Autopsy Port overrun Dogs 66-64

Yeah.. that was a handball

Wines' goal was from an early leap as well which wasn't paid.

Also their last goal was from a kicking in danger.

We still should have won given the position with time left..
Yep Marshall was up and down again before the ball got there taking our player out of the marking contest was absolute BS too not be called.

Might be a silver lining in this...

If we sneak into top 4 with lions not doing enough, I reckon we lose 5 in a row (including out in straight sets 2 finals) which would be devastating.

At least we get a chance to break the finals hoodoo by coming up against the 8th team who have over achieved on many counts.

Then at least we go into a semi with a win under our belt rather than the pressure of our 4th loss in a row.

Am I clutching a bit??

Would rather not risk losing a final to Essendon.

Form could turn at any moment also. Much rather the double chance.

**** we beat Melbourne only 3 weeks ago.

Would rather not risk losing a final to Essendon.

Form could turn at any moment also. Much rather the double chance.

**** we beat Melbourne only 3 weeks ago.
Just not sure where the boys are going to find the energy from they to a man look spent. When Port upped the intensity we were barely holding on. Our run and dare evaporated not sure whether it is a mental block or just too fatigued to run the game out of the

I intentionally absented myself last night. I wasn't going to say anything that was worth saying. And I still haven't looked at OG's stats. Will post again when I do.

But before I do, I'll just say that potting the players is natural and expected but kind of p!ssweak. Look at that midfield group of ours that has fallen apart. Does anyone think that Bont isn't trying his best? The guy competes heroically all the time, often carrying the side on his back, when more often than not he is injured. And how about these four: Macrae, Bailey Smith, Dunkley and Treloar. Could you come up with 4 more intense, motivated, maniacal footballers - almost to the point of driving themselves to mental health issues at times. And Libba is obviously Libba. There is zero doubt in my mind that all 6 are giving their absolute best. They are trying - REALLY REALLY hard. They just suck right now.

I'll also say that I've been tearing out my hair at selection just like everyone else. I cannot believe that the only "in" this week when we have had our season derailed by ruck issues and have an almost full list sitting on the pine was ROURKE SMITH (and yes, he played well but that didn't solve our ruck problem). And then to not even TRY to play English in the ruck all night? I'm going spare here. And don't even get me started on Bevo's failure to give Wallis a chance during the last 3 weeks of failure. BUT I'm not going to kid myself - selection is not why we lost. Our midfield wins games by itself - regardless of the other selections. Defenders or forwards only need to be role players when our mids are on song. We had all of them playing. They just can't get it done right now - not even close. That is our problem. We have gambled our entire season on our midfield. And we've lost the bet.

The thing that breaks my heart is - even now - if we could import our starting mids and HBs from Round 3 into the team next week, I'd consider us flag favourites. But they seem to be cooked. The question we have to ask is why.

I think that there are some decent guesses in this thread: 1) The brand of footy we play is very taxing on the mids - it requires constant superhuman efforts, and the players cracked. 2) We gambled by not having a bye and it's caught up with us with a lot of mentally fatigued players. 3) The injuries of Dunkley and Treloar placed too much burden on too few players, and now they are done. 4) The pressures of a 2nd consecutive COVID season/lockdowns etc. weigh on all players. But it has particularly impacted our players because they are already fragile due to the first 3 reasons. 5) Players carrying secret injuries. 6) The absence of a VFL in the back half of the season has made it impossible for injured players to regain fitness, and we had a LOT of players needing to regain fitness at that point in time. 7) The coach has lost them somehow. 8) Some combination of those 7 reasons. Or maybe there are some other reasons we don't know cause we aren't close to the club.

I don't know what is going on - I just know SOMETHING is going on with our midfield. And it dwarfs all other problems/grievances we might have.

I would never stop watching the boys. I would never give up the week of the first final. But I go into next week's game feeling like it would take a miracle to get that Rd 3 midfield back. And we won't win without it.

