Port to do it comfortably

Surely you're not serious ??

Yeah questionable but if you look at games like Friday he's finally going hard at the contest. I suspect the Cats hierachy let him know his senior career is on the line unless he puts his head down into a contest.

Used to be weak, not now and I don't think he'll return to his bad ways (I hope)

As much as it pains me to say this, i beleive the power will be too strong for geelong. I will probably receive a lot of stick for this from passionate cats fans and maybe other neutral supporters but look at it this way, the power won a flag in 04 - only three years ago, they have the perfect combination of experience and youth, they are tough and determined, they have the best coach in the competition and they know when to go. These guys have a mental edge over the cats, having beaten them in rd 21. The cats wont forget that and would rather be playing anyone else but port. Its been a long year for geelong, they just scraped through last weekend against a spirited collingwood, who mind you, port adelaide are a lot better than, and copped a fair knock about physically. Port have the goods, they have the right tempo and they have the premiership experience. No Egan for geelong is going to really hurt, ottens against lade/brogan will test, the midfield is going to be too fast - burgoyne x2, cornes x2, rodan, pearce..... tredrea is arrogant/experienced and will provide a physical handful with no egan to subdue him. The cats will wet themselves i am afraid, this resurgent port adelaide is the feel good story of the year.

Cool. I'll put some money on Port then. I always like betting on absolute certainties. Pretty good odds on offer too I think.

As a fervent Cats supporter, couldn't agree more, either. Let's look at the cold hard facts:.....

4. Port's midfield is vastly superior to Geelong's. Who have the Cats got? Bartel, Ablett, Selwood, Corey, Ling, + Kelly, Rooke, Enright, Wojcinski. All hacks.

So there you have it

geelong's got the powerhouse ruck duo too :rolleyes:

first use boys, first use.........

As a fervent Cats supporter, couldn't agree more, either. Let's look at the cold hard facts:

1. Yes, Port is a much tougher side than Geelong. Just look at their tough players - Westhoff, Boake, Motlop, Treadrea....Now look at the Cats - Scarlett, Rooke, Mooney, Hunt.....
2. Yes, they have a mental edge over Geelong. Cats beat Port by 50 or so points first time around in H&A, but Port smashed a Geelong side in R21 by less than a goal. They beat a team that was without 3 of its prime movers, and a side that had won 15 in a row.
3. While we're on mental toughness, lets not lose sight of the fact that Port had the ideal Prelim final, beating an insipid Kangaroos on their HOME ground. Meanwhile the Cats, playing at 40 -50% scraped home against the kings of mental toughness, Collingwood.
4. Port's midfield is vastly superior to Geelong's. Who have the Cats got? Bartel, Ablett, Selwood, Corey, Ling, + Kelly, Rooke, Enright, Wojcinski. All hacks.
5. Port players havn't got carried away, have they? No, when Treadrea bowed to the adoring fans after kicking a junk goal, and when Chad C did something similar, that was pure class.

So there you have it

Geelong have already won it. My olds drove through geelong the other day and they said every house and building in the town had 'geelong 07 premiers' flags and posters up. The weight of expectation upon geelong will be enermous. If they dont win then they will cop it sweet from the footy public and thier own supporters.

Port on the other hand have very little pressure or expectation upon them. Theyve suprised everyone just making it.

Geelong could thrash port if port play poorly but if both teams play thier best it should be a cracker.

As a fervent Cats supporter, couldn't agree more, either. Let's look at the cold hard facts:

1. Yes, Port is a much tougher side than Geelong. Just look at their tough players - Westhoff, Boake, Motlop, Treadrea....Now look at the Cats - Scarlett, Rooke, Mooney, Hunt.....
2. Yes, they have a mental edge over Geelong. Cats beat Port by 50 or so points first time around in H&A, but Port smashed a Geelong side in R21 by less than a goal. They beat a team that was without 3 of its prime movers, and a side that had won 15 in a row.
3. While we're on mental toughness, lets not lose sight of the fact that Port had the ideal Prelim final, beating an insipid Kangaroos on their HOME ground. Meanwhile the Cats, playing at 40 -50% scraped home against the kings of mental toughness, Collingwood.
5. Port players havn't got carried away, have they? No, when Treadrea bowed to the adoring fans after kicking a junk goal, and when Chad C did something similar, that was pure class.

So there you have it

1. Rooke? After watching his game last week, is one of the most overated hacks

and

3. Not something you really want going into a grand final is it?

To everyone saying Sydney had more exp then WCE last year, perhaps this should be changed to GF experience.

Which would make both teams equal.

and yours didnt months ago?

No, we didn't.

Show us some overwhelming evidence of this if you Port Power supporters are going to keep going on about it.

To everyone saying Sydney had more exp then WCE last year, perhaps this should be changed to GF experience.

Because it suits your argument?

Before I start, let me say that Geelong are the neutral observer's favourite to win, but Port Adelaide supporters have every right to be confident about Saturday.

As a fervent Cats supporter, couldn't agree more, either. Let's look at the cold hard facts:.....
OK, as long as we stick to your facts.

Nup, no facts here. You think your team is tougher, we think our team matches you in this department. I think that mental toughness is just as important as the physical variety, and our proven ability to execute under the pressure of a tight game shows our mental toughness. We will miss Wilson heaps though.

