Strategy POLL: Who would you take at pick 6 in the 2013 draft?

Who would you take at pick 6 in the 2013 draft?

• Bontempelli

Votes: 62 18.9%
  • Kelly

Votes: 16 4.9%
  • Billings

Votes: 10 3.0%
  • Kolodjashnij

Votes: 14 4.3%
  • Aish

Votes: 74 22.6%
  • Scharenberg

Votes: 92 28.0%
  • McDonald

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Freeman

Votes: 6 1.8%
  • Lennon

Votes: 16 4.9%
  • Sheed

Votes: 8 2.4%
  • Salem

Votes: 4 1.2%
  • Crouch

Votes: 1 0.3%
  • McCarthy

• Gardiner

• Taylor

Votes: 5 1.5%
  • Acres

Votes: 5 1.5%
  • Hartung

Votes: 3 0.9%
  • Dunstan

Votes: 1 0.3%
  • Battersby

Votes: 3 0.9%
  • Other player not mentioned in poll

Votes: 8 2.4%

I'd like to get Scharenberg if he's there at 6. Like Bontempelli too but if S & B both their at 6 I see B as having greater chance of lasting to pick 10.

We can't take Ben Lennon at 6 (our first pick wear's 35 for his first year and if we draft Lennon he has to be pick 10 so he can slot in at locker 26 to be next to the other Ben's.)

Aish - 6
Bontempelli - 10

Wishful thinking I know. Altough not many thought that Grundy would slide.

If Aish slides, it may not be as small a chance as some seem to think.

When it comes down to it we will be getting two of Aish, Scharenberg, Billings, Bontempelli, KK, Lennon, Freeman, Acres and McCarthy. Id be rapt with any of these guys.

McCarthy's highlights look impressive. But I still think we should take Lennon or Acres, we need versatile talls with kicking skills.

Any of KK, Bontempelli and Scharenburg would be suit our needs perfectly. If any of them get to us then it will probably be both a case of picking best available and also a need - win win imo. I'd prefer any of those three over Aish atm who I seems to be the other guy who may be around at pick 6.

A bit quicker than Reid IMO, also has great awareness so much so that he looks like a mid when playing in the middle..
He is quicker. Just the way he moves and kicks has Reidy written all over him.

There are 5 standouts in this draft Boyd,Kelly,aish,billings and sharenberg.from pick 6-14 it is pretty even.we just need one of the top 5 to slide one spot and we will have a gun player.

As long as GC select Kolodjashnij, one of Billings, Scharenberg or Aish will be a pie!

With Boyd & McDonald the only real knowns in where they'll go that leaves:

My pref at pick 6: Scharenberg, Acres, Bontempelli, Kolodjashnij

But I'd be happy enough with any of Sheed, Lennon, Freeman, McCarthy, Crouch, Dunstan (Could only see us taking McCarthy if we thought Brisbane were going to use their first pick on him)

I rate Billings, Aish, Kelly, Taylor, Hartung as the next rung down as all lighter bodies or a shame to use high pick on a forward (Billings).

Interestingly I think Pies likely to be especially interested in Scharenberg, Acres, Dunstan & Aish if available due to having senior experience (as Grundy, Kennedy, Broomhead did in last year's)

I'd argue that we are desperately lacking a couple of slick clean link players to sharpen our delivery. We also need a couple of genuine bull at a gate insiders. To me the guys you like sound a bit like inside/outside midfielders, which we have well and truly covered with 3 of the best in Pendlebury, Beams and Swan (I reckon his longevity will surprise)
Completely disagree. About the link players anyway. Pendles and Beams are almost purely link players. Swan is the only one of the three that consistently breaks the lines. Scharenberg and Bontempelli both have line breaking ability in addition to size and elite foot skills. The former will likely be a a big line breaking half back flank/wing like Birchall. Bontempelli seems like he could be just about anything. Perhaps a Goddard utility type. Given Shaw and Thomas were two of our best line breaking players, that is something that will be missed. Creating offense from half back in incredibly important, as the Hawks have showed having possibly more depth there than any other team. The Cats were also brilliant at it at their peak.

As far as inside mids go, pretty sure that's where Adams comes in. However as has been mentioned, it's often better to use later picks on inside mids, as plenty of the better inside mids around were later picks. The athletic, highly skilled players IMO are the ones to gun for at the top end of the draft. And that's what we need. We've got a few too many one paced types. And a lot of our guys that do break the lines are either small or have average to poor disposal, if not both.

Completely disagree. About the link players anyway. Pendles and Beams are almost purely link players. Swan is the only one of the three that consistently breaks the lines. Scharenberg and Bontempelli both have line breaking ability in addition to size and elite foot skills. The former will likely be a a big line breaking half back flank/wing like Birchall. Bontempelli seems like he could be just about anything. Perhaps a Goddard utility type. Given Shaw and Thomas were two of our best line breaking players, that is something that will be missed. Creating offense from half back in incredibly important, as the Hawks have showed having possibly more depth there than any other team. The Cats were also brilliant at it at their peak.

It all depends on how you see footy going over the next 5-10 years. Do you break the lines the way Sydney did in 2012, by hard running spreading and feeding the ball out to super quick outside runners, or do you break the lines like Hawthorn with pinpoint disposal? I like the Hawthorn method and reckon that we need some high class finishers to be part of a chain and help disect zones and move the ball more fluently. I personally don't see height as a big issue for this role and think that an Aish type of player is the perfect fit for us.

Other than that, I also think that genuine competitive intensity is an issue. It's what won us the flag in 2010 and Shaw and Thomas led the way in this regard, add to this the decline in Maxwell and our former strength is looking like a weakness to me.

Crouch and Acres are my picks.

Cooled down on Sheed some. Can't help but get the feeling he's maxed out. The Crouch/Acres combo is better balanced and a better fit for the list.

We probably don't take either but they're my picks with the two first round picks.

Crouch and Acres are my picks.

Cooled down on Sheed some. Can't help but get the feeling he's maxed out. The Crouch/Acres combo is better balanced and a better fit for the list.

We probably don't take either but they're my picks with the two first round picks.

You love Crouch, don't you mate. Good on you. I can't see Crouch if we get Adams.

Acres is shooting up a bit.

My preference is Aish and Lennon/Acres. Would also be happy with Bontempelli

The question really should be, who would you take given your first five picks are gone. That's the question Hine must answer.

So who are your first 6 in draft order?

The question really should be, who would you take given your first five picks are gone. That's the question Hine must answer.

So who are your first 6 in draft order?
It was believed by general consensus Boyd, Billings, Aish, Scharenberg and Kelly were top 5 prospects.

However rumours are now Suns will take KK at 5

So Kelly is your worst possible outcome at pick 6.
No sorry. They are in no order. Just how names came into my head.

It appears Aish and Scharenberg most likely to slide, from rumours.

Still plenty of time for a lot of things to happen.

Most open draft for a long time, it appears.

Strategy POLL: Who would you take at pick 6 in the 2013 draft?