Quite frankly Bailey Smith can fu** off. If we get a good offer for him then take it, he doesn't give a sh*t and has drunk his own bathwater.

Lots of Bailey Smith shutdowns in this thread. He wasn’t great but he is 20 years old…. Probably needs a couple more years to develop. I remember Wallis talking about playing Sam Mitchell at 20 and pouring blood from both boots after the game as Sam stamped on him continuously. It’s a tough game and even kids as talented as Bailey “May” be need to learn to play at the level.

Not only that but we look absolutely spent. Game plan is taxing and players have had no rest.

Agree the high intensity game Bevo prefers does look taxing
We don't have the depth to run the guys into the ground week after week

The first 10 mins was really good, little handball and quick kicking to position worked really well. Then overuse of handball slow as down and allowed Port back into the game. We all know what is needed and excuses are wearing a bit thin

I intentionally absented myself last night. I wasn't going to say anything that was worth saying. And I still haven't looked at OG's stats. Will post again when I do.

But before I do, I'll just say that potting the players is natural and expected but kind of p!ssweak. Look at that midfield group of ours that has fallen apart. Does anyone think that Bont isn't trying his best? The guy competes heroically all the time, often carrying the side on his back, when more often than not he is injured. And how about these four: Macrae, Bailey Smith, Dunkley and Treloar. Could you come up with 4 more intense, motivated, maniacal footballers - almost to the point of driving themselves to mental health issues at times. And Libba is obviously Libba. There is zero doubt in my mind that all 6 are giving their absolute best. They are trying - REALLY REALLY hard. They just suck right now.

I'll also say that I've been tearing out my hair at selection just like everyone else. I cannot believe that the only "in" this week when we have had our season derailed by ruck issues and have an almost full list sitting on the pine was ROURKE SMITH (and yes, he played well but that didn't solve our ruck problem). And then to not even TRY to play English in the ruck all night? I'm going spare here. And don't even get me started on Bevo's failure to give Wallis a chance during the last 3 weeks of failure. BUT I'm not going to kid myself - selection is not why we lost. Our midfield wins games by itself - regardless of the other selections. Defenders or forwards only need to be role players when our mids are on song. We had all of them playing. They just can't get it done right now - not even close. That is our problem. We have gambled our entire season on our midfield. And we've lost the bet.

The thing that breaks my heart is - even now - if we could import our starting mids and HBs from Round 3 into the team next week, I'd consider us flag favourites. But they seem to be cooked. The question we have to ask is why.

I think that there are some decent guesses in this thread: 1) The brand of footy we play is very taxing on the mids - it requires constant superhuman efforts, and the players cracked. 2) We gambled by not having a bye and it's caught up with us with a lot of mentally fatigued players. 3) The injuries of Dunkley and Treloar placed too much burden on too few players, and now they are done. 4) The pressures of a 2nd consecutive COVID season/lockdowns etc. weigh on all players. But it has particularly impacted our players because they are already fragile due to the first 3 reasons. 5) Players carrying secret injuries. 6) The absence of a VFL in the back half of the season has made it impossible for injured players to regain fitness, and we had a LOT of players needing to regain fitness at that point in time. 7) The coach has lost them somehow. 8) Some combination of those 7 reasons. Or maybe there are some other reasons we don't know cause we aren't close to the club.

I don't know what is going on - I just know SOMETHING is going on with our midfield. And it dwarfs all other problems/grievances we might have.

I would never stop watching the boys. I would never give up the week of the first final. But I go into next week's game feeling like it would take a miracle to get that Rd 3 midfield back. And we won't win without it.

I suspect you are pretty close with 5. Bont isn’t right, Macrae is cooked and I suspect Dunkley and Treloar are back maybe before they are quite ready. WTF we didn’t play English in the ruck is also beyond me. Lycett is tucked up having a nice little doona-day thinking about how nice it is to ruck 10cm taller than anyone thrown at him today 👎🤷‍♂️

Because English was murdered 2 weeks in a row in the ruck.

