Game Day Port v Fremantle Round 23

I'm sorry but how can anyone say this was a wasted year? We finish the H&A rounds higher than we finished last year, we have nearly full squad to choose from, a home final next week (in which I expect another attendance record to be set) and we support the best ****in club in the competition.

We are showing a never give up attitude win or lose that wasn't there two years ago and we have the talent to take us to a GF, maybe not this year but sooner rather than later.

Did anyone here realistically expect us to be playing in a GF this year? It's not out of the question yet, someone will win it from lower than fourth someday and it may well be us but I'm not going to bet the farm on it just yet. That said, as Kern said "Set no limits".
Your missing the point...

We were top and 2 games clear...we have a squad capable of beating anyone

Next year doesnt automacially mean anything other teams improve other teams go down....next year nmeans jack shit...

Its all about right now and the opportunity we used to have..

All it takes is an injury or some serious form slump as we have proven we are capable of ...or a gold coast team to become immortal and our window shuts..

I still think we are capable of a gf etc this year..its just we made it that much harder

I just got home from the game and **** me... Bobby is the laziest campaigner going around sometimes.

Also, could someone tell me who was standing Mundy in the middle?

I almost jumped the fence and threw one at Sutcliffe the dirty little campaigner after throwing one at Neade.

I'll post a couple of photos soon as well.

**** I'm pissed, we should have won that.
Yes we should have, that's what's so frustrating. Never did we have a better chance with fyfe out and we blew it

I agree that they're mediocre and we should've beaten them, but the last 2 weeks they've had significant injuries. Pendlebury, Beams and Cloke would've got them over the Brions, and the GWS result wouldn't have been that close with those players too.

Be positive, we're young and volatile and we have our faults, I understand the anger of passing up the opportunities presented by the 2014 season, but think of the opportunities of our future; this season and the 5+ years to come.
im still holding out hope that we can do some real damage this finals series, we are good enough, no doubt about it. just find it hard to accept people can be happy with the position we have got ourselves into this year.

Lets wait and see if we finish higher than last year post finals. If we go out first week then we've regressed plain and simple.
Lose week 1 - Lower finish then last year, not an improvement when it really matters.
Lose week 2 - Par
Win week 2 - Improved
Playing Carlton last year (who were 9th in a ladder that's ignorant of chemically enhanced teams) is different to playing a team like the Tiges who're gonna be coming in hot off of a fantastic 3 months. I don't think you can compare year to year results so frankly.

im still holding out hope that we can do some real damage this finals series, we are good enough, no doubt about it. just find it hard to accept people can be happy with the position we have got ourselves into this year.
Acceptance and positivity are totally different stances. I don't accept the way we played against the Bombers or Richmond, but I'm still positive about the Club Keith, Ken, Koshie and the players have built in the last 18 months.

Next year doesnt automacially mean anything other teams improve other teams go down....next year nmeans jack shit...

All it takes is an injury or some serious form slump as we have proven we are capable of ...or a gold coast team to become immortal and our window shuts..

I still think we are capable of a gf etc this year..its just we made it that much harder

No we don't.

We are one ruckman and one key forward short in our squad.

Plus we need another 20 games into some of our younger players. We will be a force next year.

This is my last post on the matter, as we are going around in circles and neither of us is going to change our minds. and I like you as a poster and I'm not inclined to create irrevocable damage.

We do have a squad capable of beating anyone, but we can't do it consistently enough, nor can we beat sides like Fremantle away from home yet. Next year is unknown, but the law of averages and the age profile of our list says we're going to improve again.

That said, I don't even know why we're talking about it! This season isn't over yet!
St James mate, even called in to the bottle-o.
Ha, ****er

Yes we should have, that's what's so frustrating. Never did we have a better chance with fyfe out and we blew it

It's hard to say this, but it felt and looked like we gave up when they got to about 4 - 5 goals up.

Then all of a sudden we kicked a couple in a row and they switched back on.

Very disappointing.

Lets wait and see if we finish higher than last year post finals. If we go out first week then we've regressed plain and simple.
Lose week 1 - Lower finish then last year, not an improvement when it really matters.
Lose week 2 - Par
Win week 2 - Improved

:thumbsu: I've been thinking the same way. At the moment (for me) we are ahead of last year but that may change next week.

I dreamed of winning the GF like every year. But I think i made a mental note that I wanted to improve on last year. I wanted 13+ wins, possibly get a home final. And thats what we're getting. I'm not sure I even realistically thought we could get top 4.

This was about the same as my expectations, as long as there is an improvement from last year.

No we don't.

Plus we need another 20 games into some of our younger players. We will be a force next year.
No we don't.

Yes we do...

We have the third best defence 2nd best attack in the league...

We can beat anyone

x2p7ac.jpg

2wd7bcn.jpg

2uigahu.jpg

That was a disappointing result but at the start of the season, most of us would have accepted fifth at the end of the minor round as about right for us. That dream run at the start of the year over-inflated expectations.

All that said, if things pan out as expected in the finals, I hope the boys (and the coaches) see that we had our chances this year and blew them. I want them to have the hunger to improve next year, especially since complacency could be blamed for a couple of our losses.

Also, on the off chance we face Richmond next week, it'll give us a chance to get one back on Chaplin and, who knows, maye Peter will get his guernsey back too.

woohoo here we go finals footy.
Well done to the boys 5th is good an improvement on last year.
The difference this time is that we have beaten all the teams we will face unlike last year.
Cant wait!

That was a disappointing result but at the start of the season, most of us would have accepted fifth at the end of the minor round as about right for us. That dream run at the start of the year over-inflated our expectations ...
Agree with the first part but I'm not sure about the second.

Yes we overachieved, however the dream run gave us an opportunity that we didn't take.

Yes we have done well, yes we are improving but we also need to take opportunities when they come. Essendon were expected to dominate in the 90s because if their young list but didn't. Lucky for them they got a premiership before they were "expected" to get one.

Bad luck guys,
only popped in to ask does ricciuto call a lot of your games? Negative niggling swipes against your team throughout , must drive you crazy. Good luck next week

Game Day Port v Fremantle Round 23