Getting closer, but selective facts don't count. Port's win means less because you had players out, yet we have almost 1/3 of our GF side who was not playing the first game and Geelong fans think this is the more relevant indicator.
I would suggest that Port Adelaide were in awful form at the time, whereas we are at peak form now. It should be a cracker on Saturday.
Note: I'm not sure what relevance the "15 in a row" fact has.

More opinion dressed as fact. Geelong played at only 40-50% last week. How can that be ideal preparation for a GF, with so many of your players down on form? Are you that good that you can turn your form on like a tap?
You also emphasise Port's win on our HOME ground. I thought we beat you in Rd 21 on your HOME ground. Oh, that's right, you were probably at 40-50% that week as well. Lucky the GF is at the MCG, were we are both unbeaten this year.
Also, I seem to recall Port Adelaide getting over a gallant WC at home, Geelong thrashing the Kangas by over 100, and the premiership cup was halfway to Corio Bay according to you guys. Make up your mind.

Finally found some facts, although a list doesn't mean much.
Geelong's midfield is excellent. I am interested in this list that you quote - do they all play midfield at the same time, or are they part of your rotation off the bench?
I would suggest that there isn't the depth that you claim though. You were missing 3 of your 9 in Round 21 (one of which was a tagger, one of which is a very good first year player), and you argue that was the reason you lost. Who stepped up in their absence? Or was that another deliberate 40-50% game that Geelong play?

5. Port players haven't got carried away, have they? No, when Tredrea bowed to the adoring fans after kicking a junk goal, and when Chad C did something similar, that was pure class.
More opinion. I think there is a distinct difference between celebrating in front of your fans when you are winning by 10-12 goals in a match to make the GF, and getting carried away with their performances.

In summary, it should be a cracking game. Most think Geelong will win (and deserved favourites they are), yet there are a not-insignificant number who can see that Port Adelaide are perfectly primed for this GF.

you can get into all this meaningless technical analysis to make you feel better, but.. ITS THE GRAND FINAL its going to be a hard 50/50 game as the top two teams slug it out for ultimate success.

stop this my stats are better than your stats rubbish and enjoy the moment!

GO CATS!

1. Rooke? After watching his game last week, is one of the most overated hacks

and

3. Not something you really want going into a grand final is it?

Judd? I watched him play against Collingwood a couple of weeks ago. Barely got near the ball and could hardly run. Must be overrated.

Fortunately that won't bother you too much - next time your captain goes into a GF he'll be wearing someone else's jumper.

geelong have played in front of 90k at the MCG already 3 times and we have won all 3, two of them in daylight.

i am confident the mighty cats can get up and defeat port

As much as it pains me to say this, i beleive the power will be too strong for geelong. I will probably receive a lot of stick for this from passionate cats fans and maybe other neutral supporters but look at it this way, the power won a flag in 04 - only three years ago, they have the perfect combination of experience and youth, they are tough and determined, they have the best coach in the competition and they know when to go. These guys have a mental edge over the cats, having beaten them in rd 21. The cats wont forget that and would rather be playing anyone else but port. Its been a long year for geelong, they just scraped through last weekend against a spirited collingwood, who mind you, port adelaide are a lot better than, and copped a fair knock about physically. Port have the goods, they have the right tempo and they have the premiership experience. No Egan for geelong is going to really hurt, ottens against lade/brogan will test, the midfield is going to be too fast - burgoyne x2, cornes x2, rodan, pearce..... tredrea is arrogant/experienced and will provide a physical handful with no egan to subdue him. The cats will wet themselves i am afraid, this resurgent port adelaide is the feel good story of the year.

Sell you house and car and put the lot on Power. At 3.40, you'll make a killing and have a really nice house to move back into.

In the unlikely event that the Cats win, well, just move in with your Mother-in-Law.

That first post made me depressed just reading it.

Ease up mate you're not going down that easily. Port have everything they need to beat Geelong, and I'm leaning the slightest bit towards them, but in all honesty I really have no idea who will win.
It's going to be a cracking game.

Don't worry Pt are going to get smashed.All the bull---- talk coming from them this week about Geelong.

I'm thinking it will be a game that either team can win. However I would have to favour the cats based on the following:
- been dominant all year
- thrashed kangaroos
- beat collingwood by 5 points (the win they had to have) - but thrashed them in clearances and inside 50s. They won't be so wasteful again
- port struggled to beat westcoast with an injured cousins, no kerr, and injured judd
- port beat the kangas, after the kangas missed easy chances to apply the pressure in the 2nd quarter.
- the Power were unconvincing against West Coast, Fremantle the week before (when freo got within a goal after the power were 46 points up), just beat the cats with 3 major stars out and nothing to play for, and just beat the hawks with the last kick)

I do feel the power can win, however, I think the odds are stacked heavily in Geelong's favour and I wouldn't be surprised with a 39+ point win.

I feel it it is wet it will favour Geelong because they have bigger bodies and are harder at the ball. Although I feel that in the dry they may be able to run away with it, although the power are dangerous when they are running.

I'm stuffed if I can work out why so many people are on the Port bandwagon. Geelong have put together the most dominant season since Essendon in 2000. They finished several games and a stack of percentage clear of Port at the end of the home and away season. Both sides have played one close final and one blowout; both sides are gonna be close to full strength -- if anything Geelong are closer to full strength because Port have lost Wilson.... So why's everybody so bullish about Port? What have I missed?

Geelong are a much better side and will win comfortably IMO.

I think we shouldn't even bother going to Melbourne. :p

Come to think of it, the AFL should call next year and the year after that off as well, Geelong are unstoppable. :)

Port to do it comfortably