Possible trades & rumours

As good as Dasher has been this year I believe it will do us more harm than good for him to go around again for us next year. I understand that his salary is on the veteran list and he still offers alot to the side but if he did retire it allows someone else to go onto the veterans list and allows a T Hunt or Laidler or Drum playing time to develop while the core of our team is around to show them the tricks of the trade.

I think this is what Cooky was referring to when he said that big call had to be made by the list management team. Telling beloved members of our team who think that they can go again that it is best for the team if you pulled up stumps

Exactly what I'm saying. Dasher's good form this year only makes it harder to tell him to retire, but it's still the right decision for the the future of the club, and hopefully the list management team has the courage to make these decisions. I'm not saying retire everybody, but you can't keep everybody either, regardless of how well they're playing.

IMO we should go after Orren Stephenson from North Ballarat. He's the best ruckman in the VFL by a long way and he could be a valuable pick up. He is 28, and I understand we don't want to fall into the Brisbane trap, but this bloke will receive a lot of interest. If Ottens decides to retire, and Blake or West asks for a trade, we'd be pretty desperate for a ruckman.

I think he'll go to GC. That sort of player is the way they'll help protect their young rucks early.

But that's the problem isn't it....the reality is the list is ageing, and if we don't start 'pensioning off' now, we will have an almighty crash in 3-4 years, and in the meantime the duncan's etc may leave, so we have a double whammy effect. That's what I don't get, Bomber says he wants us to stay up and in effect 'beat the cycle', well to do that, you have to make hard decisions like retiring older players, getting the best young players in, as that both eases your cap pressure, and prevents turning half the side over at once. Really if we're fair dinkum we need to look (at the end of the year) at whichever 2 or 3 players we can most easily replace, and retire them out, and if we still have salary cap problems, trade someone who's reasonably expandable. It's cold I know, but it's the way it needs to be done, because to stay up, you have to stagger your retirements each year in an orderly way (which Brisbane didn't) and I'm sure Bomber knows it.

Yeah - I am a bit bipolar over this issue.

How do you retire a player like Dasher - who has been a heart soul player for the club - still deserves his place in the team on form ? Then you certainly do want to lose Menzel or Duncan by not playing them.

Can see arguments for both sides. It will be interesting to see what the GFC do.

Again I think they are waiting to see what Gary does first. Then they will act and we will all know. Could be a lot of posting in the off season if Gary goes.

Players over 30 by the end of next year;
Milburn, Scarlett, Mooney, Ottens, Wojak, Ling, Podsiadly, Enright, Chapman, Rooke.

2011 players eligible to be veteran listed:
Scarlett, Milburn, Wojak

2012 players eligible to be veteran listed.
Scarlett, Milburn, Wojak, Ling, Enright, Chapman

If it were my decision:
2011:
Wojak to Veterans
Retire Milburn & Mooney
Chapman to Veterans
Retire: Ling Rooke, Ottens, Wojak
Enright & Corey
Retire: Chapman & Scarlett

I know Mooney has signed for another year but IMO that was a stupid decision by us as we have Hawkins who's ready to step up and little salary cap room combined with an aging list.

The last person in this team I would force into retirement would be Matthew Scarlett. He is once in a generation player.

We can over time replace him at FB - and play him in the back pocket.

I can see him playing for 3 more years if we remain competitive.

But that's the problem isn't it....the reality is the list is ageing, and if we don't start 'pensioning off' now, we will have an almighty crash in 3-4 years, ....

Pure , I flipflop on this all the time but would it be so bad to have a season or two in the "crash" position. In all my years of following Geelong I never dreamed of having a period of time like this. My kids just don't know how lucky they are. Anyway...

For a start , we need to make the most of what we have now. We should look to maximize this group of champs we have. There is no guarantee that our next group will raise itself to this level. Part of this max approach is blending some new kids , no doubt but we must do it carefully as to not undermine the group vibe.The quality kids we have picked up in the last couple of drafts will still be getting a taste no matter what. IF Ablett goes it gives one spot , perhaps one more position might need to be cleared but that would give us 44 games to spread among some newer players.

Another thing to keep in mind is , (again) IF Ablett goes , the compensation pick we get really are only maximized if you are at the bottom of ladder. There is big difference between us using them as a bottom 4 side to a top 4 side. If we "Crashed" , had a season with less than 4 wins in the year we nominated, we possibly could have 5 picks in the top 25.

We also need to respect the group that has brought our club to the pinnacle. When we are done , and it will happen , I don't want a huge player backlash. I want them to be happy to come back and help the club etc.

And before we cast anyone aside , we will have to assess the situation post season. Some players like Djerkurra may want try their luck elsewhere.

My preference is to keep Milburn but it may not be possible. Reading the papers it actually sounds like the group themselves may have a bit of say on the list management. No matter what Milburn should be treated with respect. He deserves that.

I don't rate Hale that much, but I'd take him eight days a week over Blake.

Could you ever see Blake kick a bag on Scarlo?

Thought not.

Hale hasn't either. He may have kicked 8 against us a few years back, but only 2-3 of them were on Scarlett. That's become one of the biggest urban myths ever, right up there with Selwood ducks into every high contact he receives.