If we are gonna get smashed in the ruck, we may as well try and have our best setup up forward.

Because English was murdered 2 weeks in a row in the ruck.

If we are gonna get smashed in the ruck, we may as well try and have our best setup up forward.

Have to play Martin next week. It’ll be bloody interesting to see how much difference it makes.

It has been mentioned by another poster but I couldn’t understand the logic of The Bont taking throw-ins near the point post with English right there. Was English going to rove to the tap and snap a goal? Never. The argument he was keeping Aliir accountable doesn’t make sense. If the ball was kicked from there Alliir would have to be in row X to take the intercept mark. The more likely outcome was a knee in the ribs for Bont.

One funny thing last night was that with no crowd you can here the players yelling to each other.
Have you ever noticed that Gray from Port is always referred to as Robbie Gray never just by his surname.
Well Aliir Aliir can be added to that list. When Aliir had the ball his team mate was calling for it “ Aliir, Aliir” - see using his whole name not just the surname. 😃 ( I thought it was funny on a very unfunny night)

Yeah nah. Sydney basically got Hickey for free and he's been in the top 6 rucks this season.

What makes my blood boil is that there are rucks out there that don't cost the bank. I'm not even kidding but even Tom Campbell would have been handy to have in the past 3-4 weeks. And we could easily find a better one for minimal cost.

Also what rucks would be available that would even be worth considering not chasing Darcy. Basically none.
Agree with most of what Wetdog said but I'm with your in that I wouldn't sacrifice Darcy for someone to help out in the ruck short-term. As you said, a mature battering-ram ruck shouldn't cost much at all.
Not sure we'd get much for Wallis. I'm all for keeping him anyway, as one of the key things we lack at present is strength. That includes intestinal fortitude and strong bodies - he has both.
No point bemoaning injuries as most clubs have had them, even if some worse than others. We got our two gun mids back and they haven't yet tasted victory.

Just watching the Melb-Geelong game and its evident that they are far moire aggressive than us around the contest at the moment.

It has been mentioned by another poster but I couldn’t understand the logic of The Bont taking throw-ins near the point post with English right there. Was English going to rove to the tap and snap a goal? Never. The argument he was keeping Aliir accountable doesn’t make sense. If the ball was kicked from there Alliir would have to be in row X to take the intercept mark. The more likely outcome was a knee in the ribs for Bont.
That and the after-life remains a total mystery.

Bont has also sharked a few from boundary throw ins this year, so also takes away goal scoring potential. Utterly baffling.

I watched the game again after my melt last night because I ****ing hate myself.

One of the things I observed is the only two players on our team that consistently put their body on the line and give it everything are Keath and Duryea. Both imports. It's pretty shameful how squibby some of our efforts are.

I watched the game again after my melt last night because I ******* hate myself.

One of the things I observed is the only two players on our team that consistently put their body on the line and give it everything are Keath and Duryea. Both imports. It's pretty shameful how squibby some of our efforts are.
Jesus you must be a sucker for punishment watching the replay

I watched the game again after my melt last night because I ******* hate myself.

You re-watched it?

Jesus you must be a sucker for punishment watching the replay
This team is like a heroin addiction.

Last night I was vomiting all over myself. Said no more bulldogs. It's time to turn my life around.

Have a night's rest, and I find myself flipping the Radiohead on, and heating up a spoon of bulldogs replay.

22 years now...I may need rehab

Hi guys, do you know if the Bulldogs hierarchy are going to put an injunction in over the fact that the Brisbane WC game went 24 seconds too long? Because I'm sure that the point that put them ahead was just the last 20 seconds

Not a chance, I’m sure they are just dealing with the burn that the players will be feeling and hoping it’s used to turn things around next week

I don't want to be that guy but there is somewhat of a precedent set here.

Autopsy Port overrun Dogs 66-64