories from players with similar traits, and I can't imagine Stevens will be one that won't work hard to perfect the things that are in control, but for me there's not much more he can do at U18's level to further boost his draft stocks, unless he maybe starts dominating as a forward without relying on his strength

Draft Expert PMBangers 2023 Draft Thread