Could we delist Milburn, thus getting him off the veterans list, and then redaft him on min wage? He has earned big salaries at Geelong, I am sure he would almost play for free to play one more and get to 300. I'd love him to go around again but the veterans list needs to be used by players on the bigger pay packets.

where did this motlop>geelong thing come from? just a rumour or reported in the media?( as a rumour lol). seems weird, ild only imagine you would have capspace if gaz left. trade value is a hard one. no doubt some of you have seen his magic, and how up and down that can be. similarly i dont see anyone on your list that we wont that you would let go. i like varcoe and menzel for example but we would need them to want to leave geelong, and find a way to close the gap. trading is messy this year with everyones picks being pushed back.

Could we delist Milburn, thus getting him off the veterans list, and then redaft him on min wage? He has earned big salaries at Geelong, I am sure he would almost play for free to play one more and get to 300. I'd love him to go around again but the veterans list needs to be used by players on the bigger pay packets.

If we could do that I'd certainly consider it but surely the AFL would pull us up on it.

As for Motllop trades phlithy there is no way we are trading Menzel or Varcoe. I could conceivably see Mackie traded (though highly unlikely). Motlop isn't really a player we'd be after.

where did this motlop>geelong thing come from? just a rumour or reported in the media?( as a rumour lol)..

Apparently channel 10 aired the story.

If we could do that I'd certainly consider it but surely the AFL would pull us up on it.

As for Motllop trades phlithy there is no way we are trading Menzel or Varcoe. I could conceivably see Mackie traded (though highly unlikely). Motlop isn't really a player we'd be after.

Why?. Its been done before. North did it with Martin I believe.

In the end, if we delist someone and then he nominates and we pick him , where is the issue. I doubt anyone else would pick him up although that is a risk

Sounds like a great idea to me. I hope they go for it.

Besides we are getting screwed by the AFL (as are most teams) by the concessions made to the GC and GWS picks re uncontracted players and the compensation received for some very good players.

That's a bit of an insult to Milburn, considering the years of excellent service he has given the club.

I get the feeling that Milburn is a pracitical minded guy.

Scarlett and Milburn earned the big dollars when we had a rubbish team, I think they must take the longer term view and sacrifice for the good of the club.

Ablett has been ripped off for a good few years, Selwood is taking a hit, Bartel must be. I just think over their careers, Scarlett and Milburn have been rewarded with good contracts and it would be a lovely gesture if they took massive pay cuts.

They are my two favourite players by the way so I am not in anyway suggesting they have not earned every dollar.

Thinking about it who exactly is eligible for the vertans list next season. I think it's only Milburn and Wojak so it's not like we have someone on a massive pay that is waiting to be veterans listed.

I can't see any advantage in delisting Milburn and relisting him only to place Wojak on the veterans list. How much more money could Wojak be offered than Milburn?

Can see yuor point DanA - but surely Mooney and Scarlett must be near qualifying for the veterans list and they would be on a lot more money than Wojak and Milburn ?

Scarlett is already on it and will be for the rest of his career

Mooney may be eligible, not sure but I think his first season here was 2000.

But down back we are very mature with many immediate replacements. Taylors fine but after that we are downing in light weight talls. Lonergan is still a light weight in body and talent , Mackie is not the guy I want to see on Johnno Brown. Im not convinced on Gillies. Is Drum it , not sure on that either.Laidler another Milburn..... It would be nice to have Hurly ( Ess) on the Geelong list.

Talent yes, body weight absolutely no. He weighs around 97kg and is 6 foot 4.......how is that a lightweight?

I reckon the list management decisions will very much depend on what happens in the next week or two. If we can pinch another flag I suspect we'll stick with most of the players that got us there this year in 2011. Should we dip out I suspect they'll be some pruning with the view to having another serious crack at a flag in two or three years.

Talent yes, body weight absolutely no. He weighs around 97kg and is 6 foot 4.......how is that a lightweight?

97Kgs seems a bit light for a bloke who is 197cm , although admittedly not a light weight a I painted. I think Hunt for instance is over 100Kgs.What would Hawkins weigh in at or for that matter Barry Hall or Cam Mooney? What about Egan at his best. Maybe its not what he weighs but they its assembled , he just seems to struggle to hold his ground but as I've said before , he is better than what he was.

I don't think the Motlop story is a complete beat up.

For example, on the Sunday Footy Show when they were doing the Port annual review, Billy said "gone" like he was very confident of it when Daniel Motlop leaving Port came up.

Not saying that is proof he is wanting to come to Geelong but I think Billy would have a good ear to the ground at Geelong. It might even just be that Geelong were approached and said no. However, it seemed like Billy had some information that he is gone from Port. Its not just saying but how he said it like there was no doubt in a million years.

I'm probably wrong but I don't know if its a far fetched as it seems. It is odd that after all this WA talk he gets linked to other side of the country. I wonder if his reason has been "family" all along and certain people thought he meant his child when he meant his mum,dad, sister and brother at Geelong.

Possible trades & rumours